DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the application filed on 8/13/2024. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,093,927. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed subject matter is nearly identical albeit arranged differently.
Claims 1-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,568,391. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed subject matter is nearly identical albeit arranged differently.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. A Section 101 analysis is below.
Step 1 – are the claims directed to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter. The method of claim 1, system of claim 9 and CRM of claim 17 are within the statutory categories of invention.
Step 2A, prong one – do the claims recite a judicial exception, which is an abstract idea enumerated in MPEP 2106, a law of nature, or a natural phenomenon. Abstract ideas are in bold below, and represent the abstract idea of certain methods of organizing human activity of commercial or legal interactions of the business relation of purchasing a product. Please see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II)(B). Using the text of claim 9 as an example, independent claims 1, 9 and 17 recite:
9. A system comprising:
at least one processing circuit having a processor coupled to machine readable storage media having instructions stored therein that, when executed by the processor, cause the at least one processing circuit to:
receive an image from a mobile device based on receiving a first user selection of an image capture function element displayed via a client application on the mobile device and a subsequent capturing of the image by the mobile device, the image comprising a code;
determine a product associated with the code;
receive a second user selection and a product purchase option associated with the product;
in response to receiving the product purchase option, transfer a payment for the product to a merchant associated with the product from an account based on information associated with the merchant and the product purchase option; and
cause the client application to display a purchase confirmation comprising order details including the product.
Step 2A, prong two – do the claims recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Integration of the judicial exception into a practical application requires an additional element or a combination of additional elements in the claim to apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that the claim is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception. The additional elements are considered as follows:
The “at least one processing circuit”, “processor”, “machine readable storage media”, “mobile device”, “image capture function”, and “client application”. Referring to MPEP 2106.05(f), the preceding recited additional elements are no more than mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception on a computer. The computer components are recited at a high-level of generality (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Accordingly, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Step 2B – do the claims recited additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The computer components implementing the abstract idea appear to be generic in view of at least Applicant’s specification, [0088]-[0091].
In view of the above analysis, independent claims 1, 9 and 17 are not patent eligible. Dependent claims 2-8, 10-16 and 18-20 do not cure the deficiencies in their respective base claims. Specifically, claims 2-8, 10-16 and 18-20 merely refine the abstract idea (2A1) by invoking a computer as a tool to perform an existing process (2A2, 2B). Regarding the further additional element in the dependent claims including the geolocation function (claims 2, 10, 18); and tokenized payment information (claims 6, 16), please see MPEP 2106.05(f)(2) discussing when the claim invokes computers or other machinery merely as a tool to perform an existing process including use of a computer or other machinery for economic tasks this does not show integration into a practical application or provide significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hruska (US 2013/0262316) in view of Yuan (US 2014/0067564).
Claim 1 recites:
A computer-implemented method, comprising: (Hruska, Fig. 3a, [0005], procedure. Hruska does not specifically disclose the method is implemented by a computer. Yuan, Fig. 9, [0056], discusses a computer to perform the method. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify the procedure of Hruska to include a computer performing the method of Yuan in order to implement the systems using computers as discussed in Yuan, [0057], and Hruska, [0004].)
receiving an image from a mobile device based on receiving a first user selection of an image capture function element displayed via a client application on the mobile device and a subsequent capturing of the image by the mobile device, the image comprising a code; (Hruska, Fig. 3a, [0011], application, smart phone, Scan and Buy)
determining a product associated with the code; (Hruska, Fig. 3a, [0011], product identifier)
receiving a second user selection and a product purchase option associated with the product; (Hruska, Fig. 3a, [0011], product information and product image displayed with purchase button)
in response to receiving the product purchase option, transferring a payment for the product to a merchant associated with the product from an account based on information associated with the merchant and the product purchase option; and (Hruska, Fig. 4, [0014], release funds to seller)
causing the client application to display a purchase confirmation comprising order details including the product and the product purchase option. (Hruska, Fig. 3a, [0012], detailed confirmation page presented to buyer)
Claims 9 and 17 correspond to claim 1 and are rejected on the same grounds. Regarding system claim 9 and CRM claim 17, Hruska, Fig. 2, [0004], does not disclose details of the system. Yuan, Fig. 9, [0056]-[0059], notes computer system 900 includes processor 902, memory 901 and machine-readable medium 922. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify the system of Hruska to include the processor, memory, and machine readable medium of Yuan in order to implement the systems using computers as discussed in Yuan, [0057], and Hruska, [0004].
Claim 2 recites:
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving a location of the mobile device via a geolocation function of the mobile device; and determining an available quantity of the product for sale within a predetermined distance of the location of the mobile device. (Hruska, Claim 1, discloses mobile device location. Hruska does not specifically disclose determining an available quantity of the product for sale within a predetermined distance of the location of the mobile device. Yuan, [0017], discusses determining shopper location using a mobile phone, selecting a distance for obtaining the items, and Yuan, [0020], discusses a quantity of a product being offered at a store within a threshold distance. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify the location of Hruska to further include availability of a quantity of items within a threshold distance as in Yuan in order to enhance shopping as discussed in Yuan, [0013], and Hruska, [0012].)
Claims 10 and 18 correspond to claim 2 and are rejected on the same grounds.
Claim 3 recites:
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the code comprises at least one of a merchant identifier or a product identifier, and wherein the product identifier is configured to indicate an available quantity of the product. (Hruska, Fig. 1, [0009], product identifier, code, quantity. Hruska does not specifically disclose “available quantity”. Yuan, [0020], discusses a quantity of a product being offered at a store. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify the product information of Hruska to further include a quantity of a product being offered as in Yuan in order to enhance shopping as discussed in Yuan, [0013], and Hruska, [0012].)
Claim 11 corresponds to claim 3 and is rejected on the same grounds.
Claim 4 recites:
The computer-implemented method of claim 3, further comprising: correlating the code with the product of the merchant based on the merchant identifier or the product identifier. (Hruska, Fig. 1, [0009], code is created using product identifier information)
Claim 12 corresponds to claim 4 and is rejected on the same grounds.
Claim 5 recites:
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: in response to transferring the payment, scheduling a shipment of the product from the merchant to an address associated with the account, the scheduling comprising sending the order details of the payment and shipping information to the merchant. (Hruska, Fig. 4, [0014], shipping; Claim 5, “shipping of the product by the first user to an address on file for the second user in order to consummate the purchase of the product”)
Claim 6 recites:
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein transferring the payment further comprises: retrieving payment information from the mobile device; converting the payment information into tokenized payment information; and providing the tokenized payment information to the merchant. (Hruska, Claim 5, transactional token)
Claim 16 corresponds to claim 6 and is rejected on the same grounds.
Claim 7 recites:
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the code is unique for each individual product such that the code of the product is different than the code for other similar products. (Hruska, Fig. 1, [0009], unique product identifier)
Claim 8 recites:
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: using a geolocation function of the mobile device to determine to a similar product for sale in a predefined distance of the mobile device. (Hruska, Claim 1, discloses mobile device location. Hruska does not specifically disclose using a geolocation function of the mobile device to determine to a similar product for sale in a predefined distance of the mobile device. Yuan, [0017], discusses determining shopper location using a mobile phone, selecting a distance for obtaining the items, Yuan, [0020], discusses a product being offered at a store within a threshold distance, and Yuan, [0022], discusses prompting a user whether brand X as opposed brand Y for a similar product may be preferred. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify the location of Hruska to further include the threshold distance and alternate products as in Yuan in order to enhance shopping as discussed in Yuan, [0013], and Hruska, [0012].)
Claim 13 recites:
The system of claim 9, wherein the instructions further cause the at least one processing circuit to: in response to transferring the payment, schedule a shipment of the product from the merchant to an address associated with the account, the scheduling comprising sending the order details of the payment and shipping information to the merchant, wherein the order details further comprise a product purchase price, and wherein the shipping information comprises the address. (Hruska, Fig. 4, [0014], listed item, total amount, shipping; Claim 5, “shipping of the product by the first user to an address on file for the second user in order to consummate the purchase of the product”)
Claim 14 recites:
The system of claim 13, wherein sending the purchase confirmation further comprises sending the shipping information. (Hruska, Fig. 4, [0014], shipping)
Claim 15 recites:
The system of claim 9, wherein the code is a quick response (QR) code. (Hruska, Fig. 1, [0009], QR code)
Claim 19 recites:
The non-transitory computer-readable storage media of claim 17, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the at least one processor to perform operations comprising: in response to transferring the payment, scheduling a shipment of the product from the merchant to an address associated with the account. (Hruska, Fig. 4, [0014], transaction has completed, shipping; Claim 5, transfer funds, shipping)
Claim 20 recites:
The non-transitory computer-readable storage media of claim 17, wherein the code comprises at least one of a merchant identifier or a product identifier, wherein the product identifier is configured to indicate an available quantity of the product, and (Hruska, Fig. 1, [0009], product identifier, code, quantity. Hruska does not specifically disclose “available quantity”. Yuan, [0020], discusses a quantity of a product being offered at a store. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to modify the product identifier of Hruska to further include availability of a quantity of items as in Yuan in order to enhance shopping as discussed in Yuan, [0013], and Hruska, [0012].)
wherein sending the purchase confirmation further comprises sending shipping information. (Hruska, Fig. 4, [0014], shipping)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure includes: US 10685345; US 9846877; US 20150262232; US 20150154592; US 20150134449; US 20150127536; US 20150088652; US 8930271; US 20140358656; US 20140358725; US 20140337175; US 8751316; US 20140006131; US 20130346252; US 20130346291; US 20130191213; WO 2013101297; US 20130166332; US 20130013499; US 20120271712; US 20120209749; US 20110137742; US 20100145835; US 20100125510; and US 20100082444.
/GREGORY HARPER/Examiner, Art Unit 3692