DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al (US 2020/203570) in view of Park (2015/090955) .
With respect to Claim 1, Chen et al discloses an infrared light emitting diode (LED) element (Figure 1) that can emit infrared light having a peak wavelength of 1000 nm to 2000 nm (paragraph 5), the infrared LED element comprising: a support substrate (Figure 1, 102) having conductivity; and a semiconductor laminate (paragraph 21) disposed on an upper layer of the support substrate and includes a material that can be lattice matched with indium phosphide (InP) paragraphs 20-22), wherein the semiconductor laminate includes: a first semiconductor layer (Figure 1, 116, 114) disposed on a side closest to the support substrate and indicating a first conductivity type; an active layer (Figure 1, 112) disposed on an upper layer of the first semiconductor layer; a second semiconductor layer (Figure 1, 106, 104) disposed on an upper layer of the active layer an indicating a second conductivity type different from the first conductivity type; and a third semiconductor layer (Figure 1, 106, 104) disposed on an upper layer of the second semiconductor layer and including (AlGaInAs) (paragraph 40) indicating the second conductivity type, the third semiconductor layer has an uneven part (Figure 1, 104) on a surface opposite to a side on which the second semiconductor layer is positioned. See Figures 1-2 and corresponding text, especially paragraphs 21-55.
Chen et al differs from the Claims at hand in that Chen et al do not disclose “the third semiconductor layer has band gap energy lower than band gap energy of the second semiconductor layer and higher than band gap energy of the active layer”.
Park et al discloses a similar LED device and discloses that charge injection to the active layer is optimized using a second semiconductor layer (Figures 1 and 3, 180) having a bandgap energy larger than that of the active layer (Figure 1 and 3, 130) and the third semiconductor layer (Figures 1 and 3, 150), , wherein the bandgap energy of the third semiconductor layer is also larger than that of the active layer (Figure 3). See Figures 1 and 3, and corresponding text, especially paragraphs 54-58.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to use the bandgap energies as disclosed by Park et al, in the device of Chen et al, for its known benefit of improving the charge injection to the active layer, and improving the performance of the device. The use of known bandgap energy levels, for their known benefit, would have been prima facie to one of ordinary skill in the art.
With respect to Claim 2, Chen et al disclose wherein the second semiconductor layer includes indium phosphide (InP). See paragraph 43 of Chen et al.
With respect to Claim 3, and the limitation “wherein the third semiconductor layer has a thickness of 1 to 5 microns”, changes in size are prima facie obvious in the absence of unobvious results. See In re Rose, 105 USPQ 327 (CCPA 1955) .
With respect to Claim 4, Chen et al disclose a first electrode (Figure 1, 122) disposed in contact with part of an upper surface of the third semiconductor layer , wherein the third semiconductor layer has a dopant concentration higher than a dopant concentration of the second semiconductor layer and is 5 x 10(17)/cm3 or more. See paragraphs 45-46 of Chen et al.
With respect to Claim 5, Chen et al discloses wherein the second semiconductor layer has a dopant concentration of 5 x 10(17)/cm3 or more, and the third semiconductor layer has a dopant concentration of is 1 x 10(18)/cm3 or more. See paragraphs 45-46 of Chen et al.
With respect to Claim 6, Chen et al discloses further comprising a second electrode (paragraph 48) disposed on a surface of the support substrate, the surface being opposite to a surface on which the semiconductor laminate is disposed (paragraph 48); and a reflection layer including a conductive material and disposed between the support substrate and the semiconductor laminate (paragraphs 50-55).
With respect to Claim 7, the combined references make obvious the limitation “wherein the second semiconductor layer has band gap energy of 1.1 times or more band energy of the active layer”, as where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See Allen et al v. Coe, 57 USPQ 136. Moreover, the discovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art. See In re Antonie, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977).
With respect to Claim 8, the combined references make obvious the limitation “ wherein the uneven part formed on a surface of the third semiconductor layer has a surface roughness (Ra) of 0.25 to 1.0”, as where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See Allen et al v. Coe, 57 USPQ 136. Moreover, the discovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art. See In re Antonie, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977).
With respect to Claim 9, and the limitation “wherein the third semiconductor layer has a thickness of 1 to 5 microns”, changes in size are prima facie obvious in the absence of unobvious results. See In re Rose, 105 USPQ 327 (CCPA 1955) .
With respect to Claim 10, Chen et al disclose a first electrode (Figure 1, 122) disposed in contact with part of an upper surface of the third semiconductor layer , wherein the third semiconductor layer has a dopant concentration higher than a dopant concentration of the second semiconductor layer and is 5 x 10(17)/cm3 or more. See paragraphs 45-46 of Chen et al.
With respect to Claim 11, Chen et al discloses wherein the second semiconductor layer has a dopant concentration of 5 x 10(17)/cm3 or more, and the third semiconductor layer has a dopant concentration of is 1 x 10(18)/cm3 or more. See paragraphs 45-46 of Chen et al.
With respect to Claim 12, Chen et al discloses further comprising a second electrode (paragraph 48) disposed on a surface of the support substrate, the surface being opposite to a surface on which the semiconductor laminate is disposed (paragraph 48); and a reflection layer including a conductive material and disposed between the support substrate and the semiconductor laminate (paragraphs 50-55).
With respect to Claim 13, the combined references make obvious the limitation “wherein the second semiconductor layer has band gap energy of 1.1 times or more band energy of the active layer”, as where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See Allen et al v. Coe, 57 USPQ 136. Moreover, the discovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art. See In re Antonie, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977).
With respect to Claim 14, the combined references make obvious the limitation “ wherein the uneven part formed on a surface of the third semiconductor layer has a surface roughness (Ra) of 0.25 to 1.0”, as where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See Allen et al v. Coe, 57 USPQ 136. Moreover, the discovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art. See In re Antonie, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977).
Conclusion
AGG
August 15, 2026
/ALEXANDER G GHYKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812