DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the application filed on 08/13/2024 has a total of 14 claims pending in the application; there are 4 independent claims and 10 dependent claims, all of which are ready for examination by the examiner.
Double Patenting
www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 18/099,379 [application No.12,089,154 B2], Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the independent claims and their dependent claims of the instant application contain similar limitations of the independent and their dependent claims of the patented application, which lead to the same claimed invention, thus they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The independent claims and their dependent claims of the instant application contain similar limitations of the independent and their dependent claims of the co-pending application.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the language of the claims presented contain the same limitations claimed. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the patented application to create the instant application.
Claims 1-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-33 of U.S. Patent No. 16/931,080 [application No.11,582,693 B2], Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the independent claims and their dependent claims of the instant application contain similar limitations of the independent and their dependent claims of the patented application, which lead to the same claimed invention, thus they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The independent claims and their dependent claims of the instant application contain similar limitations of the independent and their dependent claims of the co-pending application.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the language of the claims presented contain the same limitations claimed. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the patented application to create the instant application.
Claims 1-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 16/238,113 [application No.10,757,649B2], Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the independent claims and their dependent claims of the instant application contain similar limitations of the independent and their dependent claims of the patented application, which lead to the same claimed invention, thus they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The independent claims and their dependent claims of the instant application contain similar limitations of the independent and their dependent claims of the co-pending application.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the language of the claims presented contain the same limitations claimed. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the patented application to create the instant application.
Claims 1-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-35 of U.S. Patent No. 14/421,930 [application No.10,219,217 B2], Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the independent claims and their dependent claims of the instant application contain similar limitations of the independent and their dependent claims of the patented application, which lead to the same claimed invention, thus they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The independent claims and their dependent claims of the instant application contain similar limitations of the independent and their dependent claims of the co-pending application.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the language of the claims presented contain the same limitations claimed. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the patented application to create the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hugl et al. Pub. No (US 2012/0257515 A1) in view of Kuo et al. Pub. No (US 2015/0098416 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hugl teaches a method, in a base station, comprising:
sending a configuration of one or more measurement gaps to a user equipment (the UE receiving information indicating one or more sets of reference signal patterns from a first transmission point [0043-44] FIG.4);
sending a configuration of a discovery signal window pattern to the user equipment (sending a parameter that identifies one of a plurality of predetermined patterns known to the terminal device [0083-85] FIG.8), the discovery signal window pattern defining one or more discovery signal windows during which each of a plurality of cells is to transmit a corresponding discovery signal (the indicated one or more sets of reference signal patterns corresponds to one of one or more other transmission points [0043-44] FIGs.4&10).
Hugl does not explicitly teach the gaps to transmit a discovery signal.
Kuo teaches the gaps to transmit a discovery signal (Kuo: the UE receives an RRC message for configuring measurement gaps to the UE, and performs measurement and does not monitor D2D discovery signal(s) during a measurement gap if the measurement gap collides with any D2D discovery subframe, measurement gaps are configured to a UE for inter-frequency and/or inter-RAT measurements and the results of these measurements are used for handover decision, which each of the plurality of cells to transmit a corresponding discovery signal. [0094-107] FIG.9-10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Hug by the teaching of Kuo to have gaps for each of the plurality of cells is to transmit a corresponding discovery signal in order to improve the signal-to-noise ratio of forward links for the different access terminals and improve mobility performance of a UE with an activated signal discovery function (Kuo: [0022] [0107]).
Regarding claim 2, Hugl teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising adapting one or more measurement procedures carried out by the base station, based on at least one of the discovery signal window pattern and the one or more measurement gaps (providing measurement restrictions to the UE in order to guide the UE on how to construct the final report 520 [0093-96]).
Regarding claim 3, Hugl teaches the method of claim 1, wherein sending the configuration of the discovery signal window pattern comprises sending one or more parameters that specify at least the following for the one or more discovery signal windows: a window duration in number of subframes; a window periodicity; and a window starting time based on a system frame number (SFN) (transmit separate cell specific (common) RS for CSI estimation purposes in some selected subframes with window periodicity [0068]); a subframe offset parameter (subframe offset parameter [0079]).
Regarding claim 4, the modified Hugl teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising adapting the configuration of the one or more measurement gaps based on the discovery signal window pattern, such that at least one of the one or more discovery signal windows is at least partly contained in a measurement gap (Kuo: measurement gaps are configured to a UE for inter-frequency and/or inter-RAT measurements and the results of these measurements are used for handover decision [0106-108]).
Regarding claim 5, the modified Hugl teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising adapting one or more measurement configuration parameters for the user equipment based on at least one of the discovery signal window pattern and the one or more measurement gaps (Kuo: measurement gaps are configured to a UE for inter-frequency and/or inter-RAT measurements and the results of these measurements are used for handover decision [0106- 108]).
Regarding claim 6, the modified Hugl teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more measurement gaps are intervals in which the user equipment can perform at least one of inter-Radio Access Technology (inter-RAT) measurements and inter-frequency measurements (Kuo: measurement gaps are configured to a UE for inter-frequency and/or inter-RAT measurements and the results of these measurements are used for handover decision [0106- 108]).
Regarding claims 7-9, the independent claim and each dependent claim are related to the same limitation set for hereinabove in claims 1-6, where the difference used is the method were presented from a “method in the user equipment” side and the wordings of the claims were interchanged within the claim itself or some of the claims were presented as a combination of two or more previously presented limitations. This change does not affect the limitation of the above treated claims. Adding these phrases to the claims and interchanging the wording did not introduce new limitations to these claims. Therefore, these claims were rejected for similar reasons as stated above.
Regarding claims 10-12, the independent claim and each dependent claim are related to the same limitation set for hereinabove in claims 1-6, where the difference used is the limitations were presented from a “base station” side and the wordings of the claims were interchanged within the claim itself or some of the claims were presented as a combination of two or more previously presented limitations. This change does not affect the limitation of the above treated claims. Adding these phrases to the claims and interchanging the wording did not introduce new limitations to these claims. Therefore, these claims were rejected for similar reasons as stated above.
Regarding claims 13-14, the independent claim and each dependent claim are related to the same limitation set for hereinabove in claims 1-6, where the difference used is the limitations were presented from a “user equipment” side and the wordings of the claims were interchanged within the claim itself or some of the claims were presented as a combination of two or more previously presented limitations. This change does not affect the limitation of the above treated claims. Adding these phrases to the claims and interchanging the wording did not introduce new limitations to these claims. Therefore, these claims were rejected for similar reasons as stated above.
Conclusion
When responding to this office action, Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections See 37 CFR 1.111 (c).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ABDELNABI O MUSA whose telephone number is (571)270-1901, and email address is abdelnabi.musa@uspto.gov ‘preferred’. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F 9:00 am - 5:00 pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Kevin Bates, can be reached on 571-2723980. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/ABDELNABI O MUSA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2472