DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 07/30/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 9-16 and 21-28 under 103 rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Sun et al (US 2022/0163423 hereinafter "Sun") in view of Komatsuda (US Patent No. 6,249,382); and Sun et al (US 2022/0163423 hereinafter "Sun") in view of Komatsuda (US Patent No. 6,249,382) and Booth et al (US Patent No. 5,642,927 hereinafter “Booth”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-10 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al (US 2022/0163423 hereinafter "Sun") in view of Komatsuda (US Patent No. 6,249,382).
Regarding claim 9; Sun discloses an optical device metrology system (200 @ figure 2), comprising:
a stage (207 @ figure 2) configured to move a tray (209 @ figure 2) along a stage path;
a body (201 @ figure 2) having a first opening (203 @ figure 2) and a second opening (205 @ figure 2) to allow the stage (207 @ figure 2) to move through the first opening (203 @ figure 2) and the second opening (205 @ figure 2);
a light engine (210 @ figure 2) positioned within the body (201 @ figure 2) and mounted above the stage (207 @ figure 2), wherein the light engine (210 @ figures 2-3) is configured to direct a light beam toward the stage (207 @ figure 2), the light engine (210 @ figures 2 and 3A-3B) comprising:
a light source (302A @ figure 3A);
a first fold mirror (304A @ figure 3A) angled relative to the light source (302A @ figure 3A);
a second fold mirror (304B @ figure 3A), wherein the second fold mirror (304B @ figure 3A) is configured to turn the light beam toward the tray (308 @ figure 3A) on the stage (207 @ figure 2);
one or more lenses or arrays (306 @ figure 3A) positioned between the second fold mirror (304B @ figure 3A) and the stage (308 @ figure 3A) along an optical path; and
a first detector (212 @ figure 2) positioned within the body (201 @ figure 2) and mounted above the stage (207 @ figure 2) adjacent to the light engine (210 @ figure 2) configured to receive a projected light beam projected upwardly from the stage (207 @ figure 2). See figures 1-5.
Sun discloses all of feature of claimed invention except for the first fold mirror angled to the light source to reflect the light beam toward a second fold mirror, wherein the second fold mirror opposite the first fold mirror and a projection lens positioned between the one or more lenses or arrays and the stage along an optical path. However, Komatsuda teaches that it is known in the art to provide the first fold mirror (124 @ figure 7) angled to the light source (114 @ figure 7) to reflect the light beam toward a second fold mirror (156 @figure 7), wherein the second fold mirror (156 @ figure 7) opposite the first fold mirror (124 @ figure 7) and a projection lens (PL @ figure 7 and col.4 lines 46-57: e.g., a second fold mirror 156, a second condenser lens 160, a mask M, and a projection optical system PL. The latter comprises, along a folded optical axis AZ3, an orthogonal roof mirror 164, a lens 170, and a concave mirror 174. A wafer W is arranged adjacent projection lens PL conjugate to mask M. The elements in apparatus 100 from light source 114 to second condenser lens 160 constitute an illumination optical system) positioned between the one or more lenses or arrays (144, 160 @ figure 7 @ figure 7) and the stage (W @ figure 7) along an optical path (figures 7-9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention to combine optical device metrology system of Sun with the first fold mirror angled to the light source to reflect the light beam toward a second fold mirror, wherein the second fold mirror opposite the first fold mirror and a projection lens positioned between the one or more lenses or arrays and the stage along an optical path as taught by Kamatsuda for the purpose of improving illumination optical system and projection exposure apparatus used in the manufacture of semiconductor integrated devices .
Regarding claim 10; Sun discloses the light source (302A @ figure 3A) of the light engine (210 @ figures 2 and 3A) is positioned above the first fold mirror (304A @ figure 3A).
Regarding claim 15; Sun discloses further comprising a second detector (216 @ figure 2) positioned within the body (201 @ figure 2) and mounted below the stage path (207 @ figure 2) configured to receive a second projected light beam projected downwardly from the stage path (207 @ figure 2 and paragraph [0027] : e.g., The transmission detector 216 detects outcoupled beams projected from the third grating 104c though the bottom side 224 of the optical devices 100).
Regarding claim 16; Sun discloses further comprising a controller (220 @ figure 2) in communication with the stage (207 @ figure 2), the light engine (210 @ figure 2), and the first detector (212 @ figure 2), wherein the controller (202 @ figure 2) comprises instructions that, when executed, determine: one or more metrics of an optical device, the one or more metrics including one or more of an angular uniformity metric, a contrast metric, an efficiency metric, a color uniformity metric, a modulation transfer function (MTF) metric, a field of view (FOV) metric, a ghost image metric, or an eye box metric (paragraph [0023]: e.g., The metrology metrics include one or more of an angular uniformity metric, a contrast metric, a efficiency metric, a color uniformity metric, a modulation transfer function (MTF) metric, a field of view (FOV) metric, a ghost image metric, and an eye box metric).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun ('423) in view of Kamatsuda as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Sun et al (US 2022/0122241 hereinafter "Sun ('241)").
Regarding claim 11; Sun ('423) in view of Lin combination discloses all of feature of claimed invention except for the first detector comprises a camera and a camera lens positioned between the camera and the stage. However, Sun ('241) teaches that it is known in the art to provide the first detector (312 @ figures 4A-4B) comprises a camera (412 @ figure 4A-4B) and a camera lens (second lens 410 @ figure 4A-4B) positioned between the camera (412 @ figures 4A-4B) and the stage (100, 122 @ figures 4A-4B). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention to combine optical device metrology system of Sun ('423) with limitation above as taught by Sun ('412) for the purpose of accuracy alignment and determination of metrics of optical devices.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun in view of Kamatsuda as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Ehrmann et al (US 2020/0003655 hereinafter "Ehrmann").
Regarding claim 12; Sun in view of Kamatsuda combination discloses all of feature “the light beam emitted from the light source is projected through a lens to the first fold mirror, the light beam reflected from the first fold mirror is projected to the second fold mirror, and the light beam reflected from the second fold mirror is projected through the one or more lenses or arrays and through the projection lens toward the stage” of claimed invention as recited in claim 9, and except for the one or more lenses or arrays comprise a diffuser and a reticle. However, Ehrmann teaches that it is known in the art to provide the one or more lenses or arrays (34 @ figures 1-3) comprise a diffuser (50a @ figure 2-3) and a reticle (52 @ figures 2-3). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention to combine optical device metrology system of Sun with limitation above as taught by Ehrmann for the purpose of resulting in improved emission for the pupil of the optical system to be measured or overexposure of the pupil.
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun in view of Kamatsuda as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Wu et al (US 2022/0369890 hereinafter "Wu").
Regarding claim 13; Sun in view of Kamatsuda combination discloses all of feature of claimed invention except for a distance between the light engine and the first detector is about 15 mm. However, Wu teaches that it is known in the art to provide a distance between the light engine (102 @ figure 1a-1b) and the first detector (101 @ figures 1a-1b) is about 15 mm (paragraph [0041]: e.g., a reasonable mechanical distance range between the line laser emitters 102 and the camera module 101 is exemplarily given below. For example, the mechanical distance between the line laser emitters 102 and the camera module 101 may be greater than 20 mm). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention to combine optical device metrology system of Sun with limitation above as taught by Wu for the purpose of high detection accuracy of the line laser.
Regarding claim 14; Sun in view of Kamatsuda combination discloses all of feature of claimed invention except for a distance from a first end of the light engine away from the first detector to a second end of the first detector away from the light engine is about 50 mm and/or is about 30 mm to about 70 mm. However, Wu teaches that it is known in the art to provide a distance from a first end of the light engine away from the first detector to a second end of the first detector away from the light engine is about 50 mm and/or is about 30 mm to about 70 mm (paragraph [0041] : e.g., the mechanical distance between the line laser emitters 102 and the camera module 101 is greater than 30 mm. Furthermore, the mechanical distance between the line laser emitters 102 and the camera module 101 is greater than 41 mm). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention to combine optical device metrology system of Sun with limitation above as taught by Wu for the purpose of high detection accuracy of the line laser.
Claims 21-22, 25, and 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al (US 2022/0163423 hereinafter "Sun") in view of Komatsuda (US Patent No. 6,249,382) and Booth et al (US Patent No. 5,642,927 hereinafter “Booth”).
Regarding claim 21; Sun discloses an optical device metrology system (200 @ figure 2), comprising:
a stage (207 @ figure 2) configured to move a tray (209 @ figure 2) along a stage path;
a body (201 @ figure 2) having a first opening (203 @ figure 2) and a second opening (205 @ figure 2) to allow the stage (207 @ figure 2) to move through the first opening (203 @ figure 2) and the second opening (205 @ figure 2);
a light engine (210 @ figure 2) positioned within the body (201 @ figure 2) and mounted above the stage (207 @ figure 2), wherein the light engine (210 @ figures 2-3) is configured to direct a light beam toward the stage (207 @ figure 2), the light engine (210 @ figures 2 and 3A-3B) comprising:
a light source (302A @ figure 3A);
a first fold mirror (304A @ figure 3A) angled relative to the light source (302A @ figure 3A);
a second fold mirror (304B @ figure 3A), wherein the second fold mirror (304B @ figure 3A) is configured to turn the light beam toward the tray (308 @ figure 3A) on the stage (207 @ figure 2);
one or more lenses or arrays (306 @ figure 3A) positioned between the second fold mirror (304B @ figure 3A) and the stage (308 @ figure 3A) along an optical path; and
a first detector (212 @ figure 2) positioned within the body (201 @ figure 2) and mounted above the stage (207 @ figure 2) adjacent to the light engine (210 @ figure 2) configured to receive a projected light beam projected upwardly from the stage (207 @ figure 2). See figures 1-5.
Sun discloses all of feature of claimed invention except for the first fold mirror angled to the light source to reflect the light beam toward a second fold mirror, wherein the second fold mirror opposite the first fold mirror and a projection lens positioned between the one or more lenses or arrays and the stage along an optical path and the light beam reflected from the second fold mirror is projected through the one or more lenses or arrays and through the projection lens toward the stage. However, Komatsuda teaches that it is known in the art to provide the first fold mirror (124 @ figure 7) angled to the light source (114 @ figure 7) to reflect the light beam toward a second fold mirror (156 @figure 7), wherein the second fold mirror (156 @ figure 7) opposite the first fold mirror (124 @ figure 7) and a projection lens (PL @ figure 7 and col.4 lines 46-57: e.g., a second fold mirror 156, a second condenser lens 160, a mask M, and a projection optical system PL. The latter comprises, along a folded optical axis AZ3, an orthogonal roof mirror 164, a lens 170, and a concave mirror 174. A wafer W is arranged adjacent projection lens PL conjugate to mask M. The elements in apparatus 100 from light source 114 to second condenser lens 160 constitute an illumination optical system) positioned between the one or more lenses or arrays (144, 160 @ figure 7 @ figure 7) and the stage (W @ figure 7) along an optical path (figures 7-9) and the light beam (LB1 @ figure 7) reflected from the second fold mirror (156 @ figure 7) is projected through the one or more lenses (132, 136, 144 @ figure 7) or arrays and through the projection lens (PL @ figure 7) toward the stage (W @ figure 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention to combine optical device metrology system of Sun with the first fold mirror angled to the light source to reflect the light beam toward a second fold mirror, wherein the second fold mirror opposite the first fold mirror and a projection lens positioned between the one or more lenses or arrays and the stage along an optical path and the light beam reflected from the second fold mirror is projected through the one or more lenses or arrays and through the projection lens toward the stage as taught by Kamatsuda for the purpose of improving illumination optical system and projection exposure apparatus used in the manufacture of semiconductor integrated devices .
Sun in view of Kamatsuda combination discloses all of feature of claimed invention except for the light beam emitted from the light source is projected through a lens to the first fold mirror and the light beam reflected from the first fold mirror is projected to the second fold mirror. However, Booth teaches that it is known in the art to provide the light beam emitted from the light source (54 @ figure 2) is projected through a lens (55 @ figure 2) to the first fold mirror (60 @ figure 2) and the light beam reflected from the first fold mirror (60 @ figure 2) is projected to the second fold mirror (70 @ figure 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention to combine optical device metrology system of Sun with the light beam emitted from the light source is projected through a lens to the first fold mirror and the light beam reflected from the first fold mirror is projected to the second fold mirror as taught by Booth for the purpose of operating positions with sufficient accuracy, stability, and repeatability that projection lens assembly.
Regarding claim 22; Sun discloses the light source (302A @ figure 3A) of the light engine (210 @ figures 2 and 3A) is positioned above the first fold mirror (304A @ figure 3A).
Regarding claim 25; Sun discloses all of feature of claimed invention except for the first fold mirror and the second fold mirror are oriented to opposite sides of the light engine. However, Komatsuda teaches that it is known in the art to provide the first fold mirror (124 @ figure 7) and the second fold mirror (156 @ figure 7) are oriented to opposite sides of the light engine (114 @ figure 7). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention to combine optical device metrology system of Sun with limitation above as taught by Kamatsuda for the purpose of improving illumination optical system and projection exposure apparatus used in the manufacture of semiconductor integrated devices.
Regarding claim 27; Sun discloses further comprising a controller (220 @ figure 2) in communication with the stage (207 @ figure 2), the light engine (210 @ figure 2), and the first detector (212 @ figure 2), wherein the controller (202 @ figure 2) comprises instructions that, when executed, determine: one or more metrics of an optical device, the one or more metrics including one or more of an angular uniformity metric, a contrast metric, an efficiency metric, a color uniformity metric, a modulation transfer function (MTF) metric, a field of view (FOV) metric, a ghost image metric, or an eye box metric (paragraph [0023]: e.g., The metrology metrics include one or more of an angular uniformity metric, a contrast metric, a efficiency metric, a color uniformity metric, a modulation transfer function (MTF) metric, a field of view (FOV) metric, a ghost image metric, and an eye box metric).
Regarding claim 28; Sun discloses the light source (302A @ figure 3A) is an LED (paragraph [0030]).
Claims 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun in view of Kamatsuda and Booth as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Wu et al (US 2022/0369890 hereinafter "Wu").
Regarding claim 23; Sun in view of Kamatsuda and Booth combination discloses all of feature of claimed invention except for a distance between the light engine and the first detector is about 10 mm to about 20 mm. However, Wu teaches that it is known in the art to provide a distance between the light engine (102 @ figure 1a-1b) and the first detector (101 @ figures 1a-1b) is about 10 mm to about 20 mm (paragraph [0041]: e.g., a reasonable mechanical distance range between the line laser emitters 102 and the camera module 101 is exemplarily given below. For example, the mechanical distance between the line laser emitters 102 and the camera module 101 may be greater than 20 mm “therefore, distance between line laser emitter and camera module is 21 mm maybe read on the claimed invention within “about 20mm”). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention to combine optical device metrology system of Sun with limitation above as taught by Wu for the purpose of high detection accuracy of the line laser.
Regarding claim 24; Sun in view of Kamatsuda and Booth combination discloses all of feature of claimed invention except for a distance from a first end of the light engine away from the first detector to a second end of the first detector away from the light engine is about 50 mm and/or is about 30 mm to about 70 mm. However, Wu teaches that it is known in the art to provide a distance from a first end of the light engine away from the first detector to a second end of the first detector away from the light engine is about 50 mm and/or is about 30 mm to about 70 mm (paragraph [0041] : e.g., the mechanical distance between the line laser emitters 102 and the camera module 101 is greater than 30 mm. Furthermore, the mechanical distance between the line laser emitters 102 and the camera module 101 is greater than 41 mm). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention to combine optical device metrology system of Sun with limitation above as taught by Wu for the purpose of high detection accuracy of the line laser.
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun ('423) in view of Kamatsuda and Booth as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Sun et al (US 2022/0122241 hereinafter "Sun ('241)").
Regarding claim 26; Sun ('423) in view of Kamatsuda and Booth combination discloses all of feature of claimed invention except for the first detector comprises a camera and a camera lens positioned between the camera and the stage. However, Sun ('241) teaches that it is known in the art to provide the first detector (312 @ figures 4A-4B) comprises a camera (412 @ figure 4A-4B) and a camera lens (second lens 410 @ figure 4A-4B) positioned between the camera (412 @ figures 4A-4B) and the stage (100, 122 @ figures 4A-4B). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of claimed invention to combine optical device metrology system of Sun ('423) with limitation above as taught by Sun ('412) for the purpose of accuracy alignment and determination of metrics of optical devices.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
1) Markle (US 2016/0085156) discloses the systems include an illuminator, an image transducer and a scanning device, wherein the transducer can be upstream or downstream from the scanning device. The illuminator provides illumination light that is modulated by the image transducer. The scanning device, illuminator and image transducer are operated in synchrony so that an image formed in a photoresist layer on a moving substrate forms a photoresist pattern that is not substantially smeared.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SN/
September 3, 2026
/SANG H NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877