DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 2 and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities: the word “aluminum” appears twice. One instance should be deleted. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo et al., (United States Patent Application Publication Number, US 2015/0228869 A1) hereinafter referenced as Yoo, in view of Lin et al., (United States Patent Number, US 7,964,973 B2) hereinafter referenced as Lin.
Regarding claim 1, Yoo teaches an optoelectronic component comprising a surface mountable package (Fig.1), the surface mountable package comprising: a light emitting diode (LED) chip that has been bonded, within a cavity of the surface mountable package, to a lead frame of the surface mountable package (Fig.1, LED element #120 is bonded to the lead frame formed by elements #114 and #116), wherein the LED chip comprises a gold bond pad that has been formed on a substrate of the LED chip (Fig.11, element #1509b, paragraph [0100], rows 1-3); and a gold wire that has been ball bonded to the pad to electrically couple the LED chip to the lead frame (Fig.1, element #122, paragraph [0160], rows 1-3 and 7-8).
Yoo does not teach a metal layer that has been formed on the bond pad that has been formed on a substrate chip; and a wire that has been ball bonded, via a ball, onto the metal layer. Lin teaches a metal layer that has been formed on the gold bond pad that has been formed on a substrate of a chip (Fig.21A, metal layer, element #280, column 6, rows 62-63, formed on the gold bond pad, element #245a, column 7, rows 60-61); and a wire that has been ball bonded, via a ball, onto the metal layer (Fig.21A, element #500). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Lin and disclose a metal layer that has been formed on the gold bond pad that has been formed on a substrate of a chip; and a wire that has been ball bonded, via a ball, onto the metal layer. As disclosed by Lin, the metal layer can be made from a variety of metals (column 19 and 20) and therefore can be optimized for the desired type of bonding to wires and/or other semiconductor chips, thus increasing the bonding quality.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Yoo and Lin teaches the optoelectronic component of claim 1 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Lin further teaches the optoelectronic component of claim 1, wherein the metal layer comprises at least one of aluminum,
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Yoo and Lin teaches the optoelectronic component of claim 1 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Lin further teaches the optoelectronic component of claim 1, wherein a surface area of the metal layer is equal, within a defined percentage tolerance, to one-third of a pad surface area of the gold bond pad (the pad area is larger than 30,000 um^2, column 6, rows 52-53 and metal layer area is smaller than 15,000um^2 ,column 7, rows 14-16, therefore, the range disclosed includes a ratio of 1/3 between the metal layer and the bond pad surface areas). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Lin and disclose wherein a surface area of the metal layer is equal, within a defined percentage tolerance, to one-third of a pad surface area of the gold bond pad. It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to optimize the ratio between the surface area of the metal layer and a surface area of the bond pad through routine experimentation (MPEP 2144.05). The ratio is a result effective variable because, while the minimum and maximum value of the surface area of the bond pad is limited by the design rules of the manufacturing process and the size of the LED, the metal layer surface area should accommodate electrical contacts with wires of different diameters and materials. The ratio is a matter of optimizing contact quality, which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that a ratio equal to one third between the surface area of the metal layer and the bond pad has a significant role.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Yoo and Lin teaches the optoelectronic component of claim 1 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Lin further teaches the optoelectronic component of claim 1, wherein a first thickness of the metal layer is equal, within a defined percentage tolerance, to a second thickness of the gold bond pad (the vertical thickness of the metal layer is between 7um and 30 um, column 20, rows 63-65, and the vertical thickness of the metal pad is between 2um and 30um, column 7, rows 65-67). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Lin and disclose wherein a first thickness of the metal layer is equal, within a defined percentage tolerance, to a second thickness of the gold bond pad. It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to optimize the thickness of the metal layer through routine experimentation (MPEP 2144.05). The thickness is a result effective variable because insufficient thickness can lead to cratering during wire bonding of the formation of intermetallic compounds that can lead to the formation of voids and cracks, while making the metal layer too thick can increase stress concentration. Furthermore, the metal layer thickness must match the bonding process. The thickness of the metal layer is a matter of optimizing contact quality, which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the ratio between the thickness of the pad and the thickness of metal layer has a significant role.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Yoo and Lin teaches the optoelectronic component of claim 1 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Yoo further teaches the optoelectronic component of claim 1, wherein the surface mountable package further comprises a plastic housing that surrounds the cavity (Fig.1, element #150, paragraph [0180], rows 5-7).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Yoo and Lin teaches the optoelectronic component of claim 1 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Yoo further teaches the optoelectronic component of claim 1, wherein the surface mountable package further comprises an encapsulant material covering the LED chip (Fig.1, element #140).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Yoo and Lin teaches the optoelectronic component of claims 1 and 7 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Yoo further teaches the optoelectronic component of claim 7, wherein the encapsulant material has been at least one of added, injected, transfer-molded, or filled into the cavity. Note that the limitation “the encapsulant material has been at least one of added, injected, transfer-molded, or filled into the cavity” is being treated as a product by process limitation and as such only the structure is required to meet the limitations (MPEP 2113).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Yoo and Lin teaches the optoelectronic component of claims 1 and 7 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Yoo further teaches the optoelectronic component of claim 7, wherein the encapsulant material is translucent or transparent (paragraph [0182], rows 1-7).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Yoo and Lin teaches the optoelectronic component of claims 1 and 7 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Yoo further teaches the optoelectronic component of claim 7, wherein a light emitting surface of the encapsulant material facilitates a transmission, via the LED chip, of electromagnetic radiation comprising at least one of visible light, infrared light, or ultraviolet light (paragraph [0053], rows 1-4 and paragraph [0182], rows 1-7).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo in view of Lin and in view of Kadoguchi et al., (United States Patent Number, US 7,404,513 B2) hereinafter referenced as Kadoguchi.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Yoo and Lin teaches the optoelectronic component of claim 1 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. The combination of Yoo and Lin does not teach the optoelectronic component of claim 1, wherein a diameter of the gold ball is equal, within a defined percentage tolerance, to a bond pad diameter of the gold bond pad (Fig.5, the diameter of the gold ball, element #511, is equal to diameter of the bond pad, element #504, column 5, rows 16-20). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Kadoguchi and disclose wherein a diameter of the gold ball is equal, within a defined percentage tolerance, to a bond pad diameter of the gold bond pad. A ball diameter smaller than a diameter of the pad, may result in an electrical contact area being too small, which may be insufficient for a reliable contact, while the ball diameter being larger than a diameter of the pad reduces the minimum design distance between two nearby bond pads, due to the possibility of generating electrical shorts.
Claims 11-14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo in view of Lin and in view of Tanabe et al., (United States Patent Application Publication Number, US 2009/0039509 A1) hereinafter referenced as Tanabe.
Regarding claim 11, Yoo teaches an optoelectronic component comprising a surface mountable package (Fig.1), the surface mountable package comprising: a light emitting diode (LED) chip that has been bonded, within a cavity of the surface mountable package, to a lead frame of the surface mountable package (Fig.1, LED element #120 is bonded to the lead frame formed by elements #114 and #116), wherein the LED chip comprises a gold bond pad that has been formed on a substrate of the LED chip (Fig.11, element #1509b, paragraph [0100], rows 1-3) and a gold wire that has been ball bonded to the pad to electrically couple the LED chip to the lead frame (Fig.1, element #122, paragraph [0160], rows 1-3 and 7-8).
Yoo does not teach the bond pad surrounds a metal layer that has been formed on the substate; and a gold wire that has been ball bonded, via a gold ball, onto the metal layer.
Lin teaches a metal layer that has been formed on the substrate (Fig.21A, metal layer, element #280, column 6, rows 62-63, formed on top of the substrate, element #205); and a wire that has been ball bonded, via a ball, onto the metal layer (Fig.21A, element #500). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Lin and disclose a metal layer that has been formed on the gold bond pad that has been formed on a substrate of a chip; and a wire that has been ball bonded, via a ball, onto the metal layer. As disclosed by Lin, the metal layer can be made from a variety of metals (column 19 and 20) and therefore can be optimized for the desired type of bonding to wires and/or other semiconductor chips, thus increasing the bonding quality.
The combination of Yoo and Lin does not teach the bond pad surrounds a metal layer.
Tanabe teaches the bond pad (Fig.5, element #6) surrounds a metal layer that has been formed on the substate (Fig.6, bond pad, element #6 surrounds the metal layer, element #8, when seen from top view, and the metal layer has been formed on top of the substrate); and a gold wire that has been ball bonded, via a gold ball, onto the metal layer (Fig.5, element #12, paragraph [0049], rows 3-4). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Tanabe and disclose the bond pad surrounds a metal layer that has been formed on the substate. As disclosed by Tanabe, the metal layer helps reduce stress on the pads when the wires are being bonded to it (paragraph [0050], rows 1-7). Making the metal layer area smaller than that of the bond pad reduces the minimum design distance between two nearby bond pads, due to the possibility of generating electrical shorts.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Yoo, Lin, and Tanabe teaches the optoelectronic component of claim 11 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Lin further teaches the optoelectronic component of claim 1, wherein the metal layer comprises at least one of aluminum, comprises at least one of aluminum,
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Yoo, Lin, and Tanabe teaches the optoelectronic component of claim 11 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Lin further teaches the optoelectronic component of claim 11, wherein a surface area of the metal layer is equal, within a defined percentage tolerance, to one-third of a pad surface area of the gold bond pad (the pad top surface area is larger than 30,000 um^2, column 6, rows and metal layer top surface area is smaller than 15,000um^2 ,column 7, rows 14-16, therefore, the ranges disclosed include a ratio of 1/3 between the metal layer and the bond pad surface areas). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to optimize the ratio between the surface area of the metal layer and a surface area of the bond pad through routine experimentation (MPEP 2144.05). The ratio is a result effective variable because, while the minimum and maximum value of the surface area of the bond pad is limited by the design rules of the manufacturing process and the size of the LED, the metal layer surface area should accommodate electrical contacts with wires of different diameters and materials. The ratio is a matter of optimizing contact quality, which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that a ratio equal to one third between the surface area of the metal layer and the bond pad has a significant role.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Yoo, Lin, and Tanabe teaches the optoelectronic component of claim 11 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Lin further teaches the optoelectronic component of claim 11, wherein a first thickness of the metal layer is greater, within a defined percentage tolerance, than a second thickness of the gold bond pad (the vertical thickness of the metal layer is between 7um and 30 um, column 20, rows 63-65, and the vertical thickness of the metal pad is between 2um and 30um, column 7, rows 65-67). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to optimize the thickness of the metal layer through routine experimentation (MPEP 2144.05). The thickness is a result effective variable because insufficient thickness can lead to cratering during wire bonding of the formation of intermetallic compounds that can lead to the formation of voids and cracks, while making the metal layer too thick can increase stress concentration. Furthermore, the metal layer thickness must match the bonding process. The thickness of the metal layer is a matter of optimizing contact quality, which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the ratio between the thickness of the pad and the metal layer has a significant role.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Yoo, Lin, and Tanabe teaches the optoelectronic component of claim 11 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Yoo further teaches the optoelectronic component of claim 11, wherein the surface mountable package further comprises a plastic housing that surrounds the cavity (Fig.1, element #150, paragraph [0180], rows 5-7).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Yoo, Lin, and Tanabe teaches the optoelectronic component of claim 11 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Yoo further teaches the optoelectronic component of claim 1, wherein the surface mountable package further comprises an encapsulant material covering the LED chip (Fig.1, element #140).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Yoo, Lin, and Tanabe teaches the optoelectronic component of claims 11 and 17 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Yoo further teaches the optoelectronic component of claim 17, wherein the encapsulant material has been at least one of added, injected, transfer-molded, or filled into the cavity. Note that the limitation “the encapsulant material has been at least one of added, injected, transfer-molded, or filled into the cavity” is being treated as a product by process limitation and as such only the structure is required to meet the limitations (MPEP 2113).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Yoo, Lin, and Tanabe teaches the optoelectronic component of claims 11 and 17 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Yoo further teaches the optoelectronic component of claim 17, wherein the encapsulant material is translucent or transparent (paragraph [0182], rows 1-7).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Yoo, Lin, and Tanabe teaches the optoelectronic component of claims 11 and 17 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. Yoo further teaches the optoelectronic component of claim 17, wherein a light emitting surface of the encapsulant material facilitates a transmission, via the LED chip, of electromagnetic radiation comprising at least one of visible light, infrared light, or ultraviolet light (paragraph [0053], rows 1-4 and paragraph [0182], rows 1-7).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo in view of Lin, Tanabe and in view of Kadoguchi.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Yoo and Tanabe teaches the optoelectronic component of claim 11 as set forth in the obviousness rejection. The combination of Yoo and Tanabe does not teach the optoelectronic component of claim 11, wherein a diameter of the gold ball is equal, within a defined percentage tolerance, to a bond pad diameter of the gold bond pad (Fig.5, the diameter of the gold ball, element #511, is equal to diameter of the bond pad, element #504, column 5, rows 16-20). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Kadoguchi and disclose wherein a diameter of the gold ball is equal, within a defined percentage tolerance, to a bond pad diameter of the gold bond pad. A ball diameter smaller than a diameter of the pad may result in an electrical contact area being too small, which may be insufficient for a reliable contact, while the ball diameter being larger than a diameter of the pad reduces the minimum design distance between two nearby bond pads, due to the possibility of generating electrical shorts.
Conclusion
/CRISTIAN A TIVARUS/Examiner, Art Unit 2899 /DALE E PAGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899