Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 15-20 in the reply filed on 6/25/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no serious burden among different groups of invention. This is not found persuasive because,
The invention groups require a different field of search (e.g., employing different search queries); and/or the prior art applicable to one invention group would not likely be applicable to another.
Further the question as to whether or not inventions overlap in scope is not whether the groups share some limitations or same classification. In fact, if such were the case, no restriction between groups with a linking or generic claim would ever be proper. Clearly, such an interpretation would not be consistent with restriction practice or double patenting practice as a whole. Rather, related inventions in the same statutory class are considered mutually exclusive, or not overlapping in scope, if a first invention would not infringe a second invention, and the second invention would not infringe the first invention, MPEP806.05.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 15,17,19-20 is/are rejected under at least one of 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (2) as being anticipated by Chang (US 20210247584).
Regarding claim 15, Chang teaches (Figs. 6-7, [86]) An optical imaging lens comprising:
a lens barrel (123) having a mounting portion;
a plurality of lens elements (131) sequentially disposed along an optical axis of the optical imaging lens from an object side to an image side, wherein each of the lens elements has an object-side mechanic surface facing the object side and an image-side mechanic surface facing the image side, and the object-side mechanic surfaces and the image-side mechanic surfaces are each configured to receive a bearing force; and
a light-shielding element (132), wherein the mounting portion is capable of carrying the light-shielding element, and the mounting portion has a carrying surface facing the image side,
wherein a maximum thickness of the light-shielding element in a direction parallel to the optical axis is T1, and the optical imaging lens further satisfies the following conditional expression: T1≥180 μm (~320 compared to (L11-2)/2=350 in Fig. 7),
a vertical distance from an inner edge of the object-side mechanic surface of a lens element in a first order counted from the light-shielding element toward the image side to the optical axis is RA1, a vertical distance from an outer edge of the image-side mechanic surface of a lens element in a first order counted from the light-shielding element toward the object side to the optical axis is RA2, and the optical imaging lens satisfies the following conditional expression: −200 μm<RA1−RA2≤450 μm (~280 compared to (L11-2)/2=350 in Fig. 7), and
the optical imaging lens satisfies the following conditional expression: 1.000≤D1/D2≤2.500 (~1.5 as seen in Fig. 7), wherein D1 (L12/2) is a vertical distance from an outer edge of a lens element in a first order counted from the light-shielding element toward the image side to the optical axis, and D2 is a vertical distance from an outer edge of a lens element in a first order counted from the light-shielding element toward the object side to the optical axis.
Regarding claim 17, Chang further teaches The optical imaging lens according to claim 15, wherein the optical imaging lens satisfies the following conditional expression: 300 μm≤D1−D2 (~330 as seen in Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 19, Chang further teaches The optical imaging lens according to claim 15, wherein the optical imaging lens satisfies the following conditional expression: 1.500≤LRmax/LRmin≤5.000 (~1.7 as seen in Fig. 7), wherein a vertical distance from an outer edge of each of the lens elements to the optical axis is an outer edge distance, LRmax is a maximum value among the outer edge distances, and LRmin is a minimum value among the outer edge distances.
Regarding claim 20, Chang further teaches The optical imaging lens according to claim 15, wherein the optical imaging lens satisfies the following conditional expression: 1.000≤TTL/BRmax≤2.500 (~2.1 as seen in Fig. 7), wherein each of the lens elements further has an object-side optically effective surface facing the object side and allowing an imaging ray to pass through, TTL is a distance from the object-side optically effective surface of a lens element closest to the object side in the optical imaging lens to an image plane along the optical axis, and BRmax is a maximum value of a vertical distance from an outer edge of a surface of the lens barrel closest to the object side to the optical axis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16,18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang in view of Ma (US 20200057285).
Regarding claim 16, Chang teaches all the limitations as stated in claim 15, but does not explicitly teach The optical imaging lens according to claim 15, wherein the image-side mechanic surface of a lens element in a first order counted from the light-shielding element toward the object side is closer to the image side than the carrying surface of the mounting portion.
However, in an analogous optics field of endeavor, Ma teaches an image-side mechanic surface of a lens element (25 in Fig. 1) in a first order counted from a light-shielding element (the spacer below 25) toward an object side is closer to an image side than a carrying surface of the mounting portion (the step on 12 facing the spacer, i.e., a gap between them).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the image-side mechanic surface of a lens element in a first order counted from the light-shielding element toward the object side is closer to the image side than the carrying surface of the mounting portion as taught by Ma in the teaching of Chang for the purposes of maintaining lens distances.
Regarding claim 18, Chang teaches all the limitations as stated in claim 1, but does not explicitly teach The optical imaging lens according to claim 15, wherein a minimum distance is present between the carrying surface and an optical element closest to the carrying surface in a direction parallel to the optical axis, and the minimum distance is greater than or equal to 1.000 μm and the minimum distance is less than or equal to 5.000 μm.
However, in an analogous optics field of endeavor, Ma teaches an image-side mechanic surface of a lens element (25 in Fig. 1) in a first order counted from a light-shielding element (the spacer below 25) toward an object side is closer to an image side than a carrying surface of the mounting portion (the step on 12 facing the spacer, i.e., a gap between them).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the image-side mechanic surface of a lens element in a first order counted from the light-shielding element toward the object side is closer to the image side than the carrying surface of the mounting portion as taught by Ma in the teaching of Chang for the purposes of maintaining lens distances.
Chang in view of Ma does not explicitly teach the minimum distance is greater than or equal to 1.000 μm and the minimum distance is less than or equal to 5.000 μm, i.e., the gap between the light shielding element and the carrying surface is greater than or equal to 1.000 μm and the minimum distance is less than or equal to 5.000 μm.
However the gap is “a result-effective variable” because it confers stableness of the lens assembly and easiness of the manufacturing. And it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the gap between the light shielding element and the carrying surface is greater than or equal to 1.000 μm and the minimum distance is less than or equal to 5.000 μm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges of a result-effective variable involves only routine skill in the art, MPEP2144.05.
One would be motivated to have the gap between the light shielding element and the carrying surface is greater than or equal to 1.000 μm and the minimum distance is less than or equal to 5.000 μm for the purposes of having a stable lens assembly and easy manufacturing.
Conclusion
/WEN HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872
wen.huang2@uspto.gov
(571)270-0234