DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This office action is in response to the amendment filed on 9/22/2025.
Claims 1 and 10 have been amended.
Claims 1-18 are pending and have been examined
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. TW112130523, filed on 8/14/2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1: Claims 1-9 are directed to a virtual reward distribution system. Claims 10-18 are directed to a virtual reward distribution method. Thus, on their face they fall within the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter.
Step 2A prong 1:
Claims 1 and 10 recite virtually identical claim limitations. Claim 10 will be used as representative for the analysis. Each claims additional elements will be addressed individually. The following limitations, when considered individually and as an ordered combination, are merely descriptive of abstract concepts:
As per claims 1 and 10:
capturing images;
detecting a user movement according to the images by the rental wherein the user movement comprises at least one of touching specific objects and posing specific gestures;
determining, by the rental, whether an input operation matches a first reward condition of the reward conditions, wherein the input operation is the user movement detected by the rental according to the images captured;
in response to determining that the input operation matches the first reward condition, selecting, by the rental, a first reward certificate corresponding to the reward conditions from the reward certificates;
receiving, by an entity, the first reward certificate selected by the rental to store into a user account;
in response to the return entity determining that the rental is switched to a returned state, transmitting, by the return entity, a rental certificate to the entity; and
unlocking, by the entity, the reward certificates in the user account corresponding to the rental certificate based on the rental certificate to distribute a reward corresponding to the reward certificates in the user account to the user.
The following dependent claim limitations, when considered individually and as an ordered combination, are merely further descriptive of abstract concepts:
Claims 2, 11:
wherein the entity stores a plurality of objects corresponding to a physical location, and the reward distribution method further comprises: selecting at least one first object from the objects; and generating the reward conditions corresponding to the at least one first object and the reward certificate of each of the reward conditions based on the at least one first object.
Claims 3, 12:
further comprises: in response to the rental coupling to the return entity, the return entity determining that the rental is switched to the returned state.
Claims 4, 13:
wherein the step of the entity receiving the first reward certificate selected by the rental further comprises: transmitting, by the rental, the first reward certificate to the user; and transmitting, by the user, the first reward certificate to the entity.
Claims 5, 14:
wherein the step of the entity receiving the first reward certificate selected by the rental further comprises: transmitting, by the rental, the rental certificate and the first reward certificate to the user; and in response to the rental certificate corresponding to the user, transmitting, by the user, the first reward certificate to the entity.
Claims 6, 15:
further comprises: transmitting, by the entity, an updated reward certificate and an updated reward condition to the rental to update the reward certificates and the reward conditions.
Claims 7, 16:
wherein the step of the entity transmitting the updated reward certificate and the updated reward condition to the rental further comprises: transmitting, by the entity, the updated reward certificate and the updated reward condition to the rental based on a location data of the rental to update the reward certificates and the reward conditions.
Claim 8, 17:
further comprises: in response to the rental is in an activated state, receiving, by the rental, the input operation; and in response to the rental is in the activated state, does not unlocking, by the entity, the reward certificates in the user account corresponding to the rental certificate.
Claim 9, 18:
wherein the reward certificates are stored in the rental in an encrypted form, and the step of the entity unlocking the reward certificates in the user account corresponding to the rental certificate further comprises: decrypting, by the entity, the reward certificates in the user account corresponding to the rental certificate to distribute the reward corresponding to the reward certificates in the user account to the user.
The claims provide a manner of allowing a user to rent an item and earn rewards while using the rented item. The user does not receive those rewards until the user has returned the rental item. Thus, when considered individually and as an ordered combination, the claims embody certain methods of organizing human activity. Specifically, such activity is in the form of commercial interactions (in the form of advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors).
Step 2A prong 2: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claims recite the following additional elements: server, communicatively coupled to a terminal device (claims 1, 2, 4-11, 13-18); return apparatus, communicatively coupled to the server (claim 1, 3, 10, 12); interactive apparatus communicatively connected to the server and the terminal device, wherein the interactive apparatus stores a plurality of reward conditions and a reward certificate corresponding to each of the reward conditions (claims 1, 3-10, 12-18) wherein the interactive apparatus is an augmented reality glasses and the interactive apparatus comprises a camera configured to capture images (claims 1, 10); terminal device (claims 1, 4, 5, 9, 10, 13, 14, 18); virtual reward (claim 1, 9, 10, 18); virtual objects/ first virtual object (claim 2, 11);
The server communicatively coupled to a terminal device, return apparatus communicatively coupled to the server, interactive apparatus communicatively connected to the server and the terminal device, wherein the interactive apparatus stores a plurality of reward conditions and a reward certificate corresponding to each of the reward conditions, wherein the interactive apparatus is an augmented reality glasses and the interactive apparatus comprises a camera configured to capture images, and terminal device are recited at a high level of generality and amount to mere instruction to implement the abstract idea using generic computing devices (see spec [0020]-[0023]). The interactive apparatus is merely used to process data (detecting, determining, selecting) and send and receive data (capturing, transmitting, receiving). Further, the interactive device being AR glasses with a camera for capturing images amounts to a generic AR device. Nothing in the claims improves upon AR devices, AR technology, or a technical field. The server is merely used to send and receive data (receiving, transmitting) and process data (unlocking, selecting, generating, decrypting) The return apparatus is merely used to process data (determining) and send and receive data (transmitting). The terminal device is merely used to send and receive data (transmitting). The generic computing devices merely send and receive data from one another and process data. Nothing in the claims improves upon computers, technology, or a technical field. As a result, the computing devices do not go beyond the “apply it” level of implementation (See MPEP 2016.05(f)).
The fact that the objects and rewards are “virtual” merely provides a general link to particular technological environment (i.e. on a computer). These limitations provide little more than identifying the environment in which the invention takes place as opposed to have physical object or rewards or for any other environment. Nothing in the claims improves upon technology or a technical filed (See MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Accordingly, when considered both individually and as an ordered combination, the additional elements do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Step 2B: The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Similarly, as above with regard to practical application, the additional elements when considered both individually and as an ordered combination, do not provide an inventive concept as they merely provide generic computing components used as a tool to implement the abstract idea and provide a general link to a particular technological environment or field of use (i.e. on a computer).
As a result, the claims are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 8-12, 17, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Itkis et al (US 2003/0104865) in view of Taylor et al (US 2021/0304555) in view of Spivack et al (US 2019/0188450)
As per claims 1 and 10:
Itkis teaches:
A virtual reward distribution system, comprising:
a server, {…} (Fig. 2; paragraph [0012] The central computer also maintains a database of the rented units and may award bonus points to players returning the rented units to the kiosk. A complete self-service rent-and-return cycle yields substantial labor costs savings for casinos. The kiosk is also equipped with electronic latches controlled by the central computer. The latches lock the unit inside the kiosk and prevent a player from taking the unit out of the kiosk without first paying for the unit. The {…} indicate a modification to the claim language to show what is expressly taught by Itkis. Limitations regarding the terminal device are taught below.)
a return apparatus, communicatively connected to the server; and (Fig. 1, 2; paragraph [0040] As illustrated in FIG. 1, a preferred embodiment of the present invention includes two main elements, namely, a mobile player unit (MPU) 1 and a unit dispenser kiosk (UDK) 2.
an interactive apparatus, communicatively connected to the server {…}, wherein the interactive apparatus stores a plurality of reward conditions and a reward certificate corresponding to each of the reward conditions; (paragraph [0040] As illustrated in FIG. 1, a preferred embodiment of the present invention includes two main elements, namely, a mobile player unit (MPU) 1 and a unit dispenser kiosk (UDK) 2. [0043] The internal design of UDK 2 is detailed in FIG. 2. Architecturally, UDK 2 is a local area network (LAN) 22 governed by a conventional personal computer (PC) 21. In addition, LAN 22 is wirelessly interfaced with rented MPUs 1 via a spread-spectrum RF channel 31, preferably, a public domain RF channel. [0045] Once PC 21 receives a positive acknowledgment from MPU 1, it marks, in its memory, the respective cell 17 together with MPU 1 residing therein as available for dispensing to a player. [0050] Once MPU 1 marks cards, it sorts the marked bingo cards in accordance with their closeness to winning and displays the best bingo cards on its screen 3 in the step "DISPLAY BEST CARDS" 65. In particular, if MPU 1 detects a card that achieved bingo, MPU 1 immediately displays the winning card 66 on touchscreen 3 and continuously blinks card 66 to attract a player's attention. In addition, MPU 1 may play a winning tune through speaker 20. The {…} indicate a modification to the claim language to show what is expressly taught by Itkis. Limitations regarding the terminal device are taught below.)
wherein the virtual reward distribution system is configured to execute the following operations:
determining, by the interactive apparatus, whether an input operation matches a first reward condition of the reward conditions; (paragraph [0050] Once MPU 1 marks cards, it sorts the marked bingo cards in accordance with their closeness to winning and displays the best bingo cards on its screen 3 in the step "DISPLAY BEST CARDS" 65. In particular, if MPU 1 detects a card that achieved bingo, MPU 1 immediately displays the winning card 66 on touchscreen 3 and continuously blinks card 66 to attract a player's attention. In addition, MPU 1 may play a winning tune through speaker 20. [0061] The above-described technique of secure two-way communication between MPU 1 and UDK 2 over public RF channel 31 with the help of an encryption key 82 downloaded by UDK 2 into MPU 1 over a secure wired channel is useful not only for playing bingo games but is also beneficial for playing "classic" casino games, such as poker, slots and keno. For example, a player can play a slot game on MPU 1 by simply touching touchbutton "SPIN" 92 displayed on touchscreen 3. Once a player touches button 92, MPU 1 causes the image of reels 93 on display 3 to spin and transmits an encoded request 83 having data field 86 structured as "spin request" data block 94 illustrated in FIG. 12 (b). The field 95 of block 94 specifies a number of coins the player wagered and the field "SPIN" 96 specifies a request to generate a random final position for the reels 93 to stop. Since MPU 1 is not a per se secure device, the outcome of the game cannot be determined by MPU 1 itself. Only secure PC 21 of UDK 2 can be trusted to generate random numbers on behalf of MPU 1 and thusly determine the prize, if any, won by MPU 1. Upon receiving request 94, UDK 2 randomly generates a new final position for the "reels" 93 and transmits it in an encoded, authenticated form to MPU 1. The MPU 1 decodes the response received from UDK 2 and gradually slows down the "reels" to a new final position determined by UDK 2.)
in response to determining that the input operation matches the first reward condition, selecting, by the interactive apparatus, a first reward certificate corresponding to the reward conditions from the reward certificates; (paragraph [0050] Once MPU 1 marks cards, it sorts the marked bingo cards in accordance with their closeness to winning and displays the best bingo cards on its screen 3 in the step "DISPLAY BEST CARDS" 65. In particular, if MPU 1 detects a card that achieved bingo, MPU 1 immediately displays the winning card 66 on touchscreen 3 and continuously blinks card 66 to attract a player's attention. In addition, MPU 1 may play a winning tune through speaker 20. [0061] The above-described technique of secure two-way communication between MPU 1 and UDK 2 over public RF channel 31 with the help of an encryption key 82 downloaded by UDK 2 into MPU 1 over a secure wired channel is useful not only for playing bingo games but is also beneficial for playing "classic" casino games, such as poker, slots and keno. For example, a player can play a slot game on MPU 1 by simply touching touchbutton "SPIN" 92 displayed on touchscreen 3. Once a player touches button 92, MPU 1 causes the image of reels 93 on display 3 to spin and transmits an encoded request 83 having data field 86 structured as "spin request" data block 94 illustrated in FIG. 12 (b). The field 95 of block 94 specifies a number of coins the player wagered and the field "SPIN" 96 specifies a request to generate a random final position for the reels 93 to stop. Since MPU 1 is not a per se secure device, the outcome of the game cannot be determined by MPU 1 itself. Only secure PC 21 of UDK 2 can be trusted to generate random numbers on behalf of MPU 1 and thusly determine the prize, if any, won by MPU 1. Upon receiving request 94, UDK 2 randomly generates a new final position for the "reels" 93 and transmits it in an encoded, authenticated form to MPU 1. The MPU 1 decodes the response received from UDK 2 and gradually slows down the "reels" to a new final position determined by UDK 2.)
receiving, by the server, the first reward certificate selected by the interactive apparatus to store into a user account; ([0062]The request 83 sent by MPU 1 is received by UDK 2 and processed by its PC 21 in the step "RECEIVE REQUEST" 120 shown in FIG. 15 that illustrates a "determine outcome" task. Subsequently in the step "DECODE REQUEST" 121, PC 21 decodes the true request 94 from its received encapsulated form 83 using the encryption/decryption key 82 stored in table 35. In the same step "DECODE REQUEST" 121, PC 21 strips out the manufacturer's identification number 33 of MPU 1 that transmitted request 83. Using the decoded manufacturer's identification number 33, PC 21 then performs the step "FETCH UNIT RECORD" 122 by searching group 70 of table 35 for a record matching MPU 1 that transmitted the received request 83. Subsequently, in the step "DECREMENT UNIT's BALANCE" 123, PC 21, assuming the current balance 57 is sufficient, decrements a player's balance 57 by the amount of coins specified in the field 95 of request 94Rob to edit At this point, PC 21 determines the random outcome of player's bet 95 by executing the step "GENERATE RANDOM OUTCOME" 124 involving a generation of a pseudo random number with the help of a conventional software utility. If the generated random outcome results in winnings as determined in the test step 125, PC 21 increments a player's balance 57, by the amount won as specified in the pay table of the game stored in the memory of PC 21, in the step "INCREMENT PLAYER's BALANCE" 126. Otherwise, PC 21 directly proceeds to the step "FORM RESPONSE" 127. In the latter step, PC 21 forms data field 91 and the return address 33 of MPU 1 and increments the block sequence number 89. Subsequently, PC 21 computes digital signature 88 utilizing the encoding/decoding key 82 in the step "ENCODE RESPONSE" 129. Finally, PC 21 transmits the fully formed response 87 to MPU 1 via transceiver 16. The response 87 of UDK 2 is received by MPU 1 in the step "RECEIVE RESPONSE" 130 and is decoded in the step "DECODE RESPONSE" 132 with the help of key 82. Specifically, the random outcome of the game 91 is filtered out and is presented on touchscreen 3 in the step "DISPLAY OUTCOME" 132 shown in FIG. 16 illustrating a "display outcome" task.)
in response to the return apparatus determining that the interactive apparatus is switched to a returned state, transmitting, by the return apparatus, a rental certificate to the server; and (paragraph [0052] Meanwhile, the winning MPU 1 independently detects a winner as described above and starts blinking the winning card 66 on display 3 and optionally plays a winning tune through speaker 20. At this point, a winning player may approach UDK 2 and claim a prize by inserting the winning MPU 1 back into UDK 2. A player may insert MPU 1 into any empty cell 17. PC 21 detects the insertion of MPU 1 through cell 17 polling procedure described above. Upon learning the physical identification number 33 of the inserted MPU 1, PC 21 searches status table 35 and fetches the identification number 41 of the player who rented the unit and also fetches the player's account balance 57 from table 35. The account balance 57 includes the player's winnings as described above. Now PC 21 causes BD 13 and CD 14 to dispense the player's balance due. Specifically, BD 13 dispenses the dollar amount of the player's balance 57 and CD 14 dispenses the remaining amount, if any, of cents in coins. Once dispensing of the balance 57 is complete, PC 21 clears balance 57 in player's 41 record in table 35 and also clears MPU 1 manufacturer's identification field 33.)
unlocking, by the server, the reward certificates in the user account corresponding to the rental certificate based on the rental certificate to distribute a {…} reward corresponding to the reward certificates in the user account to the {user}. (paragraph [0052] Meanwhile, the winning MPU 1 independently detects a winner as described above and starts blinking the winning card 66 on display 3 and optionally plays a winning tune through speaker 20. At this point, a winning player may approach UDK 2 and claim a prize by inserting the winning MPU 1 back into UDK 2. A player may insert MPU 1 into any empty cell 17. PC 21 detects the insertion of MPU 1 through cell 17 polling procedure described above. Upon learning the physical identification number 33 of the inserted MPU 1, PC 21 searches status table 35 and fetches the identification number 41 of the player who rented the unit and also fetches the player's account balance 57 from table 35. The account balance 57 includes the player's winnings as described above. Now PC 21 causes BD 13 and CD 14 to dispense the player's balance due. Specifically, BD 13 dispenses the dollar amount of the player's balance 57 and CD 14 dispenses the remaining amount, if any, of cents in coins. Once dispensing of the balance 57 is complete, PC 21 clears balance 57 in player's 41 record in table 35 and also clears MPU 1 manufacturer's identification field 33.)
Itkis does not expressly teach the server is connected to the terminal device, the interactive device is connected to the terminal device, or distributing a virtual reward to the account of the terminal device.
Taylor teaches:
{server} communicatively connected to a terminal device; (Fig. 3; paragraph [0116] To enable interaction events between the beacons 360 and the mobile devices 320, the mobile devices 320 are configured to receive and process the interaction prompt messages. More specifically, in the example embodiment, the patron 310 installs a player app 330 onto their mobile device 320. The player app 330 provides a loyalty component 332, a digital wallet component 334, a social games component 336, a wagering games component 338, and a wireless communications component 340. The loyalty component 332 may allow the patron 310 to register for a loyalty account, view loyalty status information for their existing loyalty account, view or edit account profile information, redeem loyalty rewards accrued under their loyalty account, or the like. [0117] The wireless communication component 340 allows the mobile device 320 to receive interaction prompt messages (e.g., performing communications processing as part of a network stack for the wireless receiver), and a digital interactions component 342 processes any received interaction prompt messages and performs any associated interaction events implicated by the received messages, perhaps in conjunction with a remote server such as the casino management system server 114 or another network-accessible resource.)
{the interactive apparatus communicatively coupled to} the terminal device (paragraph [0090] In the example embodiment, the gaming device 200 also includes an EGM interface controller 244 and a wireless beacon 246 configured to transmit wireless data to, or otherwise establish wireless communication with, nearby personal mobile devices (or “mobile devices”) 248 of players.)
{distribute} virtual rewards {to the} terminal device ([paragraph [0116] The player app 330 provides a loyalty component 332, a digital wallet component 334, a social games component 336, a wagering games component 338, and a wireless communications component 340. The loyalty component 332 may allow the patron 310 to register for a loyalty account, view loyalty status information for their existing loyalty account, view or edit account profile information, redeem loyalty rewards accrued under their loyalty account, or the like. The digital wallet component 334 may allow the patron 310 to store payment card or account information, perform transactions from or to accounts or payment cards, or view rewards data or redeem awards. [0127] For example, the server 114 may determine an identity of the patron (e.g., as described above) and may provide the wagering funds by, for example, performing a transaction to a digital wallet of the patron (e.g., as a redeemable digital reward, as a deposit into a play account). Once the transaction is complete, the server 114 may transmit a completion message back to the mobile device 320. Accordingly, the patron 310 may then apply the wagering funds by, for example, using their digital wallet to redeem the newly received reward or wagering funds.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the server is connected to the terminal device, the interactive device is connected to the terminal device, or distributing a virtual reward to the account of the terminal device as taught by Taylor with the rented gaming device of Itkis in order to allow a user to manage their rewards (paragraph [0116]).
Itkis in view of Taylor does not expressly teach wherein the interactive apparatus is an augmented reality glasses and the interactive apparatus comprises a camera configured to capture images, the interactive apparatus is configured to detect a user movement according to the images, and the user movement comprises at least one of touching specific objects and posing specific gestures; or determining that an input operation qualifies for a reward wherein the wherein the input operation is the user movement detected by the interactive apparatus according to the images captured by the camera.
Spivack teaches:
wherein the interactive apparatus is an augmented reality glasses and the interactive apparatus comprises a camera configured to capture images, the interactive apparatus is configured to detect a user movement according to the images, and the user movement comprises at least one of touching specific objects and posing specific gestures; (paragraph [0137] The VOBs (e.g., VOB 502 or VOB 522 or VOB 532 or VOB 542) can be depicted in an augmented reality interface via one or more of, a mobile phone, a glasses, a smart lens and a headset device for example, in 3D in a physical space and the virtual object is viewable in substantially 360 degrees. [0162] A VOB can also obey a physics model in a virtual world such that, via gestures or other physical actions by a human user (e.g., detected by imaging units, sensors or cameras on one or more mobile devices or sensors in the real world location the human user is in), the virtual object can be moved, grabbed, rotated, pushed, pulled, bounced, thrown, manipulated, etc. like a physical object. For example, a virtual object that simulates an elastic ball can be poked by a human user and in response the AR environment depicts animation of depression of the elastic ball and return to original form. [0203] They can then interact with that virtual object in various ways (rotate it, zoom in/out, explore its features, collect it into their inventory of virtual objects, touch it, get a coupon from it, receive rewards points for interacting with it, get a gift from it, win something by interacting with, get a sweepstakes ticket from it, share it with friends, add it to their avatar, buy the virtual object, buy the actual sneaker product that it is associated with, get data or information from it, comment on it, like it, rate it, etc.).)
{determining that an input operation qualifies for a reward} wherein the wherein the input operation is the user movement detected by the interactive apparatus according to the images captured by the camera. (paragraph [0137] The VOBs (e.g., VOB 502 or VOB 522 or VOB 532 or VOB 542) can be depicted in an augmented reality interface via one or more of, a mobile phone, a glasses, a smart lens and a headset device for example, in 3D in a physical space and the virtual object is viewable in substantially 360 degrees. [0203] They can then interact with that virtual object in various ways (rotate it, zoom in/out, explore its features, collect it into their inventory of virtual objects, touch it, get a coupon from it, receive rewards points for interacting with it, get a gift from it, win something by interacting with, get a sweepstakes ticket from it, share it with friends, add it to their avatar, buy the virtual object, buy the actual sneaker product that it is associated with, get data or information from it, comment on it, like it, rate it, etc.).)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the interactive apparatus is an augmented reality glasses and the interactive apparatus comprises a camera configured to capture images, the interactive apparatus is configured to detect a user movement according to the images, and the user movement comprises at least one of touching specific objects and posing specific gestures; or determining that an input operation qualifies for a reward wherein the wherein the input operation is the user movement detected by the interactive apparatus according to the images captured by the camera as taught by Spivack with the rental and return reward system of Itkis in view of Taylor in order to encourage user interaction with virtual objects (paragraph [0203]).
Itkis in view of Taylor in view of Spivack teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 10. As per claims 2 and 11:
Itkis further teaches:
wherein the server stores a plurality of virtual objects corresponding to a physical location, and the server is further configured to execute the following operations (paragraph [0011] When a player buys a pack of electronic bingo cards at a kiosk, the kiosk's central computer downloads the purchased bingo cards into an available player unit plugged into the internal local area network of the kiosk while the unit is housed in the kiosk. A player can then take the downloaded unit out of the kiosk to any location of the casino floor. Over a radio channel, the unit receives bingo data, such as bingo patterns and pseudo-random bingo numbers from the kiosk's central computer, and plays downloaded bingo cards automatically. The central computer automatically verifies all bingo cards downloaded into all rented mobile player units, detects winning bingo cards, computes the prizes due to the winning players and stores the outcomes of the games in an internal database. [0054] The primary reason the above-described MPU 1 is equipped with RF-channel 31 is to facilitate automatic playing of bingo on the casino floor. [0056] It is therefore desirable to allow a player to purchase bingo packs on the casino floor, through MPU 1 that has an inherent capability of two-way radio communication via transceiver 19.):
selecting at least one first virtual object from the virtual objects; and (paragraph [0011] When a player buys a pack of electronic bingo cards at a kiosk, the kiosk's central computer downloads the purchased bingo cards into an available player unit plugged into the internal local area network of the kiosk while the unit is housed in the kiosk. A player can then take the downloaded unit out of the kiosk to any location of the casino floor. Over a radio channel, the unit receives bingo data, such as bingo patterns and pseudo-random bingo numbers from the kiosk's central computer, and plays downloaded bingo cards automatically. The central computer automatically verifies all bingo cards downloaded into all rented mobile player units, detects winning bingo cards, computes the prizes due to the winning players and stores the outcomes of the games in an internal database
generating the reward conditions corresponding to the at least one first virtual object and the reward certificate of each of the reward conditions based on the at least one first virtual object. (paragraph [0011] When a player buys a pack of electronic bingo cards at a kiosk, the kiosk's central computer downloads the purchased bingo cards into an available player unit plugged into the internal local area network of the kiosk while the unit is housed in the kiosk. A player can then take the downloaded unit out of the kiosk to any location of the casino floor. Over a radio channel, the unit receives bingo data, such as bingo patterns and pseudo-random bingo numbers from the kiosk's central computer, and plays downloaded bingo cards automatically. The central computer automatically verifies all bingo cards downloaded into all rented mobile player units, detects winning bingo cards, computes the prizes due to the winning players and stores the outcomes of the games in an internal database. [0051] Once a winning card is detected, PC 21 algorithmically computes the identification number 100 of bingo pack 43 that the winning bingo card was downloaded to. Knowing the winning pack number 43, PC 21 finds the winning player corresponding to the manufacturer's identification number 33 by searching status table 35. Once the winning player is found, PC 21 updates the player's balance 57 to reflect the winning prize.)
Itkis in view of Taylor in view of Spivack teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 10. As per claims 3 and 12:
Itkis further teaches:
wherein the virtual reward distribution system is further configured to execute the following operation: in response to the interactive apparatus coupling to the return apparatus, the return apparatus determining that the interactive apparatus is switched to the returned state. (paragraph [0052] At this point, a winning player may approach UDK 2 and claim a prize by inserting the winning MPU 1 back into UDK 2. A player may insert MPU 1 into any empty cell 17. PC 21 detects the insertion of MPU 1 through cell 17 polling procedure described above. Upon learning the physical identification number 33 of the inserted MPU 1, PC 21 searches status table 35 and fetches the identification number 41 of the player who rented the unit and also fetches the player's account balance 57 from table 35. The account balance 57 includes the player's winnings as described above. Now PC 21 causes BD 13 and CD 14 to dispense the player's balance due. Specifically, BD 13 dispenses the dollar amount of the player's balance 57 and CD 14 dispenses the remaining amount, if any, of cents in coins. Once dispensing of the balance 57 is complete, PC 21 clears balance 57 in player's 41 record in table 35 and also clears MPU 1 manufacturer's identification field 33. The operation of clearing field 33 releases player 41 from any responsibility for the returned MPU 1. As a courtesy to the player, PC 21 also causes PRT 10 to issue a return receipt 67 illustrated in FIG. 10, wherein 68 is the refund value, if any, and 69 is the barcode that uniquely identifies and verifies return receipt 67.)
Itkis in view of Taylor in view of Spivack teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 10. As per claims 8 and 17:
Itkis further teaches:
wherein the virtual reward distribution system is further configured to execute the following operation: in response to the interactive apparatus is in an activated state, receiving, by the interactive apparatus, the input operation; and in response to the interactive apparatus is in the activated state, does not unlocking, by the server, the reward certificates in the user account corresponding to the rental certificate. (paragraph (paragraph [0050] Once MPU 1 marks cards, it sorts the marked bingo cards in accordance with their closeness to winning and displays the best bingo cards on its screen 3 in the step "DISPLAY BEST CARDS" 65. In particular, if MPU 1 detects a card that achieved bingo, MPU 1 immediately displays the winning card 66 on touchscreen 3 and continuously blinks card 66 to attract a player's attention. In addition, MPU 1 may play a winning tune through speaker 20. [0052] Meanwhile, the winning MPU 1 independently detects a winner as described above and starts blinking the winning card 66 on display 3 and optionally plays a winning tune through speaker 20. At this point, a winning player may approach UDK 2 and claim a prize by inserting the winning MPU 1 back into UDK 2. A player may insert MPU 1 into any empty cell 17. PC 21 detects the insertion of MPU 1 through cell 17 polling procedure described above. Upon learning the physical identification number 33 of the inserted MPU 1, PC 21 searches status table 35 and fetches the identification number 41 of the player who rented the unit and also fetches the player's account balance 57 from table 35. The account balance 57 includes the player's winnings as described above. Now PC 21 causes BD 13 and CD 14 to dispense the player's balance due. Specifically, BD 13 dispenses the dollar amount of the player's balance 57 and CD 14 dispenses the remaining amount, if any, of cents in coins. Once dispensing of the balance 57 is complete, PC 21 clears balance 57 in player's 41 record in table 35 and also clears MPU 1 manufacturer's identification field 33. [0061] The above-described technique of secure two-way communication between MPU 1 and UDK 2 over public RF channel 31 with the help of an encryption key 82 downloaded by UDK 2 into MPU 1 over a secure wired channel is useful not only for playing bingo games but is also beneficial for playing "classic" casino games, such as poker, slots and keno. For example, a player can play a slot game on MPU 1 by simply touching touchbutton "SPIN" 92 displayed on touchscreen 3. Once a player touches button 92, MPU 1 causes the image of reels 93 on display 3 to spin and transmits an encoded request 83 having data field 86 structured as "spin request" data block 94 illustrated in FIG. 12 (b). The field 95 of block 94 specifies a number of coins the player wagered and the field "SPIN" 96 specifies a request to generate a random final position for the reels 93 to stop. Since MPU 1 is not a per se secure device, the outcome of the game cannot be determined by MPU 1 itself. Only secure PC 21 of UDK 2 can be trusted to generate random numbers on behalf of MPU 1 and thusly determine the prize, if any, won by MPU 1. Upon receiving request 94, UDK 2 randomly generates a new final position for the "reels" 93 and transmits it in an encoded, authenticated form to MPU 1. The MPU 1 decodes the response received from UDK 2 and gradually slows down the "reels" to a new final position determined by UDK 2.)
Itkis in view of Taylor in view of Spivack teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 10. As per claims 9 and 18:
Itkis further teaches:
wherein the reward certificates are stored in the interactive apparatus in an encrypted form, and the operation of the server unlocking the reward certificates in the user account corresponding to the rental certificate further comprises: decrypting, by the server, the reward certificates in the user account corresponding to the rental certificate to distribute the virtual reward corresponding to the reward certificates in the user account to the terminal device. (paragraph [0013] A player having a sufficient account balance can also purchase, by means of radio communications, bingo cards with the help of the mobile player unit located on the casino floor. In order to prevent fraud and make radio communication with the unit secure, the central computer downloads an encryption key to each unit being rented. The encryption key is downloaded over the kiosk's internal local area network while the unit remains locked inside of the kiosk. Even though a radio communication can be easily intercepted, such an internal downloading of the encryption key assures security of the subsequent communications between the central computer and the rented unit over the public radio channel. As a result, a player can confidently place an order for purchasing bingo cards right from the casino floor in real time. [0057] The lack of security can be resolved by encrypting such communications with the help of a private encryption key that is generated by UDK 2 and downloaded into MPU 1 via a secure route formed by connectors 7 and 23. Specifically, in addition to, and/or instead of bingo cards, PC 21 can download MPU 1 with at least one random digital security key to secure the two-way radio communications between MPU 1 and UDK 2. Such a digital security key is typically known in the industry under a variety of names (e.g., a digital encryption key, DES key, an authentication key, a private key, a digital signature key, a hashing algorithm, etc.) Importantly, MPU 1 is downloaded with a new unique random encryption key each time MPU 1 is rented and, therefore, even if the same player 41 accidentally rents the same MPU 1 having the same identification number 33, the downloaded encryption key is different every time. Optionally, the downloaded security key may be printed on sale receipt as is illustrated in FIG. 7 wherein the numeral 82 denotes a security or encryption key. Although an explicit printing of security key 82 may potentially result in complications in the case where a player loses receipt 44, a "spelled-out" key 82 facilitates auditing procedures and increases a player's trust in the fairness of gaming conducted by the casino. See also [0061]).
Claim(s) 4, 5, 13, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Itkis et al (US 2003/0104865) in view of Taylor et al (US 2021/0304555) in view of Spivack et al (US 2019/0188450) in view of Shankaranarayanan (US 2012/0264375)
Itkis in view of Taylor in view of Spivack teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 10. As per claims 4 and 13:
Itkis in view of Taylor in view of Spivack does not expressly teach transmitting, by the interactive apparatus, the first reward certificate to the terminal device; and transmitting, by the terminal device, the first reward certificate to the server.
Shankaranarayanan teaches:
wherein the operation of the server receiving the first reward certificate selected by the interactive apparatus further comprises: transmitting, by the interactive apparatus, the first reward certificate to the terminal device; and transmitting, by the terminal device, the first reward certificate to the server. (paragraph [0052] The system includes a tethering mobile device acting as a special purpose connected device (SPCD) 900 having a digital certificate 918, a first intermediate tethering mobile device 920A, a second intermediate tethering mobile device 920B, a gateway tethering mobile device 920C, a network 940, and an application server 948. As SPCD 900 places a call or generates a beacon, for instance while attempting an E911 call, an STC request is broadcast to all devices within a range of SPCD 900. The request is received by first intermediate tethering mobile device 920A across a WiFi connection. First intermediate tethering mobile device 920A is for some reason unable to or disabled from connecting to network 940. However, first intermediate tethering mobile device 920A is programmed to forward the broadcast to other devices in the area, such as second intermediate tethering mobile device 920B, across a BLUETOOTH or equivalent wireless connection. Second intermediate tethering mobile device 920B is similarly unable to connect to application server 948 across network 940, and therefore forwards the broadcast across a Wi-Fi connection. The broadcast is received by gateway tethering mobile device 920C. Gateway tethering mobile device 920C has a network connection capable of transmitting data to servers and other entities across network 940.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the device tethering for transmitting data to a server as taught by Shankaranarayanan with the interactive device, terminal device, and server of Itkis in view of Taylor in view of Spivack in order to provide data to the server in the event that an individual device is unable to send the data directly due to connectivity issues (paragraph [0052])
Itkis in view of Taylor in view of Spivack teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 10. As per claims 5 and 14:
Itkis in view of Taylor in view of Spivack does not expressly teach transmitting, by the interactive apparatus, the rental certificate and the first reward certificate to the terminal device; and in response to the rental certificate corresponding to the terminal device, transmitting, by the terminal device, the first reward certificate to the server.
Shankaranarayanan teaches:
wherein the operation of the server receiving the first reward certificate selected by the interactive apparatus further comprises: transmitting, by the interactive apparatus, the rental certificate and the first reward certificate to the terminal device; and in response to the rental certificate corresponding to the terminal device, transmitting, by the terminal device, the first reward certificate to the server. (paragraph [0052] The system includes a tethering mobile device acting as a special purpose connected device (SPCD) 900 having a digital certificate 918, a first intermediate tethering mobile device 920A, a second intermediate tethering mobile device 920B, a gateway tethering mobile device 920C, a network 940, and an application server 948. As SPCD 900 places a call or generates a beacon, for instance while attempting an E911 call, an STC request is broadcast to all devices within a range of SPCD 900. The request is received by first intermediate tethering mobile device 920A across a WiFi connection. First intermediate tethering mobile device 920A is for some reason unable to or disabled from connecting to network 940. However, first intermediate tethering mobile device 920A is programmed to forward the broadcast to other devices in the area, such as second intermediate tethering mobile device 920B, across a BLUETOOTH or equivalent wireless connection. Second intermediate tethering mobile device 920B is similarly unable to connect to application server 948 across network 940, and therefore forwards the broadcast across a Wi-Fi connection. The broadcast is received by gateway tethering mobile device 920C. Gateway tethering mobile device 920C has a network connection capable of transmitting data to servers and other entities across network 940.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the device tethering for transmitting data to a server as taught by Shankaranarayanan with the interactive device, terminal device, and server of Itkis in view of Taylor in view of Spivack in order to provide data to the server in the event that an individual device is unable to send the data directly due to connectivity issues (paragraph [0052]).
Claim(s) 6, 7, 15, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Itkis et al (US 2003/0104865) in view of Taylor et al (US 2021/0304555) in view of Spivack et al (US 2019/0188450) in view of David et al (US 2024/0221451)
Itkis in view of Taylor in view of Spivack teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 10. As per claims 6 and 15:
Itkis in view of Taylor in view of Spivack does not expressly teach wherein the virtual reward distribution system is further configured to execute the following operation: transmitting, by the server, an updated reward certificate and an updated reward condition to the interactive apparatus to update the reward certificates and the reward conditions.
David teaches:
wherein the virtual reward distribution system is further configured to execute the following operation: transmitting, by the server, an updated reward certificate and an updated reward condition to the interactive apparatus to update the reward certificates and the reward conditions. (paragraph [0026] FIG. 6 illustrates a method for managing advertisements/campaigns in a vending/dispensing network system, in accordance with examples of the present disclosure. The network 100 also includes a first application 106, a cloud messaging server 110, a cloud application server 112, a web application 114 and a second application 109. The dispensing machine 102 includes (or is associated with) a first application 106 for operating the dispensing machine 102 within the network 100. The dispensing machine 102 may also include input device(s) (e.g., sensor(s), keyboard, mouse, touchpad, scanners, RFID readers, card readers, NFC readers, data reader devices, touch screen, buttons, switches) and output device(s) (e.g., display, monitor, printer, secondary display unit). At step 600, the web application 114 transmits to the cloud application server 112, an update request for scheduling advertisement(s) 601 (or campaigns) in different locations. At step 602, indicates that the update request for scheduling advertisements 601 at the web application 114 is successful. At step 604, the completion of the step 602 triggers the cloud application server 112 to send a request API call with a push device token and data type for updating advertisement, to the cloud messaging server 110. At step 606, the completion of the step 604 triggers the cloud messaging server 110 to send a push notification message for performing an update action, to the first application 106. At step 608, the cloud application server 112 receives a response from the cloud messaging server 110, for storing message ID, notification type, dispensing machine ID, status of operation (success and/or failure) in the notification table. At step 610, the first application 106 sends a request for updating read status against the message ID mapped with the dispensing machine ID, notification ID and type in the notification table, to the cloud application server 112. At step 612, the first application 106 receives a success response on confirming the read status, from the cloud application server 112. At step 614, the first application 106 sends a request for updating advertisement info for a location and fetching a media file, to the cloud application server 112. At step 616, the first application 106 fetches from the cloud application server 112, data for downloading media and storing advertisement information including advertisement ID, start date and time of advertisement, end date and time of advertisement, no of looping, advertisement timeline ID with media details including media ID, media type, images, videos, optical code with downloadable features, optical code with URL links, optical code with coupons, optical code with promotion codes and media URLs in the local database of the dispensing machine 102. At step 618, the advertisement(s) 601 are updated on the dispensing machine 102 successfully.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the virtual reward distribution system is further configured to execute the following operation: transmitting, by the server, an updated reward certificate and an updated reward condition to the interactive apparatus to update the reward certificates and the reward conditions as taught by David with the rental device and reward system of Itkis in view of Taylor in view of Spivack in order to provide relevant material for a particular location (paragraph [0026]).
Itkis in view of Taylor in view of Spivack in view of David teaches the limitations of claims 6 and 15. As per claims 7 and 16:
David further teaches
wherein the operation of the server transmitting the updated reward certificate and the updated reward condition to the interactive apparatus further comprises: transmitting, by the server, the updated reward certificate and the updated reward condition to the interactive apparatus based on a location data of the interactive apparatus to update the reward certificates and the reward conditions. (paragraph [0026] FIG. 6 illustrates a method for managing advertisements/campaigns in a vending/dispensing network system, in accordance with examples of the present disclosure. The network 100 also includes a first application 106, a cloud messaging server 110, a cloud application server 112, a web application 114 and a second application 109. The dispensing machine 102 includes (or is associated with) a first application 106 for operating the dispensing machine 102 within the network 100. The dispensing machine 102 may also include input device(s) (e.g., sensor(s), keyboard, mouse, touchpad, scanners, RFID readers, card readers, NFC readers, data reader devices, touch screen, buttons, switches) and output device(s) (e.g., display, monitor, printer, secondary display unit). At step 600, the web application 114 transmits to the cloud application server 112, an update request for scheduling advertisement(s) 601 (or campaigns) in different locations. At step 602, indicates that the update request for scheduling advertisements 601 at the web application 114 is successful. At step 604, the completion of the step 602 triggers the cloud application server 112 to send a request API call with a push device token and data type for updating advertisement, to the cloud messaging server 110. At step 606, the completion of the step 604 triggers the cloud messaging server 110 to send a push notification message for performing an update action, to the first application 106. At step 608, the cloud application server 112 receives a response from the cloud messaging server 110, for storing message ID, notification type, dispensing machine ID, status of operation (success and/or failure) in the notification table. At step 610, the first application 106 sends a request for updating read status against the message ID mapped with the dispensing machine ID, notification ID and type in the notification table, to the cloud application server 112. At step 612, the first application 106 receives a success response on confirming the read status, from the cloud application server 112. At step 614, the first application 106 sends a request for updating advertisement info for a location and fetching a media file, to the cloud application server 112. At step 616, the first application 106 fetches from the cloud application server 112, data for downloading media and storing advertisement information including advertisement ID, start date and time of advertisement, end date and time of advertisement, no of looping, advertisement timeline ID with media details including media ID, media type, images, videos, optical code with downloadable features, optical code with URL links, optical code with coupons, optical code with promotion codes and media URLs in the local database of the dispensing machine 102. At step 618, the advertisement(s) 601 are updated on the dispensing machine 102 successfully.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the operation of the server transmitting the updated reward certificate and the updated reward condition to the interactive apparatus further comprises: transmitting, by the server, the updated reward certificate and the updated reward condition to the interactive apparatus based on a location data of the interactive apparatus to update the reward certificates and the reward conditions as taught by David with the rental device and reward system of Itkis in view of Taylor in view of Spivack in order to provide relevant material for a particular location (paragraph [0026]).
Response to Arguments
The examiner has considered but does not find persuasive applicant’s arguments regarding rejections under 35 USC 101. The specific ying that the device is an AR glasses device with camera amount to a generic computing device. The device is recited at a high level of generality and is merely used to implement that abstract idea. Nothing in the claims improvise AR devices or AR technology. Further, the fact that the reward is only provided when the user returns the rental is merely part of the abstract idea. With regard to a particular machine, the examiner respectfully disagrees. The device is merely a generic computing device. Nothing in the claims improves upon AR devices or AR technology. The high-level use of a generic AR device does not go beyond the “apply it” level of implementation. As a result, such rejection has been maintained.
Arguments with regard to rejections under 35 USC 103 are moot in light of new grounds of rejections which have been necessitated by amendment.
Conclusion
The following prior art though not relied upon is considered relevant:
Sherif et al (US 2023/0153776) – see at least [0036]
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
CHRISTOPHER STROUD
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3621B
/CHRISTOPHER STROUD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3621