PFDETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is objected for not being descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 6-10, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taylor et al. (US Pub. 20160192152 A1) in view of Vendrow et al. (US Pat. 11013042 B1).
For claims 1, 9, and 15, Taylor discloses a system comprising: a mobile device (110/2000) comprising:
one or more sensors (2060, e.g. GPS sensor for 111) configured to detect a velocity of the mobile device (detecting driving or walking speed) [0021, 0035, 0112]; and
a transmitter (2070) configured to transmit a presence update associated with a travel status (ToA) to a server (120) of a unified communications as a service (CaaS) platform (111) based on the detected velocity to update a presence indicator on a remote client display (transmitting location updates to 120/123 from 110/112, on the display, updating time of arrival (ToA) reference based on the updated speed range) [0024, 0034-35, 0056]; and
But Taylor doesn’t explicitly teach route an incoming communication to a first device associated with a first user when a modality is a first modality and route the incoming communication to a second device associated with a second user when the modality is a second modality.
However, Vendrow discloses route an incoming communication to a first device (130C) associated with a first user when a modality is a first modality (col. 5, lines 27-49, col. 10, lines 55-67) and route the incoming communication to a second device (130D) associated with a second user when the modality is a second modality (col. 10, lines 10-25, col. 11 lines 15-39).
Since, all are analogous arts addressing data transmission in a telecommunication network used by mobile devices; Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Taylor with Vendrow to ensure different data formats can be communicated to other relevant parties; thus, improving information sharing capabilities.
Claim 1 differs from claim 9 only by the additional recitation of the following limitation, which is also taught by the cited prior arts. Taylor further discloses a method [0034-35]. All identical limitations are rejected based on the same rationale as shown above.
Claim 15 differs from claim 1 only by the additional recitation of the following limitation, which is also taught by the cited prior arts. Taylor further discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions stored on a memory, that when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform operations [0105]. All identical limitations are rejected based on the same rationale as shown above.
For claims 2, 10, and 16, Taylor, as modified by Vendrow, discloses the presence update indicates that a user of the mobile device is driving (determining whether a speed is above a threshold of a driving speed) [0052-53].
For claim 6, Taylor as modified by Vendrow, Vendrow further discloses the first user is a supervisor of the user of the mobile device (abstract). See motivation to combined the references from the above.
For claim 7, Taylor as modified by Vendrow, Vendrow further discloses the first modality is a video call (col. 10, lines 10-25, col. 11 lines 15-39). See motivation to combined the references from the above.
For claim 8, Taylor as modified by Vendrow, Vendrow further discloses the second modality is an audio call (col. 5, lines 27-49, col. 10, lines 55-67). See motivation to combined the references from the above.
Claims 3, 4, 11, 12, 14, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taylor et al. (US Pub. 20160192152 A1) in view of Vendrow et al. (US Pat. 11013042 B1) in further view of Deak et al. (US Pub. 20170358022 A1).
For claims 3, 11, and 17, Taylor, as modified by Vendrow, discloses all limitation this claim depends on.
But Taylor, as modified by Vendrow, doesn’t explicitly discloses the following limitations taught by Deak.
Deak discloses determining that the detected velocity exceeds a velocity threshold [0059]; and
determining that a user of the mobile device is flying based on the determination that the detected velocity exceeds the velocity threshold (step 408) [0059, 0044].
Since, all are analogous arts addressing data transmission in a telecommunication network; Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Taylor, Vendrow, and Deck to ensure different user profiles can be properly determined; thus, allowing the system the flexibility to improve its operating mode based on different user profile needs.
For claims 4, 12, and 18, Taylor as modified by Vendrow and Deak, Deak further discloses the presence update indicates that the user of the mobile device is flying (step 408) [0044]. See motivation to combined the references from the above.
For claim 14, Taylor as modified by Vendrow and Deak, Deak further discloses the velocity threshold is based on a velocity that is outside a normal driving range or capability of an automobile [0059]. See motivation to combined the references from the above.
For claim 19, Taylor as modified by Vendrow and Deak, Vendrow further discloses the first modality is a short messaging service (SMS) message (col. 7 lines 50-55, col. 10, lines 45-48). See motivation to combined the references from the above.
For claim 20, Taylor as modified by Vendrow and Deak, Vendrow further the second modality is a chat message (col. 10, lines 23-25). See motivation to combined the references from the above.
Claims 5 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taylor et al. (US Pub. 20160192152 A1) in view of Vendrow et al. (US Pat. 11013042 B1) in further view of Deak et al. (US Pub. 20170358022 A1) in further view of Smith (US Pub. 20150080016 A1).
For claims 5 and 13, Taylor, as modified by Vendrow and Deak, discloses all limitation this claim depends on.
But Taylor, as modified by Vendrow and Deak, doesn’t explicitly disclose the following limitations taught by Smith.
Smith discloses detecting an altitude (46) of the mobile device using the one or more sensors of the mobile device (Fig. 3B) [0087-97]; and
determining that the detected altitude exceeds an altitude threshold (Fig. 3B) [0087-97].
Since, all are analogous arts addressing data transmission in a telecommunication network; Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Taylor, Vendrow, Deck, and Smith to allow the mobile device to detect altitude changes; thus, allowing the system to make adjustments to improve its operating mode based on different service environments.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 10645088 B1, US 20170048386 A1
Inquiries
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Armouche, Hadi can be reached on 571-270-3618. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/PAKEE FANG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409