DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This office action is in response to the application filed on 8/14/2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101).
Claims 1, 11, and 20 claim a human in a system claim, specifically the user and advertiser are considered to be humans under broadest reasonable interpretation. Therefore, the examiner recommends removing these entities from the claims. Claims 2-10 and 12-19 are rejected as each depends from claim 1 or 11.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1: Claims 1-10, 11-19, and 20 are directed to a system. Thus, on their face they fall within the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter.
Step 2A prong 1:
Claim 20 includes all of the limitations of claims 1 and 11 and an additional limitation. Claim 20 will be used as representative. Each claims additional elements will be addressed individually. The following limitations, when considered individually and as an ordered combination, are merely descriptive of abstract concepts:
Claim 1, 11, 20:
a user;
an advertiser;
manages information of said user;
stored a user profile, a preference, and a demographic criteria of said user and of said advertiser;
providing said user to update said user profile, said preference, and said demographic criteria;
stored credential information of said user;
uploaded advertisements including corresponding metadata such as a title, a format, a category, a genre, and an age rating; (claim 1)
matching said uploaded advertisements to said user profiles based on at least said preference and said demographic criteria set by said advertisers;
track past behavior selected from the group consisting of said preference, a dislike, and a streaming pattern of said user for autonomously recommending an advertisement category; and (claim 11)
further comprising a block option for said user to block one or more said advertisement category. (claim 20)
The following dependent claim limitations, when considered individually and as an ordered combination, are merely further descriptive of abstract concepts:
Claims 2, 12:
managing a user login, a registration, and an authentication and comparing said user login, said registration, and said authentication of a plurality of received credentials from said users to a plurality of stored credentials for authentication.
Claim 3:
matching said uploaded advertisements to said user profiles based on at least said preference and said demographic criteria set by said advertisers.
Claim 4:
track past behavior selected from the group consisting of said preference, a dislike, and a streaming pattern of said user for autonomously recommending an advertisement category.
Claims 5, 13:
uploads, categorizes, and manages said advertisements from said advertiser.
Claims 7, 15:
uploads said advertisements and said targeting criteria of said advertiser.
Claims 9, 18:
signing up said user of said network.
Claims 10, 19:
further comprising a block option for said user to block one or more said advertisement category.
The claims provide ensuring personalized ad delivery by matching ads to user profiles based on preferences (see spec [0002]). More specifically, the claims manage information a user, store a user profile, a preference, and a demographic criteria of said user and of said advertiser, provide said user to update their profile, said preference, and said demographic criteria, store credential information of said user, upload advertisements including corresponding metadata such as a title, a format, a category, a genre, and an age rating, match said uploaded advertisements to said user profiles based on at least said preference and said demographic criteria set by said advertisers, track past behavior selected from the group consisting of said preference, a dislike, and a streaming pattern of said user for autonomously recommending an advertisement category, and allow a block option for said user to block one or more advertisement categories. Thus, when considered individually and as an ordered combination, the claims embody certain methods of organizing human activity. Specifically, such activity is in the form of commercial interactions (in the form of advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors).
Step 2A prong 2: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claims recite the following additional elements: an electronic user device,(claims 1, 11, 20); a user advertisement filter application (claims 1, 6, 9, 11, 14, 18, 20); an advertiser advertisement filter application; (claims 1, 11, 20); an electronic advertiser device (claims 1, 11, 20); a server ( claims 1, 6, 11, 14, 20); a user management module (claims 1, 11, 20); a user database (claims 1, 11, 20); a profile management module (claims 1, 11, 20); wherein said electronic user device is selected from the group consisting of a smartphone, a tablet, and a computer (claims 1, 11, 20); wherein said user advertisement filter application accessible by said user selected from the group consisting of a streaming service, and an e-sport service (claims 1, 11, 20); wherein said advertiser advertisement filter application installed in said electronic advertiser device of said advertiser (claims 1, 11, 20); wherein said server having an advertisement management system including an advertisement database, a targeting engine, and an advertisement interface (claims 1, 11, 20); authentication module (claims 2, 12); targeting engine (claim 3, 4, 11, 20) having a machine learning module having a plurality of algorithms (claims 4, 11, 20); advertisement interface (claims 5, 13); further comprising an API module for communicating between said user advertisement filter application and said server (claims 6, 7, 14, 15); wherein said API module interfaces with a network selected from the group consisting of a social media and a streaming service to communicate said preference of said user (claims 8, 16); interface (claim 9, 18);
The electronic user device, wherein said electronic user device is selected from the group consisting of a smartphone, a tablet, and a computer, electronic advertiser device, server with advertisement database, and user database are recited at a high level of generality and merely “apply it” (the abstract idea) using generic computing components. The computing devices merely send and receive data (providing, uploaded/uploads, communicating), process data (manages/managing information, matching, track), and stores data (stored). Nothing in the claims improves upon computer technology or a technical field. (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The user advertisement filter application, advertiser advertisement filter application, user management module, profile management module, authentication module, targeting engine, are merely names given to the software responsible to perform the abstract idea on the generic computing devices. Thus, they too do not go beyond the “apply it” level of implementation (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The limitations including wherein said user advertisement filter application accessible by said user selected from the group consisting of a streaming service, and an e-sport service, wherein said advertiser advertisement filter application installed in said electronic advertiser device of said advertiser, and wherein said API module interfaces with a network selected from the group consisting of a social media and a streaming service to communicate said preference of said user merely provide a general link to a particular technological environment (i.e. streaming service or e-sport, on an electronic device, social media or streaming) in which to practice the abstract idea. Nothing in the claims improves technology or a technical field (See MPEP 2106.05(h)).
The machine learning module having a plurality of algorithms is recited at a high level of generality and does not go beyond the “apply it” level of implementation. Nothing in the claims recites meaningful limitations such that machine learning technology or the technical field is improved (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The advertisement interface and interface are generic interfaces. They recite no meaningful interface elements such that it improves interface technology or a technical field. The interfaces merely provide a general link to entering information or making selections in a particular technological environment (i.e. on a computer) (See MPEP 2106.05(h)).
The high-level use of an API, further comprising an API module for communicating between said user advertisement filter application and said server does not go beyond the “apply it” level of implementation. The API is merely used to communicate between computing devices. Nothing in the claims improves API technology or a technical field (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Accordingly, when considered both individually and as an ordered combination, the additional elements do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Step 2B: The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Similarly, as above with regard to practical application, the additional elements when considered both individually and as an ordered combination, do not provide an inventive concept as they merely provide generic computing components used as a tool to implement the abstract idea and provide a general link to a particular technological environment or field of use.
As a result, the claims are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gerace US 5,991,735 in view of Rosa (US 2011/0191151) in view of DeRosa-Grund (US 2020/0074461)
As per claim 1:
Gerace teaches:
An advertisement filter application system comprising:
a user; ([C2L10-22] The present invention uses agate information to determine the profile of a computer user, and in particular the behavioral or psychographic profile, as distinguished from the demographic profile, of a user.)
an advertiser; (C4L57-61] Based on the created user profile for a given user, program 31 enables sponsors to better direct their advertisements and enables advertisements to be tailored to target users' display preferences.)
an electronic user device; ([C2L10-22] The present invention uses agate information to determine the profile of a computer user, and in particular the behavioral or psychographic profile, as distinguished from the demographic profile, of a user. To accomplish this, the present invention provides (i) a data assembly for displaying customized agate information to a computer user, and (ii) a tracking and profiling member for recording user activity with respect to agate information displayed through the data assembly. Over time, the tracking and profiling member holds a history and/or pattern of user activity which in turn is interpreted as a user's habits and/or preferences. To that end, a psychographic profile is inferred from the recorded activities in the tracking and profiling member.)
a user advertisement filter application; ([C2L13-22] To accomplish this, the present invention provides (i) a data assembly for displaying customized agate information to a computer user, and (ii) a tracking and profiling member for recording user activity with respect to agate information displayed through the data assembly. Over time, the tracking and profiling member holds a history and/or pattern of user activity which in turn is interpreted as a user's habits and/or preferences. To that end, a psychographic profile is inferred from the recorded activities in the tracking and profiling member.)
an advertiser advertisement filter application; ([C18L13-37] In the case of a sponsor-user logging on, he may browse through the agate information (categories on the Home Page) and advertisements as described above for an end user, but more importantly he is able to place ads and obtain performance reports. This is accomplished as follows. When a company (sponsor) opens an account with the program administer, the program administrator obtains sponsor information and forms a corresponding Sponsor Object 33a. Advertising information and desired ads of the sponsor are recorded in respective objects. In particular, package information (number of click throughs purchased, pricing and timing details) are recorded in Ad Package Object 33b. Demographic targets are entered in Ad Series Object 33c, and the ad content and information are stored in the Ad Objects 33d.As discussed above, sponsors have the ability to place ads according to demographic profile. To do so, advertisers/sponsors complete a template (preferably in the Ad Series Objects 33c) which allows them to list certain criteria as required, and to weight other criteria by importance. To ensure ads are shown to the appropriate target users, the sponsor then selects a minimum total weight which a user's demographic/psychographic profile must achieve before the advertisement is shown to the user.
an electronic advertiser device; ([C6L22-28] Turning to FIG. 3a, the purpose of the set of User Objects 37 is to identify users and maintain a user profile for each user. Included in the set of User Objects 37 is general information about users and their computers, as well as specific data on each computer session undertaken by the users. [C18L54-57] Subsequently when the sponsor-user logs on, the Web server 27 (using cookies if available) identifies the sponsor-user with a user ID stored in the Sponsor Object 33a (FIG. 5a).
a server; ([C4L14-22] Also linked to communication line 23 are various servers 25a, 25b which provide to end users access to the Internet (i.e., access to potentially all other networks 19, and hence processors 11, 13, 15, 17 connected to the Internet). The present invention is a software program 31 operated on and connected through a Web server 27 to the Internet for communication among the various networks 19 and/or processors 11, 13, 15, 17 and other end users connected through respective servers 25.)
a user management module; ([C2L13-22] To accomplish this, the present invention provides (i) a data assembly for displaying customized agate information to a computer user, and (ii) a tracking and profiling member for recording user activity with respect to agate information displayed through the data assembly. Over time, the tracking and profiling member holds a history and/or pattern of user activity which in turn is interpreted as a user's habits and/or preferences. To that end, a psychographic profile is inferred from the recorded activities in the tracking and profiling member.)
a user database; and ([C2L13-22] To accomplish this, the present invention provides (i) a data assembly for displaying customized agate information to a computer user, and (ii) a tracking and profiling member for recording user activity with respect to agate information displayed through the data assembly. Over time, the tracking and profiling member holds a history and/or pattern of user activity which in turn is interpreted as a user's habits and/or preferences. To that end, a psychographic profile is inferred from the recorded activities in the tracking and profiling member. [C2L38-42] The tracking and profiling member also records demographics of each user. As a result, the data assembly is able to transmit advertisements for display to users based on psychographic and demographic profiles of the user to provide targeted marketing.
a profile management module; ([C2L13-22] To accomplish this, the present invention provides (i) a data assembly for displaying customized agate information to a computer user, and (ii) a tracking and profiling member for recording user activity with respect to agate information displayed through the data assembly. Over time, the tracking and profiling member holds a history and/or pattern of user activity which in turn is interpreted as a user's habits and/or preferences. To that end, a psychographic profile is inferred from the recorded activities in the tracking and profiling member. [C2L38-42] The tracking and profiling member also records demographics of each user. As a result, the data assembly is able to transmit advertisements for display to users based on psychographic and demographic profiles of the user to provide targeted marketing.
wherein said electronic user device is selected from the group consisting of a smartphone, a tablet, and a computer; ([C2L10-22] The present invention uses agate information to determine the profile of a computer user, and in particular the behavioral or psychographic profile, as distinguished from the demographic profile, of a user. To accomplish this, the present invention provides (i) a data assembly for displaying customized agate information to a computer user, and (ii) a tracking and profiling member for recording user activity with respect to agate information displayed through the data assembly. Over time, the tracking and profiling member holds a history and/or pattern of user activity which in turn is interpreted as a user's habits and/or preferences. To that end, a psychographic profile is inferred from the recorded activities in the tracking and profiling member.)
wherein said user management module manages information of said user; ([C2L13-22] To accomplish this, the present invention provides (i) a data assembly for displaying customized agate information to a computer user, and (ii) a tracking and profiling member for recording user activity with respect to agate information displayed through the data assembly. Over time, the tracking and profiling member holds a history and/or pattern of user activity which in turn is interpreted as a user's habits and/or preferences. To that end, a psychographic profile is inferred from the recorded activities in the tracking and profiling member.)
wherein said user database having stored a user profile, a preference, and a demographic criteria of said user and of said advertiser; (See Fig. 3B; 5A; [C2L13-22] To accomplish this, the present invention provides (i) a data assembly for displaying customized agate information to a computer user, and (ii) a tracking and profiling member for recording user activity with respect to agate information displayed through the data assembly. Over time, the tracking and profiling member holds a history and/or pattern of user activity which in turn is interpreted as a user's habits and/or preferences. To that end, a psychographic profile is inferred from the recorded activities in the tracking and profiling member. [C2L38-42] The tracking and profiling member also records demographics of each user. As a result, the data assembly is able to transmit advertisements for display to users based on psychographic and demographic profiles of the user to provide targeted marketing. [C12L19-29] For each sponsor (or advertiser), a corresponding Sponsor Object 33a (FIG. 5a) stores in a table (or sponsor directory) the company name, numeric identification unique to that sponsor, user contact information and program 31 administrator contact information. Also Sponsor Object 33a records an indication of the demographic profile of the sponsor company itself in order to advertise to the sponsor company user as is appropriate. Further, Sponsor Object 33a indicates standardized report configurations (display preferences, etc.) for that sponsor. [C18L54-63] Subsequently when the sponsor-user logs on, the Web server 27 (using cookies if available) identifies the sponsor-user with a user ID stored in the Sponsor Object 33a (FIG. 5a). Preferably, separate cookies are used to identify the user's personal login apart from that of the user as an agent of a sponsor-company. Also program 31 begins recording page information for the sponsor, and begins building a demographic and psychographic profile and usage history upon the sponsor-user entering the system. [C19L33-46] When displayed to the sponsor-user, reports may also have ads integrated therein, similar to pages/screen views displayed to users discussed previously. In the example, say another company previously placed an ad targeting advertisers in the telecommunications industry. When the sponsor-user of the example logs in, the server 27 queries the corresponding Sponsor Object 33a for the company's SIC code and industry description. Recognizing a match, program 31 places the other company's ad on the report screen view displayed to the sponsor-user. If the sponsor-user clicks on the ad, program 31 records the hit for the other company's advertisement, just as it would with any other end user. As such, program 31 tracks advertiser usage as user information and develops demographic profiles for advertisers. See also [C2L23-31])
wherein said profile management module providing said user to update said user profile, said preference, and said demographic criteria; ([C2L10-23] The present invention uses agate information to determine the profile of a computer user, and in particular the behavioral or psychographic profile, as distinguished from the demographic profile, of a user. To accomplish this, the present invention provides (i) a data assembly for displaying customized agate information to a computer user, and (ii) a tracking and profiling member for recording user activity with respect to agate information displayed through the data assembly. Over time, the tracking and profiling member holds a history and/or pattern of user activity which in turn is interpreted as a user's habits and/or preferences. To that end, a psychographic profile is inferred from the recorded activities in the tracking and profiling member. [C2L38-42] The tracking and profiling member also records demographics of each user. As a result, the data assembly is able to transmit advertisements for display to users based on psychographic and demographic profiles of the user to provide targeted marketing. [C2L61-67] The preferred embodiment utilizes object oriented programming techniques to provide a User Object. The User Object tracks user actions in a history profiling table. The User Object utilizes an updating routine which maintains the history profiling table by storing in the table an indication of a user's actions, i.e., computer activities, with respect to displayed agate information. [C15L15-20] Simultaneously main routine 39 updates User Action History Object 37e to reflect the user's selection of the "quick quotation" option. User Viewing History Object 37f notes that the user selected an option which had stock data present in blue, for example, with moving graphical elements.)
wherein said profile management module having stored credential information of said user; ([C6L22-32] Turning to FIG. 3a, the purpose of the set of User Objects 37 is to identify users and maintain a user profile for each user. Included in the set of User Objects 37 is general information about users and their computers, as well as specific data on each computer session undertaken by the users. In particular, for each set there is a User Object 37a. User Object 37a identifies a respective user by nickname (user chosen), password (user chosen), and optionally E-mail address, postal address, telephone number, credit card number, and the like. See also [C5L27-35], [C14L33-46])
wherein said server having an advertisement management system including an advertisement database, a targeting engine, and an advertisement interface; ([C5L43-53] With respect to the advertisement module 75, program controller 79 obtains sponsor submitted advertisements from module 75 and generates a screen view formatted according to user preferences as determined from the psychographic profile in the user profiling member 73. That is, program controller 79 enables display of advertisements customized to the user, as to content and presentation (i.e., colors used, orientation on the screen, audio/video components, and the like). [C12L12-64] Referring back to FIG. 3a, a set of Sponsor Objects 33 stores sponsor provided information, including advertisements desired to be displayed and details regarding the same. FIGS. 5a-5d illustrate the set of Sponsor Objects 33, referred to as Sponsor Object 33a, Ad Package Objects 33b, Ad Series Objects 33c, and Ad Objects 33d in the preferred embodiment and detailed next. For each sponsor (or advertiser), a corresponding Sponsor Object 33a (FIG. 5a) stores in a table (or sponsor directory) the company name, numeric identification unique to that sponsor, user contact information and program 31 administrator contact information. Also Sponsor Object 33a records an indication of the demographic profile of the sponsor company itself in order to advertise to the sponsor company user as is appropriate. Further, Sponsor Object 33a indicates standardized report configurations (display preferences, etc.) for that sponsor. Each sponsor has one or more ad packages maintained by respective Ad Package Objects 33b of the sponsor. In each Ad Package Object 33b (FIG. 5b) there is indicated the sponsor ID, start and end dates and times, and pricing of the ad packages. The pricing may be dependent on the number of times the ad is viewed by users (i.e., a "hit"), number of times a user selects to view more information from the ad (i.e., a "click through") and/or the number of times an actual order is generated. Pricing by the number of hits and number of click throughs by exact numbers or maximum numbers is indicated in the Ad Package Object 33b. Thus Ad Package Objects 33b serve as billing entities for the program 31 administrator. Also Ad Package Object 33b records the number of hits and click throughs as tracked/monitored during user operation of program 31. Specific to desired ads, each sponsor has one or more Ad Series Objects 33c (FIG. 5c). An Ad Series Object 33c (FIG. 5c) provides an indication of whether a given advertisement is singly or serially displayed, the category of the information, and the demographic group pre-requested by the sponsor to be shown that advertisement. In a preferred embodiment, the sponsor specifies in Ad Series Object 33c the required and/or preferred psychographic and/or demographic criteria and relative importance (e.g., weight) with respect to each criterion. Further, the sponsor specifies in Ad Series Object 33c a minimum total weight of criteria to be met by a user to qualify the user to view the ad series. Also Ad Series Object 33c includes a reference to an Ad Package Object 33b (via an ad package identification), the hour of the day in which the ad/ad series is to start and end, the days of the week on which the ad/ad series is to be displayed, and the beginning and ending dates and times of the ad/ad series. See also [C18L13-C20L50])
wherein said advertisement database having uploaded advertisements including corresponding metadata such as a title, a format, a category, a genre,{…}; (Fig. 5c, 5d;[C7L25-27] In particular, as illustrated in FIG. 3f, User Action History Object 37e records… (e) identification of item selected by user (via click of mouse with cursor positioned on item), [C7L32-35] Specifically, User Viewing History Object 37f records an item identification (either agate or advertisement) and orientation of that item for each item displayed to (and hence viewed by) the user in a session. [C12L45-C13L11] Specific to desired ads, each sponsor has one or more Ad Series Objects 33c (FIG. 5c). An Ad Series Object 33c (FIG. 5c) provides an indication of whether a given advertisement is singly or serially displayed, the category of the information, and the demographic group pre-requested by the sponsor to be shown that advertisement. In a preferred embodiment, the sponsor specifies in Ad Series Object 33c the required and/or preferred psychographic and/or demographic criteria and relative importance (e.g., weight) with respect to each criterion. Further, the sponsor specifies in Ad Series Object 33c a minimum total weight of criteria to be met by a user to qualify the user to view the ad series. Also Ad Series Object 33c includes a reference to an Ad Package Object 33b (via an ad package identification), the hour of the day in which the ad/ad series is to start and end, the days of the week on which the ad/ad series is to be displayed, and the beginning and ending dates and times of the ad/ad series. Each ad forms a corresponding Ad Object 33d as illustrated in FIG. 5d. For a given advertisement, Ad Object 33d indicates to which series the advertisement belongs. To effectuate this, the Ad Object 33d indicates a series ID which references an Ad Series Object 33c, and indicates a series sequence (i.e., the ordering of the ads in a series). Ad Object 33d also includes the starting and ending time for display of the ad each day. Ad Object 33d also provides references to graphic, sound, and multimedia portions of an advertisement. A text-only format of an advertisement is used for users receiving messages on their own E-mail service or on a text-only browser (e.g., Links systems for VAX/VMS operating systems) rather than through the messaging feature of program 31. [C18L28-36] As discussed above, sponsors have the ability to place ads according to demographic profile. To do so, advertisers/sponsors complete a template (preferably in the Ad Series Objects 33c) which allows them to list certain criteria as required, and to weight other criteria by importance. To ensure ads are shown to the appropriate target users, the sponsor then selects a minimum total weight which a user's demographic/psychographic profile must achieve before the advertisement is shown to the user. The {…} indicate a modification to the claim language to show what is expressly taught by Gerace. Limitations regarding an age rating will be addressed below. )
Gerace does not expressly teach wherein said user advertisement filter application accessible by said user selected from the group consisting of a streaming service, and an e-sport service;
Rosa teaches:
wherein said user advertisement filter application accessible by said user selected from the group consisting of a streaming service, and an e-sport service; (paragraph [0032] The video player illustrated in FIG. 1 can be streaming video and audio from live events, as well as video record and playback.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein said user advertisement filter application accessible by said user selected from the group consisting of a streaming service, and an e-sport service as taught by Rosa with the advertising matching system of Gerace in order to serve advertisements to websites that will be more beneficial to advertisers as well as others who are associated with a web page (paragraph [0007]).
Gerace in view of Rosa in view of MA does not expressly teach wherein said advertiser advertisement filter application installed in said electronic advertiser device of said advertiser and an age rating.
Gerace in view of Rosa does not expressly teach wherein said advertiser advertisement filter application installed in said electronic advertiser device of said advertiser and an age rating.
DeRosa-Grund teaches:
wherein said advertiser advertisement filter application installed in said electronic advertiser device of said advertiser; (paragraph [0053] The application on the advertiser blockchain operating system 604 (and/or advertiser device 506) is able to comprise a login and registration module, an encryption module, a ledger module, an ad upload module and/or a ripcord module.)
and an age rating (paragraph [0059] For example, the advertiser is able to upload an ad for a car along with demographic data specifying an age range of 20-25 and a location region of within 20 miles of an input location as the target demographic. As a result, only user's whose personal information match those target parameters will be shown that car ad.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein said advertiser advertisement filter application installed in said electronic advertiser device of said advertiser and an age rating as taught by DeRosa-Grund with the advertising matching system of Gerace in view of Rosa in order to facilitate, verify and enforce the performance of an agreement, where proportional pre-determined amounts from the proceeds of the viewing of the ad (as specified in the contract) are directed to the user, the platform and/or other entities (paragraph [0050]).
Gerace in view of Rosa in view of DeRosa-Grund teaches the limitations of claim 1. As per claim 2:
Gerace further teaches:
further comprising an authentication module for managing a user login, a registration, and an authentication and comparing said user login, said registration, and said authentication of a plurality of received credentials from said users to a plurality of stored credentials for authentication. ([C5L16-35] In particular, in response to user login, program controller 79 checks with the user profiling member 73 to determine whether the user has in the past logged on to program 31 or is a new user. In the former case, according to records in the user profiling member 73, the program controller 79 obtains preference information for that user and using agate information from the agate data assembly 71 generates an initial screen view formatted according to the user's recorded preferences. In the latter case (a first time/new user), program controller 79 assigns a unique users computer ID upon user login. This, in turn, enables user profiling member 73 to initialize tracking of viewing activity of the new user immediately following login. Program controller 79 obtains initial agate information from agate data assembly 71 to display the Home Page to the new user. Program controller 79 also obtains user identification information from the user to assign a user name and password at the user's convenience.)
Gerace in view of Rosa in view of DeRosa-Grund teaches the limitations of claim 2. As per claim 3:
Gerace further teaches:
wherein said targeting engine matching said uploaded advertisements to said user profiles based on at least said preference and said demographic criteria set by said advertisers. (C2L38-42] The tracking and profiling member also records demographics of each user. As a result, the data assembly is able to transmit advertisements for display to users based on psychographic and demographic profiles of the user to provide targeted marketing. [C12L50-56] In a preferred embodiment, the sponsor specifies in Ad Series Object 33c the required and/or preferred psychographic and/or demographic criteria and relative importance (e.g., weight) with respect to each criterion. Further, the sponsor specifies in Ad Series Object 33c a minimum total weight of criteria to be met by a user to qualify the user to view the ad series. [C18L28-36] As discussed above, sponsors have the ability to place ads according to demographic profile. To do so, advertisers/sponsors complete a template (preferably in the Ad Series Objects 33c) which allows them to list certain criteria as required, and to weight other criteria by importance. To ensure ads are shown to the appropriate target users, the sponsor then selects a minimum total weight which a user's demographic/psychographic profile must achieve before the advertisement is shown to the user.)
Claim(s) 4, 5, 11, 12, 13, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gerace US 5,991,735 in view of Rosa (US 2011/0191151) in view of MA et al (US 2021/0150609) in view of DeRosa-Grund (US 2020/0074461)
Gerace in view of Rosa in view of DeRosa-Grund teaches the limitations of claim 3. As per claim 4:
Gerace in view of Rosa in view of DeRosa-Grund does not expressly teach wherein said targeting engine having a machine learning module having a plurality of learning algorithms to track past behavior selected from the group consisting of said preference, a dislike, and a streaming pattern of said user for autonomously recommending an advertisement category.
Ma teaches:
wherein said targeting engine having a machine learning module having a plurality of learning algorithms to track past behavior selected from the group consisting of said preference, a dislike, and a streaming pattern of said user for autonomously recommending an advertisement category; (paragraph [0030] Advertisement customization computing device 102 can then execute one or more machine learning processes (e.g., algorithms) that operate on the in-store purchase data, online purchase data, and/or online session data to determine one or more categories of items that a customer may be interested in (e.g., to purchase). In some examples, advertisement customization computing device 102 generates category masks that identify the one or more categories. Advertisement customization computing device 102 may then identify one or more advertisements based on the identified categories, and provide the advertisements for display to web server 104. [0031] In some examples, the machine learning processes include applying one or more weights to in-store purchase data, online purchase data, and/or online session data. For example, advertisement customization computing device 102 may weight a particular online session, or an item that a particular customer may purchase, relatively more heavily, to generate the category masks. [0032] In some examples, advertisement customization computing device 102 applies the category masks to recommended advertisements, such as those provided from a recommendation system (e.g., from a third party), to determine advertisements for the customer. For example, advertisement customization computing device 102 may receive recommended advertisements for a customer browsing a website hosted by web server 104. Advertisement customization computing device 102 may select one or more of the recommended advertisements based on the category mask. In some examples, advertisement customization computing device 102 compares the category mask to data (e.g., metadata) associated with each recommended advertisement. If a category for a recommended advertisement matches a category identified by the category mask, the recommended advertisement is allowed (e.g., is displayed on the website hosted by web server 104). Otherwise, if the categories do not match, the recommended advertisement is not allowed (e.g., is not displayed on the website hosted by web server 104).)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein said targeting engine having a machine learning module having a plurality of learning algorithms to track past behavior selected from the group consisting of said preference, a dislike, and a streaming pattern of said user for autonomously recommending an advertisement category as taught by Ma with the advertising matching system of Gerace in view of Rosa in view of DeRosa-Grund in order to increase the chances that the person will purchase the advertised items and because a person may now spend less time reviewing irrelevant advertisements, the person may have additional time to consider additional items for purchase (paragraph [0004]).
As per claim 11:
Gerace teaches:
An advertisement filter application system comprising:
a user; ([C2L10-22] The present invention uses agate information to determine the profile of a computer user, and in particular the behavioral or psychographic profile, as distinguished from the demographic profile, of a user.)
an advertiser; (C4L57-61] Based on the created user profile for a given user, program 31 enables sponsors to better direct their advertisements and enables advertisements to be tailored to target users' display preferences.)
an electronic user device; ([C2L10-22] The present invention uses agate information to determine the profile of a computer user, and in particular the behavioral or psychographic profile, as distinguished from the demographic profile, of a user. To accomplish this, the present invention provides (i) a data assembly for displaying customized agate information to a computer user, and (ii) a tracking and profiling member for recording user activity with respect to agate information displayed through the data assembly. Over time, the tracking and profiling member holds a history and/or pattern of user activity which in turn is interpreted as a user's habits and/or preferences. To that end, a psychographic profile is inferred from the recorded activities in the tracking and profiling member.)
a user advertisement filter application; ([C2L13-22] To accomplish this, the present invention provides (i) a data assembly for displaying customized agate information to a computer user, and (ii) a tracking and profiling member for recording user activity with respect to agate information displayed through the data assembly. Over time, the tracking and profiling member holds a history and/or pattern of user activity which in turn is interpreted as a user's habits and/or preferences. To that end, a psychographic profile is inferred from the recorded activities in the tracking and profiling member.)
an advertiser advertisement filter application; ([C18L13-37] In the case of a sponsor-user logging on, he may browse through the agate information (categories on the Home Page) and advertisements as described above for an end user, but more importantly he is able to place ads and obtain performance reports. This is accomplished as follows. When a company (sponsor) opens an account with the program administer, the program administrator obtains sponsor information and forms a corresponding Sponsor Object 33a. Advertising information and desired ads of the sponsor are recorded in respective objects. In particular, package information (number of click throughs purchased, pricing and timing details) are recorded in Ad Package Object 33b. Demographic targets are entered in Ad Series Object 33c, and the ad content and information are stored in the Ad Objects 33d.As discussed above, sponsors have the ability to place ads according to demographic profile. To do so, advertisers/sponsors complete a template (preferably in the Ad Series Objects 33c) which allows them to list certain criteria as required, and to weight other criteria by importance. To ensure ads are shown to the appropriate target users, the sponsor then selects a minimum total weight which a user's demographic/psychographic profile must achieve before the advertisement is shown to the user.
an electronic advertiser device; ([C6L22-28] Turning to FIG. 3a, the purpose of the set of User Objects 37 is to identify users and maintain a user profile for each user. Included in the set of User Objects 37 is general information about users and their computers, as well as specific data on each computer session undertaken by the users. [C18L54-57] Subsequently when the sponsor-user logs on, the Web server 27 (using cookies if available) identifies the sponsor-user with a user ID stored in the Sponsor Object 33a (FIG. 5a).
a server; ([C4L14-22] Also linked to communication line 23 are various servers 25a, 25b which provide to end users access to the Internet (i.e., access to potentially all other networks 19, and hence processors 11, 13, 15, 17 connected to the Internet). The present invention is a software program 31 operated on and connected through a Web server 27 to the Internet for communication among the various networks 19 and/or processors 11, 13, 15, 17 and other end users connected through respective servers 25.)
a user management module; ([C2L13-22] To accomplish this, the present invention provides (i) a data assembly for displaying customized agate information to a computer user, and (ii) a tracking and profiling member for recording user activity with respect to agate information displayed through the data assembly. Over time, the tracking and profiling member holds a history and/or pattern of user activity which in turn is interpreted as a user's habits and/or preferences. To that end, a psychographic profile is inferred from the recorded activities in the tracking and profiling member.)
a user database; and ([C2L13-22] To accomplish this, the present invention provides (i) a data assembly for displaying customized agate information to a computer user, and (ii) a tracking and profiling member for recording user activity with respect to agate information displayed through the data assembly. Over time, the tracking and profiling member holds a history and/or pattern of user activity which in turn is interpreted as a user's habits and/or preferences. To that end, a psychographic profile is inferred from the recorded activities in the tracking and profiling member. [C2L38-42] The tracking and profiling member also records demographics of each user. As a result, the data assembly is able to transmit advertisements for display to users based on psychographic and demographic profiles of the user to provide targeted marketing.
a profile management module; ([C2L13-22] To accomplish this, the present invention provides (i) a data assembly for displaying customized agate information to a computer user, and (ii) a tracking and profiling member for recording user activity with respect to agate information displayed through the data assembly. Over time, the tracking and profiling member holds a history and/or pattern of user activity which in turn is interpreted as a user's habits and/or preferences. To that end, a psychographic profile is inferred from the recorded activities in the tracking and profiling member. [C2L38-42] The tracking and profiling member also records demographics of each user. As a result, the data assembly is able to transmit advertisements for display to users based on psychographic and demographic profiles of the user to provide targeted marketing.
wherein said electronic user device is selected from the group consisting of a smartphone, a tablet, and a computer; ([C2L10-22] The present invention uses agate information to determine the profile of a computer user, and in particular the behavioral or psychographic profile, as distinguished from the demographic profile, of a user. To accomplish this, the present invention provides (i) a data assembly for displaying customized agate information to a computer user, and (ii) a tracking and profiling member for recording user activity with respect to agate information displayed through the data assembly. Over time, the tracking and profiling member holds a history and/or pattern of user activity which in turn is interpreted as a user's habits and/or preferences. To that end, a psychographic profile is inferred from the recorded activities in the tracking and profiling member.)
wherein said user management module manages information of said user; ([C2L13-22] To accomplish this, the present invention provides (i) a data assembly for displaying customized agate information to a computer user, and (ii) a tracking and profiling member for recording user activity with respect to agate information displayed through the data assembly. Over time, the tracking and profiling member holds a history and/or pattern of user activity which in turn is interpreted as a user's habits and/or preferences. To that end, a psychographic profile is inferred from the recorded activities in the tracking and profiling member.)
wherein said user database having stored a user profile, a preference, and a demographic criteria of said user and of said advertiser;