DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-4, 6-8, 10, and 29-35) in the reply filed on 4/20/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 11-15 and 17 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 4/20/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 30 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 30 recites “wherein one or both opposing sides of the separator condenser has a functionalized surface”. It is unclear if the “functionalized surface” in the claim 30 is referring to or different from the “functionalized surface” in parent claim 29
Claim 31 recites “wherein one or both opposing sides of the separator condenser has a functionalized surface“ and “the surface of the first fluid flow channel other than the flow surface defined by the separator condenser is a functionalized surface”. It is unclear if the two “functionalized surface” in the claim 31 is referring to the same or different from the respective “functionalized surface” in parent claim 29.
For examination purposes, “functionalized surface” claim 30 is construed as referring to the surface in parent claim 29 as --wherein one or both opposing sides of the separator condenser has the functionalized surface--; and
The two “functionalized surface” in claim 31 are construed as referring to the respective surface in parent claim 29 as --wherein one or both opposing sides of the separator condenser has the functionalized surface-- and --the surface of the first fluid flow channel other than the flow surface defined by the separator condenser is the functionalized surface--.
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 34 is dependent from cancelled claim 18.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Since claim 34 is substantially identical to claim 33 and its limitations are being examined accordingly, claim 34 is not treated on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 7, 10 and 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Otkay (US Patent No. 4,203,129).
Regarding claim 1, Otkay discloses a dual-channel flow boiling device (Fig. 5) comprising:
a first fluid flow channel (a space inside a container 44) configured to receive a flow of a first fluid (cooling liquid 46 such as fluorocarbons, col. 4, lines 9-11) in a first direction (in upward direction when boiling liquid 45 rises due to a lower density of vapor or in downward direction when the boiled liquid condenses at fin structure 52 and return to a bottom of the container 44, according to the orientation of Fig. 5);
a second fluid flow channel (a channel inside cold plate 56) adjacent the first fluid flow channel and configured to receive a flow of a second fluid (cooling liquid 54 such as water, col. 4, lines 20-33) in a second direction (upward direction); and
a separator condenser (walls that separate and between the space inside the container 44 and the channel inside the cold plate 56 and, the walls are a condenser that condenses the boiled liquid on its left side) separating the first fluid flow channel and the second fluid flow channel (see Fig. 5), wherein the separator condenser has one or more functionalized surfaces (“one or more functionalized surfaces” is understood as one or more surfaces that performs any function. A surface of the fin structure 52 that performs cooling and condensing of the boiled liquid in the container 44 is considered as the “one or more functionalized surfaces” as claimed), and wherein the separator condenser is integral to both the first fluid flow channel and the second fluid flow channel (see Fig. 5, the walls are integral to the space inside the container 44 and the channel inside the cold plate 56).
Regarding claim 2, Otkay in claim 1 further discloses wherein the second fluid flow received at the second fluid flow channel is maintained at a lower temperature than the first fluid flow received at the first fluid flow channel to cause condensation of the first fluid in the first fluid flow channel (the temperature of the water flow 54 is inherently lower than the temperature of the cooling liquid flow 46/45 to carry heat away from the fins 52, col. 4, lines 20-33, so that the boiled liquid condenses onto the fins 52).
Regarding claim 6, Otkay in claim 1 further discloses wherein the first fluid and the second fluid each comprise deionized water, a dielectric fluid or a refrigerant (the first fluid is fluorocarbons which is a refrigerant; the second fluid is water).
Regarding claim 7, Otkay in claim 6 further discloses wherein the first fluid is different than the second fluid (the fluorocarbons and water are different).
Regarding claim 10, Otkay in claim 1 further discloses wherein the flow of the second fluid in the second direction is opposite the flow of the first fluid in the first direction (the water 54 in upward direction is opposite to the condensing fluid 46 in downward direction).
Regarding claim 35, Otkay in claim 1 further discloses wherein the flow of the second fluid in the second direction is parallel to the flow of the first fluid in the first direction (the water 54 in upward direction is parallel to the boiling liquid 45 in upward direction).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 4 and 29-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otkay (US Patent No. 4,203,129) in view of Ahn (US PGPub No. 2023/0413484, a prior art having an earlier foreign filing date).
Regarding claim 3, Otkay in claim 1 fails to disclose wherein the one or more functionalized surfaces include micro-scale and nano-scale features formed by femtosecond laser surface processing (FLSP) or any other form of functionalization.
Ahn (Fig. 3A) discloses wherein the one or more functionalized surfaces (inner surface 322a that condenses the working fluid within inner space S) include micro-scale and nano-scale features (hydrophobic surface body 340 having a micro/nano structure, paragraph 0092) formed by femtosecond laser surface processing (FLSP) or any other form of functionalization (noted that the “femtosecond laser surface processing (FLSP) or any other form of functionalization” is product-by-process limitation, and the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production, see MPEP 2113. “femtosecond laser surface processing (FLSP) or any other form of functionalization” does not imply a distinct structure to the “surface” or micro/nano features itself).
Therefore, the surface of fins 52 may be made hydrophobic having a micro/nano structure as taught by Ahn.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein the one or more functionalized surfaces include micro-scale and nano-scale features formed by femtosecond laser surface processing (FLSP) or any other form of functionalization in Otkay as taught by Ahn in order to form droplet D shown in Fig. 3A of Ahn onto the surface of fins 52 due to the hydrophobicity. This is to prevent wetting of the condensing surface and to ensure optimal conduction heat exchange between the condensing surface and vapor phase of the working fluid.
Regarding claim 4, Otkay in claim 1 further discloses a heat source (semiconductor chip 32, see a similar structure in Fig. 4) adjacent the first fluid flow channel (within and adjacent the space inside the container 44), having a functionalized surface (surfaces of heat sink 34 and tunnel 36 that performs evaporating function).
Otkay fails to disclose wherein a surface of the first fluid flow channel proximal to the heat source has a functionalized surface including micro-scale and nano-scale features formed by femtosecond laser surface processing (FLSP) or any other form of functionalization.
Ahn (Fig. 3A) further discloses wherein a surface (inner surface 321a) of the first fluid flow channel proximal to the heat source (389) has a functionalized surface including micro-scale and nano-scale features (the inner surface 321a with microporous structure 330 formed as a super-hydrophilic pseudo-boehmite nanostructure, paragraph 0087) formed by femtosecond laser surface processing (FLSP) or any other form of functionalization (as noted above, “femtosecond laser surface processing (FLSP) or any other form of functionalization” is product-by-process limitation, and the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production, see MPEP 2113. “femtosecond laser surface processing (FLSP) or any other form of functionalization” does not imply a distinct structure to the “surface” or micro/nano features itself).
Therefore, the surfaces of the heat sink 34 and tunnel 36 may be made hydrophilic having the microporous structure 330 as taught by Ahn.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein a surface of the first fluid flow channel proximal to the heat source has a functionalized surface including micro-scale and nano-scale features formed by femtosecond laser surface processing (FLSP) or any other form of functionalization in Otkay as taught by Ahn in order to improve thermal stability, and to suppress boiling instability of the working fluid (paragraph 0113).
Regarding claim 29, Otkay discloses a dual-channel flow boiling system (Fig. 5) comprising:
a dual-channel flow boiling device (container 44, cold plate 56, heat exchanger 50 and pipes with pump 48 connecting between) comprising:
a first fluid flow channel (a space inside a container 44) configured to receive a flow of a first fluid (cooling liquid 46 such as fluorocarbons, col. 4, lines 9-11) in a first direction (in upward direction when boiling liquid 45 rises due to a lower density of vapor or in downward direction when the boiled liquid condenses at fin structure 52 and return to a bottom of the container 44, according to the orientation of Fig. 5);
a second fluid flow channel (a channel inside cold plate 56) adjacent the first fluid channel and configured to receive a flow of a second fluid (cooling liquid 54 such as water, col. 4, lines 20-33) in a second direction (upward direction); and
a separator condenser (walls that separate and between the space inside the container 44 and the channel inside the cold plate 56 and, the walls are a condenser that condenses the boiled liquid on its left side) separating the first fluid flow channel and the second fluid flow channel (see Fig. 5), wherein opposing sides (left and right sides of the walls) of the separator condenser define a flow surface of the first fluid flow channel (on its left side) and a flow surface of the second fluid flow channel (on its right side);
wherein at least one of the opposing sides of the separator condenser (left side of the walls) has a functionalized surface (“functionalized surface” is understood as one or more surfaces that performs any function, a surface of the fin structure 52 that performs cooling and condensing of the boiled liquid in the container 44 may be the “functionalized surface” as claimed), or a surface of the first fluid flow channel other than the flow surface defined by the separator condenser is a functionalized surface (surfaces of heat sink 34 and tunnel 36 that performs evaporating function); and
at least one pump (48) configured to generate a flow of a first fluid (fluorocarbons) through the first fluid flow channel from a first fluid source (the pump 48 supplies cooling water to remove heat from the fin 52 and generates a flow of the fluorocarbons in the space inside the container 44 as the fluorocarbons condense onto a surface of the fin 52), and to generate a flow of a second fluid (water) through the second fluid flow channel from a second fluid source (the pump 48 directly pumps the water to the a channel inside cold plate 56), wherein the second fluid source is maintained at a colder temperature than the first fluid source (the temperature of the water flow 54 is inherently lower than the temperature of the cooling liquid flow 46/45 to carry heat away from the fins 52, col. 4, lines 20-33).
Otkay fails to disclose wherein at least one of the opposing sides of the separator condenser has a functionalized surface that includes micro-scale and nano-scale features, or
a surface of the first fluid flow channel other than the flow surface defined by the separator condenser is a functionalized surface that includes micro-scale and nano-scale features.
Ahn (Fig. 3A) discloses a functionalized surface (inner surface 322a that condenses the working fluid within inner space S) includes micro-scale and nano-scale features (hydrophobic surface body 340 having a micro/nano structure, paragraph 0092).
Therefore, the surface of fins 52 may be made hydrophobic having a micro/nano structure as taught by Ahn.
Ahn (Fig. 3A) further discloses wherein an evaporating surface (inner surface 321a) includes a functionalized surface the including micro-scale and nano-scale features (the inner surface 321a with microporous structure 330 formed as a super-hydrophilic pseudo-boehmite nanostructure, paragraph 0087).
Therefore, surfaces of the heat sink 34 and tunnel 36 in the space of the container 44, which are “a surface of the first fluid flow channel other than the flow surface” as claimed, may be made hydrophilic having the microporous structure 330 as taught by Ahn.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein at least one of the opposing sides of the separator condenser has a functionalized surface that includes micro-scale and nano-scale features, or a surface of the first fluid flow channel other than the flow surface defined by the separator condenser is a functionalized surface that includes micro-scale and nano-scale features in Otkay as taught by Ahn in order to prevent wetting of the condensing surface and to ensure optimal conduction heat exchange between the condensing surface and vapor phase of the working fluid; or to improve thermal stability, and to suppress boiling instability of the working fluid (paragraph 0113).
Regarding claim 30, Otkay as modified in claim 29 further discloses wherein one or both opposing sides of the separator condenser has the functionalized surface that includes micro-scale and nano-scale features (the fin 52 on left side of the walls has the modified hydrophobic surface taught by Ahn) formed by femtosecond laser surface processing (FLSP) or any other functionalization technique (as noted above, “femtosecond laser surface processing (FLSP) or any other functionalization technique” is product-by-process limitation, and the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production, see MPEP 2113. “femtosecond laser surface processing (FLSP) or any other form of functionalization” does not imply a distinct structure to the “surface” or micro/nano features itself).
Regarding claim 31, Otkay as modified in claim 29 further disclose wherein one or both opposing sides of the separator condenser has the functionalized surface that includes micro-scale and nano-scale features (the fin 52 on left side of the walls has the modified hydrophobic surface taught by Ahn) formed by femtosecond laser surface processing (FLSP) or any other functionalization technique and the surface of the first fluid flow channel other than the flow surface defined by the separator condenser is the functionalized surface that includes micro-scale and nano-scale features (surfaces of the heat sink 34 and tunnel 36 has the modified hydrophilic surface taught by Ahn) formed by FLSP or any other functionalization technique (as noted above, “femtosecond laser surface processing (FLSP) or any other functionalization technique” is product-by-process limitation, and the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production, see MPEP 2113. “femtosecond laser surface processing (FLSP) or any other form of functionalization” does not imply a distinct structure to the “surface” or micro/nano features itself).
Regarding claim 32, Otkay as modified in claim 29 further discloses wherein the flow of the second fluid in the second direction is opposite the flow of the first fluid in the first direction (the water 54 in upward direction is opposite to the condensing fluid 46 in downward direction).
Regarding claim 33, Otkay as modified in claim 29 further discloses wherein the flow of the second fluid in the second direction is parallel to the flow of the first fluid in the first direction (the water 54 in upward direction is parallel to the boiling liquid 45 in upward direction).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otkay (US Patent No. 4,203,129) alone.
Regarding claim 8, Otkay in claim 1 fails to disclose wherein the separator condenser comprises a metal material, a ceramic material or a plastic material.
Examiner takes official notice that heat exchangers are commonly made of metal material due to its relatively high thermal conductivity compared to other materials. Therefore, the separator condenser, which exchanges heat between the container 44 and the cold plate 56, may be modified to comprise a metal material for more efficient heat exchange.
Conclusion
/JIANYING C ATKISSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/F.K.L/Examiner, Art Unit 3763