DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/13/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues “Applicant respectfully submits that a combination of Tiirola,
Braun, and Ahmed fails to disclose or suggest all of the elements of the claims. For example, Tiirola, Braun, and Ahmed fail to disclose or suggest, at least, reassign and use a reserved 6bit field in a SE11 header for providing the offset information…However, Ahmed does not disclose that the section extension is reassigned. Moreover, the application layer disclosed by Ahmed "consists of ... information and parameters dependent and specific to the Section Type in use." The information is specific for the use, and is not reassigned. Thus, Ahmed fails to disclose reassigning a reserved 6bit field in a SE11 header for providing the offset information.” See pages 10-11 of applicant’s remarks. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
Ahmed discloses parameter defines the delay offset in microseconds with respect to O-DU 115's transmit window. The benefit of this parameter is to inform O-RU 105 on when to expect the C-plane message. Case 1: Early transmission: The C-planeDelayOffset is defined as the duration between the actual O-DU 115 transmission time and the start of O-DU 115's transmit window. In this case, the value of the C-planeDelayOffset is always negative (in other words, the expected time offset included in the section extension (as described in paragraph [0113]) is provided and reassigned/changed based on the parameter discussed in Case 1). Case 2.1: Indication message for late transmission: The C-planeDelayOffset is set to zero since the indication message is expected to be transmitted within O-DU 115's transmit window (in other words, the expected time offset included in the section extension (as described in paragraph [0113]) is provided and reassigned/changed based on the parameter discussed in Case 2.1). Case 2.2: Late transmission: The C-planeDelayOffset is defined as the duration between the actual O-DU 115 transmission time and the end of O-DU 115's transmit window. In this case, the value of the C-planeDelayOffset is always positive (in other words, the expected time offset included in the section extension (as described in paragraph [0113]) is provided and reassigned/changed based on the parameter discussed in Case 2.2). See paragraphs [0141]-[0144].
As such, Ahmed discloses that the section extension is reassigned. Ahmed discloses reassigning a SE header for providing the offset information
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 9 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tiirola et al. (Tiirola), U.S. Publication No. 2022/0217720 in view of Braun et al. (Braun), U.S. Publication No. 2025/0056525 in further view of Ahmed et al. (Ahmed), U.S. Publication No. 2021/0385686.
Regarding Claim 1, Tiirola discloses a method, comprising:
providing, an offset information indicating an offset (in other words, the redefined SRS position… may be moved further forward by a predetermined or configured offset value therefore, considered as information indicating an offset; see paragraph [0048]) between a first allocated Physical Resource Block, PRB, among PRBs of a bundle of PRBs (i.e., a bundle grid 330 is disposed under the PRB grid 325, in this example case each bundle initially has four PRBs. Bundles n…see paragraph [0041]) and a lower PRB bundle boundary related to a first PRB among the PRBs of the bundle of PRBs (i.e., a bundle grid 330 is disposed under the PRB grid 325, in this example case each bundle initially has four PRBs. Bundles…n+1 are partially overlapping with guard band 320; see paragraph [0041]) (for example, the first PRB of bundle n is re-assigned to bundle n−1, and the last two PRBs of bundle n+1 are re-assigned to bundle n+2. as depicted in figure 3 and described in paragraphs [0041]-[0045]),
wherein the bundle of PRBs is associated with an endpoint terminal and wherein
the first PRB is an allocated or a non-allocated PRB (i.e., the overlapping PRBs are colored black and the system does not use them, as basic UEs are in general not assumed to be capable of reception, such as shared channel reception, such as physical downlink shared channel, PDSCH, reception, in guard bands. Therefore, the bundle PRBs is associated with an endpoint terminal/UE and considered as non-allocated; see paragraph [0046]).
Tiirola fails to disclose through application of the Section Extension 11, SE11 and wherein the providing further comprises reassigning and using a reserved 6bit field in a SE11 header for providing the offset information.
Ahmed discloses wherein the providing further comprises reassigning (see examiner’s response above) and using a Section Extension, SE, header for providing the offset information (i.e., the application layer is within the transport layer payload and consists of a common header for time reference, followed by information and parameters dependent and specific to the Section Type in use… The section extension will include the expected time offset for receiving the combining weights; see paragraphs [0081] and [0113]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Ahmed’s invention with Tiirola’s invention to support increased capacity requirements as described throughout Ahmed.
Tiirola and Ahmed fail to disclose the Section Extension, SE, as specifically Section Extension 11, SE11 and using a reserved 6bit field in a SE11 header.
Braun discloses through application of the Section Extension 11, SE11 (i.e., section extension type 11 is shown in FIG. 3.; see paragraph [0032]) and using a reserved 6bit field in a SE11 header (i.e., reserved 6 bits; shown in figure 3).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Braun’s invention with Tiirola’s and Ahmed’s invention for reducing traffic impact.
Regarding Claim 9, Tiirola discloses an apparatus (i.e., an access node such
as an eNB or gNB 500; see figure 5), comprising
at least one processor (i.e., processor 510; see figure 5 and paragraph
[0056]); and
at least one memory (i.e., memory 520; see figure 5 and paragraph
[0059]) storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to:
provide, an offset information indicating an offset (in other words, the redefined
SRS position… may be moved further forward by a predetermined or configured offset value therefore, considered as information indicating an offset; see paragraph [0048]) between a first allocated Physical Resource Block, PRB, among PRBs of a bundle of PRBs (i.e., a bundle grid 330 is disposed under the PRB grid 325, in this example case each bundle initially has four PRBs. Bundles n…see paragraph [0041]) and a lower PRB bundle boundary related to a first PRB among the PRBs of the bundle of PRBs (i.e., a bundle grid 330 is disposed under the PRB grid 325, in this example case each bundle initially has four PRBs. Bundles…n+1 are partially overlapping with guard band 320; see paragraph [0041]) (for example, the first PRB of bundle n is re-assigned to bundle n−1, and the last two PRBs of bundle n+1 are re-assigned to bundle n+2. as depicted in figure 3 and described in paragraphs [0041]-[0045]),
wherein the bundle of PRBs is associated with an endpoint terminal and wherein
the first PRB is an allocated or a non-allocated PRB (i.e., the overlapping PRBs are colored black and the system does not use them, as basic UEs are in general not assumed to be capable of reception, such as shared channel reception, such as physical downlink shared channel, PDSCH, reception, in guard bands. Therefore, the bundle PRBs is associated with an endpoint terminal/UE and considered as non-allocated; see paragraph [0046]).
Tiirola fails to disclose through application of the Section Extension 11, SE11 and reassign and use a reserved 6bit field in a SE11 header for providing the offset information.
Ahmed discloses reassign (see examiner’s response above) and use a Section Extension, SE, header for providing the offset information (i.e., the application layer is within the transport layer payload and consists of a common header for time reference, followed by information and parameters dependent and specific to the Section Type in use… The section extension will include the expected time offset for receiving the combining weights; see paragraphs [0081] and [0113]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Ahmed’s invention with Tiirola’s invention to support increased capacity requirements as described throughout Ahmed.
Tiirola and Ahmed fail to disclose the Section Extension, SE, as specifically Section Extension 11, SE11 and use a reserved 6bit field in a SE11 header.
Braun discloses through application of the Section Extension 11, SE11 (i.e., section extension type 11 is shown in FIG. 3.; see paragraph [0032]) and use a reserved 6bit field in a SE11 header (i.e., reserved 6 bits; shown in figure 3).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Braun’s invention with Tiirola’s and Ahmed’s invention for reducing traffic impact.
Regarding Claim 17, Tiirola, Ahmed and Braun disclose the steps of claim 1
above. Tiirola further discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising
instructions that, when executed by an apparatus, cause the apparatus
(i.e., the data storage medium may be a non-transitory medium.; see paragraph [0062]) to perform the steps of claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1 above).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 11-13 and 16 are allowed.
Claims 3-7 and 14-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHANTELL L HEIBER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645
January 27, 2026