DETAILED ACTION
Notice to Applicant
In response to the communication received on 12/23/2025, the following is a Final Office Action for Application No. 18805261.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-7, 9-16, and 18-22 are pending.
Claims 8 and 17 are cancelled.
Claims 21-22 are new.
Priority
As required by M.P.E.P. 201.14(c), acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for priority based on: 18805261 filed 08/14/2024 is a Continuation of 17898988 , filed 08/30/2022 ,now U.S. Patent # 12093863 and having 1 RCE-type filing therein; 17898988 is a Continuation of 16429960 , filed 06/03/2019 ,now U.S. Patent # 11461714 and having 1 RCE-type filing therein.
Response to Amendments
Applicant’s amendments have been fully considered. Applicant’s amendments to the claims overcome the 35 U.S.C 101 rejection with respect to claims 9 and 18 and hence the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection with respect to claims 9 and 18 has been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been fully considered. As per the DP rejection, Applicant will hold the rejection in abeyance until claims are determined to be allowable. Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims with §101 and §103 rejections have been fully considered but are not persuasive:
Applicant argues that Sullivan in view of Lindeman fails to teach as recited in independent claim 1 (and similar claims):
generate a second damage assessment, the second damage assessment including a cost to repair the damage. The Examiner respectfully disagrees, and in particular Sullivan ¶0055 states that “In step 412, the estimation generation module 34 in the appraisal management computing apparatus 12(1) may perform further calculations using one of a plurality of stored customer profile settings to further refine the updated list of one or more parts and/or one or more repair lines based on one or more customer requirements and/or preferences, although other types of refining calculations may be applied. By way of example, based on the stored customer profile setting, the estimate generation module 34 may automatically add, change, and/or remove a part or parts and/or repair lines to account for overlapping labor operations performed on nearby or adjacent parts, as well as apply specific labor rate and tax rule profiles to accommodate various geographically relevant laws and/or business rules, to produce a final estimate…” Here, Sullivan teaches inter alai estimate generation module automatically add, change, and/or remove a part or parts and/or repair lines to account for overlapping labor operations performed on nearby or adjacent parts to produce a final estimate. This secondary assessment accounts for costs associated with overlapping labor operations where adjacent fixes do not need labor that starts from the beginning. Thus, the final estimate is included in the secondary damage assessment. Further, Sullivan ¶0057 states “This technology also may be utilized in other manners and approaches. For example, this method for improving automated damage appraisal and devices may be used to provide an automated review of completed appraisals to identify and correct errors and provide enhanced consistency of appraisal results. By way of example only, FIG. 13 is a screenshot of an example user interface depicting results from an automated review of a completed appraisal indicating errors and inaccuracies detected by the appraisal management computing apparatus.” Thus, Sullivan teaches the above argued limitation.
updating, by the processor, the machine learning model using the cost to repair the damage. The Examiner respectfully disagrees, and in particular Sullivan ¶0047 states that “the deep neural network (DNN) executed by the appraisal management computing apparatus 12(1) in this example has a structure and synaptic weights trained using semi-supervised machine learning techniques in conjunction with labelled and unlabeled data to encode knowledge obtained from earlier property information data images stored and retrieved as needed from the property information storage server device 16. This deep neural network (DNN) executed by the appraisal management computing apparatus 12(1) in this example provides significantly more effective and cost efficient assessments for automated property damage appraisals than is possible with a simple neural network.” Here, the DNN uses repair costs to provide significantly more effective and cost efficient assessments for automated property damage appraisals than is possible with a simple neural networks. Further, Sullivan ¶0058 states that “Accordingly, as illustrated and described by way of the examples herein, this technology significantly improves the efficiency and accuracy of automated damage appraisal methods. This automated technology may use images or videos of the damage (received electronically from an insured/claimant, low cost resource or other methods ex. remotely controlled drone) to automatically create an appraisal which will drastically reduce the time it takes to assess the damage and estimate the cost of the repair. In addition to increasing the efficiency of this process, the accuracy and precision achieved using this automated technology will continue to increase since the automated technology will not suffer from the bias, subjectivity and variances in skill of manual appraisal techniques, but will improve its accuracy over time by leveraging validated results as feedback to further refine subsequent iterations. Here, Sullivan teaches that the system drastically reduce the time it takes to assess the damage and estimate the cost of the repair and further, as opposed to human bias, subjectivity and variances in skill of manual appraisals, this network improves its accuracy over time by leveraging validated results as feedback to further refine subsequent iterations. Thus, Sullivan teaches the above argued limitation.
For the reasons detailed above, Examiner is not persuaded that the claims are patentably distinguishable over the Sullivan in view of Lindeman disclosure. Rather, Examiner maintains that the Sullivan in view of Lindeman combination renders obvious the claimed invention. Accordingly, the previous prior art rejection is maintained.
As per the 101 rejection, Applicant argues that the claims are in favor of eligibility per Prong One of Step 2A, however Examiner respectfully disagrees. Per Prong One of Step 2A, the identified recitation of an abstract idea falls within at least one of the Abstract Idea Groupings consisting of: Mathematical Concepts, Mental Processes, or Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity. Particularly, the identified recitation falls within the Mental Processes including concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation judgment, opinion) and/or Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity including managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules of instructions). Since the recitation of the claims falls into at least one of the above Groupings, there is a basis for providing further analysis with regard to Prong Two of Step 2A to determine whether the recitation of an abstract idea is deduced to being directed to an abstract idea. Thus, the rejection is maintained.
Applicant argues that the claims are in favor of eligibility per Prong Two of Step 2A, however Examiner respectfully disagrees. Per Prong Two of Step 2A, this judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claim as a whole does not integrate the identified abstract idea into a practical application. The computing device, processor and/or memory medium is recited at a high level of generality, i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function of processing/transmitting data. This generic processor server limitation is no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Further, computing device, processor and/or memory medium to inter alia perform the function of updating the machine learning model using the cost to repair the damage and transmitting the second damage assessment to a service provider is mere instruction to apply an exception using a generic computer component which cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application. Accordingly, this/these additional element(s) does/do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. In other words, the present claims use a generic processing device and memory medium to inter alia perform the function of updating the machine learning model using the cost to repair the damage and transmitting the second damage assessment to a service provider which is a concept that can be performed in the human mind. The processor is merely used to perform the function(s), and the processor does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application since there are no meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, since the claims are directed to the determined judicial exception in view of the two prongs of Step 2A, the 2019 PEG flowchart is directed to Step 2B. Thus, the rejection is maintained.
Applicant argues that the claims are in favor of eligibility per Step 2B, however Examiner respectfully disagrees. Therein, the additional elements and combinations therewith are examined in the claims to determine whether the claims as a whole amounts to significantly more than the judicial exception. It is noted here that the additional elements are to be considered both individually and as an ordered combination. In this case, the claims each at most comprise additional elements of: computing device, processor and/or memory medium. Taken individually, the additional limitations each are generically recited and thus does not add significantly more to the respective limitations. Further, computing device, processor and/or memory medium to inter alia perform the function of updating the machine learning model using the cost to repair the damage and transmitting the second damage assessment to a service provider is mere instruction to apply an exception using a generic computer component which cannot provide an inventive concept in Step 2B (or, looking back to Step 2A, cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application). For further support, the Applicant’s specification supports the claims being directed to use of a generic computer/memory type structure. Taken as an ordered combination, the claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the limitations are directed to limitations referenced in Alice Corp. that are not enough to qualify as significantly more when recited in a claim with an abstract idea include the non-limiting or non-exclusive examples of MPEP § 2106.05. Thus, the rejection is maintained.
In an effort to further expedite prosecution, see: July 2024 Subject Matter Eligibility Examples, Example 47. Anomaly Detection. Per the analysis of claim 2 Example 47, the analysis refers to MPEP 2106.05(f) which provides the following considerations for determining whether a claim simply recites a judicial exception with the words “apply it” (or an equivalent), such as mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer: (1) whether the claim recites only the idea of a solution or outcome i.e., the claim fails to recite details of how a solution to a problem is accomplished; (2) whether the claim invokes computers or other machinery merely as a tool to perform an existing process; and (3) the particularity or generality of the application of the judicial exception. Although the additional elements, e.g. (per Example 47) “using a trained ANN”, limits the identified judicial exceptions, e.g. (per Example 47) “detecting one or more anomalies in a data set using the trained ANN” and, e.g. (per Example 47) “analyzing the one or more detected anomalies using the trained ANN to generate anomaly data,” this type of limitation merely confines the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment, e.g. (per Example 47: neural networks) and thus fails to add an inventive concept to the claims. See MPEP 2106.05(h). As an exemplary direction for claim limitations to be eligible, see claims 1 and 3 of Example 47.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. US 11461714 B1. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims recite substantially similar limitations as follows: receiving, by a processor and from an electronic device, image data depicting a property; executing, by the processor, a machine learning model to determine a first damage assessment of the property based on the image data, the first damage assessment being characterized by a confidence level; determining, by the processor, that the confidence level is below a threshold level; based on determining that the confidence level is below the threshold, transmitting, by the processor, to a computing device via a network, the image data, and a request executable by the computing device, the request causing the computing device to: generate a second damage assessment, and provide the second damage assessment to the processor via the network; updating, by the processor, the machine learning model using the second damage assessment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-7, 10-16, and 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claims 1-7, 10-16, and 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. In adhering to the 2019 PEG, Step 1 is directed to determining whether or not the claims fall within a statutory class. Herein, the claims fall within statutory class of process or machine or manufacture. Hence, the claims qualify as potentially eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C §101. With Step 1 being directed to a statutory category, the 2019 PEG flowchart is directed to Step 2. Step 2 is the two-part analysis from Alice Corp. (also called the Mayo test). The 2019 PEG makes two changes in Step 2A: It sets forth new procedure for Step 2A (called “revised Step 2A”) under which a claim is not “directed to” a judicial exception unless the claim satisfies a two-prong inquiry. The two-prong inquiry is as follows: Prong One: evaluate whether the claim recites a judicial exception (an abstract idea enumerated in the 2019 PEG, a law of nature, or a natural phenomenon). If claim recites an exception, then Prong Two: evaluate whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception. The claim(s) recite(s) the following abstract idea indicated by non-boldface font and additional limitations indicated by boldface font:
receiving, by a processor and from an electronic device, image data depicting a property; executing, by the processor, a machine learning model to determine a first damage assessment of the property based on the image data, the first damage assessment being characterized by a confidence level; determining, by the processor, that the confidence level is below a threshold level; based on determining that the confidence level is below the threshold, transmitting, by the processor, to a computing device via a network, the image data, and a request executable by the computing device, the request causing the computing device to: generate a second damage assessment, and provide the second damage assessment to the processor via the network; updating, by the processor, the machine learning model using the second damage assessment; and transmitting, by the processor, the second damage assessment to a service provider.
[or]
a non-transitory computer-readable memory storing a set of instructions; and a processor configured to execute the set of instructions to cause the processor to perform actions including: receiving, from an electronic device, image data depicting a property; executing a machine learning model to determine a first damage assessment of the property based on the image data, the first damage assessment being characterized by a confidence level; determining that the confidence level is below a threshold level; based on determining that the confidence level is below the threshold, transmitting, to a computing device via a network, the image data, and a request executable by the computing device, the request causing the computing device to: generate a second damage assessment, the second damage assessment, and provide the second damage assessment to the processor via the network; updating the machine learning model using the second damage assessment; and transmitting the second damage assessment to a service provider.
[or]
non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing computer-readable instructions for dynamically assessing property damage, that when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform actions comprising: receiving, from an electronic device, image data depicting a property; executing a machine learning model to determine a first damage assessment of the property based on the image data, the first damage assessment being characterized by a confidence level; determining that the confidence level is below a threshold level; based on determining that the confidence level is below the threshold, transmitting, to a computing device via a network, the image data, and a request executable by the computing device, the request causing the computing device to: generate a second damage assessment, the second damage assessment, and provide the second damage assessment to the processor via the network; updating the machine learning model using the second damage assessment; and transmitting the second damage assessment to a service provider.
Per Prong One of Step 2A, the identified recitation of an abstract idea falls within at least one of the Abstract Idea Groupings consisting of: Mathematical Concepts, Mental Processes, or Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity. Particularly, the identified recitation falls within the Mental Processes including concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation judgment, opinion) and/or Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity including managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules of instructions). Per Prong Two of Step 2A, this judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claim as a whole does not integrate the identified abstract idea into a practical application. The computing device, processor and/or memory medium is recited at a high level of generality, i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function of processing/transmitting data. This generic computing device, processor and/or memory medium limitation is no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Further, updating the machine learning model using the cost to repair the damage and transmitting the second damage assessment to a service provider by a processor and/or memory medium is mere instruction to apply an exception using a generic computer component which cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application. Accordingly, this/these additional element(s) does/do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, since the claims are directed to the determined judicial exception in view of the two prongs of Step 2A, the 2019 PEG flowchart is directed to Step 2B. Therein, the additional elements and combinations therewith are examined in the claims to determine whether the claims as a whole amounts to significantly more than the judicial exception. It is noted here that the additional elements are to be considered both individually and as an ordered combination. In this case, the claims each at most comprise additional elements of: computing device, processor and memory medium. Taken individually, the additional limitations each are generically recited and thus does not add significantly more to the respective limitations. Further, updating the machine learning model using the cost to repair the damage and transmitting the second damage assessment to a service provider by a computing device, processor and/or memory medium is mere instruction to apply an exception using a generic computer component which cannot provide an inventive concept in Step 2B (or, looking back to Step 2A, cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application). For further support, the Applicant’s specification supports the claims being directed to use of a generic computer/memory type structure at ¶0076 wherein the hardware modules comprise a general-purpose processor configured using software. Taken as an ordered combination, the claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the limitations are directed to limitations referenced in Alice Corp. that are not enough to qualify as significantly more when recited in a claim with an abstract idea include, as a non-limiting or non-exclusive examples: i. Adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, e.g., a limitation indicating that a particular function such as creating and maintaining electronic records is performed by a computer, as discussed in Alice Corp., 134 S. Ct. at 2360, 110 USPQ2d at 1984 (see MPEP § 2106.05(f));
ii. Simply appending well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception, e.g., a claim to an abstract idea requiring no more than a generic computer to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known to the industry, as discussed in Alice Corp., 134 S. Ct. at 2359-60, 110 USPQ2d at 1984 (see MPEP § 2106.05(d));
iii. Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, e.g., mere data gathering in conjunction with a law of nature or abstract idea such as a step of obtaining information about credit card transactions so that the information can be analyzed by an abstract mental process, as discussed in CyberSource v. Retail Decisions, Inc., 654 F.3d 1366, 1375, 99 USPQ2d 1690, 1694 (Fed. Cir. 2011) (see MPEP § 2106.05(g)); or
v. Generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use, e.g., a claim describing how the abstract idea of hedging could be used in the commodities and energy markets, as discussed in Bilski v. Kappos, 561 U.S. 593, 595, 95 USPQ2d 1001, 1010 (2010) or a claim limiting the use of a mathematical formula to the petrochemical and oil-refining fields, as discussed in Parker v. Flook. The courts have recognized the following computer functions inter alia to be well-understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner: performing repetitive calculations; receiving, processing, and storing data (e.g., the present claims); electronically scanning or extracting data; electronic recordkeeping; automating mental tasks (e.g., process/machine/manufacture for performing the present claims); and receiving or transmitting data (e.g., the present claims). The dependent claims do not cure the above stated deficiencies, and in particular, the dependent claims further narrow the abstract idea without reciting additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception or providing significantly more than the abstract idea. Since there are no elements or ordered combination of elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, the claims are not eligible subject matter under 35 USC §101. Thus, viewed as a whole, these additional claim element(s) do not provide meaningful limitation(s) to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that the claim(s) amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Therefore, the claim(s) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-16, and 18-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sullivan et al. (US 20170221110 A1) hereinafter referred to as Sullivan in view of Lindeman et al. (US 20210081698 A1) hereinafter referred to as Lindeman.
Sullivan teaches:
Claim 1. A computer-implemented method for dynamically assessing property damage, the method comprising:
receiving, by a processor and from an electronic device, image data depicting a property (¶0006 A method for improving automated damage appraisal through analysis, by an appraisal management computing apparatus, of one or more obtained images of property using a deep neural network with multiple hidden layers of units between an input and output, which has stored knowledge data encoded from one or more stored property damage images, to identify which area of the property has damage. Damage data on an extent of the damage in the identified area of the property is determined, by the appraisal management computing apparatus, using the deep neural network which has stored knowledge data encoded from one or more stored property damage images. The identified area of the property with the damage is mapped, by the appraisal management computing apparatus, to one of a plurality of stored repair procedure templates to generate a list of one or more parts and one or more repair lines to make a repair.);
executing, by the processor, a machine learning model to determine a first damage assessment of the property based on the image data, the first damage assessment being characterized by a confidence level (¶0026 FIG. 11 is a screenshot of an example of a user interface of the appraisal management computing apparatus illustrating a confidence determination with respect to a repair or replacement for one of the actionable items in FIG. 10 based on a deep neural network analysis ¶0048 Next, the deep neural network (DNN) executed by the appraisal management computing apparatus 12(1) may determine when the images are relevant to the identified damaged property based on analyzed classifications and confidences of the one or more obtained images when compared to correlated stored images for the same type of property that are above one or more configured and stored thresholds);
determining, by the processor, that the confidence level is below a threshold level (¶0048 Next, the deep neural network (DNN) executed by the appraisal management computing apparatus 12(1) may determine when the images are relevant to the identified damaged property based on analyzed classifications and confidences of the one or more obtained images when compared to correlated stored images for the same type of property that are above one or more configured and stored thresholds, although other manners for qualifying the one or more images and other types of automated damage analysis may be executed at the same time or separately. Any of the one or more analyzed images that are not of the correct vehicle for damage appraisal are not qualified and may be ignored by the subsequent automated damage appraisal process executed by the appraisal management computing apparatus 12(1).¶0050 the deep neural network (DNN) executed by the appraisal management computing apparatus 12(1) based on assessed classifications and confidences in the identified images above one or more corresponding configured stored threshold may identify damage and determine the extent of the damage, although other manners for automated identifying damage and the extent of the damage may be used. By way of example only, a diagram illustrating the identification and determination of the extent of damage, including a repair or replace analysis by using the deep neural network (DNN) executed by the appraisal management computing apparatus 12(1) is illustrated in FIG. 7B.);
based on determining that the confidence level is below the threshold, transmitting, by the processor, to a computing device via a network, the image data, and a request executable by the computing device, the request causing a physical component of the computing device to (¶0052 in FIG. 10 a user interface of the appraisal management computing apparatus with actionable items of an automated damage appraisal based on a deep neural network analysis is illustrated. Even further by way of example, in FIG. 11 another user interface of the appraisal management computing apparatus with a confidence determination with respect to a repair or replacement for one of the actionable items from FIG. 10 based on a deep neural network analysis by the appraisal management computing apparatus 12(1) is illustrated ¶¶0055-0056 based on the stored customer profile setting, the estimate generation module 34 may automatically add, change, and/or remove a part or parts and/or repair lines to account for overlapping labor operations performed on nearby or adjacent parts, as well as apply specific labor rate and tax rule profiles to accommodate various geographically relevant laws and/or business rules, to produce a final estimate. By way of further example only for a damaged vehicle, based on the rules and data contained in the estimate profile corresponding to specific state or county, the appraisal management computing apparatus 12(1) may use body repair labor rates of a particular rate per hour and may add a hazardous materials disposal fee, although other types of customer profile settings may be applied. In step 414 the appraisal management computing apparatus 12(1) may disseminate the final generated estimate for the automated damage appraisal and then this example of the method may end in step 416.):
generate a second damage assessment, the second damage assessment including a cost to repair the damage, andprovide the second damage assessment to the processor via the network (¶0055 In step 412, the estimation generation module 34 in the appraisal management computing apparatus 12(1) may perform further calculations using one of a plurality of stored customer profile settings to further refine the updated list of one or more parts and/or one or more repair lines based on one or more customer requirements and/or preferences, although other types of refining calculations may be applied. By way of example, based on the stored customer profile setting, the estimate generation module 34 may automatically add, change, and/or remove a part or parts and/or repair lines to account for overlapping labor operations performed on nearby or adjacent parts, as well as apply specific labor rate and tax rule profiles to accommodate various geographically relevant laws and/or business rules, to produce a final estimate… ¶0057 This technology also may be utilized in other manners and approaches. For example, this method for improving automated damage appraisal and devices may be used to provide an automated review of completed appraisals to identify and correct errors and provide enhanced consistency of appraisal results. By way of example only, FIG. 13 is a screenshot of an example user interface depicting results from an automated review of a completed appraisal indicating errors and inaccuracies detected by the appraisal management computing apparatus.);
updating, by the processor, the machine learning model using the cost to repair the damage (¶0047 the deep neural network (DNN) executed by the appraisal management computing apparatus 12(1) in this example has a structure and synaptic weights trained using semi-supervised machine learning techniques in conjunction with labelled and unlabeled data to encode knowledge obtained from earlier property information data images stored and retrieved as needed from the property information storage server device 16. This deep neural network (DNN) executed by the appraisal management computing apparatus 12(1) in this example provides significantly more effective and cost efficient assessments for automated property damage appraisals than is possible with a simple neural network. ¶0058 Accordingly, as illustrated and described by way of the examples herein, this technology significantly improves the efficiency and accuracy of automated damage appraisal methods. This automated technology may use images or videos of the damage (received electronically from an insured/claimant, low cost resource or other methods ex. remotely controlled drone) to automatically create an appraisal which will drastically reduce the time it takes to assess the damage and estimate the cost of the repair. In addition to increasing the efficiency of this process, the accuracy and precision achieved using this automated technology will continue to increase since the automated technology will not suffer from the bias, subjectivity and variances in skill of manual appraisal techniques, but will improve its accuracy over time by leveraging validated results as feedback to further refine subsequent iterations.); and
transmitting, by the processor, the second damage assessment to a service provider (¶¶0055-0056 By way of further example only for a damaged vehicle, based on the rules and data contained in the estimate profile corresponding to specific state or county, the appraisal management computing apparatus 12(1) may use body repair labor rates of a particular rate per hour and may add a hazardous materials disposal fee, although other types of customer profile settings may be applied. In step 414 the appraisal management computing apparatus 12(1) may disseminate the final generated estimate for the automated damage appraisal and then this example of the method may end in step 416.).
Although not explicitly taught by Sullivan, Lindeman teaches in the analogous art of systems for physical object analysis:
determining, by the processor, that the confidence level is below a threshold level (¶0051 The results of the analysis include Subject parts detection (produced by the module 132), damage levels (produced by the modules 134 and 136 of FIG. 1A), repair costs (produced by the module 144), identification and accuracy confidence levels and visual bounding boxes for parts and damage area highlights (as performed by the module 146). In some embodiments, the engine 130 may also be configured to control the data acquisition devices. For example, if a computed confidence level for a derived output is below some reference threshold value, the engine 130 may send a request to one of the data acquisition devices (e.g., one or more of the cameras 110a-n) to obtain another data capture (another image) at a higher resolution or zoom, or from a different view or perspective. Multiple processes are thus implemented to work in concert to generate results ¶0088 Based on the output of the observability code, a “safety net” exit return takes place if sub function thresholds are exceeded, in which case a human technician may intervene to provide a visual assessment of the structural state of the physical object.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the systems for physical object analysis of Lindeman with the system for improving automated damage appraisal of Sullivan for the following reasons:
(1) a finding that there was some teaching, suggestion, or motivation, either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the reference or to combine reference teachings, e.g. Sullivan ¶0003 teaches that it is desirable to improve automating property damage appraisals which rely on user input and predictive analysis to represent damage severity;
(2) a finding that there was reasonable expectation of success since the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference, e.g. Sullivan Abstract teaches improving automated damage appraisal which includes analyzing one or more obtained images of property using a deep neural network with multiple hidden layers of units between an input and output and which has stored knowledge data encoded from one or more stored property damage images to identify which area of the property has damage, and Lindeman Abstract teaches obtaining physical object data for a physical object, determining a physical object type based on the obtained physical object data, and determining based on the obtained physical object data, using at least one processor-implemented learning engine, findings data comprising structural deviation data representative of deviation between the obtained physical object data and normal physical object data representative of normal structural conditions for the determined physical object type; and
(3) whatever additional findings based on the Graham factual inquiries may be necessary, in view of the facts of the case under consideration, to explain a conclusion of obviousness, e.g. Sullivan at least the above cited paragraphs, and Lindeman at least the inclusively cited paragraphs.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the invention to combine the systems for physical object analysis of Lindeman with the system for improving automated damage appraisal of Sullivan. The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that "a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and whether there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in doing so." DyStar Textilfarben GmbH & Co. Deutschland KG v. C.H. Patrick Co., 464 F.3d 1356, 1360, 80 USPQ2d 1641, 1645 (Fed. Cir. 2006). See MPEP 2143(G).
Sullivan teaches:
Claim 2. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: determining, by the processor and from the image data, a characteristic associated with the property; and selecting, by the processor, the computing device based on the characteristic (¶0030 Repair procedure templates with respect to automated damage appraisals are meticulously curated vehicle year/make/model-specific collections of data about replacement parts and/or repair operations determined by certified vehicle repair experts and/or from manufacturer data, following vehicle manufacturer recommended repair procedures and guidelines, to be the necessary and optimal parts and operations required to repair a specified section of a damaged vehicle and restore it to manufacturer approved specifications and safety tolerances. Rules of adjacency with respect to automated damage appraisal comprise an expertly authored hierarchal rule structure that defines the relationships between collision repair operation types by identifying how a given specific collision repair operation necessarily requires, likely requires or relates to one or more additional specific collision repair operations.).
Sullivan teaches:
Claim 3. The computer-implemented method of claim 2, wherein the characteristic indicates a state in which the property is registered, and the method further comprises: determining, by the processor, a person licensed to perform the second damage assessment in the state, wherein the selected computing device is associated with the person (¶0055 In step 412, the estimation generation module 34 in the appraisal management computing apparatus 12(1) may perform further calculations using one of a plurality of stored customer profile settings to further refine the updated list of one or more parts and/or one or more repair lines based on one or more customer requirements and/or preferences, although other types of refining calculations may be applied. By way of example, based on the stored customer profile setting, the estimate generation module 34 may automatically add, change, and/or remove a part or parts and/or repair lines to account for overlapping labor operations performed on nearby or adjacent parts, as well as apply specific labor rate and tax rule profiles to accommodate various geographically relevant laws and/or business rules, to produce a final estimate. By way of further example only for a damaged vehicle, based on the rules and data contained in the estimate profile corresponding to specific state or county, the appraisal management computing apparatus 12(1) may use body repair labor rates of a particular rate per hour and may add a hazardous materials disposal fee, although other types of customer profile settings may be applied.).
Sullivan teaches:
Claim 4. The computer-implemented method of claim 2, wherein the characteristic indicates a manufacturer’s suggested retail price (MSRP) value associated with the property that exceeds a threshold, and the method further comprises: determining, by the processor, a person having experience assessing other properties characterized by comparable MSRP values, wherein the selected computing device is associated with the person (¶0030 Repair procedure templates with respect to automated damage appraisals are meticulously curated vehicle year/make/model-specific collections of data about replacement parts and/or repair operations determined by certified vehicle repair experts and/or from manufacturer data, following vehicle manufacturer recommended repair procedures and guidelines, to be the necessary and optimal parts and operations required to repair a specified section of a damaged vehicle and restore it to manufacturer approved specifications and safety tolerances. Rules of adjacency with respect to automated damage appraisal comprise an expertly authored hierarchal rule structure that defines the relationships between collision repair operation types by identifying how a given specific collision repair operation necessarily requires, likely requires or relates to one or more additional specific collision repair operations. ¶0044 Referring more specifically to FIG. 4, in step 400 in this example of the method may start and then one or more of the imaging devices 14(1)-14(n) may be used to capture a number of images, such as pictures and/or videos, of property, such as a vehicle by way of example only as illustrated by way of example in FIG. 5, requested by the appraisal management computing apparatus 12(1), although the images can be obtained in other manners and the specified types and/or numbers of images can be set in other manners. By way of example only, the images may be captured by an insured/claimant or a low cost resource, such as a drone, using one of the imaging devices 14(1)-14(n). Additionally and by way of example only, the captured images, such as pictures and/or videos, may be captured using a camera or equipped mobile device as one of the imaging devices 14(1)-14(n) or a three dimensional (3D) scan generated using a scanner or other equipped mobile device as one of the imaging devices 14(1)-14(n), although other types of imaging of the property can be used. ¶0046 Next in step 404, the appraisal management computing apparatus 12(1) may perform one or more assessments on the one or more obtained images, such as pictures by way of example only, and/or one or more dynamic images, such as video by way of example only, for determining an automated property damage appraisal using a deep neural network (DNN) based on stored programmed instructions, such as in the image damage assessment module 32 by way of example only. A functional diagram of the operation of the deep neural network (DNN) during automated damage appraisal is illustrated by way of example only in FIG. 6.).
Sullivan teaches:
Claim 5. The computer-implemented method of claim 4, wherein the characteristic indicates an age of the property, and the method further comprises: determining, by the processor, and based on at least one of the age, the MSRP, or the first damage assessment, an additional computing device needed to perform the second damage assessment (¶0046 Next in step 404, the appraisal management computing apparatus 12(1) may perform one or more assessments on the one or more obtained images, such as pictures by way of example only, and/or one or more dynamic images, such as video by way of example only, for determining an automated property damage appraisal using a deep neural network (DNN) based on stored programmed instructions, such as in the image damage assessment module 32 by way of example only. A functional diagram of the operation of the deep neural network (DNN) during automated damage appraisal is illustrated by way of example only in FIG. 6.).
Sullivan teaches:
Claim 6. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the first damage assessment indicates at least one of a type of a damage, an estimated amount of the damage, or an estimated repair cost (¶0043 An example of a method for improving automated damage appraisal and devices thereof will now be described with reference to FIGS. 1-13, although this technology can be used in the same manner for other types of applications, such as using the same process that is illustrated and described by way of the examples herein to review existing property damage estimate repair operation data lists by analyzing the corresponding photos to determine if the repair procedures in the estimate data are optimal and accurately reflect the damage in the photos, thus automating the estimate review process.).
Sullivan teaches:
Claim 7. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, by the processor and from the computing device, an annotation associated with the image data; and updating, by the processor, the machine learning model using the annotation (¶0055 In step 412, the estimation generation module 34 in the appraisal management computing apparatus 12(1) may perform further calculations using one of a plurality of stored customer profile settings to further refine the updated list of one or more parts and/or one or more repair lines based on one or more customer requirements and/or preferences, although other types of refining calculations may be applied. By way of example, based on the stored customer profile setting, the estimate generation module 34 may automatically add, change, and/or remove a part or parts and/or repair lines to account for overlapping labor operations performed on nearby or adjacent parts, as well as apply specific labor rate and tax rule profiles to accommodate various geographically relevant laws and/or business rules, to produce a final estimate…).
Sullivan teaches:
Claim 9. The method of claim 1, further comprising: determining, by the processor and using the updated machine learning model, a third estimate of the damage; andgenerating, by the processor, a work order including the third estimation of the damage;and transmitting, by the processor, the work order to the service provider (¶0055 In step 412, the estimation generation module 34 in the appraisal management computing apparatus 12(1) may perform further calculations using one of a plurality of stored customer profile settings to further refine the updated list of one or more parts and/or one or more repair lines based on one or more customer requirements and/or preferences, although other types of refining calculations may be applied. By way of example, based on the stored customer profile setting, the estimate generation module 34 may automatically add, change, and/or remove a part or parts and/or repair lines to account for overlapping labor operations performed on nearby or adjacent parts, as well as apply specific labor rate and tax rule profiles to accommodate various geographically relevant laws and/or business rules, to produce a final estimate ¶0057 This technology also may be utilized in other manners and approaches. For example, this method for improving automated damage appraisal and devices may be used to provide an automated review of completed appraisals to identify and correct errors and provide enhanced consistency of appraisal results. By way of example only, FIG. 13 is a screenshot of an example user interface depicting results from an automated review of a completed appraisal indicating errors and inaccuracies detected by the appraisal management computing apparatus. ¶0058 Accordingly, as illustrated and described by way of the examples herein, this technology significantly improves the efficiency and accuracy of automated damage appraisal methods. This automated technology may use images or videos of the damage (received electronically from an insured/claimant, low cost resource or other methods ex. remotely controlled drone) to automatically create an appraisal which will drastically reduce the time it takes to assess the damage and estimate the cost of the repair. In addition to increasing the efficiency of this process, the accuracy and precision achieved using this automated technology will continue to increase since the automated technology will not suffer from the bias, subjectivity and variances in skill of manual appraisal techniques, but will improve its accuracy over time by leveraging validated results as feedback to further refine subsequent iterations.).
As per claims 10-16,18 and 19-20, the system and computer-readable storage medium tracks the method of claims 1-7,9 and 1,7, respectively, resulting in substantially similar limitations. The same cited prior art and rationale of claims 1-7,9 and 1,7 are applied to claims 10-16,18 and 19-20, respectively. Sullivan discloses that the embodiment may be found as a system and non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (Fig. 1 and ¶0007).
Sullivan teaches:
Claim 21. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the first damage assessment of the property includes a second confidence level determined based on a parameter associated with the property, and the computer-implemented method further comprises:determining, by the processor, that the second confidence level is greater than or equal to an audit threshold level;based on determining that the second confidence level is greater than or equal to the audit threshold level, determining, by the processor, a portion of the image data to be used for the damage assessment; and transmitting, by the processor, the portion of the image data to the computing device, wherein receipt of the portion of the image data by the computing device causes the computing device to:generate an annotation corresponding to the portion of the image data;associate the annotation with the portion of the image data, andgenerate the second damage assessment based on the portion of the image data and the annotation (¶0053 FIG. 9B depicts a user interface showing an example application of rules of adjacency in which a L Fender determined to require a repair operation of Replace, shown by the checked box, will necessitate the L Front Door Shell to require a repair operation of type Blend, shown by the checked box, based on rules of adjacency. Further by way of example, in FIG. 9C, a Hood determined to require a repair operation of type Repair, shown by the checked box, may or may not necessitate the L Fender and/or the R Fender to require a repair operation of type Blend, shown by the yellow highlighted unchecked box, depending on the location and extent of the damage to the hood, based on rules of adjacency.).
Sullivan teaches:
Claim 22. The computer-implemented method of claim 21, wherein the property is a vehicle, and the computer-implemented method further comprises: receiving, by the processor, additional information associated with the vehicle; andinputting, by the processor, the image data and the additional information as the input to the machine learning model,wherein the additional information includes at least one of a make, a model, a year,or an odometer reading of the vehicle (¶0045 Next, in step 402 the appraisal management computing apparatus 12(1) may obtain one or more the captured images from one of the imaging devices 14(1)-14(n) via an internet connection or other communication network 20, although the appraisal management computing apparatus 12(1) can obtain the necessary images in other manners. Additionally, the appraisal management computing apparatus 12(1) may receive or otherwise obtain other data relating to the property to be appraised for damage, such as a vehicle identification number (VIN) of the vehicle to use as an identifier (ID) of the property, a year and a make, and/or model of the vehicle by way of example only from a received data input from a user computing device or other device used by the insured/claimant coupled to the appraisal management computing apparatus 12(1)).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20200104940 A1
Krishnan; Ramanathan et al.
ARTIFICIAL INTELLIGENCE ENABLED ASSESSMENT OF DAMAGE TO AUTOMOBILES
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KURTIS GILLS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3624