Detailed Action
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 102
Claims 1, 7 and 11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2004/0070042).
Regarding Claim 1
FIG. 2 of Lee discloses a semiconductor device comprising: a semiconductor substrate (10); a first conductive film (17) provided above the semiconductor substrate; an interlayer dielectric film (18) that covers the first conductive film; a second conductive film (20) that is provided above the interlayer dielectric film; a wire (22) that has a bonded portion that is bonded to the second conductive film; a plurality of first through holes (left 19) and a plurality of second through holes (right 19) being provided on the opposite sides of the bonded portion of the wire in the interlayer dielectric film; wherein the first conductive film includes a first wiring film and a second wiring film, the first wiring film having a first end bonded to the second conductive film through the plurality of first through holes, and the first wiring film having a first wiring portion extending from the first end in a first direction away from the bonded portion of the wire; and the second wiring film having a second end bonded to the second conductive film through the plurality of second through holes, and the second wiring film having a second wiring portion extending from the second end in a second direction away from the bonded portion of the wire, the second wiring film being separate from the first wiring film, wherein the first direction and the second direction are directions opposite to each other.
Regarding Claim 7
FIG. 2 of Lee discloses the semiconductor substrate is a silicon substrate or a silicon carbide semiconductor substrate [0034].
Regarding Claim 11
FIG. 2 of Lee discloses a semiconductor device comprising: a semiconductor substrate (10); a first conductive film (17) provided above the semiconductor substrate; an interlayer dielectric film (18) that covers the first conductive film; a second conductive film (20) that is provided above the interlayer dielectric film; a wire (22) that has a bonded portion that is bonded to the second conductive film; a plurality of first through holes (left 19) and a plurality of second through holes (right 19) being provided on the opposite sides of the bonded portion of the wire in the interlayer dielectric film; wherein the first conductive film includes a first wiring film and a second wiring film, the first wiring film having a first end bonded to the second conductive film through the plurality of first through holes, and the first wiring film having a first wiring portion extending from the first end in a first direction away from the bonded portion of the wire; and the second wiring film having a second end bonded to the second conductive film through the plurality of second through holes, and the second wiring film having a second wiring portion extending from the second end in a second direction away from the bonded portion of the wire, the second wiring film being separate from the first wiring film, wherein an insulating film (16) is formed on a front surface of the semiconductor substrate, and wherein the first wiring film and the second wiring film are arranged on the insulating film.
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7, 8, 10 and 11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wakabayashi (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2006/0273463).
Regarding Claim 1
FIG. 1 of Wakabayashi discloses a semiconductor device comprising: a semiconductor substrate (1); a first conductive film (8) provided above the semiconductor substrate; an interlayer dielectric film (9) that covers the first conductive film; a second conductive film (14) that is provided above the interlayer dielectric film; a wire (17) that has a bonded portion that is bonded to the second conductive film; a plurality of first through holes (left 12) and a plurality of second through holes (right 12) being provided on the opposite sides of the bonded portion of the wire in the interlayer dielectric film; wherein the first conductive film includes a first wiring film and a second wiring film, the first wiring film having a first end bonded to the second conductive film through the plurality of first through holes, and the first wiring film having a first wiring portion extending from the first end in a first direction away from the bonded portion of the wire; and the second wiring film having a second end bonded to the second conductive film through the plurality of second through holes, and the second wiring film having a second wiring portion extending from the second end in a second direction away from the bonded portion of the wire, the second wiring film being separate from the first wiring film, wherein the first direction and the second direction are directions opposite to each other.
Regarding Claim 3
FIG. 1 of Wakabayashi discloses the second conductive film includes a film of a material containing copper, or an aluminum alloy film [0028].
Regarding Claim 5
FIG. 1 of Wakabayashi discloses a protective film (19) that is provided above the second conductive film and the interlayer dielectric film, wherein the protective film has an opening in which the bonded portion of the wire (17) is provided.
Regarding Claim 7
FIG. 2 of Wakabayashi discloses the semiconductor substrate is a silicon substrate or a silicon carbide semiconductor substrate [0034].
Regarding Claim 8
FIG. 2 of Wakabayashi discloses an insulating film (6) that is provided between (i) the first wiring film and the second wiring film and (ii) the semiconductor substrate, wherein the insulating film is formed of a semiconductor oxide film or semiconductor nitride film [0026].
Regarding Claim 10
FIG. 2 of Wakabayashi discloses the first wiring film and the second wiring film are arranged on the insulating film (6).
Regarding Claim 11
FIG. 1 of Wakabayashi discloses a semiconductor device comprising: a semiconductor substrate (1); a first conductive film (8) provided above the semiconductor substrate; an interlayer dielectric film (9) that covers the first conductive film; a second conductive film (14) that is provided above the interlayer dielectric film; a wire (17) that has a bonded portion that is bonded to the second conductive film; a plurality of first through holes (left 12) and a plurality of second through holes (right 12) being provided on the opposite sides of the bonded portion of the wire in the interlayer dielectric film; wherein the first conductive film includes a first wiring film and a second wiring film, the first wiring film having a first end bonded to the second conductive film through the plurality of first through holes, and the first wiring film having a first wiring portion extending from the first end in a first direction away from the bonded portion of the wire; and the second wiring film having a second end bonded to the second conductive film through the plurality of second through holes, and the second wiring film having a second wiring portion extending from the second end in a second direction away from the bonded portion of the wire, the second wiring film being separate from the first wiring film (FIG. 3), wherein an insulating film (3) is formed on a front surface of the semiconductor substrate, and wherein the first wiring film and the second wiring film are arranged on the insulating film.
Claims 1, 7 and 11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nozaki (JP 2003282574, machine-translation provided).
Regarding Claim 1
FIG. 7 of Nozaki discloses a semiconductor device comprising: a semiconductor substrate (1); a first conductive film (3a) provided above the semiconductor substrate; an interlayer dielectric film (2c) that covers the first conductive film; a second conductive film (4) that is provided above the interlayer dielectric film; a wire (15) that has a bonded portion that is bonded to the second conductive film; a plurality of first through holes and a plurality of second through holes being provided on the opposite sides of the bonded portion of the wire in the interlayer dielectric film; wherein the first conductive film includes a first wiring film and a second wiring film, the first wiring film having a first end bonded to the second conductive film through the plurality of first through holes, and the first wiring film having a first wiring portion extending from the first end in a first direction away from the bonded portion of the wire; and the second wiring film having a second end bonded to the second conductive film through the plurality of second through holes, and the second wiring film having a second wiring portion extending from the second end in a second direction away from the bonded portion of the wire, the second wiring film being separate from the first wiring film, wherein the first direction and the second direction are directions opposite to each other (FIG. 5).
Regarding Claim 7
Nozaki discloses the semiconductor substrate is a silicon substrate or a silicon carbide semiconductor substrate.
Regarding Claim 11
FIG. 7 of Nozaki discloses a semiconductor device comprising: a semiconductor substrate (1); a first conductive film (3a) provided above the semiconductor substrate; an interlayer dielectric film (2c) that covers the first conductive film; a second conductive film (4) that is provided above the interlayer dielectric film; a wire (15) that has a bonded portion that is bonded to the second conductive film; a plurality of first through holes and a plurality of second through holes being provided on the opposite sides of the bonded portion of the wire in the interlayer dielectric film; wherein the first conductive film includes a first wiring film and a second wiring film, the first wiring film having a first end bonded to the second conductive film through the plurality of first through holes, and the first wiring film having a first wiring portion extending from the first end in a first direction away from the bonded portion of the wire; and the second wiring film having a second end bonded to the second conductive film through the plurality of second through holes, and the second wiring film having a second wiring portion extending from the second end in a second direction away from the bonded portion of the wire, the second wiring film being separate from the first wiring film, wherein an insulating film (2a) is formed on a front surface of the semiconductor substrate, and wherein the first wiring film and the second wiring film are arranged on the insulating film.
Claims 16 and 21 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fujiki (JP H08213422, machine-translation provided).
Regarding Claim 16
FIG. 19 of Fujiki discloses a semiconductor device comprising: a semiconductor substrate (1); a first conductive film (3) provided above the semiconductor substrate; an interlayer dielectric film that covers the first conductive film (4); a second conductive film (6) that is provided above the interlayer dielectric film; and a plurality of through holes provided in the interlayer dielectric film, the plurality of through holes including at least a first through hole and at least a second through hole being provided on the opposite sides in a first axis direction, and at least a third through hole and at least a fourth through hole being provided on the opposite sides in a second axis direction that is orthogonal to the first axis direction in plan view (FIG. 7), wherein the first conductive film includes one or more polysilicon films bonded to the second conductive film through any one of the first through hole, the second through hole, the third through hole and the fourth through hole, an insulating film (7) is formed on a front surface of the semiconductor substrate, the one or more polysilicon films are formed on the insulating film [0044], and the insulating film is formed of a semiconductor oxide film or a semiconductor nitride film [0010].
Regarding Claim 21
FIG. 19 of Fujiki discloses the one or more polysilicon films includes: a first polysilicon film having an end bonded to the second conductive film through the first through hole; a second polysilicon film having an end bonded to the second conductive film through the second through hole; a third polysilicon film having an end bonded to the second conductive film through the third through hole; and a fourth polysilicon film having an end bonded to the second conductive film through the fourth through hole, wherein the first polysilicon film having a first extending portion, the second polysilicon film having a second extending portion, the third polysilicon film having a third extending portion, and the fourth polysilicon film having a fourth extending portion, the first extending portion extends away from the first through hole and the second extending portion extends away from the second through hole in opposite directions along the first axis direction, and the third extending portion extends away from the third through hole and the fourth extending portion extends away from the fourth through hole in opposite directions along the second axis direction.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
Claim 2 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakabayashi, in view of Lung (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2010/0176362).
Regarding Claim 2
Wakabayashi discloses Claim 1.
Wakabayashi is silent with respect to “the first wiring film and the second wiring film are polysilicon films”.
FIG. 2 of Lung discloses a similar semiconductor device, wherein the first wiring film (220) and the second wiring film are polysilicon films [0038].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Wakabayashi, as taught by Lung. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Wakabayashi in the above manner for purpose of simplifying design and manufacturing processes ([0010] of Lung).
Claims 1 and 7-10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato (JP 3415478, machine-translation provided), in view of Nozaki (JP 2003282574).
Regarding Claim 1
FIG. 5 of Kato discloses a semiconductor device comprising: a semiconductor [0002] substrate (12); a first conductive film (lower electrode) provided above the semiconductor substrate; an interlayer dielectric film (20) that covers the first conductive film; a second conductive film (Al) that is provided above the interlayer dielectric film; a plurality of first through holes and a plurality of second through holes being provided on the opposite sides of the bonded portion of the wire in the interlayer dielectric film; wherein the first conductive film includes a first wiring film and a second wiring film, the first wiring film having a first end bonded to the second conductive film through the plurality of first through holes, and the first wiring film having a first wiring portion extending from the first end in a first direction away from the bonded portion of the wire; and the second wiring film having a second end bonded to the second conductive film through the plurality of second through holes, and the second wiring film having a second wiring portion extending from the second end in a second direction away from the bonded portion of the wire, the second wiring film being separate from the first wiring film, wherein the first direction and the second direction are directions opposite to each other.
Kato is silent with respect to “a wire that has a bonded portion that is bonded to the second conductive film;”.
FIG. 7 of Nozaki discloses a similar semiconductor device, comprising a wire (15) that has a bonded portion that is bonded to the second conductive film (4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kato, as taught by Nozaki. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Kato in the above manner for purpose of connecting to circuit of semiconductor chip ([0009] of Nozaki).
Regarding Claim 7
Kato discloses the semiconductor substrate is a silicon substrate or a silicon carbide semiconductor substrate [0022].
Regarding Claim 8
FIG. 5 of Kato discloses an insulating film (first onterlayer) that is provided between (i) the first wiring film and the second wiring film and (ii) the semiconductor substrate, wherein the insulating film is formed of a semiconductor oxide film or semiconductor nitride film [0006].
Regarding Claim 9
FIG. 5 of Kato discloses each of the first wiring film and the second wiring film is connected to a control circuit portion or power element portion.
Regarding Claim 10
FIG. 5 of Kato discloses the first wiring film and the second wiring film are arranged on the insulating film.
Claims 4, 6 and 12-14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakabayashi, in view of Sakihama (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2002/0000668).
Regarding Claim 4
Wakabayashi discloses Claim 1.
Wakabayashi is silent with respect to “the second conductive film has a main body part having a rectangular planar shape, a first extending portion extending from the main body part toward the plurality of first through holes, and a second extending portion extending from the main body part toward the plurality of second through holes, and in a plan view, the plurality of first through holes and the plurality of second through holes do not overlap with the main body part, and overlap the first extending portion and the second extending portion, respectively”.
FIG. 6 of Sakihama discloses a similar semiconductor device, wherein the second conductive film has a main body part (200a) having a rectangular planar shape, a first extending portion (200c) extending from the main body part toward the plurality of first through holes (250a), and a second extending portion (200d) extending from the main body part toward the plurality of second through holes (250b), and in a plan view, the plurality of first through holes and the plurality of second through holes do not overlap with the main body part, and overlap the first extending portion and the second extending portion, respectively.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Wakabayashi, as taught by Sakihama. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Wakabayashi in the above manner for purpose of preventing open failure caused by electromigration ([0021] of Sakihama).
Regarding Claim 6
Wakabayashi as modified by Sakihama discloses the plurality of first through holes and the plurality of second through holes overlap with the protective film in plan view.
Regarding Claim 12
FIG. 6 of Sakihama discloses in plan view, lengths of the first wiring film and second wiring film in a third direction orthogonal to the first direction and the second direction are smaller than a length of the main body part of the second conductive film in the third direction.
Regarding Claim 13
FIG. 6 of Sakihama discloses the first through holes and the second through holes are provided at opposite positions in a longitudinal direction of the main body part.
Regarding Claim 14
FIG. 6 of Sakihama discloses a plurality of third through holes and a plurality of fourth through holes being provided on the opposite positions in a lateral direction of the main body in the interlayer dielectric film.
Claim 15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakabayashi and Sakihama, in view of Nozaki.
Regarding Claim 15
Wakabayashi as modified Sakihama discloses Claim 14.
Wakabayashi as modified Sakihama is silent with respect to “the first conductive film includes a third wiring film and a fourth wiring film, the third wiring film having an end bonded to the second conductive film through the plurality of third through holes, the fourth wiring film having an end bonded to the second conductive film through the plurality of fourth through holes”.
FIG. 7 of Nozaki discloses a similar semiconductor device, wherein the first conductive film includes a third wiring film and a fourth wiring film, the third wiring film having an end bonded to the second conductive film through the plurality of third through holes, the fourth wiring film having an end bonded to the second conductive film through the plurality of fourth through holes.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Wakabayashi, as taught by Nozaki. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Wakabayashi in the above manner for purpose of improving a sufficiently large allowable current (Abstract of Nozaki).
Claims 16, 17 and 21 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nozaki, in view of Lung.
Regarding Claim 16
FIG. 7 of Nozaki discloses a semiconductor device comprising: a semiconductor substrate (1); a first conductive film (3a) provided above the semiconductor substrate; an interlayer dielectric film (2c) that covers the first conductive film; a second conductive film (4) that is provided above the interlayer dielectric film; and a plurality of through holes provided in the interlayer dielectric film, the plurality of through holes including at least a first through hole and at least a second through hole being provided on the opposite sides in a first axis direction, and at least a third through hole and at least a fourth through hole being provided on the opposite sides in a second axis direction that is orthogonal to the first axis direction in plan view (FIG. 5), wherein the first conductive film includes one or more films bonded to the second conductive film through any one of the first through hole, the second through hole, the third through hole and the fourth through hole, an insulating film (2c) is formed on a front surface of the semiconductor substrate, the one or more films are formed on the insulating film.
Nozaki is silent with respect to “the first conductive film includes one or more polysilicon films” and “the insulating film is formed of a semiconductor oxide film or a semiconductor nitride film”.
FIG. 2 of Lung discloses a similar semiconductor device, wherein the first conductive film includes one or more polysilicon [0038] films (220) bonded to the second conductive film (240) through any one of the first through hole, the second through hole, the third through hole and the fourth through hole, an insulating film (262) is formed on a front surface of the semiconductor substrate (200), the one or more polysilicon films are formed on the insulating film, and the insulating film is formed of a semiconductor oxide film or a semiconductor nitride film [0043].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nozaki, as taught by Lung. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Nozaki in the above manner for purpose of simplifying design and manufacturing processes ([0010] of Lung).
Regarding Claim 17
FIG. 2 of Lung discloses the one or more polysilicon films (220) includes: a first polysilicon film having an end bonded to the second conductive film through the first through hole and having an other end; a second polysilicon film having an end bonded to the second conductive film through the second through hole and having an other end; a third polysilicon film having an end bonded to the second conductive film through the third through hole and having an other end; and a fourth polysilicon film having an end bonded to the second conductive film through the fourth through hole and having an other end, wherein each of the other ends of the first polysilicon film, the second polysilicon film, the third polysilicon film, and the fourth polysilicon film is connected to a control circuit portion or power element portion (FIG. 1).
Regarding Claim 21
Nozaki as modified by Lung discloses the one or more polysilicon films includes: a first polysilicon film having an end bonded to the second conductive film through the first through hole; a second polysilicon film having an end bonded to the second conductive film through the second through hole; a third polysilicon film having an end bonded to the second conductive film through the third through hole; and a fourth polysilicon film having an end bonded to the second conductive film through the fourth through hole, wherein the first polysilicon film having a first extending portion, the second polysilicon film having a second extending portion, the third polysilicon film having a third extending portion, and the fourth polysilicon film having a fourth extending portion, the first extending portion extends away from the first through hole and the second extending portion extends away from the second through hole in opposite directions along the first axis direction, and the third extending portion extends away from the third through hole and the fourth extending portion extends away from the fourth through hole in opposite directions along the second axis direction.
Claim 16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nozaki, in view of Sato (JP H05121376, machine-translation provided).
Regarding Claim 16
FIG. 7 of Nozaki discloses a semiconductor device comprising: a semiconductor substrate (1); a first conductive film (3a) provided above the semiconductor substrate; an interlayer dielectric film (2c) that covers the first conductive film; a second conductive film (4) that is provided above the interlayer dielectric film; and a plurality of through holes provided in the interlayer dielectric film, the plurality of through holes including at least a first through hole and at least a second through hole being provided on the opposite sides in a first axis direction, and at least a third through hole and at least a fourth through hole being provided on the opposite sides in a second axis direction that is orthogonal to the first axis direction in plan view (FIG. 5), wherein the first conductive film includes one or more films bonded to the second conductive film through any one of the first through hole, the second through hole, the third through hole and the fourth through hole, an insulating film (2c) is formed on a front surface of the semiconductor substrate, the one or more films are formed on the insulating film.
Nozaki is silent with respect to “the first conductive film includes one or more polysilicon films” and “the insulating film is formed of a semiconductor oxide film or a semiconductor nitride film”.
FIG. 7 of Sato discloses a similar semiconductor device, wherein the first conductive film includes one or more polysilicon [0027] films (32) bonded to the second conductive film through any one of the first through hole, the second through hole, the third through hole and the fourth through hole, an insulating film (31) is formed on a front surface of the semiconductor substrate (1), the one or more polysilicon films are formed on the insulating film, and the insulating film is formed of a semiconductor oxide film or a semiconductor nitride film.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nozaki, as taught by Sato. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Nozaki in the above manner for purpose of preventing excessive etching and short-circuit (Abstract of Sato).
Claims 18 and 19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nozaki and Lung, in view of Mu (U.S. Patent No. 5,612,254).
Regarding Claim 18
Nozaki as modified by Lung discloses Claim 16.
Nozaki as modified by Lung is silent with respect to “the first through hole extends to an inside of the first polysilicon film with a groove portion, the second through hole extends to an inside of the second polysilicon film with a groove portion, the third through hole extends to an inside of the third polysilicon film with a groove portion, and the fourth through hole extends to an inside of the fourth polysilicon film with a groove portion”.
FIG. 8 of Mu discloses a similar semiconductor device, wherein the first through hole extends to an inside of the first polysilicon (Col. 6, Lines 8-33) film (41) with a groove portion, the second through hole extends to an inside of the second polysilicon film with a groove portion, the third through hole extends to an inside of the third polysilicon film with a groove portion, and the fourth through hole extends to an inside of the fourth polysilicon film with a groove portion.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nozaki, as taught by Mu. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Nozaki in the above manner for purpose of reliable interconnections (Col. 1, Lines 12-20 of Mu).
Regarding Claim 19
FIG. 8 of Mu discloses each of the first polysilicon film, the second polysilicon film, the third polysilicon film and the fourth polysilicon film includes a frame portion (40) that surrounds a neighborhood of the groove portion.
Claim 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nozaki and Lung, in view of Sakihama (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2002/0000668).
Regarding Claim 20
Nozaki as modified by Lung discloses Claim 16, wherein the first through hole and the second through hole sandwich a center of the opening in the first axis direction, and the third through hole and the fourth through hole sandwich the center of the opening in the second axis direction.
Nozaki as modified by Lung is silent with respect to “comprising a protective film that is provided above the second conductive film and the interlayer dielectric film, the protective film has an opening in plan view”.
FIG. 6 of Sakihama discloses a similar semiconductor device, comprising a protective film (50) that is provided above the second conductive film and the interlayer dielectric film, the protective film has an opening in plan view.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nozaki, as taught by Sakihama. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Nozaki in the above manner for purpose of preventing open failure caused by electromigration ([0021] of Sakihama).
Pertinent Art
US 2009/0230562, 2005/0121792, 2010/0019395, 2002/0074587, 2018/0331140, 6043119, JP 2001210711.
Conclusion
/SHENG-BAI ZHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897