Rejections Double Patenting
Claims 10-29 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. (12,089,798) to Pope, Jr. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because independent claims 10, 18 and 24 are encompassed by claims 1, 13 and 20 of the (‘798) to Pope, Jr.
Rejections 35 U.S.C. § 102
Claims 18, 21-24 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent (2,553,034) to Bridge.
Regarding independent claim 18, Bridge discloses a mobile frame (a); a motor (on pump (b)) mounted on the frame (a); a suction pump (b) mounted on the frame (a) and powered by the motor (on pump (b)); a slurry containment tank (c) mounted on the frame (a) receiving suction from the suction pump (b); and with the motor (on pump (b)) and the suction pump (b) are mounted on a stepped subframe (f) arranged on the mobile frame (a) (See Col. 1 lines 35-50 and FIG. 3).
Regarding claim 21, Bridge discloses a squeegee (See Col. 1 lines 15-25) in communication with the slurry containment tank (c), the squeegee (See Col. 1 lines 15-25) being adapted for floor contact to collect slurry for transfer to the slurry containment tank ©.
Regarding claim 22, Bridge discloses that the suction pump (b) is directly coupled to the motor (on pump (b)) without the use of belts, chains or pulleys.
Regarding claim 23, Bridge discloses that the suction pump (b) is directly coupled to the motor through a universal joint (i).
Regarding independent claim 24, Bridge discloses a mobile frame (a); a motor (on pump (b)) mounted on the frame (a); a suction pump (b) mounted on the frame (a) and powered by the motor (on pump (b)); a slurry containment tank (c) mounted on the frame (a) receiving suction from the suction pump (b); and wherein the suction pump (b) is directly coupled to the motor (See Col. 1 lines 35-50).
Regarding claim 27, Bridge discloses a squeegee (See Col. 1 lines 15-25) in communication with the slurry containment tank (c), the squeegee (See Col. 1 lines 15-25) being adapted for floor contact to collect slurry for transfer to the slurry containment tank (c).
Rejections 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 10-17, 19, 20, 25, 26, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent (2,553,034) to Bridge in view of U.S. Patent (6,023,813) to Thatcher et al.
Regarding independent claim 10, Bridge teaches a mobile frame (a); a propane engine (not shown) mounted on the frame (a) (See Col. 1 lines 35-45 of Bridge); a suction pump (b) mounted on the frame (a) and powered by the propane engine. Except, Bridge is silent regarding a propone engine; however, Thatcher et al. teaches a concrete floor surface machine that includes a propane tank (207) and propine engine (103) in order to power a suction blower (See Col. 5 lines 35-50 of Thatcher et al.). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date to modify Bridge to include a propane engine in order to power the pump as a means of alternative suction power for the motor. Bridge as modified with Thatcher et al. teaches a slurry containment tank (c) (tank configured to contain slurry) mounted on the frame (a) receiving suction from the suction pump (b); and wherein the suction pump is directly coupled to the propane engine (103).
Regarding claim 11, Bridge as Thatcher et al. teaches a squeegee (See Col. 1 lines 15-25) in communication with the slurry containment tank (c), the squeegee (See Col. 1 lines 15-25) being adapted for floor contact to collect slurry for transfer to the slurry containment tank (See Col. 1 lines 15-25). As mentioned above, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date to modify Bridge to include a propane engine in order to power the pump as a means of alternative suction power for the motor.
Regarding claim 12, Bridge as modified with Thatcher et al. teaches a hose (See Col. 2 lines 1-10) connection connecting the slurry containment tank (c) to the squeegee (See Col. 1 lines 15-25).
Regarding claim 13, Bridge as modified with Thatcher et al. teaches a suction hose (See Col. 2 lines 1-10) connecting the suction pump (b) to the slurry containment tank (c.
Regarding claim 14, Bridge as modified with Thatcher et al. teaches that the suction pump (b) is directly coupled to the propane engine (103) without the use of belts, chains or pulleys. As mentioned above, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date to modify Bridge to include a propane engine in order to power the pump as a means of alternative suction power for the motor.
Regarding claim 15, Bridge as modified with Thatcher et al. teaches that the suction pump (b) is directly coupled to the propane engine (103) through a universal joint (i).
Regarding claim 16, Bridge as modified with Thatcher et al. teaches a propane tank (103) coupled to the propane engine (103) through a fuel line (See Col. 3 lines 20-25).
Regarding claim 17, Bridge as modified with Thatcher et al. teaches the propane engine (103) and the suction pump (b) are mounted on a stepped subframe (f) arranged on the mobile frame (a). As mentioned above, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date to modify Bridge to include a propane engine in order to power the pump as a means of alternative suction power for the motor.
Regarding claim 19, Bridge is silent regarding that the motor is a propane engine. Except, Bridge is silent regarding a propone engine; however, Thatcher et al. teaches a concrete floor surface machine that includes a propane tank (207) and propine engine (103) in order to power a suction blower (See Col. 5 lines 35-50 of Thatcher et al.). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date to modify Bridge to include a propane engine in order to power the pump as a means of alternative suction power for the motor.
Regarding claim 20, Bridge as modified with Thatcher et al. teaches a propane tank (c) coupled to the propane engine. As mentioned above, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date to modify Bridge to include a propane engine in order to power the pump as a means of alternative suction power for the motor.
Regarding claim 25, Bridge as modified with Thatcher et al. teaches that the motor (on pump (b))) is a propane engine, and further including a propane tank mounted on the frame (a) and coupled to the propane engine (on pump (b)).
Regarding claim 28, Bridge as modified with Thatcher et al. teaches a hose (See Col. 2 lines 1-10) connecting the suction pump (b) to the slurry containment tank (c).
Regarding claim 29, Bridge as modified with Thatcher et al. teaches an output of the pump (c) can be used as a blower (capable of being used as a blower).
Conclusion
MICHAEL DEANGILO. JENNINGS
Examiner
Art Unit 3723
/MICHAEL D JENNINGS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723