.
DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of device claims in the reply filed on 08/18/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (10,964,788) in view of Nakazawa et al. (7,230,285).Regarding claim 1, Chen et al. teach in figure 5 and related text a display device comprising:
a nitride semiconductor layer 108;
a dielectric oxynitride film 114 provided on the nitride semiconductor layer and having a first surface facing the nitride semiconductor layer; and
a gate electrode 118 provided on the dielectric oxynitride film, wherein a surface of the nitride semiconductor layer facing the dielectric oxynitride film has a nitrogen.
Chen et al. do not explicitly state that a surface of the nitride semiconductor layer facing the dielectric oxynitride film has a nitrogen polarity.Nakazawa et al. teach in related text that a surface of the second nitride semiconductor layer has a nitrogen polarity..
Chen et al. and Nakazawa et al. are analogous art because they are directed to nitride semiconductor layer and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Chen et al. because they are from the same field of endeavor.It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to form a surface of the nitride semiconductor layer facing the dielectric oxynitride film to have a nitrogen polarity, as taught by Nakazawa et al., in Chen et al.’s device, in order to improve the device characteristics due to the direction of the internal polarization field and the surface atomic configuration
Regarding claim 4, Chen et al. do not teach that the dielectric oxynitride film includes at least one selected from a group consisting of hafnium, lanthanum, and zirconium.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to includes at least one selected from a group consisting of hafnium, lanthanum, and zirconium in the dielectric oxynitride film,
in Chen et al.’s device, in order to improve the device characteristics
Regarding the claimed limitations of using specific materials, it is noted that substitution of materials is not patentable even when the substitution is new and useful. Safetran Systems Corp. v. Federal Sign & Signal Corp. (DC NIII, 1981) 215 USPQ 979.
It is further held that it is within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 5, Chen et al. teach in figure 5 and related text that the dielectric oxynitride film includes at least one selected from a group consisting of silicon and aluminum.
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (10,964,788) and Nakazawa et al. (7,230,285), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Park (6,306,785) and Higuchi et al. (2012/0068251).Regarding claims 2-3, Chen et al. and Nakazawa et al. teach substantially the entire claimed structure, as applied to claim 1 above, except having a first concentration of nitrogen atoms at a first point in the dielectric oxynitride film is higher than a second concentration of nitrogen atoms at a second point in the dielectric oxynitride film, the first point being spaced apart from the first surface by a first distance, and the second point being spaced apart from the first surface by a second distance that is longer than the first distance, and
wherein a concentration of nitrogen atoms in the dielectric oxynitride film continuously changes with respect to a distance from the first surface.
In other words, prior art does not teach a concentration gradient of nitrogen in an oxynitride layer.
Park teaches in figure 5 and related text a concentration gradient of nitrogen in an oxynitride layer 36.
Higuchi et al. teach in figure 4 and related text a concentration gradient of nitrogen in an oxynitride layer 27.
Park , Higuchi et al. Chen et al. and Nakazawa et al. are analogous art because they are directed to nitride semiconductor layer and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Chen et al. because they are from the same field of endeavor.It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to form a concentration gradient of nitrogen in an oxynitride layer, as taught by Park and Higuchi et al., such that having a first concentration of nitrogen atoms at a first point in the dielectric oxynitride film is higher than a second concentration of nitrogen atoms at a second point in the dielectric oxynitride film, the first point being spaced apart from the first surface by a first distance, and the second point being spaced apart from the first surface by a second distance that is longer than the first distance, and wherein a concentration of nitrogen atoms in the dielectric oxynitride film continuously changes with respect to a distance from the first surface, in Chen et al.’s device, in order to improve the device characteristics due to the direction of the internal polarization field and the surface atomic configuration.
O.N. /ORI NADAV/
9/1/2026 PRIMARY EXAMINER
TECHNOLOGY CENTER 2800