Email Communication
Applicant is encouraged to authorize the Examiner to communicate via email by filing form PTO/SB/439 either via USPS, Central Fax, or EFS-Web. See MPEP 502.01, 502.02, 502.03.
DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in CN on 2024-01-19. It is noted, however, that Applicant has not filed a certified copy of the 202410084896 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
An information disclosure statement has not been received. If the Applicant is aware of any prior art or any other co-pending applications not already of record, he/she is reminded of his/her duty under 37 CFR 1.56 to disclose the same.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a detection device” in Claims 8 and 10-14 must be shown or the feature canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 4-5, 8-19 are objected to because of the following unintelligible content or lack of antecedent informalities:
● In Claim 1, Line 7, “channel has a suction opening, is arranged at the liquid collection structure, and is configured” should be changed to read - - channel has a suction opening is arranged at the liquid collection structure and is configured - -.
● In Claim 1, Line 8, “liquid” should be changed to read - - the liquid - -.
● In Claim 4, Line 2, “a bottom surface, facing the collection area, of the connector, and the protruding portion” should be changed to read - - a bottom surface facing the collection area of the connector, and the protruding portion - -.
● In Claim 4, Line 4, “a bottom” should be changed to read - - the bottom - -.
● In Claim 4, Lines 7-8, “hole (402)” should be changed to read - - hole - -.
● In Claim 5, Line 2, “a projection of the connector on a plane, where an edge of a top” should be changed to read - - a projection of the connector on a plane where an edge of a top - -.
● In Claim 5, Line 3, “collection area is located, falls” should be changed to read - - collection area is located falls - -.
● In Claim 8, Line 3, “liquid” should be changed to read - - the liquid - -.
● In Claims 9 and 15-19, Line 2, “face, which is provided with the suction opening, of the suction device, and is configured” should be changed to read - - face which is provided with the suction opening of the suction device and is configured - -.
● In Claims 10-14, Line 3, “liquid” should be changed to read - - the liquid - -.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless - (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-8, 10-11, 13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US 2024/0196565).
Regarding Claim 1, Chen (In Figs 1-3) discloses a liquid cooling system (100) comprising:
a liquid cooling body (130) for exchanging heat with a heating element (102), (Fig 1);
a liquid guide tube (122) communicated with the liquid cooling body (130), (Fig 1);
a liquid collection structure (138) configured to collect liquid (140) leaking from at least one of the liquid cooling body (130) and the liquid guide tube (122); and
a suction device (148) having a negative-pressure channel (channel within 148 with negative-pressure induced by 144), wherein the negative-pressure channel (channel within 148 with negative-pressure induced by 144) has a suction opening (inlet of 148 coupled to 138), is arranged at the liquid collection structure (138), and is configured to be connected to a suction apparatus (144) so that liquid (140) in the liquid collection structure (138) can be pumped into the negative-pressure channel (channel within 148 with negative-pressure induced by 144) and be discharged or stored through the negative-pressure channel (channel within 148 with negative-pressure induced by 144), (Fig 3).
Regarding Claim 2, Chen discloses the limitations of Claim 1, however Chen (In Figs 1-3) further discloses wherein the liquid collection structure (138) has a collection area (bottom surface area of 138) with a reduced height (Fig 3), and the suction opening (inlet of 148 coupled to 138) is arranged at the collection area (bottom surface area of 138), (Fig 3).
Regarding Claim 3, Chen discloses the limitations of Claim 2, however Chen (In Figs 1-3) further discloses wherein the suction device (148) comprises a suction tube (148) and a connector (coupling connecting 148 with 138), (Fig 3), and wherein the connector (coupling connecting 148 with 138) is fixedly arranged on the liquid collection structure (138), (Fig 3), and a portion of the connector (coupling connecting 148 with 138) extends above the collection area (bottom surface area of 138) and is connected to the suction tube (148), (Fig 3).
Regarding Claim 5, Chen discloses the limitations of Claim 3, however Chen (In Figs 1-3) further discloses wherein at least part of a projection of the connector on a plane, where an edge of a top of the collection area is located, falls within the collection area; and/or, a bottom surface of a portion, which is located above the collection area (bottom surface area of 138), of the connector (coupling connecting 148 with 138) is located at a preset distance above the top of the collection area (bottom surface area of 138), (Fig 3).
Regarding Claim 7, Chen discloses the limitations of Claim 1, however Chen (In Figs 1-3) further discloses wherein the liquid cooling system (100) further comprising a plurality of liquid collection structures (138), wherein the suction device (148) comprises negative-pressure channels (channel within 148 with negative-pressure induced by 144) respectively corresponding to the plurality of liquid collection structures (138), and the negative-pressure channels (channel within 148 with negative-pressure induced by 144) are in communication with each other (Fig 3).
Examiner Note; the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. See: St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bernis Co., 193: USPQ 8, see: MPEP 214404 section VI.
Regarding Claim 8, Chen discloses the limitations of Claim 1, however Chen (In Figs 1-3) further discloses wherein the liquid cooling system (100) further comprising a detection device (142) for detecting the liquid (140) in the liquid collection structure (138), (Fig 3), wherein the suction apparatus (144) is configured to be activated if a preset amount of liquid (140) is detected in the liquid collection structure (138) by the detection device (142), (Fig 3).
Regarding Claim 10, Chen discloses the limitations of Claim 2, however Chen (In Figs 1-3) further discloses wherein the liquid cooling system (100) further comprising a detection device (142) for detecting the liquid (140) in the liquid collection structure (138), (Fig 3), wherein the suction apparatus (144) is configured to be activated if a preset amount of liquid (140) is detected in the liquid collection structure (138) by the detection device (142), (Fig 3).
Regarding Claim 11, Chen discloses the limitations of Claim 3, however Chen (In Figs 1-3) further discloses wherein the liquid cooling system (100) further comprising a detection device (142) for detecting the liquid (140) in the liquid collection structure (138), (Fig 3), wherein the suction apparatus (144) is configured to be activated if a preset amount of liquid (140) is detected in the liquid collection structure (138) by the detection device (142), (Fig 3).
Regarding Claim 13, Chen discloses the limitations of Claim 5, however Chen (In Figs 1-3) further discloses wherein the liquid cooling system (100) further comprising a detection device (142) for detecting the liquid (140) in the liquid collection structure (138), (Fig 3), wherein the suction apparatus (144) is configured to be activated if a preset amount of liquid (140) is detected in the liquid collection structure (138) by the detection device (142), (Fig 3).
Regarding Claim 20, Chen discloses the limitations of Claim 1, however Chen (In Figs 1-3) further discloses a server (102, ¶ 33, II. 1-4), comprising the liquid cooling system according to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Gao (US 2024/0334655).
Regarding Claim 6, Chen discloses the limitations of Claim 3, however Chen does not disclose wherein the suction tube is threadedly connected to the connector.
Instead, Gao (In Fig 1) teaches wherein the suction tube is threadedly connected to the connector (¶ 22, II. 1-3).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Chen with Gao with the suction tube is threadedly connected to the connector to benefit from providing a strong, reliable, and easily removable mechanical connection.
Regarding Claim 14, Chen in view of Gao discloses the limitations of Claim 6, however Chen (In Figs 1-3) further discloses wherein the liquid cooling system (100) further comprising a detection device (142) for detecting the liquid (140) in the liquid collection structure (138), (Fig 3), wherein the suction apparatus (144) is configured to be activated if a preset amount of liquid (140) is detected in the liquid collection structure (138) by the detection device (142), (Fig 3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 9, 15-16 and 18-19 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
With respect to Claim 4, the allowability resides in the overall structure of the device as recited in dependent Claim 4 and at least in part because Claim 4 recites “a protruding portion is provided on a bottom surface, facing the collection area, of the connector, and the protruding portion extends into the collection area, wherein a first preset gap is formed between a bottom surface of the protruding portion and a bottom surface of the collection area, and a second preset gap is formed between an outer circumferential surface of the protruding portion and a side wall of the collection area”.
The aforementioned limitations in combination with all remaining limitations of Claim 4 are believed to render said Claim 4 and all Claims dependent therefrom (Claims 12 and 17) patentable over the art of record.
With respect to Claims 9, 15-16 and 18-19, the allowability resides in the overall structure of the device as recited in dependent Claims 9, 15-16 and 18-19, and at least in part because Claims 9, 15-16 and 18-19 recite “a bump is provided on an end face, which is provided with the suction opening, of the suction device, and is configured to abut against an end face of the liquid collection structure so that a gap is formed between the end face provided with the suction opening of the suction device and the end face of the liquid collection structure”.
The aforementioned limitations in combination with all remaining limitations of Claims 9, 15-16 and 18-19 are believed to render said Claims 9, 15-16 and 18-19 patentable over the art of record.
The closest art of record is believed to be that of Chen et al. (US 2024/0196565 – hereafter “Chen”).
While Chen Figs 1-3 teaches limitations of base Claim 1, as per rejection of Claim 1 above, however neither Chen nor any other art of record, either alone or in a combination, teach or suggest above-mentioned limitations of Claims 4, 9 and 15-19.
Any comment considered necessary by applicant must be submitted no later than the payment of the issue fee and, to avoid processing delays, should preferably accompany the issue fee. Such submission should be clearly labeled “Comments on Statement of Reasons for Allowance”.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure; Leak Mitigation System US 2022/0404079, Leakage Gathering Assembly and Electronic Apparatus US 2025/0203812, Node and Electronic Device US 2023/0225078, Minimizing Leakage in Liquid Cooled Electronic Equipment US 2016/0270259. Other pertinent art made of record are on form PTO-892 notice of reference cited.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to AMIR JALALI whose telephone number is (303)297-4308. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday - Friday 8:30am - 5:00pm, Mountain Time. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jayprakash Gandhi can be reached on 571-272-3740. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/AMIR A JALALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841