DETAILED ACTION
Claims 21-40 are pending in the present application. Claims 21, 32, and 40 were amended in the response filed 30 December 2025; claims 1-20 have status cancelled. .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 21, the following limitation is vague, “in a record of keywords” [see claim 21 lines 8-9]. The disclosure appears to state storing keywords in a database or memory unit. Note support for this feature can be found at paragraphs 0074-0075.
The limitations of claims 32 and 40 parallel claim 1; therefore they are rejected under the same rationale. Claims 2-31 and 33-39 are rejected based on dependency.:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21, 32, and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goel et al. US Patent 8,775,514 B2 in view of Nowak et al. US Patent 10,079,937 B2 and Ripa et al. US Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0140497 A1.
Regarding claim 21, Goel et al. teaches the following:
A computing system for providing assistance to a service representative interacting with a customer, the computing system comprising one or more processors and a memory in communication with the one or more processors, the memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, [note: Figure 1 (101) customer service platform ] cause the one or more processors to:
analyze a conversation between the service representative and the customer to identify one or more keywords generated during the conversation [note: column 2 lines 23-57; Figure 1 (115) speech-to-text module; column 4 lines31-64 telephony capabilities; column 4 lines47-64, “may capture voice and/or text correspondence so that the converted correspondences may be presented”; column 8 lines 23-25 text messages ];
store the one or more identified keywords in a record of keywords, the record including previously identified keywords associated with previously generated virtual content;
generate virtual content for the service representative based upon the identified one or more keywords; and cause a screen associated with the service representative to display the virtual content [note Figure 7 (700) GUI interface screen; column 11 line 43 through column 12 line 16 ].
Although Goel et al. teach the invention as cited; they do not explicitly teach identifying keywords generated during the conversation. However, Nowak et al. teach the feature as follows [note: column 15 lines 66-67, “extract one or more keywords from the at least one monitored conversation”; column 16 lines38-41 and lines 52-54 determines correlation between keywords, and means for prompts and chats]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of the effective filing date to have combined the cited references since both are directed toward enhanced customer interactive experience and extracting keywords is a well-known technique when analyzing conversations and/or voice recognition technique.
Although Goel et al. and Nowak et al. teach the invention as cited above, they do not explicitly disclose storing keywords in a record of keywords. However, Ripa et al. teaches real-time call center wherein words and phrases (keywords) are stored in in memory (database) and compared to a list of keywords to optimize results of relevant information [note: page 20 claims 8 through 9]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of the effective filing date to have combined the cited reference since it is also directed toward optimized retrieval of relevant information and gives detail on keyword analysis.
The limitations of claims 2 and 40 parallel claim 21; therefore they are rejected under the same rationale.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 23-24 and 33-39 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 21-40 have been considered but are moot in view of the current rejection.
ARGUMENT: Claims 21, 32, and 40 have been amended to overcome rejection obviousness-type double patenting.
RESPONSE: The rejection has been withdrawn in view of the amendment.
ARGUMENT: Claims were rejected under 35 USC 112; the claims have been amended to overcome the rejection.
RESPONSE: The amendment overcomes the rejection.
ARGUMENT: Claims 21, 32, and 40 have been amended to overcome rejection cited under 35 USC 103.
RESPONSE: Note newly cited reference Ripa et al. appears to teach the amended feature.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Note attached form PTO-892.
Applicant's submission of an information disclosure statement under 37 CFR 1.97(c) with the timing fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(p) on 28 August 2025 prompted the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 609.04(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GRETA L ROBINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2163