Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 3 recites “a refrigerant pipe”, however claim 1 already recites a refrigerant pipe of the flow distribution unit. The office is unclear whether there are two or one refrigerant pipe within the flow distribution unit. The office will interpret a single refrigerant pipe.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-5 of copending Application No. 18/805146 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-5 of app 146 anticipate the limitations of claims 1-5.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
In regards to Claim 1, App ‘146 discloses an edge data center comprising: a liquid-cooled container, a liquid-cooled server, and a gravity assisted heat pipe system; wherein the gravity assisted heat pipe system comprises an outdoor heat exchange unit, an indoor evaporative liquid cooling cold plate, and a flow distribution unit; the liquid-cooled server is arranged inside the liquid-cooled container, and a heating element of the liquid-cooled server is attached with the indoor evaporative liquid cooling cold plate; and the outdoor heat exchange unit is arranged outside the liquid-cooled container, and the outdoor heat exchange unit is connected to an indoor component of the gravity assisted heat pipe system by means of a refrigerant pipe of the flow distribution unit (Claim 1).
Dependent claims 2-5 are also rejected using app ‘146 (See claims 2-5 of app ‘146).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 & 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Farshechian hereafter as, Far (U.S 2016/0330873 A1).
In regards to Claim 1, Far discloses an edge data center comprising: a liquid-cooled container (Fig.1, #105), a liquid-cooled server (Fig.1, #110), and a gravity assisted heat pipe system (Fig.1); wherein the gravity assisted heat pipe system comprises an outdoor heat exchange unit (Fig.1, #115), an indoor evaporative liquid cooling cold plate (Fig.1, #123, which the office interprets as a cold plate, see paragraph [0061]), and a flow distribution unit (Fig.1, #119/117/130/125); the liquid-cooled server is arranged inside the liquid-cooled container (Fig.1, #110 is within #105), and a heating element (Fig.1, #124 and see paragraph [0052-0054]) of the liquid-cooled server is attached with the indoor evaporative liquid cooling cold plate (Fig.1, #123 is attached to server #110); and the outdoor heat exchange unit is arranged outside the liquid-cooled container (Fig.1, #115 is located outside of #105), and the outdoor heat exchange unit is connected to an indoor component of the gravity assisted heat pipe system by means of a refrigerant pipe (Fig.1, #119/117) of the flow distribution unit (Fig.1, #119/117 are part of the flow distribution unit).
In regards to Claim 4, Far discloses the edge data center as claimed in claim 1, wherein a thermal conductive coating (Fig.1 and paragraph [0006], discloses using thermal interface material) is provided between the heating element and the indoor evaporative liquid cooling cold plate (Paragraph [0006], which discloses using a thermal interface material between the cold plate #123 and heat source #124 to decrease any thermal resistance between the two elements).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farshechian hereafter as, Far (U.S 2016/0330873 A1) in view of Hou (CN 207150979 U).
In regards to Claim 2, Far discloses the edge data center as claimed in claim 1.
Far fails to disclose: Further comprising an air-cooled air conditioner and a power distribution monitoring unit arranged inside the liquid-cooled container, wherein the power distribution monitoring unit is configured to monitor and control an operating state of the air-cooled air conditioner.
However, Hou discloses: Further comprising an air-cooled air conditioner (Fig.1, #12) and a power distribution monitoring unit (Fig.2, #5 in conjunction with the controller, sensors which are used in conjunction to monitor) arranged inside the liquid-cooled container (Fig.2), wherein the power distribution monitoring unit is configured to monitor and control an operating state of the air-cooled air conditioner (Fig.2, #5 which is the control panel, allows users to control the air condition, the fan, increase/decrease temperature (see “the integrated panel 5 comprises an integrated panel and a monitoring panel, to control the whole machine cabinet inner part through the integrated panel, said monitoring panel for monitoring working state of the cabinet inner part”), as such the office notes that with the combination of Far in view of Hou, the liquid cooled container (as taught by Far) would be modified to include an air conditioner and power distribution monitoring unit (as taught by Hou) to have full control over the cooling via the air conditioner).
Therefore, it would of have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have modified the liquid cooled container (as taught by Far) to include an air conditioner and power distribution monitoring unit (as taught by Hou) to have full control over the cooling via the air conditioner. By utilizing an air conditioner paired with a control unit, would create a redundancy cooling system in case of liquid cooling failure and furthermore, allow users to customize the amount of cooling needed via user defined specification.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farshechian hereafter as, Far (U.S 2016/0330873 A1) in view of Gao (U.S 2022/0408607 A1).
In regards to Claim 3, Far discloses the edge data center as claimed in claim 1, wherein the flow distribution unit comprises a quick coupler (Fig.1, #130/125), and a refrigerant pipe (Fig.1, #117/119); and the refrigerant pipe is connected to the outdoor heat exchange unit (Fig.1, #119/117 is connected to #115).
Far fails to explicitly disclose: Wherein the flow distribution unit comprises a coolant distribution unit, a hose, and the hose is connected to the evaporative liquid cooling cold plate by means of the quick coupler.
However, Gao discloses: Wherein the flow distribution unit (Fig.2, #manifolds ) comprises a coolant distribution unit (Fig.1, #120), a hose (Fig.2, #128), a quick coupler (paragraph [0049], and a refrigerant pipe, and the hose is connected to the evaporative liquid cooling cold plate by means of the quick coupler (Fig.2 and paragraph [0049], each server cold plate #400 is connected via a quick release coupling system via a flexible hose #128, as such the office notes that with the combination of Far in view of Gao, the distribution unit used to provide cooling to the heating element (as taught by Far) would be modified to further include a coolant distribution unit, a hose and quick couplers (as taught by Gao) to allow for cooling multiple heating elements).
Therefore, it would of have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have modified the distribution unit used to provide cooling to the heating element (as taught by Far) to further include a coolant distribution unit, a hose and quick couplers (as taught by Gao) to allow for cooling multiple heating elements. By utilizing quick couplers with hoses, would allow for easy replacing and hot swap of electronics without affecting the cooling of other said heat elements.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farshechian hereafter as, Far (U.S 2016/0330873 A1) in view of Hou (CN 207150979 U) and further, in view of Wang (CN 111246713 A).
In regards to Claim 5, Far in view of Hou discloses the edge data center as claimed in claim 2.
Far in view of Hou fail to disclose: Wherein the air-cooled air conditioner is a fluorine pump air-cooled inter-row air conditioner.
However, Wang discloses: Wherein the air-cooled air conditioner is a fluorine pump air-cooled inter-row air conditioner (Fig.1 and abstract and summary of invention which discloses air conditioner placed within the cabinet, as such the office notes that with the combination of Far in view of Hou and Wang, the liquid cooled container comprising an air conditioner (as taught by Far in view of Hou) would be modified to be a fluorine based air condition (as taught by Wang) to reduce the energy usage used to cool the heating elements).
Therefore, it would of have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have modified the liquid cooled container comprising an air conditioner (as taught by Far in view of Hou) to be a fluorine based air conditioner (as taught by Wang) to reduce the energy usage used to cool the heating elements. By using a fluorine based system, dramatically increases the efficiency compared to water based cooling, therefore providing a more efficient way of cooling the heating elements.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cheon (U.S 2004/0008483 A1) – Discloses a liquid cooled container comprising one or more heating elements which are thermally connected to cold plates which are connected to an external heat exchanger.
/MANDEEP S BUTTAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841