DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of election of species from Group I in the reply filed on June 23, 2026 is acknowledged. Therefore, Examiner will examine elected claims 1-27.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 5, line 5, “the second” should read --the second end--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 19 claims “a printed circuit board” in line 3. However, “a printed circuit board” was introduced in claim 18, upon which claim 19 is dependent. For the purposes of examination, “a printed circuit board” in claim 19 will be interpreted as --the printed circuit board--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 10-12, 14-15, 20-21, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim (US Publication No. 2024/0397647).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a slidable display device comprising:
a display panel assembly (display panel 110) including a display panel (110) having a first display area (first area of 110) and a second display area (second area of 110) extending from the first display area (first area of 110); and
a mounting frame (housing 120), wherein the display panel assembly (110) is movable in the mounting frame (120) between a first position (Figure 2, when 110 partially extends from 120) and a second position (Figure 2, when 110 is fully extended from 120), the first position (partial extension) corresponding to a position in which the first display area (first area of 110) extends beyond the mounting frame (120) at a predetermined angle (see Figure 2) with respect to a portion of the second display area (second area of 100), and the second position (full extension) corresponding to a position in which the first display area (first area of 110) and the second display area (second area of 110) extend at the predetermined angle (see Figure 2) beyond the mounting frame (120).
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses the slidable display device of claim 1, further comprising a panel transfer part (driving unit 140) connected to the display panel assembly (110), the panel transfer part (140) being configured to move the display panel assembly (110) between the first position (partial extension) and the second position (full extension).
Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses the slidable display device of claim 2, wherein the panel transfer part (140) is configured to convert rotary motion (from motor 141) to linear motion (along shaft 142) to move the display panel assembly (110) between the first position (partial extension) and the second position (full extension).
Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses the slidable display device of claim 2, and further discloses wherein the panel transfer part (140) includes: a drive motor (motor 141); a rotary shaft (shaft 142) connected to the drive motor (141); and a carrier (nut 143) configured to reciprocate between a first end of the rotary shaft (first end of 142) and a second end of the rotary shaft (second end of 142), the carrier (143) being connected to the display panel assembly (110).
Regarding claim 10, Kim discloses the slidable display device of claim 1, further comprising a guide member (rollers 130) mounted at one end of the mounting frame (120; see Figure 2), the guide member (130) being configured to guide a movement of the display panel assembly (110) between the first position (partially extended) and the second position (fully extended).
Regarding claim 11, Kim discloses the slidable display device of claim 10, wherein the mounting frame (120) defines a transfer path along which the display panel assembly (110) moves between the first position (partially extended) and the second position (fully extended), the transfer path including: a first path (horizontal path) extending in a first direction (horizontal direction); a second path (vertical path adjacent exit opening in 120) extending in a second direction (vertical direction) at the predetermined angle relative to the first direction (horizontal direction); and a connection path (curved path adjacent 150) between the first path (horizontal path) and the second path (vertical path adjacent exit opening in 120), and wherein the guide member (130) is located along the connection path (curved path adjacent 150).
Regarding claim 12, Kim discloses the slidable display device of claim 10, and further discloses wherein the guide member (130) includes: at least one upper roller (upper 130) at an upper surface of the display panel assembly (upper surface of 120); and at least one lower roller (lower 130) at a lower surface of the display panel assembly (lower surface of 120).
Regarding claim 14, Kim discloses the slidable display device of claim 1, further comprising a movement support part (arm assembly 150) at one end of the mounting frame (end of 120), the movement support part (150) being configured to support the display panel assembly (110) as the display panel assembly (110) moves between the first position (partially extended) and the second position (fully extended; see Figure 5).
Regarding claim 15, Kim discloses the slidable display device of claim 14, and further discloses wherein the movement support part (150) is configured to extend as the display panel assembly (110) moves from the first position (partially extended) to the second position (fully extended).
Regarding claim 20, Kim discloses a slidable display device comprising: a housing (120) having a panel transfer path (see Figure 2); a display panel (110) being configured to move along the panel transfer path (see Figure 2); a transfer assembly (140) configured to move the display panel (110) along the panel transfer path (see Figure 2); and a guide roller assembly (130) disposed on the panel transfer path (see Figure 2), the guide roller assembly (130) being configured to guide the display panel (110) as the display moves along the panel transfer path (see Figure 2), wherein the panel transfer path comprises: a first path (horizontal path) extending in a first direction (horizontal direction); a second path (vertical path) extending in a second direction (vertical direction) inclined with respect to the first direction (horizontal direction); and a third path (curved path) connecting the first path (horizontal path) and the second path (vertical path), the third path (curved path) being configured to bend the display panel (110) while being moved between the first path (horizontal path) and the second path (vertical path).
Regarding claim 21, Kim discloses the slidable display device of claim 20, wherein, during movement of the display panel (110) along the panel transfer path (see Figure 2), at least a part of the display panel (110) is moved in the first direction (horizontal direction) and another part of the display panel (110) is moved in the second direction (vertical direction) different from the first direction (horizontal direction).
Regarding claim 27, Kim discloses the slidable display device of claim 20, wherein the guide roller assembly (130) comprises: at least one upper roller (first upper 130) disposed inside the housing (120); a plurality of lower rollers (lower 130) disposed inside the housing (120); and at least one support roller (second upper 130) disposed inside the housing (120), wherein, as the display panel (110) moves along the panel transfer path (see Figure 2), a first portion of the display panel (first portion of 110) moves between the at least one upper roller (first upper 130) and at least a first lower roller (first lower 130) of the plurality of lower rollers (lower 130) in the first path (see Figure 2) and a second portion of the display panel (second portion of 110) moves between the at least one support roller (second upper 130) and a second lower roller (second lower 130) of the plurality of lower rollers (lower 130) in the third path (see Figure 2).
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hou (US Publication No. 2023/0324951).
Regarding claim 1, Hou discloses a slidable display device comprising:
a display panel assembly (screen 20) including a display panel (20) having a first display area (first area of 20) and a second display area (second area of 20) extending from the first display area (first area of 20); and
a mounting frame (support frame 100), wherein the display panel assembly (100) is movable in the mounting frame (100) between a first position (not extended) and a second position (fully extended), the first position (not extended) corresponding to a position in which the first display area (first area of 20) extends beyond the mounting frame (100) at a predetermined angle (see Figures 1-9) with respect to a portion of the second display area (second area of 20), and the second position (fully extended) corresponding to a position in which the first display area (first area of 20) and the second display area (second area of 20) extend at the predetermined angle (see Figures 1-9) beyond the mounting frame (120).
Regarding claim 2, Hou discloses the slidable display device of claim 1, further comprising a panel transfer part (driving portion 400) connected to the display panel assembly (20), the panel transfer part (400) being configured to move the display panel assembly (20) between the first position (not extended) and the second position (fully extended).
Regarding claim 3, Hou discloses the slidable display device of claim 2, and further discloses wherein the panel transfer part (400) is configured to convert rotary motion (from motor 440) to linear motion (along 400) to move the display panel assembly (20) between the first position (not extended) and the second position (fully extended).
Regarding claim 4, Hou discloses the slidable display device of claim 2, and further discloses wherein the panel transfer part (140) includes: a drive motor (440); a rotary shaft (rod 421) connected to the drive motor (440); and a carrier (body connecting member 200) configured to reciprocate between a first end of the rotary shaft (first end of 421) and a second end of the rotary shaft (second end of 421), the carrier (200) being connected to the display panel assembly (20).
Regarding claim 5, Hou discloses the slidable display device of claim 4, and further discloses wherein the panel transfer part further includes: a coupling plate (110) coupled to the mounting frame (120, 130); and a pair of stop blocks (451, 452) coupled to the coupling plate (110, see Paragraph [0086]), the pair of stop blocks (451, 452) spaced apart at the first end and the second of the rotary shaft (first and second end of 421), respectively, the pair of stop blocks (451, 452) being configured to rotatably support the rotary shaft (421) and limit a movement of the carrier (200) along the rotary shaft (421).
Regarding claim 6, Hou discloses the slidable display device of claim 5, and further discloses wherein the panel transfer part further includes: a pair of supports (first and second 414) coupled to a lower surface of the coupling plate (surface of 110), the pair of supports (first and second 414) extending parallel to the rotary shaft (421); a pair of first linear motion guides (first and second 423) coupled to the pair of supports (first and second 414), each first linear motion guide (423) having: a first guide rail (423); and a linear motion block (413) movably supported on the first guide rail (423); and a first transfer bridge (protrusion of 413) connecting the linear motion blocks (first and second 413) of the pair of first linear motion guides (first and second 423) to the carrier (200), the first transfer bridge (protrusion of 413) being connected to the display panel assembly (20; via connection with 200).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US Publication No. 2024/0397647).
Regarding claim 13, Kim discloses the slidable display device of claim 12, wherein the at least one upper roller includes a plurality of upper rollers (plurality of upper 130), wherein the at least one lower roller includes a plurality of lower rollers (plurality of lower 130).
Kim does not explicitly disclose “wherein a number of the lower rollers is greater than a number of the upper rollers.” However, it is well established that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. See MPEP § 2144.04 and In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). Additionally, because the slidable display device of claimed invention has similar structure and proportion to the slidable display device of Kim, the stated limitation is held to be merely a selection of optimal working parameters established through routine experimentation, and thus obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A); In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929) ("It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions."). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to formulate the claimed number of rollers because doing so would have increased the number of lower rollers to optimized the inner bending angle of the display to reach the predetermined angle (see Figure 2 in Kim).
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US Publication No. 2024/0397647) in view of Chu (US Publication No. 2023/0087798).
Regarding claim 16, Kim discloses the slidable display device of claim 15, but does not disclose wherein the movement support part includes: a first support plate coupled to the one end of the mounting frame; a second support plate slidably coupled to the first support plate; and a third support plate slidably coupled to the second support plate, the third support plate being connected to an end of the display panel assembly extending from the mounting frame.
However, Chu teaches a movement support part (second, third, and fourth portions of telescopic rod 14) at one end of the mounting frame (housing 10, including first 14), the movement support part (14) being configured to support the display panel assembly (comprised of display 12 and strip 13) as the display panel assembly (12, 13) moves between the first position (partially extended) and the second position (fully extended); wherein the movement support part (14) is configured to extend as the display panel assembly (12, 13) moves from the first position (partially extended) to the second position (fully extended); wherein the movement support part includes: a first support plate (second 14) coupled to the one end of the mounting frame (10, including first 14); a second support plate (third 14) slidably coupled to the first support plate (second 14); and a third support plate (fourth 14) slidably coupled to the second support plate (third 14), the third support plate (fourth 14) being connected to an end of the display panel assembly (12, 13) extending from the mounting frame (10, first 14).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have substituted the movement support part of Kim for the movement support part of Chu according to known methods to yield the predictable results of guiding the extension of a flexible display (see Paragraph [0058] in Chu; see Paragraph [0044] in Kim).
Regarding claim 17, Kim in view of Chu teaches the slidable display device of claim 16, and further teaches (in Chu) wherein the movement support part (14) includes: a plurality of second linear motion guides (rod-rail connection 141, 142) coupling the first support plate (second 14) to the second support plate (third 14); and a plurality of third linear motion guides (rod-rail connection 141, 142) coupling the second support plate (third 14) to the third support plate (fourth 14).
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US Publication No. 2024/0397647), Chu (US Publication No. 2023/0087798), and in further view of Seol (US Publication No. 2022/0179457).
Regarding claim 18, Kim in view of Chu teaches the slidable display device of claim 16, but does not explicitly teach wherein the display panel assembly further includes a printed circuit board electrically connected to an end of the display panel, and wherein the third support plate covers the printed circuit board.
However, Seol teaches wherein the display panel assembly (comprised of flexible display panel 130 and circuit board 140) further includes a printed circuit board (circuit board 140) electrically connected to an end of the display panel (130), and wherein the third support plate (lower housing 197 corresponding to fourth 14 in Chu) covers the printed circuit board (140).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the PCB of Seol to the display panel assembly of Kim as modified by Chu. Doing so would have allowed the flexible display to be connected with control circuitry configured to supply data and control signals to the display (see Paragraphs [0041]-[0045] in Seol).
Regarding claim 19 (as best understood), Kim in view of Chu and Seol teaches the slidable display device of claim 18, and further teaches (in Seol) wherein the display panel assembly (comprised of flexible display panel 130 and circuit board 140) further includes: a printed circuit board (140) electrically connected to an end of the display panel (end of 130); a mid-cover (plate 170) disposed on one surface of the display panel (rear surface of 130); and a plurality of back bars (bars defining grooves 171; see also roller fixing members 181) disposed on one surface of the mid-cover (rear surface of 170), and wherein the mid-cover (170) and the plurality of back bars (defining 171; see also 181) are located between the display panel (130) and the movement support part (197, corresponding to fourth 14 in Chu).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the PCB and mid-cover of Seol to the display assembly of Kim as previously modified by Chu and Seol. Doing so would have allowed the flexible display to be connected to control circuitry configured to supply data and control signals to the display (see Paragraphs [0041]-[0045] in Seol), and would have provided additional support for the flexible display (see Paragraphs [0048]-[0060] in Seol).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US Publication No. 2024/0397647) in view of Feng (US Publication No. 2023/0108833) and Song (US Publication No. 2020/0267247).
Regarding claim 22, Kim discloses the slidable display device of claim 20, but does not disclose wherein the transfer assembly comprises: a coupling plate fixed inside the housing; a pair of support blocks disposed on a lower surface of the coupling plate, the pair of support blocks being spaced apart from each other; a rotary shaft rotatably supported by the pair of support blocks; a drive motor configured to transmit driving power to the rotary shaft; a carrier disposed on the rotary shaft, the carrier being configured to be moved by rotation of the rotary shaft; a connection bridge disposed on the carrier; and a connection plate coupled to the connection bridge and the display panel.
However, Feng teaches wherein the transfer assembly comprises: a coupling plate (sidewalls 50) fixed inside the housing (20); a pair of support blocks (52) disposed on a lower surface of the coupling plate (surface of 50), the pair of support blocks (52) being spaced apart from each other; a rotary shaft (screw rod 60) rotatably supported by the pair of support blocks (52); a drive motor (see Paragraph [0062]) configured to transmit driving power to the rotary shaft (60); a carrier (structure 82) disposed on the rotary shaft (60), the carrier (82) being configured to be moved by rotation of the rotary shaft (60); and a connection plate (screen fixing plate 80) coupled to the carrier (82) and the display panel (4).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have substituted the transfer assembly of Kim for the transfer assembly of Feng, according to known methods to yield the predictable results of using the rotation of a screw rod to drive a flexible display (see Figures 4-9 in Feng; see Figure 2 in Kim).
While Feng does not explicitly teach a connection bridge disposed on the carrier, Song explicitly teaches a carrier (Figure 11, retainer 231a; see also sub-thruster 232) being configured to be moved by rotation of the rotary shaft (thruster 22); a connection bridge (head 231b) disposed on the carrier (231a; see also 232); and a connection plate (third frame 103) coupled to the connection bridge (231b) and the display panel (151; see Paragraphs [0105], [0142]-[0145], [0160]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined to connection bridge of Song to the carrier of Feng. Doing so would have increased the modularity of the system by providing a removable connection between the carrier and connection plate (see Paragraph [0160] in Song).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-9 and 23-26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 7 claims the slidable display device of claim 6, wherein the panel transfer part includes a connection plate coupled to an upper surface of the carrier, and wherein the display panel assembly further includes: an interface board coupled to an upper surface of the connection plate; a printed circuit board connected to the display panel; and a flexible cable connecting the interface board and the printed circuit board.
Similarly, claim 23 claims the slidable display device of claim 22, further comprising: a printed circuit board connected to the display panel; an interface board mounted on the connection plate; and a flexible cable connecting the interface board and the printed circuit board.
Hou (US Publication No. 2023/0324951) discloses the panel transfer part (see Figures 6-7) comprising a carrier (200), but does not disclose the panel transfer part includes a connection plate coupled to an upper surface of the carrier, and wherein the display panel assembly further includes: an interface board coupled to an upper surface of the connection plate; a printed circuit board connected to the display panel; and a flexible cable connecting the interface board and the printed circuit board.
Kim (US Publication No. 2024/0397647) in view of Feng (US Publication No. 2023/0108833) and Song (US Publication No. 2020/0267247) teaches (in Feng) a carrier (structure 82) disposed on the rotary shaft (60), the carrier (82) being configured to be moved by rotation of the rotary shaft (60); and a connection plate (screen fixing plate 80) coupled to the connection bridge (231b in Song) and the display panel (4), but does not teach wherein the display panel assembly further includes: an interface board coupled to an upper surface of the connection plate; a printed circuit board connected to the display panel; and a flexible cable connecting the interface board and the printed circuit board.
For these reasons, claims 7 and 23 would be allowable. Claims 8-9 and 24-26 would be allowable due to their dependency on claims 7 and 23.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Patent/Publication Nos. 11907020 12054103 11860694 20170310799 20220164001 20220361347 11576270 also disclose elements of the claimed device.
/GAGE CRUM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841
gsc