DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 5 and 6, filed 10/2/2026, with respect to the §112 rejections of claims 1-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The §112 rejections of claims 1-20 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejections of claim(s) 1-4, 6-8, 10-15, and 18-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Coleman et al. U.S. Patent No. 3,814,356.
Regarding claim 1, Coleman discloses a charged particle beam device, comprising: a first column portion 650, comprising: an emitter 660; and a mechanical alignment structure 661 coupled to the emitter 660; a second column portion 600 connected to the first column portion 650 (as illustrated in figure 13); and a passively connectable power coupling comprising a plurality of substantially rigid electrical conductors 662/663 coupled to the emitter 660 (“Cathode 660 is mounted on a support plate 661 having upwardly extending plug prongs 662 and 663” [col. 10; lines 62-63]) and extending from the emitter 660 toward the second column portion 600 to connect with a plurality of electrical connectors 665 passively upon installation of the charged particle beam device (“cathode 660 can readily be removed via an access opening 685 in side wall 653 of casing 652… By virtue of the plug arrangement, including plug prongs 662 and 663, a new cathode can be readily inserted into the socket in support 664 and will occupy substantially the same position as the old cathode which was removed” [col. 17; lines 52-67]) in a processing tool (“it is to be understood that the invention is not limited to an electron microscope, but that the various features described herein can be used with various electron beam and other corpuscular equipment without departing from the intended scope of this invention as defined in this specification and the appended claims” [“col. 26; lines 58-64]).
Regarding claim 2, Coleman discloses that the second column portion 600 and the first column portion 650 are coupled at a sealed interface (“Wires 665 pass through openings in wall 658 and the openings are sealed so the interior of inner casing 657 is hermetically sealed relative to the interior of casing 652. Cathode shield 666 is removably secured to support 664. Wires 665 are connected to a low voltage power supply in casing 657 which is magnetically energized by the high voltage supply” [col. 16; line 66 – col. 17; line 5]).
Regarding claim 4, Coleman discloses that the electrical conductors are disposed through the sealed interface (“Wires 665 pass through openings in wall 658 and the openings are sealed so the interior of inner casing 657 is hermetically sealed relative to the interior of casing 652. Cathode shield 666 is removably secured to support 664. Wires 665 are connected to a low voltage power supply in casing 657 which is magnetically energized by the high voltage supply” [col. 16; line 66 – col. 17; line 5]).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coleman et al. U.S. Patent No. 3,814,356 in view of True U.S. Patent No. 5,483,074.
Regarding claim 3, Coleman discloses that the second column portion 600 and the first column portion 650 are coupled at a sealed interface (“Wires 665 pass through openings in wall 658 and the openings are sealed so the interior of inner casing 657 is hermetically sealed relative to the interior of casing 652. Cathode shield 666 is removably secured to support 664. Wires 665 are connected to a low voltage power supply in casing 657 which is magnetically energized by the high voltage supply” [col. 16; line 66 – col. 17; line 5]). However, Coleman does not disclose that the sealed interface comprises a thermally conductive plate.
True discloses a charged particle beam source coupled to a downstream column by a seal formed by a thermally conductive plate: “The vacuum barrier 72 comprises a thin metal foil, such as titanium or beryllium, and provides a vacuum seal for the electron gun 10” [col. 5; lines 2-4].
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Coleman with the seal of True in order to ensure that an atmospheric pressure conducive to the production of charged particles is maintained in a charged particle beam source while protecting high voltage applying equipment for applying the voltages for controlling the emission of an electron beam from and electron beam source.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coleman et al. U.S. Patent No. 3,814,356 in view of Shinada et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2003/0201391.
Regarding claim 6, Coleman does not disclose a mechanical alignment structure comprises a single screw, there is no explicit disclosure that the mechanical alignment structure of Nishino comprises a plurality of opposed screws.
Shinada discloses a charged particle beam device, comprising: an emitter (“FIG. 17 is a diagram illustrating an electron gun unit in electron optic systems in Embodiments 1 and 2” [0038]); and a mechanical alignment structure coupled to the emitter wherein the mechanical alignment structure comprises a plurality of opposed screws (“Alignment of the extraction electrode 305 with respect to the cathode 304 is performed by initially aligning the extraction electrode 305 with the cathode 304 by pushing the ceramic insulator 324 with the alignment screws 321 at the time of mounting the cathode 304 and thereby moving the movable pole piece 314 and the extraction electrode 305 integral with the ceramic insulator 324 in parallel with and relatively to the cathode 304, and then fixing the extraction electrode 305 and the cathode 304 together” [0123]).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the mechanical alignment structure of Coleman with the mechanical alignment structure of Shinada in order to removably couple the components of the device to one another in order to more easily replace damaged or worn components.
Claim(s) 7, 8, 10, 11 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coleman et al. U.S. Patent No. 3,814,356 in view of Hoshinouchi et al. U.S. Patent No. 5,246,813.
Regarding claim 7, although Coleman discloses a control system ([col. 2; lines 16-17]), there is no explicit disclosure of a digital controller attached to the control assembly.
Hoshinouchi discloses a control assembly 15/16 for providing a voltage signal to a cathode of a particle beam emitter 17, wherein a digital controller 11 is attached to the control assembly 15/16 (“an electron beam is emitted from the cathode 17 of the triode in response to the current supplied thereto from the electron beam current source 16 which is controlled by the output of the D/A converter 15 for the electron beam current, which D/A converter converts a digital signal received from the pattern generator 11 into a corresponding analog signal” [col. 4; lines 57-63]).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the control assembly of Coleman with the digital controller of Hoshinouchi in order to provide a controlling voltage signal which has been optimized for the generation of a beam of charged particles having desired properties based upon the intended downstream utilization of the particles (for imaging, lithography, etc.).
Regarding claim 8, Coleman discloses a charged particle beam device, comprising: a first column portion 650, comprising: an emitter 660; and a mechanical alignment structure 661 coupled to the emitter 660; a second column portion 600 connected to the first column portion 650; and a passively connectable power coupling comprising a plurality of substantially rigid electrical conductors 662/663 coupled to the emitter 660 and extending from the emitter 660 toward the second column portion 600 to connect with a plurality of electrical connectors 665 passively upon installation of the charged particle beam device (“cathode 660 can readily be removed via an access opening 685 in side wall 653 of casing 652… By virtue of the plug arrangement, including plug prongs 662 and 663, a new cathode can be readily inserted into the socket in support 664 and will occupy substantially the same position as the old cathode which was removed” [col. 17; lines 52-67]) in a processing tool (“it is to be understood that the invention is not limited to an electron microscope, but that the various features described herein can be used with various electron beam and other corpuscular equipment without departing from the intended scope of this invention as defined in this specification and the appended claims” [“col. 26; lines 58-64]). However, although Coleman discloses a control system ([col. 2; lines 16-17]), there is no explicit disclosure of a digital controller attached to the control assembly.
Hoshinouchi discloses a control assembly 15/16 for providing a voltage signal to a cathode of a particle beam emitter 17, wherein a digital controller 11 is attached to the control assembly 15/16 (“an electron beam is emitted from the cathode 17 of the triode in response to the current supplied thereto from the electron beam current source 16 which is controlled by the output of the D/A converter 15 for the electron beam current, which D/A converter converts a digital signal received from the pattern generator 11 into a corresponding analog signal” [col. 4; lines 57-63]).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the control assembly of Coleman with the digital controller of Hoshinouchi in order to provide a controlling voltage signal which has been optimized for the generation of a beam of charged particles having desired properties based upon the intended downstream utilization of the particles (for imaging, lithography, etc.).
Regarding claim 10, although Coleman discloses a control system ([col. 2; lines 16-17]), there is no explicit disclosure of a digital controller attached to the control assembly.
Hoshinouchi discloses a control assembly 15/16 for providing a voltage signal to a cathode of a particle beam emitter 17, wherein a digital controller 11 is attached to the control assembly 15/16 (“an electron beam is emitted from the cathode 17 of the triode in response to the current supplied thereto from the electron beam current source 16 which is controlled by the output of the D/A converter 15 for the electron beam current, which D/A converter converts a digital signal received from the pattern generator 11 into a corresponding analog signal” [col. 4; lines 57-63]).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the control assembly of Coleman with the digital controller of Hoshinouchi in order to provide a controlling voltage signal which has been optimized for the generation of a beam of charged particles having desired properties based upon the intended downstream utilization of the particles (for imaging, lithography, etc.).
Regarding claim 11, although Coleman discloses a control system ([col. 2; lines 16-17]), there is no explicit disclosure of a digital controller attached to the control assembly.
Hoshinouchi discloses a control assembly 15/16 for providing a voltage signal to a cathode of a particle beam emitter 17, wherein a digital controller 11 is attached to the control assembly 15/16 (“an electron beam is emitted from the cathode 17 of the triode in response to the current supplied thereto from the electron beam current source 16 which is controlled by the output of the D/A converter 15 for the electron beam current, which D/A converter converts a digital signal received from the pattern generator 11 into a corresponding analog signal” [col. 4; lines 57-63]). As illustrated in figure 4, D-A converter 15 is located on a second column portion 15/16/11 that is connected to a first column portion C and comprising a control assembly 15/16 and a digital controller 11 attached to the control assembly.
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the control assembly of Coleman with the digital controller of Hoshinouchi in order to provide a controlling voltage signal which has been optimized for the generation of a beam of charged particles having desired properties based upon the intended downstream utilization of the particles (for imaging, lithography, etc.).
Regarding claim 14, although Coleman discloses a control system ([col. 2; lines 16-17]), there is no explicit disclosure of a digital controller attached to the control assembly.
Hoshinouchi discloses a control assembly 15/16 for providing a voltage signal to a cathode of a particle beam emitter 17, wherein a digital controller 11 is attached to the control assembly 15/16 (“an electron beam is emitted from the cathode 17 of the triode in response to the current supplied thereto from the electron beam current source 16 which is controlled by the output of the D/A converter 15 for the electron beam current, which D/A converter converts a digital signal received from the pattern generator 11 into a corresponding analog signal” [col. 4; lines 57-63]). The beam control element(s) to which the control signal is applied is/are analog elements, since the digital signal is converted to an analog signal before being input to the cathode 17.
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the control assembly of Coleman with the digital controller of Hoshinouchi in order to provide a controlling voltage signal which has been optimized for the generation of a beam of charged particles having desired properties based upon the intended downstream utilization of the particles (for imaging, lithography, etc.).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coleman et al. U.S. Patent No. 3,814,356 in view of Hoshinouchi et al. U.S. Patent No. 5,246,813 in further view of Ohnishi et al. U.S. Patent No. 5,270,552.
Regarding claim 12, Coleman discloses the claimed invention except that there is no explicit disclosure of a detector on the second column portion and an A-D converter coupled to the detector to receive an analog signal from the detector.
Ohnishi discloses a particle beam column for “observing the thinned portion by use of a transmission electron microscope” [col. 3; lines 55-57], including a detector on the second column portion and an A-D converter coupled to the detector to receive an analog signal from the detector (“A secondary electron signal from the secondary electron detector 109 is converted from an analog signal into a digital signal” [col. 5; lines 32-35]).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Coleman with the detector of Ohnishi in order to provide a feedback mechanism for analyzing and/or optimizing the interaction between a beam of charged particles produced by a charged particle source and a sample specimen.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coleman et al. U.S. Patent No. 3,814,356 in view of Hoshinouchi et al. U.S. Patent No. 5,246,813 in further view of Smith et al. U.S. Patent No. 4,467,211.
Regarding claim 13, Coleman does not disclose a digital controller attached to the control assembly.
Hoshinouchi discloses a control assembly 15/16 for providing a voltage signal to a cathode of a particle beam emitter 17, wherein a digital controller 11 is attached to the control assembly 15/16 (“an electron beam is emitted from the cathode 17 of the triode in response to the current supplied thereto from the electron beam current source 16 which is controlled by the output of the D/A converter 15 for the electron beam current, which D/A converter converts a digital signal received from the pattern generator 11 into a corresponding analog signal” [col. 4; lines 57-63]). It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the control assembly of Coleman with the digital controller of Hoshinouchi in order to provide a controlling voltage signal which has been optimized for the generation of a beam of charged particles having desired properties based upon the intended downstream utilization of the particles (for imaging, lithography, etc.). However, Coleman and Hoshinouchi do not disclose a memory to digitally store calibration information, identification information, test information, operation information, or any combination thereof.
Smith discloses a charged particle beam source controlled by application of voltages to the source (“Power for the cathode and electron gun would be from high voltage and cathode power supply 51 under the control of system executive computer 24” [col. 18; lines 57-60]) wherein the pattern of voltages applied is stored in a memory of a computer (“executive computer 24, which includes the pattern memory” [col. 17; lines 33-34]). It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the controller of Coleman and Hoshinouchi with the memory of Smith in order to improve repeatability and/or control over operation of a charged particle beam source by storing operational conditions in advance using a computer storage memory.
Claim(s) 15, 18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coleman et al. U.S. Patent No. 3,814,356 in view of Hoshinouchi et al. U.S. Patent No. 5,246,813 in further view of Stegmeier et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2023/0300963.
Regarding claim 15, Coleman discloses a charged particle beam device, comprising: a first column portion 650, comprising: an emitter 660; and a mechanical alignment structure 661 coupled to the emitter 660; a second column portion 600 connected to the first column portion 650; and a passively connectable power coupling comprising a plurality of substantially rigid electrical conductors 662/663 coupled to the emitter 660 and extending from the emitter 660 toward the second column portion 600 to connect with a plurality of electrical connectors 665 passively upon installation of the charged particle beam device (“cathode 660 can readily be removed via an access opening 685 in side wall 653 of casing 652… By virtue of the plug arrangement, including plug prongs 662 and 663, a new cathode can be readily inserted into the socket in support 664 and will occupy substantially the same position as the old cathode which was removed” [col. 17; lines 52-67]) in a processing tool (“it is to be understood that the invention is not limited to an electron microscope, but that the various features described herein can be used with various electron beam and other corpuscular equipment without departing from the intended scope of this invention as defined in this specification and the appended claims” [“col. 26; lines 58-64]). However, although Coleman discloses a control system ([col. 2; lines 16-17]), there is no explicit disclosure of a digital controller attached to the control assembly, and there is no explicit disclosure of a thermal conduit coupled to a digital controller.
Hoshinouchi discloses a control assembly 15/16 for providing a voltage signal to a cathode of a particle beam emitter 17, wherein a digital controller 11 is attached to the control assembly 15/16 (“an electron beam is emitted from the cathode 17 of the triode in response to the current supplied thereto from the electron beam current source 16 which is controlled by the output of the D/A converter 15 for the electron beam current, which D/A converter converts a digital signal received from the pattern generator 11 into a corresponding analog signal” [col. 4; lines 57-63]). It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the control assembly of Coleman with the digital controller of Hoshinouchi in order to provide a controlling voltage signal which has been optimized for the generation of a beam of charged particles having desired properties based upon the intended downstream utilization of the particles (for imaging, lithography, implantation, etc.). However, although Coleman discloses a high voltage generator for controlling a particle beam source, and Hoshinouchi discloses a digital signal generator for controlling a particle beam source, there is no explicit disclosure of a thermal conduit coupled to the digital controller.
Stegmeier discloses a “high-voltage generator” [0005, 0006], wherein “the power-electronic circuitry parts, which in the X-ray high-voltage generator are generally operated in parallel, are preferably connected as uniformly as possible to a heat sink of the cooling system” [0006] because “In order not to overheat the power-electronic circuitry parts provided in the X-ray high-voltage generator for the provision of the high voltage, the power loss converted into heat by the cooling system must be dissipated at least partially, preferably completely” [0005]. It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have coupled the digital controller of Hoshinouchi to a heat sink, as proposed in Stegmeier, in order to prevent overheating of the controller as voltages are applied through the controller.
Regarding claim 18, although Coleman discloses a control system ([col. 2; lines 16-17]), there is no explicit disclosure of a digital controller attached to the control assembly.
Hoshinouchi discloses a control assembly 15/16 for providing a voltage signal to a cathode of a particle beam emitter 17, wherein a digital controller 11 is attached to the control assembly 15/16 (“an electron beam is emitted from the cathode 17 of the triode in response to the current supplied thereto from the electron beam current source 16 which is controlled by the output of the D/A converter 15 for the electron beam current, which D/A converter converts a digital signal received from the pattern generator 11 into a corresponding analog signal” [col. 4; lines 57-63]).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the control assembly of Coleman with the digital controller of Hoshinouchi in order to provide a controlling voltage signal which has been optimized for the generation of a beam of charged particles having desired properties based upon the intended downstream utilization of the particles (for imaging, lithography, etc.).
Regarding claim 20, Coleman discloses a wiring board coupling the passively connectable power coupling to the emitter (“Wires 665 pass through openings in wall 658 and the openings are sealed so the interior of inner casing 657 is hermetically sealed relative to the interior of casing 652. Cathode shield 666 is removably secured to support 664. Wires 665 are connected to a low voltage power supply in casing 657 which is magnetically energized by the high voltage supply” [col. 16; line 66 – col. 17; line 5]).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coleman et al. U.S. Patent No. 3,814,356 in view of Hoshinouchi et al. U.S. Patent No. 5,246,813 in further view of Stegmeier et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2023/0300963 in further view of Kurnadi et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2016/0097729.
Regarding claim 19, although Hoshinouchi discloses a digital controller for a charged particle beam device, the combination of Coleman, Hoshinouchi, and Stegmeier fails to teach a digital controller comprising a circuit board attached to the control assembly.
Kurnadi discloses a charged particle beam system wherein control electronics are embodied on a circuit board: “a hardware implementation can include discrete analog and/or digital components that are, for example, integrated as part of a printed circuit board” [0041].
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Coleman, Hoshinouchi, and Stegmeier with the circuit board of Kurnadi in order to provide a compact mounting point for various electronic components so as to ensure that the components are embodied in a way where they are ready to be connected for controlling operation of a charged particle beam device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 9, 16, and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 5; Nishino et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2008/0067411 discloses a charged particle beam device, comprising (as illustrated in figures 6 and 7): a first column portion 1, comprising: an emitter 4 (“a prescribed high voltage (e.g. the order of 3 kV) is applied from the direct current power source to between the anode electrode 5 and the cathode electrode 4, the supplied gas for discharge is discharged between the anode electrode 5 and the cathode electrode 4, to generate positive ions of the gas for discharge” [0043]); and a mechanical alignment structure 21 coupled to the emitter 4 (“a male screw 21 for coupling the cathode electrode 4 to the upper frame 6 is formed in the vicinity of the rear end of the outer peripheral surface of the cathode electrode 4” [0024] – the specification of the immediate application identifies that a screw is an alignment structure: “An alignment screw 150 or a plurality of the alignment screws 150 can be provided to adjust an alignment, location, or placement of the emitter 110” [Specification: 00046]); a second column portion 55 connected to the first column portion 1 (as illustrated in figure 7); and a passively connectable power coupling (“a power supply line… and… variety of control lines” [0036]) coupled to the emitter 1 (“a power supply line for supplying power from the direct current power source to the ion source 1 and a variety of control lines, is joined to the bottom of the first box-shaped insulating member 61” [0036]). However, Nishino does not disclose that the second column portion and the first column portion are coupled at a sealed interface.
True U.S. Patent No. 5,483,074 discloses a charged particle beam source coupled to a downstream column by a seal formed by a thermally conductive plate: “The vacuum barrier 72 comprises a thin metal foil, such as titanium or beryllium, and provides a vacuum seal for the electron gun 10” [col. 5; lines 2-4]. However, there is no disclosure that the sealed interface comprises a plate, each of the electrical conductors is disposed through a hole in the plate, each of the electrical conductors is at least partially surrounded by an insulator, and the insulator is bonded to the plate within the respective hole.
Coleman et al. U.S. Patent No. 3,814,356 discloses a charged particle beam device, comprising: a first column portion 650, comprising: an emitter 660; and a mechanical alignment structure 661 coupled to the emitter 660; a second column portion 600 connected to the first column portion 650 (as illustrated in figure 13); and a passively connectable power coupling comprising a plurality of substantially rigid electrical conductors 662/663 coupled to the emitter 660 (“Cathode 660 is mounted on a support plate 661 having upwardly extending plug prongs 662 and 663” [col. 10; lines 62-63]) and extending from the emitter 660 toward the second column portion 600 to connect with a plurality of electrical connectors 665 passively upon installation of the charged particle beam device (“cathode 660 can readily be removed via an access opening 685 in side wall 653 of casing 652… By virtue of the plug arrangement, including plug prongs 662 and 663, a new cathode can be readily inserted into the socket in support 664 and will occupy substantially the same position as the old cathode which was removed” [col. 17; lines 52-67]) in a processing tool (“it is to be understood that the invention is not limited to an electron microscope, but that the various features described herein can be used with various electron beam and other corpuscular equipment without departing from the intended scope of this invention as defined in this specification and the appended claims” [“col. 26; lines 58-64]). However, Coleman does not disclose that the sealed interface comprises a plate, each of the electrical conductors is disposed through a hole in the plate, each of the electrical conductors is at least partially surrounded by an insulator, and the insulator is bonded to the plate within the respective hole.
The prior art fails to teach or reasonably suggest, in combination with the other claim limitations, a charged particle beam device, comprising: a first column portion, comprising: an emitter; a second column portion connected to the first column portion at a sealed interface that comprises a plate, each of the electrical conductors is disposed through a hole in the plate, each of a plurality of electrical conductors disposed through the sealed interface is at least partially surrounded by an insulator, and the respective insulator is bonded to the plate within the respective hole.
Regarding claim 9; Nishino et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2008/0067411 discloses a charged particle beam device, comprising (as illustrated in figures 6 and 7): a first column portion 1, comprising: an emitter 4 (“a prescribed high voltage (e.g. the order of 3 kV) is applied from the direct current power source to between the anode electrode 5 and the cathode electrode 4, the supplied gas for discharge is discharged between the anode electrode 5 and the cathode electrode 4, to generate positive ions of the gas for discharge” [0043]); and a mechanical alignment structure 21 coupled to the emitter 4 (“a male screw 21 for coupling the cathode electrode 4 to the upper frame 6 is formed in the vicinity of the rear end of the outer peripheral surface of the cathode electrode 4” [0024] – the specification of the immediate application identifies that a screw is an alignment structure: “An alignment screw 150 or a plurality of the alignment screws 150 can be provided to adjust an alignment, location, or placement of the emitter 110” [Specification: 00046]); a second column portion 55 connected to the first column portion 1 (as illustrated in figure 7); and a passively connectable power coupling (“a power supply line… and… variety of control lines” [0036]) coupled to the emitter 1 (“a power supply line for supplying power from the direct current power source to the ion source 1 and a variety of control lines, is joined to the bottom of the first box-shaped insulating member 61” [0036]). However, Nishino does not disclose that the second column portion and the first column portion are coupled at a sealed interface.
True U.S. Patent No. 5,483,074 discloses a charged particle beam source coupled to a downstream column by a seal formed by a thermally conductive plate: “The vacuum barrier 72 comprises a thin metal foil, such as titanium or beryllium, and provides a vacuum seal for the electron gun 10” [col. 5; lines 2-4]. However, there is no disclosure that a thermal conduit thermally couples a digital controller to the thermally conductive plate.
Hoshinouchi et al. U.S. Patent No. 5,246,813 discloses a control assembly 15/16 for providing a voltage signal to a cathode of a particle beam emitter 17, wherein a digital controller 11 is attached to the control assembly 15/16 (“an electron beam is emitted from the cathode 17 of the triode in response to the current supplied thereto from the electron beam current source 16 which is controlled by the output of the D/A converter 15 for the electron beam current, which D/A converter converts a digital signal received from the pattern generator 11 into a corresponding analog signal” [col. 4; lines 57-63]). However, there is no disclosure that a thermal conduit thermally couples a digital controller to the thermally conductive plate.
Coleman et al. U.S. Patent No. 3,814,356 discloses a charged particle beam device, comprising: a first column portion 650, comprising: an emitter 660; and a mechanical alignment structure 661 coupled to the emitter 660; a second column portion 600 connected to the first column portion 650 (as illustrated in figure 13); and a passively connectable power coupling comprising a plurality of substantially rigid electrical conductors 662/663 coupled to the emitter 660 (“Cathode 660 is mounted on a support plate 661 having upwardly extending plug prongs 662 and 663” [col. 10; lines 62-63]) and extending from the emitter 660 toward the second column portion 600 to connect with a plurality of electrical connectors 665 passively upon installation of the charged particle beam device (“cathode 660 can readily be removed via an access opening 685 in side wall 653 of casing 652… By virtue of the plug arrangement, including plug prongs 662 and 663, a new cathode can be readily inserted into the socket in support 664 and will occupy substantially the same position as the old cathode which was removed” [col. 17; lines 52-67]) in a processing tool (“it is to be understood that the invention is not limited to an electron microscope, but that the various features described herein can be used with various electron beam and other corpuscular equipment without departing from the intended scope of this invention as defined in this specification and the appended claims” [“col. 26; lines 58-64]). However, Coleman does not disclose that the second column portion and the first column portion are coupled at a sealed interface comprising a thermally conductive plate, and a thermal conduit thermally couples the digital controller to the thermally conductive plate.
The prior art fails to teach or reasonably suggest, in combination with the other claim limitations, a charged particle beam device, comprising: a first column portion, comprising: an emitter; a second column portion connected to the first column portion at a sealed interface that comprises a thermally conductive plate, each of the electrical conductors is disposed through a hole in the plate, and a thermal conduit thermally couples a digital controller, attached to a control assembly, to the thermally conductive plate.
Regarding claim 16; Nishino et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2008/0067411 discloses a charged particle beam device, comprising (as illustrated in figures 6 and 7): a first column portion 1, comprising: an emitter 4 (“a prescribed high voltage (e.g. the order of 3 kV) is applied from the direct current power source to between the anode electrode 5 and the cathode electrode 4, the supplied gas for discharge is discharged between the anode electrode 5 and the cathode electrode 4, to generate positive ions of the gas for discharge” [0043]); and a mechanical alignment structure 21 coupled to the emitter 4 (“a male screw 21 for coupling the cathode electrode 4 to the upper frame 6 is formed in the vicinity of the rear end of the outer peripheral surface of the cathode electrode 4” [0024] – the specification of the immediate application identifies that a screw is an alignment structure: “An alignment screw 150 or a plurality of the alignment screws 150 can be provided to adjust an alignment, location, or placement of the emitter 110” [Specification: 00046]); a second column portion 55 connected to the first column portion 1 (as illustrated in figure 7); and a passively connectable power coupling (“a power supply line… and… variety of control lines” [0036]) coupled to the emitter 1 (“a power supply line for supplying power from the direct current power source to the ion source 1 and a variety of control lines, is joined to the bottom of the first box-shaped insulating member 61” [0036]). However, Nishino does not disclose that the second column portion and the first column portion are coupled at a sealed interface.
True U.S. Patent No. 5,483,074 discloses a charged particle beam source coupled to a downstream column by a seal formed by a thermally conductive plate: “The vacuum barrier 72 comprises a thin metal foil, such as titanium or beryllium, and provides a vacuum seal for the electron gun 10” [col. 5; lines 2-4]. However, there is no disclosure that the emitter is a first emitter and is coupled to the plate, and at least a second emitter is coupled to the plate.
Johanson, Jr. et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2020/0321202 discloses a charged particle beam source wherein a “plurality of cathode openings 310 of the source 154 is vacuum sealed with the mounting plate seal 702 beneath the mounting plate 410” [0058]. However, Johanson discloses only a single source 154 and does not disclose a second emitter coupled to the plate.
Coleman et al. U.S. Patent No. 3,814,356 discloses a charged particle beam device, comprising: a first column portion 650, comprising: an emitter 660; and a mechanical alignment structure 661 coupled to the emitter 660; a second column portion 600 connected to the first column portion 650 (as illustrated in figure 13); and a passively connectable power coupling comprising a plurality of substantially rigid electrical conductors 662/663 coupled to the emitter 660 (“Cathode 660 is mounted on a support plate 661 having upwardly extending plug prongs 662 and 663” [col. 10; lines 62-63]) and extending from the emitter 660 toward the second column portion 600 to connect with a plurality of electrical connectors 665 passively upon installation of the charged particle beam device (“cathode 660 can readily be removed via an access opening 685 in side wall 653 of casing 652… By virtue of the plug arrangement, including plug prongs 662 and 663, a new cathode can be readily inserted into the socket in support 664 and will occupy substantially the same position as the old cathode which was removed” [col. 17; lines 52-67]) in a processing tool (“it is to be understood that the invention is not limited to an electron microscope, but that the various features described herein can be used with various electron beam and other corpuscular equipment without departing from the intended scope of this invention as defined in this specification and the appended claims” [“col. 26; lines 58-64]). However, Coleman does not disclose that the second column portion and the first column portion are coupled at a sealed interface, the first column portion comprises a plate that forms the sealed interface, the emitter is a first emitter and is coupled to the plate, and at least a second emitter is coupled to the plate.
The prior art fails to teach or reasonably suggest, in combination with the other claim limitations, a charged particle beam device, comprising: a first column portion, comprising: an emitter; a second column portion connected to the first column portion at a sealed interface that comprises a plate, wherein the emitter is a first emitter and is coupled to the plate, and at least a second emitter is coupled to the plate.
Regarding claim 17; claim 17 would be allowable at least for its dependence upon claim 16.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON L MCCORMACK/Examiner, Art Unit 2881