DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In lines 4-5 of [080] of the specification, “iii) a selected (e.g. best) measurement hypothesis for a second TRP; and iii) a selected (e.g. best) single-TRP measurement hypothesis” should be changed to “iii) a selected (e.g. best) measurement hypothesis for a second TRP; and iv) a selected (e.g. best) single-TRP measurement hypothesis”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 8 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 4 of claim 1, “channel state information (CSI), reporting mode” should be corrected to “channel state information (CSI) reporting mode”.
In line 2 of claim 8, “at least one channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS),” should be corrected to “at least one channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS)”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 12: the limitation “providing report information” in lines 5-6 is indefinite because it is unclear whether this report information is the same as or different than the report information of parent claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-10, 12, 15, 16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Rahman et al (US 2024/0214851).
Regarding claim 1: Rahman discloses a method comprising:
receiving, at a user equipment (UE), and from a node of a cellular communications network, configuration information relating to an event-triggered channel state information (CSI), reporting mode (disclosed throughout; see Figures 9A-C, for example, which each disclose a UE receiving configuration information relating to an event-triggered CSI reporting mode (see the step “NW configures UE-initiated report” in each Figure); as indicated in [0081], [0100], [0130], and [0132], for example, the network (NW) may configure an event type and/or report type, and the UE initiates/triggers the configured report when the configured event occurs); and
while operating in the event-triggered CSI reporting mode in accordance with the configuration information, responding, by the UE, to an occurrence of a pre-defined event by providing report information to the cellular communications network (disclosed throughout; see Figures 9A-9C, for example, which disclose the UE responding by providing report information; see also [0132], which indicates that “the UE 116 can be configured with the UE 116-initiated report (e.g., via RRC), and only then the UE 116, on detecting a need, can trigger/initiate the report”), wherein i) the pre-defined event is related to a change in a selection associated with a set of transmission reception points (TRPs), ii) the selection is performed by the UE based on measurements of one or more reference signals, and iii) the report information relates to the change in the selection associated with the set of TRPs (disclosed throughout; see [0169] and [0172], for example, which discloses that the event (CSI-related) is related to a change associated with a set of TRPs (“the event is related to TRP/resource selection/switch” and “[t]he updated set can correspond to adding/removing one or more TRPs from the set and transmitting the updated CSI for the updated set”); further, the selection is performed by the UE based on measurements of reference signals (disclosed throughout; see [0172] and [0126], for example, which discloses that the CSI-related event may be based on a metric, which is clearly measured at the UE as the UE determines the occurrence of the event); further, as indicated above, the report information relates to the change in the selection associated with the set of TRPs (see [0172], for example, which indicates “[t]he updated set can correspond to adding/removing one or more TRPs from the set and transmitting the updated CSI for the updated set”).
Regarding claim 2: Rahman discloses a user equipment (UE), comprising:
at least one processor (see processor 340 of Figure 3, for example); and
at least one memory, the at least one memory storing instructions, that when executed by the least one processor, to cause the UE to at least (see memory 360 of Figure 3 and [0050], for example):
receive, from a node of a cellular communications network, configuration information relating to an event-triggered channel state information (CSI) reporting mode (disclosed throughout; see Figures 9A-C, for example, which each disclose a UE receiving configuration information relating to an event-triggered CSI reporting mode (see the step “NW configures UE-initiated report” in each Figure); as indicated in [0081], [0100], [0130], and [0132], for example, the network (NW) may configure an event type and/or report type, and the UE initiates/triggers the configured report when the configured event occurs); and
respond, while operating in the event-triggered CSI reporting mode in accordance with the configuration information, to an occurrence of a pre-defined event by providing report information to the cellular communications network (disclosed throughout; see Figures 9A-9C, for example, which disclose the UE responding by providing report information; see also [0132], which indicates that “the UE 116 can be configured with the UE 116-initiated report (e.g., via RRC), and only then the UE 116, on detecting a need, can trigger/initiate the report”), wherein i) the pre-defined event is related to a change in a selection associated with a set of transmission reception points (TRPs) ii) the selection is performed by the UE based on measurements of one or more reference signals, and iii) the report information relates to the change in the selection associated with the set of TRPs (disclosed throughout; see [0169] and [0172], for example, which discloses that the event (CSI-related) is related to a change associated with a set of TRPs (“the event is related to TRP/resource selection/switch” and “[t]he updated set can correspond to adding/removing one or more TRPs from the set and transmitting the updated CSI for the updated set”); further, the selection is performed by the UE based on measurements of reference signals (disclosed throughout; see [0172] and [0126], for example, which discloses that the CSI-related event may be based on a metric, which is clearly measured at the UE as the UE determines the occurrence of the event); further, as indicated above, the report information relates to the change in the selection associated with the set of TRPs (see [0172], for example, which indicates “[t]he updated set can correspond to adding/removing one or more TRPs from the set and transmitting the updated CSI for the updated set”).
Regarding claim 18: Rahman discloses a cellular communications network node comprising:
at least one processor (see controller processor 225 of Figure 2, for example); and
at least one memory, the at least one memory storing instructions, that when executed by the least one processor, to cause the cellular communications network node to at least (see memory 220 and [0041], for example):
provide to a user equipment (UE), configuration information relating to an event-triggered channel state information (CSI) reporting mode (disclosed throughout; see Figures 9A-C, for example, which each disclose a UE receiving configuration information relating to an event-triggered CSI reporting mode (see the step “NW configures UE-initiated report” in each Figure); as indicated in [0081], [0100], [0130], and [0132], for example, the network (NW) may configure an event type and/or report type, and the UE initiates/triggers the configured report when the configured event occurs) in which the UE is configured to report to the cellular communications network in response to the UE detecting an occurrence of an event relating to a change in a selection, that is associated with a set of transmission reception points (TRPs) (disclosed throughout; see Figures 9A-9C, for example, which disclose the UE responding by providing report information; see also [0132], which indicates that “the UE 116 can be configured with the UE 116-initiated report (e.g., via RRC), and only then the UE 116, on detecting a need, can trigger/initiate the report”; see [0169] and [0172], for example, which discloses that the event (CSI-related) is related to a change associated with a set of TRPs (“the event is related to TRP/resource selection/switch” and “[t]he updated set can correspond to adding/removing one or more TRPs from the set and transmitting the updated CSI for the updated set”); further, the selection is performed by the UE based on measurements of reference signals (disclosed throughout; see [0172] and [0126], for example, which discloses that the CSI-related event may be based on a metric, which is clearly measured at the UE as the UE determines the occurrence of the event); further, as indicated above, the report information relates to the change in the selection associated with the set of TRPs (see [0172], for example, which indicates “[t]he updated set can correspond to adding/removing one or more TRPs from the set and transmitting the updated CSI for the updated set”); and
receive, from the UE, report information relating to detection, by the UE, of an occurrence of a predefined event that relates to a change in the selection associated with the set of TRPs (disclosed throughout; see Figures 9A-9C, for example, which disclose the UE responding by providing report information; see also [0132], which indicates that “the UE 116 can be configured with the UE 116-initiated report (e.g., via RRC), and only then the UE 116, on detecting a need, can trigger/initiate the report”; see [0169] and [0172], for example, which discloses that the event (CSI-related) is related to a change associated with a set of TRPs (“the event is related to TRP/resource selection/switch” and “[t]he updated set can correspond to adding/removing one or more TRPs from the set and transmitting the updated CSI for the updated set”); further, the selection is performed by the UE based on measurements of reference signals (disclosed throughout; see [0172] and [0126], for example, which discloses that the CSI-related event may be based on a metric, which is clearly measured at the UE as the UE determines the occurrence of the event); further, as indicated above, the report information relates to the change in the selection associated with the set of TRPs (see [0172], for example, which indicates “[t]he updated set can correspond to adding/removing one or more TRPs from the set and transmitting the updated CSI for the updated set”).
Regarding claim 3: Rahman discloses the limitations that the pre-defined event comprises a change in a selected set of TRPs (disclosed throughout; see [0172], for example, which discloses that (“the event is related to TRP/resource selection/switch” and “[t]he updated set can correspond to adding/removing one or more TRPs from the set and transmitting the updated CSI for the updated set”).
Regarding claim 5: Rahman discloses the limitations that the pre-defined event comprises a change in the number of TRPs selected by the UE (disclosed throughout; see [0172], for example, which discloses that “[t]he updated set can correspond to adding/removing one or more TRPs from the set and transmitting the updated CSI for the updated set”; adding or removing one or more TRPs from the set changes the number of TRPs selected by the UE).
Regarding claim 7: Rahman discloses the limitation that the pre-defined event comprises a change in at least one of: a selected non-coherent joint transmission (NCJT) measurement hypothesis; a selected single first-TRP measurement hypothesis; a selected single second-TRP measurement hypothesis; and a single TRP measurement hypothesis selected from a first-TRP measurement hypothesis and a second-TRP measurement hypothesis (disclosed throughout; see [0172], for example, which discloses that the “the event is related to TRP/resource selection/switch (e.g. semi-static transmission resource pool (sTRP)/continuous joint transmission (CJT)/non-continuous joint transmission (NCJT))”).
Regarding claim 8: Rahman discloses the limitation that the pre-defined event comprises a change in a selection of at least one channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), resource or at least one CSI-RS resource pair (disclosed throughout; see [0172], for example, which discloses that the event is “related to TRP/resource selection/switch” and the resource is one of “multiple CSI-RS resources”).
Regarding claim 9: Rahman discloses the limitation that the report information indicates that the pre-defined event has occurred (disclosed throughout; see [0172], for example, which discloses “the UE 116 initiates/triggers a CSI report when the event is detected, implying the set of multiple TRPs/resources demands to be updated…[t]he updated set can correspond to adding/removing one or more TRPs from the set and transmitting the updated CSI for the updated set”; the CSI report which is “for the updated set” of TRPs and implies the set of TRPs is to be updated indicates that the pre-defined event has occurred).
Regarding claim 10: Rahman discloses the limitation that the report information indicates that the pre-defined event has occurred (disclosed throughout; see [0172], for example, which discloses “[t]he updated set can correspond to adding/removing one or more TRPs from the set and transmitting the updated CSI for the updated set”; the CSI report which is “for the updated set” of TRPs clearly includes channel state information (CSI) relating to the change in the selection associated with the set of TRPs (the updated set)).
Regarding claim 12: Rahman discloses the limitation that the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, while operating in the event-triggered CSI reporting mode, further cause the UE at least to: respond to an occurrence of any of a plurality of pre-defined events relating to a change in a selection associated with a set of TRPs by providing report information to the cellular communications network (disclosed throughout; see [0172], for example, which discloses “the event is related to TRP/resource selection/switch” and “[t]he updated set can correspond to adding/removing one or more TRPs from the set and transmitting the updated CSI for the updated set”; the UE reports information to the network in response to an occurrence of any of a plurality of events including TRP selection, switch, and adding or removing one or more TRPs).
Regarding claim 15: Rahman discloses the limitation that the pre-defined event is indicated in the configuration information, and/or one or more parameters associated with the predefined event are indicated in the configuration information (disclosed throughout; see Figures 9A-C, for example, which each disclose a UE receiving configuration information relating to an event-triggered CSI reporting mode (see the step “NW configures UE-initiated report” in each Figure); as indicated in [0081], [0100], [0130], and [0132], for example, the network (NW) may configure an event type and/or report type, and the UE initiates/triggers the configured report when the configured event occurs).
Regarding claim 16: Rahman discloses the limitation that the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the UE at least to: inform, prior to receiving the configuration information, the cellular communications network that the pre-defined event is supported by the UE (disclosed throughout; see [0130], for example, which discloses that the “configuration can be subject to the UE 116 capability”; clearly, for this configuration to be subject to the UE’s capability, the network obtains the UE’s capability for supporting the event prior to configuring the UE).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rahman et al (US 2024/0214851) in view of Rao et al (US 2025/0088883).
Regarding claim 11: Rahman discloses the limitations of parent claim 2 as indicated above. Rahman is silent regarding the limitation of claim 11 that the predefined event comprises a change in a selection associated with at least one TRP that persists for a pre-determined duration or over a predetermined number of iterations. However, Rao discloses using measurements that persist above or below a threshold for a configured time duration. For example, see [0459], which discloses a condition being detected when measurements made on resources (such as CSI-RS) remain “below the threshold value for a configured time duration” or “above the threshold value for a configured time duration”. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Rahman such that the determination to select/switch TRPs is based on a measurement that is above/below a threshold for a configured time duration as suggested by Rao. The rationale for doing so would have been to limit the rate at which the TRP changes occur to minimize the system overhead due to very frequent TRP switches.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rahman et al (US 2024/0214851) in view of Huawei* et al (R2-1817365 – Discussion of CSI-RS Measurement Aspects for NR-DC). (* cited in Applicant’s IDS filed 8/15/2024)
Regarding claim 17: Rahman discloses the limitations of parent claim 2 as indicated above. Rahman is silent regarding the limitation of claim 17 that the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the UE at least to: perform the selection associated with the set of TRPs, based on measurements of one or more reference signals and based on one or more threshold values configured by the cellular communications network. However, Huawei discloses on page 2 in section 2.1 that “[t]he network can configure a UE to monitor/measure the CSI-RSs of the current serving link and neighbouring beams, and use the C1/C2 triggering events for switching the state of joint transmission (JT) under different scenarios”. Further, at least one of C1/C2 events uses a threshold value. To the extent that Rahman does not explicitly disclose performing the selection associated with the set of TRPs based on measurements of one or more reference signals and a threshold as configured by the network, this would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. In particular, it would have been obvious to modify Rahman to explicitly utilize the CSI-RS and threshold as suggested in Huawei when determining whether and to which TRPs to switch select. The rationale for doing so would have been to enable the network to provide explicit guidance on when and how the TRP selection/switching should be made as suggested by Huawei.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 6, 13, and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Venugopal et al (US 2024/0323732) discloses a method for time domain phase tracking for coherent joint communications with multiple TRPs.
Matsumura et al (US 2024/0196250) discloses a method for event based CSI reporting in a multi-TRP environment.
Robert C. Scheibel
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2467
/Robert C Scheibel/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467 June 16, 2026