DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In [0022], line 1, change “arrange” to –arrangement--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 8, 9, 12, 13 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hosokawa (2007/0006936). Hosokawa discloses a load lock arrangement (a load lock chamber with temperature regulation) including a load lock body (102) having a front face configured for coupling with an equipment front-end module (SEE [0027]), a rear face configured for coupling with a back-end transfer module (well known in the art, SEE Figure 8), and a side face (108, 110) including a side aperture (176); a substrate stage (interpreted as the supporting surface of pins 126) disposed within the load lock body, the substrate stage including an upper stage surface (top of pin) and a lower stage surface (bottom of pin), the upper stage surface configured for retaining a process substrate (122) at a retaining location within the load lock body (SEE Figure 1); a temperature control assembly (124) partially disposed within the load lock body; an elevator (138) coupled to the temperature control assembly for providing vertical movement to the temperature control assembly; and a flexible sealing mechanism (146) connected between the side face of the load lock body and the temperature control assembly, the flexible sealing mechanism maintaining an internal environment within the load lock body while moving the temperature control assembly (SEE [0034]). In re claim 8, Hosokawa discloses that the temperature control assembly includes a temperature regulating head (118, 166). In re claim 9, Hosokawa discloses that the elevator (138) provides a maximum vertical displacement to an upper temperature regulating surface of the temperature regulating head between 1 mm and 15 mm (the elevator is capable of moving the head 118 to any range up to contact with the substrate, which would inherently fall within the range claimed therein). In re claim 12, Hosokawa discloses the teaching of a substrate stage including a secondary stage for retaining an addition substrate (SEE [0029]). In re claim 13, Hosokawa discloses a teaching of a load lock body further having an upper load lock chamber and a lower load lock chamber (as per Figure 9), the temperature control assembly being partially disposed within the upper load lock chamber (SEE [0055]). In re claim 18, Hosokawa discloses a load lock chamber with temperature regulation structure capable of carrying out the method of the claimed invention including processing a substrate (122) in a load lock body housing (102) a substrate stage (wherein the substrate is supported within the load lock chamber), the substrate stage including an upper stage surface (interpreted as the top of the support pin) and a lower stage surface (the bottom of the support pin), the upper stage surface configured for retaining a substrate at a retaining location within the load lock body (SEE Figure 1); lowering a vertical position of a temperature control assembly (124) partially disposed within the load lock body to a load/unload position, the unload/load position being distal from the lower stage surface (clearly illustrated in Figure 1); seating a process substrate on the upper stage surface at the retaining location; and raising the vertical position of the temperature control assembly to a substrate temperature regulating position proximate to the lower stage surface to enable at least one of heating and cooling to the substrate positioned at the retaining location (SEE [0032]), wherein lowering and raising of the temperature control assembly is implemented by an elevator (138) coupled to a portion of the temperature control assembly extending outside of the load lock body through an aperture located in a side face of the load lock body (SEE Figure 1). In re claim 19, Hosokawa implicitly discloses that the temperature control assembly includes a temperature regulating head (118, 166) having an upper temperature regulating surface (136), wherein the upper temperature regulating surface (136) is positioned at a distance greater than 10 mm from the lower stage surface when in the load/unloading position (the elevator is capable of moving the head 118 to any range up to contact with the substrate, which would inherently fall within the range claimed therein). In re claim 20, Hosokawa discloses that the upper temperature regulating surface (136) is positioned at a distance of less than 0.5 mm from the lower stage surface when located in the substrate temperature regulating position (the elevator is capable of moving the head 118 to any range up to contact with the substrate, which would inherently fall within the range claimed therein).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-17 are allowed.
Claims 2-7, 10, 11, and 14 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
/GREGORY A WILSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762 October 13, 2026