DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (U.S. Patent No. 8,716,694) in view of Riel et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,656,014).
Regarding to claim 1, Han teaches a light-emitting diode, which is capable of emitting a light beam having a broadband blue spectrum, comprising:
a p-type semiconductor layer (Fig. 1, element 104, column 4, line 10);
an n-type semiconductor layer (Fig. 1, element 102, column 4, line 10); and
a light-emitting stacked layer disposed between the p-type semiconductor layer and the n-type semiconductor layer, wherein the light emitting stacked layer includes a plurality of well layers and a plurality of barrier layers that are alternately stacked with each other (Fig. 1, element 103, column 4, lines 19-25); wherein the light emitting stacked layer includes at least one second well layer (Fig. 5, element 103b-2), at least one third well layer (Fig. 5, element 103b-3), at least one fourth well layer (Fig. 5, element 103b-4), that have different indium concentrations (column 8, lines 3-6), such that a C2 indium concentration, a C3 indium concentration, a C4 indium concentration, are respectively defined, and a relationship of the indium concentrations is C4 > C3 > C2 (Fig. 5, column 8, lines 3-6);
wherein the light-emitting stacked layer is configured to include three sections along a thickness direction (Fig. 1); wherein first three ones of the well layers that are in proximity to the n-type semiconductor layer and adjacent ones of the barrier layers are defined as an n-side proximate section (Fig. 1, the three well/barrier layers in stack 103 closed to layer 102), first three ones of the well layers that are in proximity to the p-type semiconductor layer and adjacent ones of the barrier layers are defined as a p-side proximate section (Fig. 1, the three well/barrier layers in stack 103 closed to layer 104), and the well layers and the barrier layers that are disposed between the n-side proximate section and the p-side proximate section are defined as a middle section (Fig. 1, the rest of well/barrier layers in center of stack 103);
wherein the at least one third well layer is disposed in the middle section; wherein, when a quantity of the at least one second well layer is two and a quantity of the at least one third well layer is one, the two second well layers are respectively disposed on two sides of the third well layer (Fig. 1).
In Fig. 5, Han does not disclose at least one fifth well layer that have different indium concentrations and a relationship of the indium concentrations is C5 > C4.
Riel discloses at least one fifth well layer that have different indium concentrations and a relationship of the indium concentrations is C5 > C4 (Fig. 1A, Fig. 1B, at least second well layer, third well layer, fourth well layer, and fifth well layer that have different indium concentrations, such that a C2 indium concentration is 22%, C3 indium concentration is 32%, C4 indium concentration is 40%, and C5 indium concentration is 48%, thus relationship of the indium concentrations is C5 > C4 > C3 > C2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Han in view of Riel to add a fifth well layer with higher indium content in order to broaden the emitting bank.
Regarding to claim 2, Han as modified discloses the at least one fourth well layer or the at least one fifth well layer is disposed in the n-side proximate section (Fig. 1, column 8, lines 3-7, higher indium contented layers are closed to n-type layer).
Regarding to claim 3, Riel discloses the indium % vary from 15% to 70% (Fig. 1B). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure a ratio between the C2 indium concentration and the C5 indium concentration ranges from 60% to 75%, a ratio between the C3 indium concentration and the C5 indium concentration ranges from 70% to 85%, and a ratio between the C4 indium concentration and the C5 indium concentration ranges from 75% to 95% in order to increase efficiency, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding to claim 4, Han teaches the at least one second well layer is disposed in the p-side proximate section (Fig. 1).
Regarding to claim 5, Han teaches the light-emitting stacked layer further includes at least one first well layer, an indium concentration of the at least one first well layer is defined as C 1, and C 1 is less than C2; wherein the at least one first well layer is disposed in the p-side proximate section (Fig. 5, element 103b-1; column 8, lines 3-6).
Regarding to claim 6, Riel discloses the indium % vary from 15% to 70% (Fig. 1B). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure a ratio between the C1 indium concentration and the C5 indium concentration ranges from 40%to 60% in order to increase efficiency, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955).
Claims 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (U.S. Patent No. 8,716,694) in view of Robin (U.S. Patent No. 10,276,745) and Riel et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,656,014).
Regarding to claim 11, Han teaches white light-emitting device, comprising:
a substrate (Fig. 1, element 101);
a light-emitting diode capable of emitting a light beam having a broadband blue spectrum, wherein the light-emitting diode is disposed on the substrate (Fig. 1, stack 102/103/104), and includes:
a p-type semiconductor layer (Fig. 1, element 104, column 4, line 10);
an n-type semiconductor layer (Fig. 1, element 102, column 4, line 10); and
a light-emitting stacked layer disposed between the p-type semiconductor layer and the n-type semiconductor layer, wherein the light emitting stacked layer includes a plurality of well layers and a plurality of barrier layers that are alternately stacked with each other (Fig. 1, element 103, column 4, lines 23-25); wherein the light emitting stacked layer includes at least one second well layer (Fig. 5, element 103b-2), at least one third well layer (Fig. 5, element 103b-3), at least one fourth well layer (Fig. 5, element 103b-4), that have different indium concentrations (column 8, lines 3-6), such that a C2 indium concentration, a C3 indium concentration, a C4 indium concentration, are respectively defined, and a relationship of the indium concentrations is C4 > C3 > C2 (Fig. 5, column 8, lines 3-6);
wherein the light-emitting stacked layer is configured to include three sections along a thickness direction (Fig. 1); wherein first three ones of the well layers that are in proximity to the n-type semiconductor layer and adjacent ones of the barrier layers are defined as an n-side proximate section (Fig. 1, the three well/barrier layers in stack 103 closed to layer 102), first three ones of the well layers that are in proximity to the p-type semiconductor layer and adjacent ones of the barrier layers are defined as a p-side proximate section (Fig. 1, the three well/barrier layers in stack 103 closed to layer 104), and the well layers and the barrier layers that are disposed between the n-side proximate section and the p-side proximate section are defined as a middle section (Fig. 1, the rest of well/barrier layers in center of stack 103);
wherein the at least one third well layer is disposed in the middle section; wherein, when a quantity of the at least one second well layer is two and a quantity of the at least one third well layer is one, the two second well layers are respectively disposed on two sides of the third well layer (Fig. 1).
Han does not disclose a wavelength conversion layer, wherein the wavelength conversion layer covers the light-emitting diode.
Robin discloses a wavelength conversion layer, wherein the wavelength conversion layer covers the light-emitting diode (Fig. 1, element 104, column 9, lines 48-55). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Han in view of Robin to configure a wavelength conversion layer covering the light-emitting diode in order to increase emitting wavelength range.
In Fig. 5, Han does not disclose at least one fifth well layer that have different indium concentrations and a relationship of the indium concentrations is C5 > C4.
Riel discloses at least one fifth well layer that have different indium concentrations and a relationship of the indium concentrations is C5 > C4 (Fig. 1A, Fig. 1B, at least second well layer, third well layer, fourth well layer, and fifth well layer that have different indium concentrations, such that a C2 indium concentration is 22%, C3 indium concentration is 32%, C4 indium concentration is 40%, and C5 indium concentration is 48%, thus relationship of the indium concentrations is C5 > C4 > C3 > C2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Han in view of Riel to add a fifth well layer with higher indium content in order to broaden the emitting bank.
Regarding to claim 12, Han as modified discloses the at least one fourth well layer or the at least one fifth well layer is disposed in the n-side proximate section (Fig. 1, column 8, lines 3-7, higher Indium contented layers are closed to n-type layer).
Regarding to claim 13, Riel discloses the indium % vary from 15% to 70% (Fig. 1B). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure a ratio between the C2 indium concentration and the C5 indium concentration ranges from 60% to 75%, a ratio between the C3 indium concentration and the C5 indium concentration ranges from 70% to 85%, and a ratio between the C4 indium concentration and the C5 indium concentration ranges from 75% to 95% in order to increase efficiency, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding to claim 14, Han teaches the at least one second well layer is disposed in the p-side proximate section (Fig. 1).
Regarding to claim 15, Han teaches the light-emitting stacked layer further includes at least one first well layer, an indium concentration of the at least one first well layer is defined as C 1, and C 1 is less than C2; wherein the at least one first well layer is disposed in the p-side proximate section (Fig. 5, element 103b-1; column 8, lines 3-6).
Regarding to claim 16, Riel discloses the indium % vary from 15% to 70% (Fig. 1B). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure a ratio between the C1 indium concentration and the C5 indium concentration ranges from 40%to 60% in order to increase efficiency, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-10 and 17-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding to claim 7, the prior art fails to anticipate or render obvious the claimed limitations including “the broadband blue spectrum has a second peak inflection point within a range of between 430 nm and 460 nm, and the second peak inflection point has a second wavelength and a second spectrum intensity that correspond to the second peak inflection point; wherein the broadband blue spectrum has a third peak inflection point within a range of between 445 nm and 475 nm, the third peak inflection point has a third wavelength and a third spectrum intensity that correspond to the third peak inflection point, and a difference between the third wavelength and the second wavelength ranges from 5 nm to 30 nm; wherein the broadband blue spectrum has a fourth peak inflection point within a range of between 455 nm and 485 nm, the fourth peak inflection point has a fourth wavelength and a fourth spectrum intensity that correspond to the fourth peak inflection point, and a difference between the fourth wavelength and the second wavelength ranges from 20 nm to 50 nm” in combination with the limitations recited in claim 1.
Regarding to claim 17, the prior art fails to anticipate or render obvious the claimed limitations including “the broadband blue spectrum has a second peak inflection point within a range of between 430 nm and 460 nm, and the second peak inflection point has a second wavelength and a second spectrum intensity that correspond to the second peak inflection point; wherein the broadband blue spectrum has a third peak inflection point within a range of between 445 nm and 475 nm, the third peak inflection point has a third wavelength and a third spectrum intensity that correspond to the third peak inflection point, and a difference between the third wavelength and the second wavelength ranges from 5 nm to 30 nm; wherein the broadband blue spectrum has a fourth peak inflection point within a range of between 455 nm and 485 nm, the fourth peak inflection point has a fourth wavelength and a fourth spectrum intensity that correspond to the fourth peak inflection point, and a difference between the fourth wavelength and the second wavelength ranges from 20 nm to 50 nm” in combination with the limitations recited in claim 11.
Pertinent Art
For the benefits of the Applicant, US-10886429-B2, US-20110133156-A1, US-9337391-B2, US-12218204-B2, US-9985168-B1, US-8575592-B2, and US-11393948-B2, are cited on the record as being pertinent to significant disclosure through some but not all claimed features of the defined invention. The references fail to disclose “ratio between the C2 indium concentration and the C5 indium concentration ranges from 60% to 75%, a ratio between the C3 indium concentration and the C5 indium concentration ranges from 70% to 85%, and a ratio between the C4 indium concentration and the C5 indium concentration ranges from 75% to 95%.”
Conclusion
/VU A VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897