DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamazawa (JP 2007-273915).
INDEPENDENT CLAIM 1:
Regarding claim 1, Yamazawa a plasma processing apparatus, comprising: a vacuum chamber; a substrate-supporting stage that is disposed inside the vacuum chamber and is connected to a first high-frequency power supply circuit that supplies a high-frequency power at a first frequency; a counter electrode that is disposed in opposite to the stage and is connected to a second high-frequency power supply circuit that supplies a high-frequency power at a second frequency; and a resonant circuit that is connected between a power supply line for connecting the stage and the first high-frequency power supply circuit and a ground potential and allows high-frequency current at the second frequency from the counter electrode to pass therethrough. (Paragraphs 0019-0032, Fig. 1, Fig. 6; Paragraph 0029 - High-order harmonics such as the fundamental wave of the high frequency power for plasma generation and the harmonic high frequency power with respect to the fundamental wave pass through the filter 62 and are supplied to the variable impedance unit 60 in the variable impedance circuit 40 described above; Paragraph 0031 – Here, the fundamental wave of the high frequency power for plasma generation supplied to the upper electrode 20, the harmonics of the fundamental wave of the high frequency power for plasma generation, and the high frequency power for bias supplied to the lower electrode 12 are fundamental)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 2:
Regarding claim 2, Yamazawa teaches wherein the resonant circuit is adjusted so that a resonant frequency between a substrate surface on the stage to the ground potential is the second frequency. (Paragraph 0031)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 3:
Regarding claim 3, Yamazawa teaches wherein the resonant circuit is an LC series resonant circuit including a coil and a capacitor. (Figs. 2-6)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 6:
Regarding claim 6, Yamazawa teaches further comprising an earth shield provided between a peripheral surface of the counter electrode and an inner wall surface of the vacuum chamber. (Paragraph 0021; Fig. 1 – annular shield 21)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 7:
Regarding claim 7, Yamazawa teaches wherein the second frequency is a frequency higher than the first frequency. (Paragraph 0029 – 13.56 MHz, 60 MHz)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 8:
Regarding claim 8, Yamazawa teaches further comprising a gas supply line for supplying an etching gas or a gas for deposition into the vacuum chamber. (Fig. 1 – 31, 32)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamazawa (JP 2007-273915) in view of Hammond, IV et al. (U.S. PGPUB. 2018/0261431 A1).
DEPENDENT CLAIM 4:
The difference not yet discussed is wherein the first high-frequency power supply circuit includes an impedance matching circuit that is connected to a first high-frequency power supply, a filter circuit that shields an input with the high-frequency power at the second frequency that is applied to the power supply line, and a voltage measurement part that is connected between the impedance matching circuit and the filter circuit and measures a high-frequency voltage that is output to the stage from impedance matching, and the resonant circuit is connected to the power supply line between the stage and the filter circuit.
Regarding claim 4:
Yamazawa teaches the first high-frequency power supply (Fig. 6) circuit includes an impedance matching circuit (item 35) that is connected to a first high-frequency power supply (item 36), a filter circuit that shields an input with the high-frequency power at the second frequency that is applied to the power supply line (62b, 62c), and the resonant circuit is connected to the power supply line between the stage and the filter circuit. (Fig. 6 – item 60a for example).
Hammond, IV et al. teach a voltage measurement part that measures a high-frequency voltage and adjusts the capacitor. (Paragraph 0050; Figs. 5, 6)
The motivation for utilizing the features of Hammond, IV et al. is that it allows for controlling RF voltage. (Paragraph 0050)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified Yamazawa by utilizing the features of Hammond, IV et al. because it allows for controlling RF voltage applied.
Claim(s) 5 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamazawa in view of Hammond, IV et al. as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Marakhtanov et al. (U.S. PGPUB. 2013/0260567 A1).
DEPENDENT CLAIM 5:
The difference not yet discussed is wherein the capacitor is a variable capacitor capable of adjusting a capacitance value, the plasma processing apparatus further comprising a control unit that controls a capacitance value of the capacitor so that a voltage value measured by the voltage measurement part becomes minimum.
Hammond, IV et al. teach a control unit for controlling a variable capacitor as discussed above.
Marakhtanov et al. teach controlling to reach a minimum voltage. (Paragraphs 0065, 0090)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 9:
The combination of Hammond, IV et al. and Marakhtanov et al. teach a control method for the plasma processing apparatus, the resonant circuit being an LC series resonant circuit including a coil and a variable capacitor, comprising: measuring a high-frequency voltage at the first frequency that is input to the stage; and controlling a capacitance value of the variable capacitor so that the high-frequency voltage becomes minimum. (See Hammond, IV et al. and Marakhtanov et al. discussed above)
The motivation for utilizing the features of Marakhtanov et al. is that it allows for operating in the resonant point. (Paragraph 0065)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have utilized the features of Marakhtanov et al. because it allows for operating in the resonant point.
Conclusion
/RODNEY G MCDONALD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794
RM
July 16, 2026