CTNF 18/807,324 CTNF 101547 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority This application claims priority to U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 63/520,419 filed August 18, 2023. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 18-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Shimoda et al (US Publication No. 20230254185 and Shimoda hereinafter) . Regarding Claim 18 , Shimoda discloses a first apparatus (i.e., “A user equipment device (hereinafter, referred to as a “user equipment (UE)”) 202 that is a communication terminal device is capable of radio communication with a base station device (hereinafter, referred to as a “base station (E-UTRAN Node B: eNB)”) 203 and transmits and receives signals through radio communication.”) Para [0123] comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (i.e., “First, a transmission data buffer unit 303 stores (i.e. memory) the control data from a protocol processing unit 301 (i.e. processor) and the user data from an application unit 302”) Para [0136] , cause the first apparatus at least to: receive, from a second apparatus, configuration information (i.e. “ The E-UTRAN is composed of one or a plurality of base stations 203, provided that a control protocol for the user equipment 202 such as a radio resource control (RRC), and user planes (hereinafter also referred to as “U-planes”) such as a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP), radio link control (RLC), medium access control (MAC), or physical layer (PHY) are terminated in the base station 203. The control protocol radio resource control (RRC) between the user equipment 202 and the base station 203 performs, for example, broadcast, paging, and RRC connection management. The states of the base station 203 and the user equipment 202 in RRC are classified into RRC_IDLE and RRC_CONNECTED. In RRC_IDLE, public land mobile network (PLMN) selection, system information (SI) broadcast, paging, cell re-selection, mobility, and the like are performed. In RRC_CONNECTED, the user equipment has RRC connection and is capable of transmitting and receiving data to and from a network. In RRC_CONNECTED, for example, handover (HO) and measurement of a neighbor cell are performed.”) Para [0125-0127] indicating: a first conditional cell change configuration (i.e., “In a case where CA is configured, a UE has a single RRC connection with a network (NW). In RRC connection, one serving cell provides NAS mobility information and security input. This cell is referred to as a primary cell (PCell). In downlink, a carrier corresponding to PCell is a downlink primary component carrier (DL PCC). In uplink, a carrier corresponding to PCell is an uplink primary component carrier (UL PCC).”) Para [0039] associated with a first candidate cell of the first apparatus (i.e., “The base station notifies, in advance, the UE of candidates for the SRS transmission resources which are configured for the UEs being served thereby. ”) Para [0184] and (i.e. “For eNBs that perform dual connectivity (DC), one may be referred to as a master eNB (abbreviated as MeNB), and the other may be referred to as a secondary eNB (abbreviated as SeNB).”) Para [0044] , and a second conditional cell change configuration (i.e., “In a case where CA is configured, a UE has a single RRC connection with a network (NW). In RRC connection, one serving cell provides NAS mobility information and security input. This cell is referred to as a primary cell (PCell)... A secondary cell (SCell) is configured to form a serving cell group with a PCell, in accordance with the UE capability. In downlink, a carrier corresponding to SCell is a downlink secondary component carrier (DL SCC). In uplink, a carrier corresponding to SCell is an uplink secondary component carrier (UL SCC). A serving cell group of one PCell and one or more SCells is configured for one UE.”) Para [0039-0041] associated with a second candidate cell of the first apparatus (i.e., “The base station notifies, in advance, the UE of candidates for the SRS transmission resources which are configured for the UEs being served thereby. ”) Para [0184] and (i.e. “For eNBs that perform dual connectivity (DC), one may be referred to as a master eNB (abbreviated as MeNB), and the other may be referred to as a secondary eNB (abbreviated as SeNB).”) Para [0044] ; and in accordance with a determination that a first condition for switching to the first candidate cell is met (i.e., “In RRC_IDLE (i.e. first condition), public land mobile network (PLMN) selection, system information (SI) broadcast, paging, cell re-selection, mobility, and the like are performed. In RRC_CONNECTED, the user equipment has RRC connection and is capable of transmitting and receiving data to and from a network. In RRC_CONNECTED, for example, handover (HO) and measurement of a neighbor cell are performed.”) Para [0127] , continue to evaluate a second condition for switching to the second candidate cell within a period (i.e., “In RRC_IDLE, public land mobile network (PLMN) selection, system information (SI) broadcast, paging, cell re-selection, mobility, and the like are performed. In RRC_CONNECTED, the user equipment has RRC connection and is capable of transmitting and receiving data to and from a network. In RRC_CONNECTED (i.e. second condition), for example, handover (HO) and measurement of a neighbor cell are performed.”) Para [0127] , wherein a time length of the period is associated with the following: a first time length required for decoding a handover configuration used for switching to the first candidate cell (i.e., “The received signal is converted from a radio reception frequency into a baseband signal by the frequency converting unit 306 and is then demodulated by a demodulating unit 308. The demodulated data is passed to a decoding unit 309, and is subjected to a decoding process such as error correction. Among the pieces of decoded data, the control data is passed to the protocol processing unit 301, and the user data is passed to the application unit 302. A series of processes by the user equipment 202 is controlled by a control unit 310.”) Para [0137] , and a second time length corresponding to an execution preparation time length for switching to the first candidate cell (i.e., “FIG. 38 illustrates the PUSCH scheduling using the PDCCH in the middle of a slot. FIG. 38 illustrates an example where the uplink slot length is shorter than the downlink slot length. FIG. 38 also illustrates an example using both of the PDCCH in the beginning of a slot and the PDCCH in the middle of the slot.”) Para [0787] ; continue to evaluate the second condition for switching to the second candidate cell (i.e., “In RRC_CONNECTED, the user equipment has RRC connection and is capable of transmitting and receiving data to and from a network. In RRC_CONNECTED (i.e. second condition), for example, handover (HO) and measurement of a neighbor cell are performed.”) Para [0123] within the period before an interruption caused by performing a Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) transmission (i.e., “A physical random access channel (PRACH) is a channel for uplink transmission from the communication terminal to the base station.”) Para [0014] and (i.e., “The PRACH or the PUCCH may be transmitted in one active UL-BWP. The gNB should notify the UE of information on the active UL-BWP. The gNB may notify the UE of the information together with the information on the active BWP. ”) Para [0756] ; determine a communication quality of the second candidate cell (i.e., “A physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) is a channel for uplink transmission from a communication terminal to a base station. The PUCCH carries Ack/Nack that is a response signal to downlink transmission. The PUCCH carries a channel quality indicator (CQI) report. The CQI is quality information indicating the quality of received data or channel quality.”) Para [0012] ; in response to a difference between the communication quality and a communication quality (i.e., “The priorities may be statically determined, for example, in a standard, or determined by the base station. The priorities may be determined using the qualities required for the PUCCH and the SRS, or according to the types of operations of the PUCCH and the SRS. The required qualities may be, for example, information on the QoS (i.e. Quality of Service). Examples of the types of operations of the PUCCH and the SRS may include types of a periodic PUCCH, a semi-persistent PUCCH, and an aperiodic PUCCH, and types of a periodic SRS, a semi-persistent SRS, and an aperiodic SRS. Using the aforementioned examples, the aperiodic PUCCH may be prioritized over the periodic SRS or the semi-persistent SRS, or the aperiodic SRS may be prioritized over the periodic PUCCH or the semi-persistent PUCCH. As another example, the periodic PUCCH or the semi-persistent PUCCH may be prioritized over the periodic SRS or the semi-persistent SRS and vice versa. As another example, the aperiodic PUCCH may be prioritized over the aperiodic SRS and vice versa.”) Para [0493] required by the second condition (i.e., “In RRC_IDLE, public land mobile network (PLMN) selection, system information (SI) broadcast, paging, cell re-selection, mobility, and the like are performed. In RRC_CONNECTED, the user equipment has RRC connection and is capable of transmitting and receiving data to and from a network. In RRC_CONNECTED (i.e. second condition), for example, handover (HO) and measurement of a neighbor cell are performed.”) Para [0127] being below a threshold quality cell (i.e., “ The base station device 203 (i.e., second apparatus) may configure a single cell or a plurality of cells. Each cell has a range predetermined (i.e. threshold) as a coverage in which the cell can communicate with the user equipment 202 and performs radio communication with the user equipment 202 within the coverage. In a case where one base station device 203 configures a plurality of cells, every cell is configured so as to communicate with the user equipment 202.”) Para [0135] , continue to evaluate the second condition (i.e., “In RRC_CONNECTED, the user equipment has RRC connection and is capable of transmitting and receiving data to and from a network. In RRC_CONNECTED (i.e. second condition), for example, handover (HO) and measurement of a neighbor cell are performed.”) Para [0123] ; and in accordance with a determination that the second condition for switching to the second candidate cell is met (i.e., “A BWP is configured every serving cell, and the communication is performed within the configured BWP.”) Para [0525] and (i.e., “The configuration of the sounding BWP may be statically predetermined, for example, in a standard. This can reduce the amount of signaling. The gNB notifies the UE of switching to the sounding BWP. The gNB may perform the switching by selecting a sounding BWP to be used next from among one or more sounding BWPs that have been configured for the UE. The gNB may switch from the BWP for communication other than those for sounding to the sounding BWP, or switch between the sounding BWPs. The gNB notifies the UE of information for the switching. Upon receipt of the information for the switching, the UE switches to the sounding BWP according to the information.”) Para [0707-0708] within the period (i.e., “a sounding BWP configuration duration (i.e. period). These may be configured per radio frame, per subframe, per slot, per mini-slot (non-slot), or per symbol. Alternatively, (3) to (5) may be configured per time unit such as per millisecond.”)Para [0717] , trigger a switch to the first and second candidate cells (i.e., “The information for the switching may be notified dedicatedly to each UE, for each UE group, or for each cell. When giving the notification for each cell, the gNB may include the information for the switching in the broadcast information to broadcast the information. The method for notifying the information for the switching may be the RRC signaling. Another notification method may be the MAC signaling. The notification to the switching can be expedited.”) Para [0718] , wherein the first apparatus is served by a first serving cell and a second serving cell (i.e., “A BWP is configured every serving cell, and the communication is performed within the configured BWP.”) Para [0525] and (i.e., “In FIG. 36, the base station transmits each of PDCCHs 5101, 5102, and 5103 to the UE. Although each of the PDCCHs 5101 and 5102 includes information on the PUSCH to be allocated after two slots and transmitted using the BWP #1, they do not include an instruction for switching between the BWPs. The PDCCH 5103 includes information on the PUSCH to be allocated after two slots in the BWP #2, and an instruction for switching from the BWP (i.e. first serving cell) to the BWP #2 (i.e. second serving cell)”) Para [0771] . Regarding Claim 25, Shimoda suggests all the limitations of claim 18 in system form rather than device form. Shimoda also discloses system (i.e., ” a communication system with high reliability”) Para [0079]. Therefore, the rejection of claim 18 applies equally as well to the limitations of claim 25. Regarding Claim 32 , Shimoda suggests all the limitations of claim 18 in method form rather than device form. Shimoda also discloses method (i.e., “ a cell search method in a mobile communication system ”) Para [0146]. Therefore, the rejection of claim 18 applies equally as well to the limitations of claim 32. Regarding Claim 19, Claim 26 and Claim 33 , Shimoda discloses all the limitations of claims 18, 25, and 32 respectively, as discussed above. Further Shimoda discloses wherein the first apparatus is configured to allow to continue to evaluate the second condition after an indication is received from a second apparatus that serves the first apparatus, the indication indicating that the first apparatus is allowed to continue to evaluate the second condition after the first condition is met (i.e., “In RRC_IDLE, public land mobile network (PLMN) selection, system information (SI) broadcast, paging, cell re-selection, mobility, and the like are performed. In RRC_CONNECTED, the user equipment has RRC connection and is capable of transmitting and receiving data to and from a network. In RRC_CONNECTED (i.e. second condition), for example, handover (HO) and measurement of a neighbor cell are performed.”) Para [0127] . Regarding Claim 20, Claim 27 and Claim 34 , Shimoda discloses all the limitations of claims 19, 26, and 33 respectively, as discussed above. Further Shimoda discloses wherein the threshold quality is configured by a second apparatus that serves the first apparatus (i.e., “ The base station device 203 (i.e., second apparatus) may configure a single cell or a plurality of cells. Each cell has a range predetermined (i.e. threshold) as a coverage in which the cell can communicate with the user equipment 202 and performs radio communication with the user equipment 202 within the coverage. In a case where one base station device 203 configures a plurality of cells, every cell is configured so as to communicate with the user equipment 202.”) Para [0135] . Regarding Claim 21, Claim 28 and Claim 35 , Shimoda discloses all the limitations of claims 20, 27, and 36 respectively, as discussed above. Further Shimoda discloses wherein the period (i.e., “a sounding BWP configuration duration (i.e. period). These may be configured per radio frame, per subframe, per slot, per mini-slot (non-slot), or per symbol. Alternatively, (3) to (5) may be configured per time unit such as per millisecond.”)Para [0717] is configured by a second apparatus that serves the first apparatus (i.e., “The gNB notifies the UE of information on the configuration of the sounding BWP to configure the sounding BWP. The UE configures the sounding BWP with the information on the sounding BWP notified from the gNB. The notification method may be the RRC signaling. The gNB may notify the information on the sounding BWP dedicatedly to each UE, for each UE group, or for each cell. When giving the notification for each cell, the gNB may include the information on the sounding BWP in the broadcast information to broadcast the information.”) Para [0706] . Regarding Claim 22, Claim 29 and Claim 36 , Shimoda discloses all the limitations of claims 21, 28, and 35 respectively, as discussed above. Further Shimoda discloses wherein the first serving cell is a primary cell (PCell), and the second serving cell is a primary secondary cell (PSCell) (i.e., “In a case where CA is configured, a UE has a single RRC connection with a network (NW). In RRC connection, one serving cell provides NAS mobility information and security input. This cell is referred to as a primary cell (PCell)... A secondary cell (SCell) is configured to form a serving cell group with a PCell, in accordance with the UE capability. In downlink, a carrier corresponding to SCell is a downlink secondary component carrier (DL SCC). In uplink, a carrier corresponding to SCell is an uplink secondary component carrier (UL SCC). A serving cell group of one PCell and one or more SCells is configured for one UE.”) Para [0039-0040] . Regarding Claim 23 and Claim 30 , Shimoda discloses all the limitations of claims 22 and 29, respectively, as discussed above. Further Shimoda discloses wherein the first candidate cell is a candidate PCell and the second candidate cell is a candidate PSCell (i.e., “In a case where CA is configured, a UE has a single RRC connection with a network (NW). In RRC connection, one serving cell provides NAS mobility information and security input. This cell is referred to as a primary cell (PCell)... A secondary cell (SCell) is configured to form a serving cell group with a PCell, in accordance with the UE capability. In downlink, a carrier corresponding to SCell is a downlink secondary component carrier (DL SCC). In uplink, a carrier corresponding to SCell is an uplink secondary component carrier (UL SCC). A serving cell group of one PCell and one or more SCells is configured for one UE.”) Para [0039-0040] . Regarding Claim 24, Claim 31 , Shimoda discloses all the limitations of claims 23 and 30, respectively, as discussed above. Further Shimoda discloses wherein the first apparatus is a terminal device (i.e., “A user equipment device (hereinafter, referred to as a “user equipment (UE)”) 202 that is a communication terminal device is capable of radio communication with a base station device (hereinafter, referred to as a “base station (E-UTRAN Node B: eNB)”) 203 and transmits and receives signals through radio communication.”) Para [0123] . Regarding Claim 37 Shimoda discloses all the limitations of claim 36 as discussed above. Further Shimoda discloses wherein the first candidate cell is a candidate PCell and the second candidate cell is a candidate PSCell (i.e., “In a case where CA is configured, a UE has a single RRC connection with a network (NW). In RRC connection, one serving cell provides NAS mobility information and security input. This cell is referred to as a primary cell (PCell)... A secondary cell (SCell) is configured to form a serving cell group with a PCell, in accordance with the UE capability. In downlink, a carrier corresponding to SCell is a downlink secondary component carrier (DL SCC). In uplink, a carrier corresponding to SCell is an uplink secondary component carrier (UL SCC). A serving cell group of one PCell and one or more SCells is configured for one UE.”) Para [0039-0040] , and wherein the first apparatus is a terminal device (i.e., “A user equipment device (hereinafter, referred to as a “user equipment (UE)”) 202 that is a communication terminal device is capable of radio communication with a base station device (hereinafter, referred to as a “base station (E-UTRAN Node B: eNB)”) 203 and transmits and receives signals through radio communication.”) Para [0123] . Pertinent Prior Art The prior art made of record is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Shimoda (US 20230254185 A1) “COMMUNICATION SYSTEM, BASE STATION AND TERMINAL DEVICE” (August 10, 2023) discloses a plurality of user apparatuses each of which is configured to transmit a sounding reference signal (SRS); and a base station configured to wirelessly communicate with the plurality of the user apparatuses. The user apparatus receives, from the base station, configuration information related to a wireless resource of the sounding reference signal allocated to another user apparatus. Zhu (US 20230413152 A1) “AI/ML BASED MOBILITY RELATED PREDICTION FOR HANDOVER” (December 21, 2023) discloses a source network node and a UE may obtain at least one mobility related prediction associated with the UE or at least one target network node, the at least one mobility related prediction being derived by at least one neural network, and the source network node may handover the UE from the source network node to the at least one target network node based on the at least one mobility related prediction. The target network node may receive the handover request, obtain at least one mobility related prediction associated with the UE or the target network node, and output for transmission a handover request ACK, the handover request ACK based at least in part on the at least one mobility related prediction. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Iyonda L. Lewis whose telephone number is (571)272-4440. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 8:00am - 4:00pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Alison Slater can be reached at (571) 270-0375. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /IYONDA L LEWIS/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2647 Iyonda.Lewis@uspto.gov /DIANE D MIZRAHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647 Application/Control Number: 18/807,324 Page 2 Art Unit: 2647 Application/Control Number: 18/807,324 Page 3 Art Unit: 2647 Application/Control Number: 18/807,324 Page 4 Art Unit: 2647 Application/Control Number: 18/807,324 Page 5 Art Unit: 2647 Application/Control Number: 18/807,324 Page 6 Art Unit: 2647 Application/Control Number: 18/807,324 Page 7 Art Unit: 2647 Application/Control Number: 18/807,324 Page 8 Art Unit: 2647 Application/Control Number: 18/807,324 Page 9 Art Unit: 2647 Application/Control Number: 18/807,324 Page 10 Art Unit: 2647 Application/Control Number: 18/807,324 Page 11 Art Unit: 2647 Application/Control Number: 18/807,324 Page 12 Art Unit: 2647 Application/Control Number: 18/807,324 Page 13 Art Unit: 2647 Application/Control Number: 18/807,324 Page 14 Art Unit: 2647