DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a total number of bonding pads of the first plurality of bonding pads is less than three times a total number of nodes of the multiple nodes of the first circuitry” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). Examiner notes that the total number of nodes (item 113) is three and the total number of bonding pads of the first plurality of bonding pads (item 122A) is ten. No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Paragraphs [0044], [0065] and [0151] recites “a total number of bonding pads of the first plurality of bonding pads 122A is less than three times a total number of nodes of the multiple nodes 113 of the first circuitry 112.”... “a total number of bonding pads of the first plurality of bonding pads 372A is less than three times a total number of nodes of the multiple nodes 363 of the second circuitry 362 “…“a total number of bonding pads of the first plurality of bonding pads is less than three times a total number of nodes of the multiple nodes of the first circuitry”. The Examiner fails to see support within the drawings. Examiner notes that the total number of multiple nodes (item 113, 363) is three, and the total number of bonding pads of the first plurality of bonding pads (item 122A) is ten.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 2 recites “total number of bonding pads of the first plurality of bonding pads is less than three times a total number of nodes of the multiple nodes of the first circuitry”. The Examiner fails to see support in the drawings. Is the recitation supposed to read as “a total number of bonding pads of the first plurality of bonding pads is greater than three times a total number of nodes of the multiple nodes of the first circuitry”? (Ten total firsts plurality of bonding pads, 3 multiple nodes). Appropriate correction is required. For the purpose of examination, the Examiner is taking this to read as “a total number of bonding pads of the first plurality of bonding pads is greater than three times a total number of nodes of the multiple nodes of the first circuitry”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Na et al. (Na) (US 2016/0358655 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Na (Abstract, claims 2-4,12-19, paragraphs 10-12, 20-22, 107, Figs. 1-7 and associated text/items) discloses a device (items 10, 20) comprising: a die (items 300, 600) including: first circuitry (items 330, 630) including multiple nodes (items 332, 632); multiple bonding pads (items 320-1 to 320-4, 621-1 to 62n-m) including a first plurality of bonding pads (items 320-1 to 320-4, 621-1 to 62n-m); (first) pad configuration circuitry (item PCS1 to PCSn) configured to, based on a routing configuration, selectively connect the multiple nodes (items 332, 632) of the first circuitry (items 330, 630) to a first set of bonding pads of the first plurality of bonding pads (items 320-1 to 320-4, 621-1 to 62n-m); and control circuitry (items 332 plus 333, 632 plus 633) connected to the pad configuration circuitry (item PCS1 to PCSn), the control circuitry (items 332 plus 333, 632 plus 633) configured to obtain the routing configuration (paragraphs 10-12, 20-22, claims 2-4, 12-19, Figs. 3, 7).
In regards to claim 3, Na (Abstract, claims 2-4,12-19, paragraphs 10-12, 20-22, 107, Figs. 1-7 and associated text/items) discloses further comprising: multiple conductive paths conductively (shown but not labeled) coupled to the pad configuration circuitry (item PCS1 to PCSn), and wherein: each conductive path of the multiple conductive paths (shown but not labeled) corresponds to a different bonding pad of the first plurality of bonding pads (items 320-1 to 320-4, 621-1 to 62n-m), the multiple bonding pads include a second plurality of bonding pads (any two of items 320-1 to 320-4, 210, items 621-1, 622-2, 62n-m, items 511-51n) coupled to the control circuitry (items 332 plus 333, 632 plus 633), and the second plurality of bonding pads (any two of items 320-1 to 320-4, 210, items 621-1, 622-2, 62n-m, items 511-51n) is configured to enable communication between the control circuitry (items 332 plus 333, 632 plus 633) of the die (items 300, 600) and control circuitry (not shown) of a second die (item 200, 500) coupled to the die (item 300, 600).
In regards to claim 16, Na (Abstract, claims 2-4,12-19, paragraphs 10-12, 20-22, 107, Figs. 1-7 and associated text/items) discloses a method of operation of a stack of dies (items 300 plus 200 or 600 plus 500), the method comprising: obtaining a first routing configuration (line routes of items PCS1 to PCSn) associated with first multiple nodes (items 332, 632) of first circuitry (items 330, 630) of a first die (items 300, 600) and a first plurality of bonding pads of the first die (items 300, 600), the first die items 300, 600) communicatively coupled to a second die (items 200, 500); and selectively connecting, based on the first routing configuration (line routes of items PCS1 to PCSn), the first multiple nodes (items 332, 632) of the first circuitry (items 330, 630) to a first set of bonding pads (items 320-1 to 320-4, 621-1 to 62n-m) of the first plurality of bonding pads (items 320-1 to 320-4, 621-1 to 62n-m) of the first die (items 300, 600).
In regards to claim 17, Na (Abstract, claims 2-4,12-19, paragraphs 10-12, 20-22, 107, Figs. 1-7 and associated text/items) discloses wherein selectively connecting the multiple nodes (items 332, 632) of the first circuitry (items 330, 630) and the first set of bonding pads (items 320-1 to 320-4, 621-1 to 62n-m) of the plurality of bonding pads (items 320-1 to 320-4, 621-1 to 62n-m) includes configuring first pad configuration circuitry (pad configuration of items PCS1 to PCSn) of the first die (items 300, 600).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Na et al. (Na) (US 2016/0358655 A1).
In regards to claim 2, Na (Abstract, claims 2-4,12-19, paragraphs 10-12, 20-22, 107, Figs. 1-7 and associated text/items) does not specifically disclose wherein: a total number of bonding pads of the first plurality of bonding pads is less/greater than three times a total number of nodes of the multiple nodes of the first circuitry; and the routing configuration indicates: the first set of bonding pads, and for each node of the multiple nodes, a corresponding bonding pad of the first set of bonding pads. Examiner notes that the total number of nodes (item 113) is three and the total number of bonding pads of the first plurality of bonding pads (item 122A) is ten.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the invention to include a total number of bonding pads of the first plurality of bonding pads being less or greater than three times a total number of nodes of the multiple nodes of the first circuitry, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)).
Claim(s) 3-15 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Na et al. (Na) (US 2016/0358655 A1) as evidenced by or view of Lee et al. (Lee) (US 2022/0108964 A1).
In regards to claim 3, Na (Abstract, claims 2-4,12-19, paragraphs 10-12, 20-22, 107, Figs. 1-7 and associated text/items) discloses further comprising: multiple conductive paths conductively (shown but not labeled) coupled to the pad configuration circuitry (item PCS1 to PCSn), and wherein: each conductive path of the multiple conductive paths (shown but not labeled) corresponds to a different bonding pad of the first plurality of bonding pads (items 320-1 to 320-4, 621-1 to 62n-m), the multiple bonding pads include a second plurality of bonding pads (any two of items 320-1 to 320-4, 210, items 621-1, 622-2, 62n-m, items 511-51n) coupled to the control circuitry (items 332 plus 333, 632 plus 633), and the second plurality of bonding pads (any two of items 320-1 to 320-4, 210, items 621-1, 622-2, 62n-m, items 511-51n) is configured to enable communication between the control circuitry (items 332 plus 333, 632 plus 633) of the die (items 300, 600) and control circuitry (not shown) of a second die (item 200, 500) coupled to the die (item 300, 600).
As evidenced by Lee, (Figs. 1-2E and associated text), two die (items 102 and 104) with the same structure (control circuitry, interface circuitry, bonding pads, conducting/signal paths, etc.; ) can be bonded to each other.
It would have been obvious to modify the invention to include a second die with control circuitry, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art (St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193
USPQ 8).
In regards to claim 4, Na (Abstract, claims 2-4,12-19, paragraphs 10-12, 20-22, 107, Figs. 1-7 and associated text/items) as modified by Lee, (Figs. 1-2E and associated text), discloses wherein the control circuitry (items 332 plus 333, 632 plus 633, Na) is configured to: communicate with second control circuitry (not shown, Na, items 108 or 110, Lee) of a second die (items 200, 500, Na, items 102 or 104, Lee) to synchronize communication between the die (items 300, 600, Na, items 102 or 104, Lee) and the second die (items 200, 500, Na, items 102 or 104, Lee); and initiate a test operation between the die (items 300, 600, Na, items 102 or 104, Lee) and the second die (items 200, 500, Na, items 102 or 104, Lee), the test operation initiated based on power-up of the die (items 300, 600, Na, items 102 or 104, Lee), power-up of the second die (items 200, 500, Na, items 102 or 104, Lee), expiration of a time period, or on detection of a failure of a conductive path between the die (items 300, 600, Na, items 102 or 104, Lee) and the second die (items 200, 500, Na, items 102 or 104, Lee). Examiner notes that the Applicant is relying of functional language. The Applicant needs to claim the structure of the control circuitry which gives rise to this functionality. These seem to be functionality which requires instructions stored on a non-transitory storage computer-readable storage medium.
In regards to claim 5, Na (Abstract, claims 2-4,12-19, paragraphs 10-12, 20-22, 107, Figs. 1-7 and associated text/items) as modified by Lee, (Figs. 1-2E and associated text), discloses wherein the control circuitry (items 332 plus 333, 632 plus 633, Nam, items 108 or 110, Lee) is configured to receive the routing configuration from second control circuitry (not shown, Na, items 108 or 110, Lee) of a second die (items 200, 500, Na, items 102 or 104, Lee) coupled to the die (items 300, 600, Na, items 102 or 104, Lee). Examiner notes that the Applicant is relying of functional language. The Applicant needs to claim the structure of the control circuitry which gives rise to this functionality. These seem to be functionality which requires instructions stored on a non-transitory storage computer-readable storage medium.
In regards to claim 6, Na (Abstract, claims 2-4,12-19, paragraphs 10-12, 20-22, 107, Figs. 1-7 and associated text/items) as modified by Lee, (Figs. 1-2E and associated text), discloses wherein the die (items 300, 600, Na, items 102 or 104, Lee) further includes detector circuitry (items 108 or 110, paragraph 23, text circuitry) configured to generate test data that indicates one or more defective conductive paths, one or more available conductive paths, or a combination thereof. Examiner notes that the Applicant is relying of functional language. The Applicant needs to claim the structure of the detector circuitry which gives rise to this functionality. These seem to be functionality which requires instructions stored on a non-transitory storage computer-readable storage medium.
In regards to claim 7, Na (Abstract, claims 2-4,12-19, paragraphs 10-12, 20-22, 107, Figs. 1-7 and associated text/items) as modified by Lee, (paragraph 23, Figs. 1-2E and associated text), discloses wherein, to perform a test operation associated with at least one conductive path between the die (items 300, 600, Na, items 102 or 104, Lee) and the second die (items 200, 500, Na, items 102 or 104, Lee), the detector circuitry (items 108 or 110, paragraph 23) is configured to: receive, from the second die (items 200, 500, Na, items 102 or 104, Lee), a first signal via a first conductive path of the at least one conductive path, the first conductive path including a bonding pad of the first plurality of bonding pads (items 320-1 to 320-4, 621-1 to 62n-m , Na, items 106 or 112, Lee); and generate test data that indicates whether the first conductive path is defective or available for use. Examiner notes that the Applicant is relying of functional language. The Applicant needs to claim the structure of the detector circuitry which gives rise to this functionality. These seem to be functionality which requires instructions stored on a non-transitory storage computer-readable storage medium.
In regards to claim 8, Na (Abstract, claims 2-4,12-19, paragraphs 10-12, 20-22, 107, Figs. 1-7 and associated text/items) as modified by Lee, (paragraph 23, Figs. 1-2E and associated text, discloses wherein, to obtain the routing configuration, the control circuitry (items 332 plus 333, 632 plus 633, Nam, items 108 or 110, Lee) is configured to generate the routing configuration based on the test data, a mapping table, one or more routing constraints associated with the multiple nodes, or a combination thereof. Examiner notes that the Applicant is relying of functional language. The Applicant needs to claim the structure of the control circuitry which gives rise to this functionality. These seem to be functionality which requires instructions stored on a non-transitory storage computer-readable storage medium.
In regards to claim 9, Na (Abstract, claims 2-4,12-19, paragraphs 10-12, 20-22, 107, Figs. 1-7 and associated text/items) as modified by Lee, (paragraph 23, Figs. 1-2E and associated text) discloses wherein the control circuitry (items 332 plus 333, 632 plus 633, Nam, items 108 or 110, Lee) is configured to provide the test data to a machine learning (ML) model that is trained to generate the routing configuration. Examiner notes that the Applicant is relying of functional language. The Applicant needs to claim the structure of the control circuitry which gives rise to this functionality. These seem to be functionality which requires instructions stored on a non-transitory storage computer-readable storage medium.
In regards to claim 10, Na (Abstract, claims 2-4,12-19, paragraphs 10-12, 20-22, 107, Figs. 1-7 and associated text/items) as modified by Lee, (paragraph 23, Figs. 1-2E and associated text) discloses wherein: the control circuitry (items 332 plus 333, 632 plus 633, Nam, items 108 or 110, Lee) is configured to: identify a first defective conductive path associated with a first bonding pad included in the first set of bonding pads; and obtain a second routing configuration based on the identified first defective conductive path; and the pad configuration circuitry is configured to, based on the second routing configuration, selectively connect the multiple nodes of the first circuitry to a second set of bonding pads of the first plurality of bonding pads.
In regards to claim 11, Na (Abstract, claims 2-4,12-19, paragraphs 10-12, 20-22, 107, Figs. 1-7 and associated text/items) as modified by Lee, (paragraph 23, Figs. 1-2E and associated text) discloses further comprising: a second die items 200, 500, Na, items 102 or 104, Lee) communicatively coupled to the die (items 200, 500, Na, items 102 or 104, Lee), wherein the second die (items 200, 500, Na, items 102 or 104, Lee) includes: second circuitry including multiple nodes; a second plurality of bonding pads; second pad configuration circuitry configured to, based on the routing configuration, selectively connect the multiple nodes of the second circuitry to a first set of bonding pads of the second plurality of bonding pads of the second die; and second control circuitry connected to the second pad configuration circuitry, the second control circuitry configured to obtain the routing configuration.
As evidenced by Lee, (Figs. 1-2E and associated text), two die (items 102 and 104) with the same structure (control circuitry, interface circuitry, bonding pads, conducting/signal paths, etc.; ) can be bonded to each other.
It would have been obvious to modify the invention to include a second die with control circuitry, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art (St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193
USPQ 8).
In regards to claim 12, Na (Abstract, claims 2-4,12-19, paragraphs 10-12, 20-22, 107, Figs. 1-7 and associated text/items) as modified by Lee, (paragraph 23, Figs. 1-2E and associated text) discloses further comprising: a chip stack (items 300 plus 200, 600 plus 500, Na, items 104 plus 102), Lee) that includes: the die (items 300, 600, Na, items 104 or 102, Lee) communicatively coupled to the second die (items 200, 500, Na, items 104 or 102, Lee); and a third die (items 104 or 102, Lee) communicatively coupled to the die (items 300, 600, Na, items 104 plus 102, Lee), and wherein the die (items 300, 600, Na, items 104 or 102, Lee) is communicatively coupled to the second die (items 200, 500, Na, items 104 or 102, Lee) based on a copper-to-copper hybrid bonding (paragraphs 12, 37, Lee).
In regards to claim 13, Na (Abstract, claims 2-4,12-19, paragraphs 10-12, 20-22, 107, Figs. 1-7 and associated text/items) discloses a method of fabrication, the method comprising: obtaining a first die (items 300, 600) that includes: first circuitry (items 330, 630) including multiple nodes (items 332, 632); multiple bonding pads (items 320-1 to 320-4, 621-1 to 62n-m) including a first plurality of bonding pads (items 320-1 to 320-4, 621-1 to 62n-m); and first pad configuration circuitry (item PCS1 to PCSn) configured to selectively connect the first multiple nodes of the first circuitry (items 330, 630) to a first set of bonding pads (items 320-1 to 320-4, 621-1 to 62n-m) of the first plurality of bonding pads (items 320-1 to 320-4, 621-1 to 62n-m) of the first die (items 300, 600); and communicatively coupling the first die (items 300, 600) to a second die (items 200, 500), wherein the second die items 200, 500) includes: second circuitry (memory circuitry, paragraph 55); multiple bonding pads (210, items 511-51n) including a second plurality of bonding pads (210, items 511-51n); and second pad configuration circuitry (shown but not labeled, signal lines) configured to selectively connect the second multiple the second circuitry (memory circuitry) to a first set of bonding pads (210, items 511-51n) of the second plurality of bonding pads (210, items 511-51n) of the second die (items 200, 500), but does not specifically disclose wherein the second die includes: second circuitry including second multiple nodes; multiple bonding pads including a second plurality of bonding pads; and second pad configuration circuitry configured to selectively connect the second multiple nodes of the second circuitry to a first set of bonding pads of the second plurality of bonding pads of the second die.
As evidenced by Lee, (Figs. 1-2E and associated text), two die (items 102 and 104) with the same structure (control circuitry, interface circuitry, bonding pads, conducting/signal paths, etc.; ) can be bonded to each other.
It would have been obvious to modify the invention to include a second die with control circuitry, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art (St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193
USPQ 8).
In regards to claim 14, Na (Abstract, claims 2-4,12-19, paragraphs 10-12, 20-22, 107, Figs. 1-7 and associated text/items) as modified by Lee, (paragraph 23, Figs. 1-2E and associated text) discloses further comprising: forming the first die (items 300, 600), wherein forming the first die (items 300, 600) includes: forming the first circuitry (items 330, 630); forming the multiple bonding pads (items 320-1 to 320-4, 621-1 to 62n-m); and forming the pad configuration circuitry (item PCS1 to PCSn).
In regards to claim 15, Na (Abstract, claims 2-4,12-19, paragraphs 10-12, 20-22, 107, Figs. 1-7 and associated text/items) as modified by Lee, (paragraph 23, Figs. 1-2E and associated text) discloses wherein, forming the first die (items 300, 600) further includes: forming control circuitry (items 332 plus 333, 632 plus 633, Nam, items 108 or 110, Lee) connected to the pad configuration circuitry (item PCS1 to PCSn), the control circuitry (items 332 plus 333, 632 plus 633, Nam, items 108 or 110, Lee) configured to obtain the routing configuration.
In regards to claim 18, Na (Abstract, claims 2-4,12-19, paragraphs 10-12, 20-22, 107, Figs. 1-7 and associated text/items) as modified by Lee, (paragraph 23, Figs. 1-2E and associated text) discloses obtaining a second routing configuration associated with the first multiple nodes (items 332, 632) of the first circuitry (items 330, 630) and the first plurality of bonding pads (items 320-1 to 320-4, 621-1 to 62n-m); selectively connecting, based on the second routing configuration, the first multiple nodes (items 332, 632) of the first circuitry to a second set of bonding pads (any set of items 320-1 to 320-4, 621-1 to 62n-m) of the first plurality of bonding pads (items 320-1 to 320-4, 621-1 to 62n-m), the second set of bonding pads (any set of items 320-1 to 320-4, 621-1 to 62n-m) different from the first set of bonding pads (items 320-1 to 320-4, 621-1 to 62n-m); and communicating one or more signals between the first die (items 300, 600, Na, items 102 or 104, Lee) and the second die (items 200, 500, Na, items 102 or 104, Lee) via the second set of bonding pads.
In regards to claim 19, Na (Abstract, claims 2-4,12-19, paragraphs 10-12, 20-22, 107, Figs. 1-7 and associated text/items) as modified by Lee, (Figs. 1-2E and associated text), discloses communicating between first control circuitry (items 332 plus 333, 632 plus 633, Na) of the first die (items 300, 600, Na, items 102 or 104, Lee) and second control circuitry (not shown, Na, items 108 or 110, Lee) of the second die (items 200, 500, Na, items 102 or 104, Lee) to synchronize communication between the die (items 300, 600, Na, items 102 or 104, Lee) and the second die (items 200, 500, Na, items 102 or 104, Lee); performing a test operation between the die (items 300, 600, Na, items 102 or 104, Lee) and the second die (items 200, 500, Na, items 102 or 104, Lee), wherein the test operation includes: providing a first signal via a first conductive path between the first die (items 200, 500, Na, items 102 or 104, Lee) and the second die (items 200, 500, Na, items 102 or 104, Lee); and indicating whether the first conductive path is defective or available for use.
In regards to claim 20, Na (Abstract, claims 2-4,12-19, paragraphs 10-12, 20-22, 107, Figs. 1-7 and associated text/items) as modified by Lee, (paragraph 11-23, Figs. 1-2E and associated text) discloses wherein: obtaining the first routing configuration includes determining the first routing configuration based on the first conductive path being defective or available for use (paragraphs 11-23, Lee); and the first routing configuration indicates a configuration of first pad configuration circuitry of the first die (items 300, 600, Na, items 102 or 104, Lee), second pad configuration circuitry of the second die (items 200, 500, Na, items 102 or 104, Lee), or a combination thereof.
Conclusion
TELLY D. GREEN
Examiner
Art Unit 2898
/TELLY D GREEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898 August 17, 2026