DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the application filed on 08/16/2024.
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application 2313083.4 filed in United Kingdom on 08/29/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 09/05/2024 and 04/21/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2024/0196247 A1), in view of Matsumura et al. (US 2023/0276287 A1).
As to claims 1 and 19-20, Zhang discloses the invention as claimed, including an apparatus (Fig. 2, 202) comprising:
at least one processor (Fig. 2, 204), and at least one memory (Fig. 2, 206) storing computer program codes that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to:
receive, from an access node (Fig. 2, 218), configuration information for configuring the apparatus to: perform group-based beam reporting (GBBR) of Layer 1 signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (L1-SINR) measurements, and generate at least one measurement report for the GBBR of the L1-SINR measurements (Fig. 4, 402; ¶0001, “group based Layer 1 Signal to interference plus Noise Ratio (L1-SINR) measurement and report”; ¶0089, “method for a network device (e.g., a gNB) and an example method for a wireless device (e.g., a UE), respectively, in order to support group based L1-SINR measurement and report related to inter-beam interference for beams associated with multiple TRPs included in the network device”; ¶0091, “At 402, a network device (e.g., a gNB) including at least a first TRP and a second TRP may generate a message used for a wireless device (e.g., a UE) to perform L1-SINR measurement”), wherein the at least one measurement report comprises:
a first group of L1-SINR measurements for a first group of beams, and at least one indication of whether one or more L1-SINR measurements of the first group of L1-SINR measurements can be used as one or more L1-SINR measurements of a second group of L1-SINR measurements for a second group of beams (¶0008, “at least a first TRP and a second TRP, may be configured to generate a message used for a wireless device (such as an user equipment (UE)) to perform L1-SINR measurement, wherein the L1-SINR measurement is related to inter-beam interference for beams associated with the first TRP and the second TRP”;
¶0009, “the wireless device may receive the message from the network device, and then perform L1-SINR measurement with respect to multiple CMR pairs at least based on the received message. The wireless device may then send L1-SINR report including L1-SINR measurement results to the network device, wherein the L1-SINR report may include measurement results related to inter-beam interference for beams associated with the first TRP and the second TRP”; ¶0082, “a UE may perform L1-RSRP measurement and L1-SINR measurement for multiple beams transmitted from multiple TRPs or multiple gNBs”; ¶0084, “perform L1-RSRP measurement and L1-SINR measurement for multiple beams transmitted from multiple separate TRPs and the UE may send corresponding reports of L1-RSRP and L1-SINR measurements to the gNB including the multiple TRPs”; ¶0091, “At 402, a network device (e.g., a gNB) including at least a first TRP and a second TRP may generate a message used for a wireless device (e.g., a UE) to perform L1-SINR measurement, wherein the L1-SINR measurement is related to inter-beam interference for beams associated with the first TRP and the second TRP”; ¶0101, “perform the L1-SINR measurement with respect to multiple CMR pairs at least based on the received message, wherein the L1-SINR measurement is related to inter-beam interference for beams associated with the first TRP and the second TRP”; ¶0112, “determine multiple CMR pairs used to perform L1-SINR measurement related to inter-beam interference for Tx beams associated with TRP1 and TRP2 based on the QCL relation information. Each CMR pair of the multiple pairs may include one CMR in CMR set 1 and one CMR in CMR set 2. Each CMR pair (including a CMR in CMR set 1 and a CMR in CMR set 2) used for L1-SINR measurement has a specific linkage, where the IMR in IMR set 1 configured for said CMR in CMR set 1 is QCLed with said CMR in CMR set 2, and the IMR in IMR set 2 configured for said CMR in CMR set 2 is QCLed with said CMR in CMR set 1”; ¶0144);
generate, based at least in part on the configuration information, the at least one measurement report (¶0009, “the wireless device may receive the message from the network device, and then perform L1-SINR measurement with respect to multiple CMR pairs at least based on the received message. The wireless device may then send L1-SINR report including L1-SINR measurement results to the network device, wherein the L1-SINR report may include measurement results related to inter-beam interference for beams associated with the first TRP and the second TRP”; ¶0101, “At 504, the wireless device may perform the L1-SINR measurement with respect to multiple CMR pairs at least based on the received message, wherein the L1-SINR measurement is related to inter-beam interference for beams associated with the first TRP and the second TRP”; ¶0150, “generated based on priori information, which includes at least a report of previous L1 Reference Signal Received Power (L1-RSRP) measurement performed by the wireless device associated with the first TRP and the second TRP”); and
transmit, to the access node, the at least one measurement report (¶0009, “The wireless device may then send L1-SINR report including L1-SINR measurement results to the network device, wherein the L1-SINR report may include measurement results related to inter-beam interference for beams associated with the first TRP and the second TRP”; ¶0084, “a UE may perform L1-RSRP measurement and L1-SINR measurement for multiple beams transmitted from multiple separate TRPs and the UE may send corresponding reports of L1-RSRP and L1-SINR measurements to the gNB including the multiple TRPs”).
Zhang does not specifically disclose wherein the second group of beams comprises at least one of: a subgroup of beams of the first group of beams; and one or more beams that the apparatus is able to simultaneously receive.
However, Matsumura discloses wherein the second group of beams comprises at least one of: a subgroup of beams of the first group of beams; and one or more beams that the apparatus is able to simultaneously receive (Abstract, “based on whether or not signals for the plurality of resource indicators corresponding to a same group can be simultaneously received and the measurement results for each panel, and a transmitting section that transmits the CSI report”; ¶0066, “Note that the two resources (CSI-RS resources, SSB resources) for beam measurement may be simultaneously received by the UE using one spatial domain reception filter”; ¶0083, “Regarding situations in which the multiple group based beam report is used, the following two modes may be considered”; ¶0084, “Mode 1: The UE can simultaneously receive a plurality of beams respectively belonging to different groups”; ¶0085, “Mode 2: The UE can simultaneously receive a plurality of beams belonging to the same group”; ¶0112). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Zhang to include wherein the second group of beams comprises at least one of: a subgroup of beams of the first group of beams; and one or more beams that the apparatus is able to simultaneously receive, as taught by Matsumura because it would increase data throughput and reduce latency (Matsumura; ¶0066; ¶0083-¶0085).
As to claim 2, Zhang discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more L1-SINR measurements of a second group of L1-SINR measurements for a second group of beams are represented in the at least one measurement report via the at least one indication (¶0008, “a second TRP, may be configured to generate a message used for a wireless device (such as an user equipment (UE)) to perform L1-SINR measurement, wherein the L1-SINR measurement is related to inter-beam interference for beams associated with the first TRP and the second TRP”; ¶0009, “the wireless device may receive the message from the network device, and then perform L1-SINR measurement with respect to multiple CMR pairs at least based on the received message. The wireless device may then send L1-SINR report including L1-SINR measurement results to the network device, wherein the L1-SINR report may include measurement results related to inter-beam interference for beams associated with the first TRP and the second TRP”; ¶0091, “a second TRP may generate a message used for a wireless device (e.g., a UE) to perform L1-SINR measurement, wherein the L1-SINR measurement is related to inter-beam interference for beams associated with the first TRP and the second TRP”; ¶0101, “perform the L1-SINR measurement with respect to multiple CMR pairs at least based on the received message, wherein the L1-SINR measurement is related to inter-beam interference for beams associated with the first TRP and the second TRP”; ¶0112, “determine multiple CMR pairs used to perform L1-SINR measurement related to inter-beam interference for Tx beams associated with TRP1 and TRP2 based on the QCL relation information. Each CMR pair of the multiple pairs may include one CMR in CMR set 1 and one CMR in CMR set 2”; ¶0144).
As to claim 3, Zhang discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein at least one indication is indicative of whether one or more L1-SINR measurements, for respective one or more beams, of the first group of L1-SINR measurements are within a threshold difference of the one or more beam’s respective L1-SINR measurements for the second group of beams (¶0135, “the UE may only report one or more measured CMR pairs that achieve the highest channel capacity or that achieve the channel capacity exceeding a pre-defined threshold to the gNB. The gNB establishes knowledge regarding which CMR pair(s) related to TRP1 and TRP2 lead(s) to minimum inter-beam interference”; ¶0142, “the UE may report to the gNB one or more CMR groups that achieve the highest channel capacity or that achieve the channel capacity exceeding a pre-defined threshold. Based on L1-SINR report, the gNB may establish its knowledge regarding which CMR group(s) related to the multiple TRPs lead(s) to minimum inter-beam interference”).
As to claim 4, Zhang discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the L1-SINR measurements for the first group of beams comprise a first set of first measurement values of inter beam interference for each beam of the first group of beams due to the other beams of the first group of beams; and wherein the L1-SINR measurements for the second group of beams comprise a second set of second measurement values of inter beam interference for each beam of the second group of beams due to the other beams of the second group of beams (¶0008, “at least a first TRP and a second TRP, may be configured to generate a message used for a wireless device (such as an user equipment (UE)) to perform L1-SINR measurement, wherein the L1-SINR measurement is related to inter-beam interference for beams associated with the first TRP and the second TRP”; ¶0009, “the wireless device may receive the message from the network device, and then perform L1-SINR measurement with respect to multiple CMR pairs at least based on the received message. The wireless device may then send L1-SINR report including L1-SINR measurement results to the network device, wherein the L1-SINR report may include measurement results related to inter-beam interference for beams associated with the first TRP and the second TRP”; ¶0091, “At 402, a network device (e.g., a gNB) including at least a first TRP and a second TRP may generate a message used for a wireless device (e.g., a UE) to perform L1-SINR measurement, wherein the L1-SINR measurement is related to inter-beam interference for beams associated with the first TRP and the second TRP”; ¶0101, “perform the L1-SINR measurement with respect to multiple CMR pairs at least based on the received message, wherein the L1-SINR measurement is related to inter-beam interference for beams associated with the first TRP and the second TRP”; ¶0112, “determine multiple CMR pairs used to perform L1-SINR measurement related to inter-beam interference for Tx beams associated with TRP1 and TRP2 based on the QCL relation information. Each CMR pair of the multiple pairs may include one CMR in CMR set 1 and one CMR in CMR set 2. Each CMR pair (including a CMR in CMR set 1 and a CMR in CMR set 2) used for L1-SINR measurement has a specific linkage, where the IMR in IMR set 1 configured for said CMR in CMR set 1 is QCLed with said CMR in CMR set 2, and the IMR in IMR set 2 configured for said CMR in CMR set 2 is QCLed with said CMR in CMR set 1”; ¶0144).
As to claim 5, Zhang discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one indication is indicative of whether one or more second L1-SINR measurement values for one or more beams can be represented by one or first L1-SINR measurement values for the respective one or more beams (¶0091, “wherein the L1-SINR measurement is related to inter-beam interference for beams associated with the first TRP”; ¶0167, “a first channel measurement resource (CMR) set including multiple CMRs for the first TRP, and a first interference measurement resource (IMR) set including multiple IMRs for the first TRP, which is corresponding to the first CMR set”).
As to claim 6, Zhang discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program codes, when executed by the at least one processor further cause the apparatus to determine a beam, of the first group of beams, which has a first L1-SINR measurement with inter beam interference from the other beams of the first group of beams that is within a threshold difference of a second L1-SINR measurement for the beam with inter beam interference from the other beams of the second group of beams; and wherein the at least one indication is indicative of whether the first L1-SINR measurement for the determined beam can be used as the second L1-SINR measurement for the determined beam (¶0008, “at least a first TRP and a second TRP, may be configured to generate a message used for a wireless device (such as an user equipment (UE)) to perform L1-SINR measurement, wherein the L1-SINR measurement is related to inter-beam interference for beams associated with the first TRP and the second TRP”; ¶0009, “the wireless device may receive the message from the network device, and then perform L1-SINR measurement with respect to multiple CMR pairs at least based on the received message. The wireless device may then send L1-SINR report including L1-SINR measurement results to the network device, wherein the L1-SINR report may include measurement results related to inter-beam interference for beams associated with the first TRP and the second TRP”; ¶0091, “At 402, a network device (e.g., a gNB) including at least a first TRP and a second TRP may generate a message used for a wireless device (e.g., a UE) to perform L1-SINR measurement, wherein the L1-SINR measurement is related to inter-beam interference for beams associated with the first TRP and the second TRP”; ¶0101, “perform the L1-SINR measurement with respect to multiple CMR pairs at least based on the received message, wherein the L1-SINR measurement is related to inter-beam interference for beams associated with the first TRP and the second TRP”; ¶0112, “determine multiple CMR pairs used to perform L1-SINR measurement related to inter-beam interference for Tx beams associated with TRP1 and TRP2 based on the QCL relation information. Each CMR pair of the multiple pairs may include one CMR in CMR set 1 and one CMR in CMR set 2. Each CMR pair (including a CMR in CMR set 1 and a CMR in CMR set 2) used for L1-SINR measurement has a specific linkage, where the IMR in IMR set 1 configured for said CMR in CMR set 1 is QCLed with said CMR in CMR set 2, and the IMR in IMR set 2 configured for said CMR in CMR set 2 is QCLed with said CMR in CMR set 1”; ¶0135, “the UE may only report one or more measured CMR pairs that achieve the highest channel capacity or that achieve the channel capacity exceeding a pre-defined threshold to the gNB. The gNB establishes knowledge regarding which CMR pair(s) related to TRP1 and TRP2 lead(s) to minimum inter-beam interference”; ¶0142, “the UE may report to the gNB one or more CMR groups that achieve the highest channel capacity or that achieve the channel capacity exceeding a pre-defined threshold. Based on L1-SINR report, the gNB may establish its knowledge regarding which CMR group(s) related to the multiple TRPs lead(s) to minimum inter-beam interference”).
As to claim 7, Zhang discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one measurement report comprises a second group of L1-SINR measurements for the second group of beams; and wherein at least one of the L1-SINR measurements for the second group of beams is represented by the at least one indication (¶0008, “a second TRP, may be configured to generate a message used for a wireless device (such as an user equipment (UE)) to perform L1-SINR measurement, wherein the L1-SINR measurement is related to inter-beam interference for beams associated with the first TRP and the second TRP”; ¶0009, “L1-SINR report including L1-SINR measurement results to the network device, wherein the L1-SINR report may include measurement results related to inter-beam interference for beams associated with the first TRP and the second TRP”; ¶0091, “a second TRP may generate a message used for a wireless device (e.g., a UE) to perform L1-SINR measurement, wherein the L1-SINR measurement is related to inter-beam interference for beams associated with the first TRP and the second TRP”).
As to claim 8, Zhang discloses the apparatus of claim 7, wherein the second group of L1-SINR measurements of the at least one measurement report comprises: the at least one indication for representing the at least one of the L1-SINR measurements for the second group of beams; and at least one L1-SINR measurement value for at least one the L1-SINR measurements for the second group of beams (¶0008, “a second TRP, may be configured to generate a message used for a wireless device (such as an user equipment (UE)) to perform L1-SINR measurement, wherein the L1-SINR measurement is related to inter-beam interference for beams associated with the first TRP and the second TRP”; ¶0009, “L1-SINR report including L1-SINR measurement results to the network device, wherein the L1-SINR report may include measurement results related to inter-beam interference for beams associated with the first TRP and the second TRP”; ¶0091, “a second TRP may generate a message used for a wireless device (e.g., a UE) to perform L1-SINR measurement, wherein the L1-SINR measurement is related to inter-beam interference for beams associated with the first TRP and the second TRP”).
As to claim 9, Zhang discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program codes, when executed by the at least one processor further cause the apparatus to determine a beam, of the first group of beams, which has a first L1-SINR measurement with inter beam interference from the other beams of the first group of beams that exceeds a threshold difference of a second L1-SINR measurement for the beam with inter beam interference from the other beams of the second group of beams; wherein the second L1-SINR measurement for the determined beam is represented in the at least one measurement report via an L1-SINR measurement value for the determined beam (¶0008, “at least a first TRP and a second TRP, may be configured to generate a message used for a wireless device (such as an user equipment (UE)) to perform L1-SINR measurement, wherein the L1-SINR measurement is related to inter-beam interference for beams associated with the first TRP and the second TRP”; ¶0009, “the wireless device may receive the message from the network device, and then perform L1-SINR measurement with respect to multiple CMR pairs at least based on the received message. The wireless device may then send L1-SINR report including L1-SINR measurement results to the network device, wherein the L1-SINR report may include measurement results related to inter-beam interference for beams associated with the first TRP and the second TRP”; ¶0091, “At 402, a network device (e.g., a gNB) including at least a first TRP and a second TRP may generate a message used for a wireless device (e.g., a UE) to perform L1-SINR measurement, wherein the L1-SINR measurement is related to inter-beam interference for beams associated with the first TRP and the second TRP”; ¶0101, “perform the L1-SINR measurement with respect to multiple CMR pairs at least based on the received message, wherein the L1-SINR measurement is related to inter-beam interference for beams associated with the first TRP and the second TRP”; ¶0112, “determine multiple CMR pairs used to perform L1-SINR measurement related to inter-beam interference for Tx beams associated with TRP1 and TRP2 based on the QCL relation information. Each CMR pair of the multiple pairs may include one CMR in CMR set 1 and one CMR in CMR set 2. Each CMR pair (including a CMR in CMR set 1 and a CMR in CMR set 2) used for L1-SINR measurement has a specific linkage, where the IMR in IMR set 1 configured for said CMR in CMR set 1 is QCLed with said CMR in CMR set 2, and the IMR in IMR set 2 configured for said CMR in CMR set 2 is QCLed with said CMR in CMR set 1”; ¶0135, “the UE may only report one or more measured CMR pairs that achieve the highest channel capacity or that achieve the channel capacity exceeding a pre-defined threshold to the gNB. The gNB establishes knowledge regarding which CMR pair(s) related to TRP1 and TRP2 lead(s) to minimum inter-beam interference”; ¶0142, “the UE may report to the gNB one or more CMR groups that achieve the highest channel capacity or that achieve the channel capacity exceeding a pre-defined threshold. Based on L1-SINR report, the gNB may establish its knowledge regarding which CMR group(s) related to the multiple TRPs lead(s) to minimum inter-beam interference”).
As to claim 10, Zhang discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one indication is indicative of whether at least one of: a plurality of L1-SINR measurements of the first group of L1-SINR measurements can be used as a plurality of L1-SINR measurements for the second group of beams; and the L1-SINR measurements from the first group of L1-SINR measurements for beams of the second group of beams can be used as the L1-SINR measurements for the second group of beams (¶0007, “configurations for inter-beam interference measurement for beams associated with multiple Transmission and Reception Points (TRPs) and corresponding reporting of the measurement”; ¶0008, “wherein the L1-SINR measurement is related to inter-beam interference for beams associated with the first TRP and the second TRP”; ¶0112, “After receiving the message from the gNB, the UE may determine multiple CMR pairs used to perform L1-SINR measurement related to inter-beam interference for Tx beams associated with TRP1 and TRP2 based on the QCL relation information”; ¶0142, “notify a UE necessary information to perform L1-SINR measurement associated with inter-beam interference for beams related to multiple TRPs”).
As to claim 11, Zhang discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first group of beams comprises a plurality of subgroups of beams, and wherein the at least one indication is indicative of whether L1-SINR measurements from the first group of L1-SINR measurements can be used as L1-SINR measurements for the plurality of subgroups of beams (¶0008, “at least a first TRP and a second TRP, may be configured to generate a message used for a wireless device (such as an user equipment (UE)) to perform L1-SINR measurement, wherein the L1-SINR measurement is related to inter-beam interference for beams associated with the first TRP and the second TRP”; ¶0009, “the wireless device may receive the message from the network device, and then perform L1-SINR measurement with respect to multiple CMR pairs at least based on the received message. The wireless device may then send L1-SINR report including L1-SINR measurement results to the network device, wherein the L1-SINR report may include measurement results related to inter-beam interference for beams associated with the first TRP and the second TRP”; ¶0082, “a UE may perform L1-RSRP measurement and L1-SINR measurement for multiple beams transmitted from multiple TRPs or multiple gNBs”; ¶0084, “perform L1-RSRP measurement and L1-SINR measurement for multiple beams transmitted from multiple separate TRPs and the UE may send corresponding reports of L1-RSRP and L1-SINR measurements to the gNB including the multiple TRPs”; ¶0091, “At 402, a network device (e.g., a gNB) including at least a first TRP and a second TRP may generate a message used for a wireless device (e.g., a UE) to perform L1-SINR measurement, wherein the L1-SINR measurement is related to inter-beam interference for beams associated with the first TRP and the second TRP”; ¶0101, “perform the L1-SINR measurement with respect to multiple CMR pairs at least based on the received message, wherein the L1-SINR measurement is related to inter-beam interference for beams associated with the first TRP and the second TRP”; ¶0112, “determine multiple CMR pairs used to perform L1-SINR measurement related to inter-beam interference for Tx beams associated with TRP1 and TRP2 based on the QCL relation information. Each CMR pair of the multiple pairs may include one CMR in CMR set 1 and one CMR in CMR set 2. Each CMR pair (including a CMR in CMR set 1 and a CMR in CMR set 2) used for L1-SINR measurement has a specific linkage, where the IMR in IMR set 1 configured for said CMR in CMR set 1 is QCLed with said CMR in CMR set 2, and the IMR in IMR set 2 configured for said CMR in CMR set 2 is QCLed with said CMR in CMR set 1”; ¶0144).
As to claim 12, Zhang discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one indication is indicative of whether L1-SINR measurements from the first group of L1-SINR measurements for the beams of the second group of beams can be used as the L1-SINR measurements for the second group of beams, and wherein the at least one indication is implicitly provided by configuring the at least one measurement report so as to: report the first group of L1-SINR measurements for a first group of beams, and not report the second group of L1-SINR measurements for the second group of beams (¶0009, “wherein the L1-SINR report may include measurement results related to inter-beam interference for beams associated with the first TRP and the second TRP”; ¶0110, “In order to support L1-SINR measurement related to inter-beam interference in multi-TRP scenario, a gNB including at least two TRPs (e.g., TRP1 and TRP2) may send a message (e.g., CSI-ReportConfig) to a UE, which indicates two CMR sets, i.e., CMR set 1 including multiple CMRs related to TRP1, and CMR set 2 including multiple CMRs related to TRP2”).
As to claim 13, Zhang discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program codes, when executed by the at least one processor further cause the apparatus to receive, from the access node, information indicative of a parameter for use in determining whether the one or more L1-SINR measurements of the first group of L1-SINR measurements can be used as the one or more L1-SINR measurement for the second group of beams (Fig. 4, 402-404; ¶0001, “group based Layer 1 Signal to interference plus Noise Ratio (L1-SINR) measurement and report”; ¶0089, “method for a network device (e.g., a gNB) and an example method for a wireless device (e.g., a UE), respectively, in order to support group based L1-SINR measurement and report related to inter-beam interference for beams associated with multiple TRPs included in the network device”; ¶0091, “At 402, a network device (e.g., a gNB) including at least a first TRP and a second TRP may generate a message used for a wireless device (e.g., a UE) to perform L1-SINR measurement”).
As to claim 14, Zhang discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one measurement report further comprises one or more additional indications for indicating which one or more beams of the first group of beams causes the one or more greatest levels of inter beam interference with a given beam of the first group of beams (¶0009, “send L1-SINR report including L1-SINR measurement results to the network device, wherein the L1-SINR report may include measurement results related to inter-beam interference for beams associated with the first TRP and the second TRP”; ¶0110, “In order to support L1-SINR measurement related to inter-beam interference in multi-TRP scenario, a gNB including at least two TRPs (e.g., TRP1 and TRP2) may send a message (e.g., CSI-ReportConfig) to a UE, which indicates two CMR sets, i.e., CMR set 1 including multiple CMRs related to TRP1, and CMR set 2 including multiple CMRs related to TRP2. The CMR may be an SSB or a CSI-RS”; ¶0142, “the UE may report to the gNB one or more CMR groups that achieve the highest channel capacity or that achieve the channel capacity exceeding a pre-defined threshold. Based on L1-SINR report, the gNB may establish its knowledge regarding which CMR group(s) related to the multiple TRPs lead(s) to minimum inter-beam interference, thereby leading to enhanced channel capacity and system performance”; ¶0168, “perform Layer 1 Signal to Interference plus Noise Ratio (L1-SINR) measurement, wherein the message at least includes: a first channel measurement resource (CMR) set including multiple CMRs for the first TRP, and a first interference measurement resource (IMR) set including multiple IMRs for the first TRP, which is corresponding to the first CMR set”).
As to claim 15, Zhang discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one measurement report further comprises, for each beam of the first group of beams, one or more additional indications for indicating which one or more beams of the first group of beams causes one or more greatest levels of inter beam interference with said beam (¶0009, “send L1-SINR report including L1-SINR measurement results to the network device, wherein the L1-SINR report may include measurement results related to inter-beam interference for beams associated with the first TRP and the second TRP”; ¶0110, “In order to support L1-SINR measurement related to inter-beam interference in multi-TRP scenario, a gNB including at least two TRPs (e.g., TRP1 and TRP2) may send a message (e.g., CSI-ReportConfig) to a UE, which indicates two CMR sets, i.e., CMR set 1 including multiple CMRs related to TRP1, and CMR set 2 including multiple CMRs related to TRP2. The CMR may be an SSB or a CSI-RS”; ¶0142, “the UE may report to the gNB one or more CMR groups that achieve the highest channel capacity or that achieve the channel capacity exceeding a pre-defined threshold. Based on L1-SINR report, the gNB may establish its knowledge regarding which CMR group(s) related to the multiple TRPs lead(s) to minimum inter-beam interference, thereby leading to enhanced channel capacity and system performance”; ¶0168, “perform Layer 1 Signal to Interference plus Noise Ratio (L1-SINR) measurement, wherein the message at least includes: a first channel measurement resource (CMR) set including multiple CMRs for the first TRP, and a first interference measurement resource (IMR) set including multiple IMRs for the first TRP, which is corresponding to the first CMR set”).
As to claim 16, Zhang discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one measurement report further comprises at least one further indication for at least one of: indicating which pair of beams of a group of beams has a greatest level of inter beam interference; and indicating which pair of beams of a group of beams has a lowest level of inter beam interference (¶0009, “send L1-SINR report including L1-SINR measurement results to the network device, wherein the L1-SINR report may include measurement results related to inter-beam interference for beams associated with the first TRP and the second TRP”; ¶0110, “In order to support L1-SINR measurement related to inter-beam interference in multi-TRP scenario, a gNB including at least two TRPs (e.g., TRP1 and TRP2) may send a message (e.g., CSI-ReportConfig) to a UE, which indicates two CMR sets, i.e., CMR set 1 including multiple CMRs related to TRP1, and CMR set 2 including multiple CMRs related to TRP2. The CMR may be an SSB or a CSI-RS”; ¶0142, “the UE may report to the gNB one or more CMR groups that achieve the highest channel capacity or that achieve the channel capacity exceeding a pre-defined threshold. Based on L1-SINR report, the gNB may establish its knowledge regarding which CMR group(s) related to the multiple TRPs lead(s) to minimum inter-beam interference, thereby leading to enhanced channel capacity and system performance”; ¶0168, “perform Layer 1 Signal to Interference plus Noise Ratio (L1-SINR) measurement, wherein the message at least includes: a first channel measurement resource (CMR) set including multiple CMRs for the first TRP, and a first interference measurement resource (IMR) set including multiple IMRs for the first TRP, which is corresponding to the first CMR set”).
As to claim 17, Zhang discloses the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the at least one further indication is provided via at least one of: an explicit indication; a flag; a dedicated bit; and an order of the L1-SINR measurements for the group in the at least one measurement report (¶0008, “a message used for a wireless device (such as an user equipment (UE)) to perform L1-SINR measurement, wherein the L1-SINR measurement is related to inter-beam interference for beams associated with the first TRP and the second TRP”; ¶0101, “may perform the L1-SINR measurement with respect to multiple CMR pairs at least based on the received message, wherein the L1-SINR measurement is related to inter-beam interference for beams associated with the first TRP and the second TRP”).
As to claim 18, Zhang discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program codes, when executed by the at least one processor further cause the apparatus to transmit, to an access node, capability information indicative of whether the apparatus is capable of performing GBBR of L1-SINR measurements using the at least one measurement report (¶0009, “The wireless device may then send L1-SINR report including L1-SINR measurement results to the network device, wherein the L1-SINR report may include measurement results related to inter-beam interference for beams associated with the first TRP and the second TRP”; ¶0084, “a UE may perform L1-RSRP measurement and L1-SINR measurement for multiple beams transmitted from multiple separate TRPs and the UE may send corresponding reports of L1-RSRP and L1-SINR measurements to the gNB including the multiple TRPs”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Muruganthan et al. (US 2024/0056247), DAVYDOV et al. (US 2019/0305838), DA SILVA et al. (US 2020/0021336), GAO et al. (US 2021/0211176), YUAN et al. (US 2023/0189035), Wang et al. (US 2022/0116167), GAO et al. (US 2022/0140960), ZHOU et al. (US 2021/0352503) disclose resource management for signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio based group beam reporting.
/JUNGWON CHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2454 August 18, 2026