Detailed Action
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and addressed below.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Double Patenting
Claim 15 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12241363. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 12 in the parent (US Pat No 12241363) fully encompass claim 15 in App 18/807,707.
An obviousness-type double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but an examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g. In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 15 is generic to all that is recited in claim 15 of U.S. Patent No. 12241363. In other words, claim 15 of U.S. Patent No. 12241363 fully encompasses the subject matter of claim 12 and therefore anticipates claim 12. Specifically, because “one or more of the ranging magnets are located between a drill bit box and push pads of a drive system” is a species of the generic category defined by “two or more ranging magnets are located above and below a drive system of the tubular string”, claim 15 reciting “above and below a drive system of a tubular string” is anticipated by claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12241363 reciting “one or more of the ranging magnets are located between a drill bit box and push pads of a drive system”.
Furthermore, because at least one frequency of the one or more magnetic fields is based on rotation of the tubular string in combination with rotation of the drive system is a species of the generic category defined by “the first and second rotation settings are based on rotation of the tubular string in combination with rotation of the drive system”, claim 15 reciting “the first and second rotation settings are based on rotation of the tubular string in combination with rotation of the drive system” is anticipated by claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12241363 reciting “at least one frequency of the one or more magnetic fields is based on rotation of the tubular string in combination with rotation of the drive system”. Since claim 15 is anticipated by claim 12 of the patent, claim 15 is not patentably distinct from claim 12, regardless of any additional subject matter present in claim 15.
Claim 20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 19 of U.S. Patent No. 12241363. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 19 in the parent (US Pat No 12241363) fully encompass claim 20 in App 18/807,707.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The metes and bounds of claims 5 & 11 are ambiguous as the claim language requires a drill bit box and a bit box respectively and it is unclear if these limitations are the same structure as described in claim 1 as a bit box and thus having an antecedent basis issue or if the drill bit box and bit box are different structures in addition to the bit box of claim 1. Therefore as it is unclear if the limitations are describing a new structure or referring to the structure described in claim 1, the metes and bounds of the claim language is unclear.
Claims 5 & 11 are rejected on this basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clark (US Pat No 20080041626) in view of Sugiura (US Pat No 7377333)
Clark discloses in claim 1. (Currently Amended) A downhole ranging tool, comprising:
a tubular string (Clark Fig 7, 104) having a bottomhole assembly ("BHA") comprising;
a drive system (Clark Fig 7, 722);
a drill bit (Clark Fig 7, 721) mounted on a bit box (Examiners note: Drill bit box is described in the drawings Fig 6, 606 as a near bit sub in [0031] of the instant specification and therefore, Clark Fig 7, teaches a near bit sub that contains magnets 725 and described in [0048]);
a rotary steerable tool (RSS) positioned adjacently above the drill bit (Clark Fig 7; 725 is positioned on an independent sub/member of the drill string [0048] BHA, 720, contains a rotary steerable system, 722, and one or more magnets are positioned on a near bit-sub 725 and drill bit, 721, and rotary steered as a tool downhole) mounted on the bit box;
and one or more ranging magnets (Clark Fig 7, 725), wherein each ranging magnet of the one or more ranging magnets mounted on the drill string (Clark Fig 7; 725 is positioned on an independent sub/member of the drill string [0048] BHA, 720, contains a rotary steerable system, 722, and one or more magnets are positioned on a near bit-sub 725 and drill bit, 721, and rotary steered as a tool downhole)
Clark does not teach that the magnets are positioned an outer surface of the RSS body.
However, Sugiura teaches a magnet: is embedded in a pocket on an outer surface of a body of the RSS (Sugiura Fig 2; 110 “RSS” Fig 3; 410 magnet positioned in a pocket in the push pads on the outside of the body of the RSS col 5 line 61-66)
As both Clark and Sugiura both disclose a Rotary steerable system, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the generic “RSS” of Clark for the push pad system of Sugiura a to achieve the predictable result of steering the drill bit.
Clark et al discloses in claim 3. The downhole ranging tool of claim 1, wherein at least one of the one or more ranging magnets is positioned in a pad assembly of the drive system (Sugiura Fig 2; 110 “RSS” Fig 3; 410 magnet positioned in the push pads on the outside of the body of the RSS col 5 line 61-66).
Clark et al discloses in claim 4. The downhole ranging tool of claim 1, however, in the embodiment of claim 1 the magnets are positioned below the RSS. However, Clark Further teaches another embodiment that wherein at least one of the one or more ranging magnets is positioned above sub of a drill string. (Clark Fig 5, magnets are positioned in 515, above the RSS 512).
As Clark both discloses both configurations of the drill string and the positioning of the magnets, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the embodiment of Fig 7 for the embodiment of Fig 5 of Clark as Clark discloses they are equivalent and to achieve the predictable result of utilizing magnetic range finding of a wellbore.
Clark et al in regards to claim 5. The downhole ranging tool of claim 1, wherein at least one of the one or more ranging magnets is positioned in a drill bit box (Examiners note: Drill bit box is described in the drawings Fig 6, 606 as a near bit sub in [0031] of the instant specification and therefore, Clark Fig 7, teaches a near bit sub that contains magnets 725 and described in [0048]) of the drive system (Clark [0048] BHA, 720, contains a rotary steerable system, 722, and one or more magnets are positioned on a near bit-sub 725 and drill bit, 721, and rotary steered as a tool downhole).
Clark et al in regards to claim 8. The downhole ranging tool of claim 1, wherein the drive system is a push-the-bit rotary steerable system (“RSS”) (Sugiura Fig 2; 110 “RSS” Fig 3; 410 magnet positioned in a pocket in the push pads on the outside of the body of the RSS col 5 line 61-66).
Clark et al discloses in claim 9. The downhole ranging tool of claim 8, however, in the embodiment of claim 8 the magnets are positioned below the RSS. However, Clark further teaches another embodiment wherein at least one of the one or more magnets is positioned in a collar above the RSS (Clark Fig 5, magnets are positioned in 515, above the RSS 512).
As Clark both discloses both configurations of the drill string and the positioning of the magnets, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the embodiment of Fig 7 for the embodiment of Fig 5 of Clark as Clark discloses they are equivalent and to achieve the predictable result of utilizing magnetic range finding of a wellbore.
Clark et al in regards to claim 10. The downhole ranging tool of claim 1, wherein the drive system is a downhole motor assembly (Clark [0048] utilizes a downhole steerable motor assembly).
Clark et al in regards to claim 11. The downhole ranging tool of claim 10, wherein the magnets are positioned on a bit box (Clark [0048] BHA, 720, contains a rotary steerable system, 722, and one or more magnets are positioned on a near bit-sub 725 and drill bit, 721, and rotary steered as a tool downhole).
Claim(s) 2, 6, 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clark and Sugiura as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kennedy (US Pub No 20060028321).
Clark et al in regards to claim 2. The downhole ranging tool of claim 1, wherein at least one of the one or more ranging magnets is positioned on a sub of a drill string (Clark Fig 7, 725 is positioned on a near bit sub). Clark discloses different locations for positioning a ranging magnet (Clark see [0032], [0048], [0061]and fig 5, 7, 8, 9 disclosing differing locations for magnet placement) but is silent as to positioning on specific downhole tools.
However, Kennedy discloses a ranging magnet that: is positioned on a stabilizer sleeve (Kennedy Fig 1 stabilizer, 30, with ranging magnets, 46) of the drive system (Kennedy Fig 1 [0072] stabilizers are included with rotary steerable drilling assembly to stabilize the drill string [0030]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the drill string and magnet of location of Clark to include the stabilizer containing magnets of Kennedy to stabilize the drill string since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the combination would result in the predictable result of stabilizing the drill string while housing a permanent magnetic field source.
Clark et al in regards to claim 6. The downhole ranging tool of claim 1, wherein at least one of the one or more ranging magnets is positioned on a collar (Clark Fig 7, near bit-sub 725) of the drive system (Clark [0048] BHA, 720, contains a rotary steerable system, 722, and one or more magnets are positioned on a near bit-sub 725 and drill bit, 721, and rotary steered as a tool downhole). Clark describes a near bit sub containing the ranging magnet system, but is silent if it is a flex collar.
However, Kennedy discloses a: flex collar (Kennedy [0031])
As both Clark and Kennedy both disclose a collar, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the generic magnetic field collar of Clark for the magnetic flex collar of Kennedy to achieve with a reasonable expectation of success the predictable result of a flexible joint for steering the drill bit [0031]).
Clark et al in regards to claim 12. The downhole ranging tool of claim 1, wherein at least one of the one or more magnets is embedded in a sub (Clark Fig 7, 725 is positioned on a near bit sub) Clark is silent as to the structure of the embedment of the magnets.
However, Kennedy teaches embedding magnets: pocket of a side wall of the tubular string (Kennedy Fig 3 Magnets 46 are embedded in a side wall of a downhole tool [0084]), the pocket being offset from a center line of the tubular string (Kennedy Fig 3 Magnets 46 are embedded in a side wall of a downhole tool [0084] offset from the center line of the tubular string).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Clark to include magnet sockets as taught by Kennedy for the purpose of embedding magnets in a downhole sub.
Clark in regards to claim 13. The downhole ranging tool of claim 12, wherein the pocket is oriented laterally with respect to an axis of the tubular string (Kennedy Fig 3 Pockets are laterally orientated to the axis of the tubular string).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clark (US Pat No 20080041626) in view of Hutton (US Pub No 20130075164)
Clark et al discloses in claim 7. The downhole ranging tool of claim 1, wherein the one or more ranging magnets comprises two or more ranging magnets (Clark [0048] Fig 7, collar, 125, contains permanent magnets (plural)), and wherein at least one of the one or more ranging magnets is positioned in a collar (Clark [0048] Fig 7, collar, 125, contains permanent magnets (plural)). Clark describes a near bit sub containing the ranging magnet system, but is silent if it is a flex collar.
However, Hutton teaches a point the bit rotary steerable system configuration of a: flex collar (Hutton Fig 2; 242 cross section provided in Fig 3b containing deflection device 440 described in detail in Fig 4a, 4b [0052] & [0055]) positioned above a stabilizer sleeve (Hutton Fig 2, 224) of the drive system. In order to apply a force to be able to point the drill bit during drilling (Hutton [0055])
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Clark to include a Flex collar above the stabilizer as taught by Hutton for the purpose of applying a force to be able to point the drill bit during drilling (Hutton [0055])
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15 & 20 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under double patenting set forth in this Office action. Claims 16-19 are objected as being dependent on a rejected claim.
Claim 14 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Claim 14 is indicated as allowable as the best prior art for the claims as written Clark (US Pub No 20080041626), teaches all the prior limitations of independent claim 1 but June does not teach two or more magnets positioned above and below the drive system and the frequencies of the magnets being altered through rotational engagement and disengagement of the subs and modification of Clark to include the limitations of claim 14 would rely on hindsight reasoning to modify to meet the limitations of claim 14 as written. Therefore, the limitations of claim 14 if included with the limitations of claim 1 as written overcome would be considered allowable subject matter.
Independent Claim 15
Downhole ranging magnets and range finding are well known in the art of wellbore exploration and operations. Representative art which appears close to the claimed invention includes Clark (US Pub No 20080041626). This art, alone or in combination, discloses various structures related to downhole ranging magnets positioned on a drill bit to steer a drill bit downhole utilizing various recited features including but not limited to, such as ranging magnets positioned on a drill string to direct and steer the formation of a wellbore. However, this art fails to disclose or fairly suggest the specifically combined structure and steps regarding the specific positional relationships and operations between each recited structure in operation such as, ranging magnets positioned a first location is rotated at a first rotation setting, thereby altering the first magnetic field; a second location is rotated at a second rotation setting, thereby altering the second magnetic field. It could be argued that the individual structure is generally known or easily conceived in the art and thus, could just be assembled to disclose the claimed invention. However, the instant invention clearly and specifically recites structural relationships and combinations, which require a greater effort than just cobbling together known structures. Furthermore, the claimed structures are sufficiently detailed to be distinguishable when configured as claimed. The examiner could find no motivation to combine or modify the references which would define a fully functioning apparatus as claimed in the instant application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments and arguments, filed 09/01/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-13 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Clark (US Pat No 20080041626) in view of Sugiura (US Pat No 7377333).
Applicant’s amendments and arguments, filed 09/01/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-14 under 35 USC 112b have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection of claims 5 & 11 is made under 35 USC 112b.
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS D WLODARSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 3672
/Nicole Coy/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3672