DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 have been examined in this Non-Final Rejection. Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/19/2025 was filed after the mailing date. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Application 18/807,774 filed 08/16/2024 claims priority to provisional application 63/533,338 filed 08/17/2023.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: A spelling error of "carbon-related" in Par. .
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 11, 12-14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim(s) 11 and 12 recite the limitation "the server". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim(s) 20 recites the limitation "The non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 17", however, should be of “claim 19” since claim 17 is a system. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claims 1-20 are directed to a system, method, or product which are/is one of the statutory categories of invention. (Step 1: YES).
Claims 1, 10, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim recites a method and computing device for providing queried data records in an organized structure. For Claims 1, 10 and 19 the limitations of (Claim 1 being representative):
in response to receiving an audit request […] with a project, querying, […], a set of data records using an attribute of the project, wherein at least one data record comprises a data object for the project associated with carbon-related data protocol of a plurality of carbon-related protocols, the data object comprising data associated with the project organized according to a hierarchical structure;
generating, […], a tree-structure corresponding to the set of data records comprising the data object having the hierarchical structure and data associated with at least one data record queried, the tree-structure having an organization corresponding to the project and further corresponding to a plurality of horizontal and vertical relationships […] with the one or more carbon-related protocols and one or more locations associated with the one or more carbon-related protocols; and
[…], wherein the tree-structure is configured to provide access to the queried set of data records, as drafted, are processes that, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, covers certain methods of organizing human activity (i.e., managing personal behavior including following rules or instructions) but for recitation of generic computer components. The Examiner notes that “certain method[s] of organizing human activity” includes a person's interaction with a computer (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II)). That is, other than reciting a system implemented by an electronic device, processors, memory, exporting of the tree structure, and non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, the claimed invention amounts to managing personal behavior or interaction between people. For example, but for the electronic device, processors, memory, exporting of the tree structure and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, this claim encompasses a person to receive an audit request, query a set of data records using an attribute of the project associated with carbon-related protocol organized in a hierarchal structure, generate a tree structure corresponding to the set of data records comprising a plurality of horizontal and vertical relationships, and provide access to the queried set of data in the manner described in the identified abstract idea, supra. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers managing personal behavior or interactions between people but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas.
Alternately, as drafted, the claims recite a process that, under the broadest reasonable interpretation cover performance of the limitation in the mind but for recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting a process implemented by an electronic device, processors, exporting of the tree-structure, memory, and non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, nothing in the claim precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example, but for the electronic device, processor, memory, exporting of the tree structure, and non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, this claim encompasses a person to search for data records in response to an audit request, generate a tree-structure corresponding to the data records, and provide access to the searched set of data records described in the identified abstract idea, supra. If a claim limitation under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract idea. Accordingly, Claims 1, 10 and 19 recite an abstract idea. (Step 2A- Prong 1: YES. The claims recite an abstract idea).
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Claims 1, 10, and 19 recites the additional elements of an electronic device (Claims 1, 10, and 19), one or more processors (Claims 1, 10, and 19), exporting of the tree-structure (Claims 1, 10, and 19), memory (Claims 10), and non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (Claim 19), that implements the identified abstract idea. These additional elements are not described by the applicant and are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., one or more generic computers performing a generic computer functions) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer components. Accordingly, even in combination these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Claims 1, 10, and 19 are directed to an abstract idea. (Step 2A-Prong 2: NO: the additional claimed elements are not integrated into a practical application).
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of an electronic device (Claims 1, 10, and 19), one or more processors (Claims 1, 10, and 19), memory (Claims 10), exporting of the tree-structure (Claims 1, 10, and 19), and non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (Claim 19), to perform the noted steps amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept (“significantly more”). Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not provide significantly more. As such claims 1, 10, and 19 are not patent eligible. (Step 2B: NO. The claims do not provide significantly more).
Dependent Claims 2-9, 11-18 and 20 are similarly rejected because they either further define/narrow the abstract idea of independent claims 1, 10 and 19 as discussed above. Claim(s) 2 & 11 merely describe(s) determining the type of audit request, modifying configurations associated with the hierarchical structured based on the preference of the type of audit, and generating a data object with the data organized according to the modified hierarchical structure. Claim(s) 3 & 12 merely describe(s) generating carbon-related data based on the data queried. Claim(s) 4 & 13 merely describe(s) the audit request verifying the amount of carbon-related data generated. Claim(s) 5 & 14 merely describe(s) the project being associated with a plurality of reporting periods and generating the caron-related data comprising calculating for each reporting period of the plurality of reporting period an amount of carbon offset based on one or more rules associated with the carbon credit protocol. Claim(s) 6 & 15 merely describe(s) the data comprising one or more locations, on or more assets, one or more reporting periods, one or more stakeholders, one or more readings. Claim(s) 7 & 16 merely describe(s) the language of the file. Claim(s) 8 & 17 merely describe(s) a database comprising a history of the project, and the history comprising a plurality of data records where each data record is associated with an identifier of a user and a time of creation. Claim(s) 9 & 18 merely describe(s) the data comprising the history of the project associated with an audit period of time.
Claims 2-9, 13-14, and 20 include the additional elements of an electronic device, processor, and exporting of the tree structure. The electronic device, processor, and exporting of the tree-structure are analyzed in the same manner as the electronic device, processor, exporting of the tree-structure in the independent claim and does not provide a practical application or significantly more for the same reasons above. Therefore claims 2-9, 13-14, and 20 are considered patent ineligible for the reasons given above.
Dependent Claim(s) 11-12 recite limitations that further define the abstract idea noted in independent claims 1, 10, and 19. In addition, it recites the additional elements of a server. The server is recited at a high level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computing component. Even in combination, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Therefore, dependent claims 2-9, 11-18 and 20 are considered patent ineligible for the reasons given above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-7, 10, 12-16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gogerty (US 20230298042 A1), in view of Menon (US 20240403786 A1 (Provisional App 63/471,174 filed 06/05/2023)).
Regarding Claim 1, Claim 10, and Claim 19
Gogerty discloses, querying, by one or more processors, a set of data records using an attribute of the project, "The system can be configured to encode searchable carbon objects that are stored to a searchable greenhouse gas database and reporting module. The system can further comprise: a display layer interface comprising: a display manager user interface configured to allow a user to input data to a storage and compute layer; and a report manager, the report manager being configured to generate a greenhouse gas (GHG) life cycle for an item or process as a structured data object and a machine-readable code associated with a Defined Unit" (Gogerty Par. 0025). "In an implementation, the process library 207 is configured with a search engine 240 to be searchable. The system 200 interface can be configured to allow a user search for a process in a process reference library 207 for use. In an implementation, search can be by organization, process type, keyword, input, output, etc. The system 200 can be configured with a filter to allow the user to filter search of inputs. The search can be limited to showing only those described by the process’ input objects. If there are no defined objects or reference inputs that match the process’ inputs, then system 200 is configured to alert or flag to the user that they cannot continue" (Gogerty Par. 0120).
wherein at least one data record comprises a data object for the project associated with carbon-related data protocol of a plurality of carbon-related protocols, "The report also shows the naphtha from light sweet crude oil is by Occidental Ltd, and the and naphtha from medium sweet is by Chesapeake Organization, LLC. The report also shows that the life cycle analysis (LCA) is third party verified by specific International Standards Organization (ISO) standards for the measurements (e.g., ISO 14440, ISO 14444). At block 464, the report shows a 1,500,000 kg CO2e offset for the naphtha refining is obtained from the OMNIA N2O Abatement Project, which was retired by Occidental Ltd. Then, at block 465, the report verifies that another 500,000 Kg CO2e offset from Niokolo Koba REDD" (Gogerty Par. 0208).
the data object comprising data associated with the project organized according to a hierarchical structure; Figure 11, Figure 24, "For example, FIG. 11 shows a logical flow for a branched network carbon object including multiple process outputs and certificate ownership transfers, including surplus credits and allocations. At block 402 the system receives a carbon object input. At block 404, the carbon object input records a process, in this example, an extraction process for extracting raw carbon energy products. The carbon object for the extraction records an addition of +3,000 tons of CO2e and an addition of a +4,000 tons carbon environmental attribute credit" (Gogerty Par. 0198-0199).
generating, by the one or more processors, a tree-structure corresponding to the set of data records comprising the data object having the hierarchical structure and data associated with at least one data record queried, "FIG. 24 shows a logical flow for user attribute contextualization dimension for the life cycle of a host of products and processes starting from raw crude oil extraction and raw natural gas extraction. For each block, the system is configured to allow a user to generate, process, offer, transfer, and record carbon object certificates so that at every step the carbon emissions and carbon related instruments and certificates are measured and identified to entities, products, and processes with great transparency and accuracy" (Gogerty Par. 0239). " FIG. 29 shows an exemplary carbon message record structure interface. As described with respect to FIGS. 1 and 6, in an implementation, the system comprises a Public Life Cycle Inventory Library 212 including a database 212 of LCI objects, including verified or accepted LCA standards, GHG measurements and mitigations. The system can also comprise a Public GHG report certificate interface 213 can include a searchable report certificate database, in which the collection of GHG certificate reports and ownership transfers can be public. The types of public transfers, those GHG related declarations, measurements and mitigation accepted by downstream parties are accepted as commercially or regulatory widely accepted. Using the interface record structure shown in FIG. 29, at block 710 a user can use the Public GHG report certificate interface 213 to access the database to confirm normative practices when working with GHG declarations. At block 711, the system accesses the GHG database including the exemplary GHG mitigation standards database of accepted GHG mitigation standards for credits, shown in more detail at in FIG. 30. At block 712, the system comprises a query engine configured to allow a user to query the GHG certificate database to check, inter alia, GHG records, including compliance and mitigation against quality standards. The database can be expressed using <CarML>, described herein and below" (Gogerty Par. 0249).
the tree-structure having an organization corresponding to the project and further corresponding to a plurality of horizontal and vertical relationships between one or more devices associated with the one or more carbon-related protocols and one or more locations associated with the one or more carbon-related protocols; and "For example, FIG. 11 shows a logical flow for a branched network carbon object including multiple process outputs and certificate ownership transfers, including surplus credits and allocations. At block 402 the system receives a carbon object input. At block 404, the carbon object input records a process, in this example, an extraction process for extracting raw carbon energy products. The carbon object for the extraction records an addition of +3,000 tons of CO2e and an addition of a +4,000 tons carbon environmental attribute credit. At block 406, the carbon object for the extraction produces an input for a carbon object for 2,000 barrels of Crude Oil. The carbon object for the 2,000 barrels of crude oil records 2,000 tons of CO2e and a 2,000 ton credit as well as a 1000 ton surplus credit. At block 408, the 2,000 barrels of oil are transferred out for refining. At block 410, the refining process generates an input that adds +1,500 tons of CO2e to the carbon life cycle of the product. The refining then produces three carbon object outputs for corresponding products, each including the final carbon totals for each respective product. At block 412, the carbon object for ethylene produced from the refining has 2,000 tons of CO2e and a 1,714 ton credit. At block 414, the carbon object for methylene produced from the refining has 500 tons of CO2e and a 429 ton credit. At block 416, the carbon object for butylene produced from the refining has 1,000 tons of CO2e and an 857 ton credit. At block 418, the carbon object for the extraction at block 404 outputs a carbon object for 600 m3 of natural gas. The carbon object for the 600 m3 natural gas records 1000 tons of CO2e and a 1,000 ton credit. At block 420, the 600 m3 natural gas are transferred out for scrubbing. At block 422, the scrubbing process generates an input that adds +3,000 tons of CO2e and adds a +500 ton carbon credit to the carbon life cycle of the product. At block 424, the scrubbing produces a carbon object output for residential heating gas, which as a carbon object total of 4,000 tons of CO2e and a 1,500 ton credit" (Gogerty Par. 0198-0199).
Gogerty discloses a data record being queried based on a hierarchical structure. Gogerty fails to disclose an audit request from an electronic device associated with a project, and exporting, by the one or more processors, the tree-structure to the electronic device, wherein the tree-structure is configured to provide access to the queried set of data records. Menon discloses providing plans, workflows, and recommendations for improving sustainability parameters across enterprise operations. Menon teaches,
in response to receiving an audit request from an electronic device associated with a project, "Based on these locations, the sustainability platform system 72 may query the sustainability database 94 or other suitable storage component to determine the reporting format used for the respective regions. That is, some regions or governmental agencies request reports regarding the sustainability parameters of the enterprise over the course of time. The reporting formats may include types of sustainability parameters to report, units in which the sustainability parameters are to be reported, a time period in which the sustainability parameters are to be reported, hierarchical levels in which to organize the sustainability parameters, an organizational structure to organize aggregated data, and the like" (Menon Par. 0102).
Examiner Note: There is a request for a report.
exporting, by the one or more processors, the tree-structure to the electronic device, wherein the tree-structure is configured to provide access to the queried set of data records. "At block 372, the sustainability platform system 72 may receive the sustainability model for the enterprise, and at block 374, the sustainability platform system 72 may receive one or more sustainability action plans 90 that may be currently implemented by the enterprise, as described above. At block 376, the sustainability platform system 72 may determine that updated carbon credit data is available, and at block 378, the sustainability platform system 72 may receive the updated carbon credit data. For example, the sustainability platform system 72 may query the input data sources 74, the engineering workflow systems 78, or the like for updated carbon credit data. As discussed further below, acquisition of actual, estimated, and/or forecast carbon credit data may be performed by queries of one or more databases and/or by scraping online websites for information. For example, in some embodiments, the sustainability platform system 72 may query government databases for rules and regulations regarding carbon credits and/or query trading platforms for carbon credit economic data" (Menon Par. 0173). "At block 416, the input data, such as regulation data, carbon credit data, etc., may be separately or categorically maintained within a database (e.g., sustainability database 94 and/or workflow database 140) of the sustainability platform system 72, such as to improve action plan simulation efficiency. For example, instead of receiving data in blocks 292-302 in the method 290, receiving updated regulation data at block 348 of the method 340, receiving updated carbon credit data at block 378 of the method 370 from input data sources 74, and/or querying third-party data sources at block 326 of the method 320, the sustainability platform system 72 may run searches periodically or based on another trigger and maintain a database of the input data for expedited and more efficient execution of the methods 290, 320, 340, and 370. Indeed, at block 418, one or more sustainability action plans 90 may be updated, or verified, based on the input data and corresponding confidence parameters within the database (e.g., sustainability database 94 and/or workflow database 140). As should be appreciated, the embodiments, of FIGS. 14-16 may be utilized for any suitable aspect of the sustainability platform system 72, such as input data for updating abatement technologies, updating technology parameters thereof, updating regulation data, updating carbon credit data, and/or other aspects of the enterprise" (Menon Par. 0187).
Examiner Note: The tree structure/hierarchal structure is saved to a database that can be searched.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to have combined the system of tracking carbon data of Gogerty with an audit request from an electronic device associated with a project, and exporting, a tree-structure to an electronic device, wherein the tree-structure is configured to provide access to the queried set of data records of Menon to update carbon credit data to efficiently provide plans, workflow, and recommendations for improving sustainability parameters across enterprise operations (Menon Par. 0003).
Regarding Claim 3, and Claim 12
The combination of Gogerty and Menon disclose the method of claim 1, and system of claim 10 as shown above. Menon further discloses, generating, by the one or more processors, carbon-related data based on the data queried. "At block 372, the sustainability platform system 72 may receive the sustainability model for the enterprise, and at block 374, the sustainability platform system 72 may receive one or more sustainability action plans 90 that may be currently implemented by the enterprise, as described above. At block 376, the sustainability platform system 72 may determine that updated carbon credit data is available, and at block 378, the sustainability platform system 72 may receive the updated carbon credit data. For example, the sustainability platform system 72 may query the input data sources 74, the engineering workflow systems 78, or the like for updated carbon credit data. As discussed further below, acquisition of actual, estimated, and/or forecast carbon credit data may be performed by queries of one or more databases and/or by scraping online websites for information. For example, in some embodiments, the sustainability platform system 72 may query government databases for rules and regulations regarding carbon credits and/or query trading platforms for carbon credit economic data. Moreover, the queries may be targeted, for increased efficiency, such as based on geographical location, country, state, county, governmental body, carbon credit type, etc. As used herein, carbon credit data may include current and/or forecasted carbon credit data. Moreover, as described below, the carbon credit data may be associated with confidence levels, such as based on an estimated trustworthiness of the input data source 74 or the method of gathering the carbon credit data from the input data source 74, a likelihood that the current carbon credit data may change in the future, and/or an uncertainty in forecasted carbon credit data" (Menon Par. 0173).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to have combined the system of tracking carbon data of Gogerty and Menon with generating carbon-related data based on the data queried of Menon to update carbon credit data to efficiently provide plans, workflow, and recommendations for improving sustainability parameters across enterprise operations (Menon Par. 0003).
Regarding Claim 4, and Claim 13
The combination of Gogerty and Menon disclose the method of claim 3, and system of claim 12 as shown above. Menon further discloses, The method of claim 3, wherein exporting the tree-structure to the electronic device allows the audit request to verify the amount of carbon-related data generated. "With the foregoing in mind, the sustainability platform system may measure the sustainability parameters for the enterprise at various levels, provide reports related to the measured values, and verify the measurements to ensure that a developed action plan, when implemented, may improve sustainability efficiencies within the enterprise operations. It should be noted that the measured sustainability parameters may also be sourced or estimated as provided by certain data sources, such as emissions databases provided by EPA, IEA, and the like. In some embodiments, the sustainability platform system may collect the measured and verified data to provide reports for meeting certain governmental reporting regulations. Further, the sustainability platform system may model the determined action plans to predict the effects to the measured sustainability parameters over a period of time to determine whether the sustainability parameters will achieve desired values or ranges. (Menon Par. 0038).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to have combined the system of tracking carbon data of Gogerty and Menon with the audit request verifying the amount of carbon-related data generated of Menon to update carbon credit data to efficiently provide plans, workflow, and recommendations for improving sustainability parameters across enterprise operations (Menon Par. 0003).
Regarding Claim 5, and Claim 14,
The combination of Gogerty and Menon disclose the method of claim 3, and system of claim 12 as shown above. Menon further discloses, wherein the project is associated with a plurality of reporting periods and generating the carbon-related data comprises: calculating, for each reporting period of the plurality of reporting periods and by the one or more processors, an amount of carbon offset based on one or more rules associated with the carbon credit protocol. "Generally, the measurement block 82 may receive the input data and store the related measurements, values, and other measurable parameters in a storage component, data store, or the like. In some embodiments, the measurement block 82 may prepare or organize the measurement data in accordance with specific protocols or formats, as defined by reports 92. The reports 92 may include previous reports prepared for different authorities or organizations. As such, the reports 92 may also include metadata related to the format, structure, and type of information presented in the reports 92. In some embodiments, the reports 92, the metadata regarding the reports 92, instructions regarding the preparation or formatting of the reports 92 may also be stored in a database or data storage for access by the sustainability platform system 72" (Menon Par. 0058).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to have combined the system of tracking carbon data of Gogerty and Menon with calculating for each reporting period of the plurality of reporting periods an amount of carbon offset based on one or more rules associated with the carbon credit protocol of Menon to update carbon credit data to efficiently provide plans, workflow, and recommendations for improving sustainability parameters across enterprise operations (Menon Par. 0003).
Regarding Claim 6, and Claim 15,
The combination of Gogerty and Menon disclose the method of claim 1, and system of claim 10 as shown above. Gogerty further discloses, wherein the data comprises one or more locations, one or more assets, one or more reporting periods, one or more stakeholders, one or more readings, or any combination thereof, associated with the project. "The system is configured to allow a user to generate carbon objects for a single unit of production and/or product. As noted herein, many goods and services are consumed in smaller increments, such as a cup of coffee. The present disclosure implements a solution to assign and track environmental traits in small increments such as a nano credit (billionth of a metric) ton of CO2e. FIG. 12A and Table 2 show a carbon credit object for nano-piece carbon credits for hyper-targeted carbon credit management, report interfaces, and even improved packaging. As will be appreciated, carbon objects for nano-piece carbon credits can be employed to manage and report an accurate, verifiable GHG footprint EPD (environmental product) certificate digitally twinned down to a bag or even a cup of coffee. At block 450, a nano-credit of +1.0 kg of CO2e for growing the beans is added to the system. At block 451another nano-credit of + 1.0 kg of CO2e is added for milling and roasting, and at block 452, yet another+ 1.0 kg of CO2e is added for distribution of the milled and roasted coffee beans. At block 453, in conjunction with the distribution of the coffee beans, a carbon offset of 4.0 nano-credits is applied. At block 453, + 1.0 kg of CO2e is added for consumption. Accordingly, the system can allow a user to verify + 1.0 kg of CO2e is added to that the bag of coffee, from “farm to table” is a net declared carbon zero, or net declared carbon neutral product. For example, at block 455, the system can be configured to generate a QR-code that links to the verification certificate for the end CO2e for a product down to the nano-credit. As will be appreciated, the system can thus allow, for example, manufacturers and/or retailers to verify and market to carbon conscious customers net declared low carbon, net declared zero carbon, or even net declared negative carbon products. Similarly, carbon conscious consumers can readily identify the nano-credits for product verified to the system, allowing them to accurately measure and manage their own carbon footprint and diet" (Gogerty Par. 0201).
Regarding Claim 7, and Claim 16,
The combination of Gogerty and Menon disclose the method of claim 1, and system of claim 10 as shown above. Gogerty further discloses, wherein the dynamic file is a JavaScript object notation (JSON) file. " Further, as will be appreciate, <CarML> data objects can be expressed in XML, XSLT, JSON or another structure DTD (document type definition), allowing the same flexibility and interoperability as XML and XML extensible code interfaces. As a machine-readable extensible language, the core <CarML> language can be read by various entities and groups for whom data object tags are configured for, as shown in the exemplary chart of FIG. 32" (Gogerty Par. 0254).
Claim(s) 2, 11 & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gogerty (US 20230298042 A1), in view of Menon (US 20240403786 A1), and in further view of Chen (CN 108009145 A).
Regarding Claim 2, Claim 11, and Claim 20
The combination of Gogerty and Menon disclose the method of claim 1, system of claim 10, and non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 20 as shown above. The combination of Gogerty and Menon fail to disclose, determining a type of the audit request of a plurality of types of audit requests, modifying one or more configurations associated with the hierarchical structure based on one or more preferences of the type of audit procedure, and generating the data object comprising the data organized according to the modified hierarchical structure. Chen, however, does disclose a report generation method and device, in response to the selection operation of the header data of the tree structure, displaying the selected head in the report template, according to the gauge head and the report type has been selected, processing the background data, generating report data, the report data is filled in to the report template to obtain the report. Chen discloses, determining, by the one or more processors, a type of the audit request of a plurality of types of audit requests; "To achieve the above object, the first aspect of the present invention provides a method for generating report, the report generation method applied to the report generation system, have been introduced in the system Jquery, the method comprising: in response to the template setting operation and determine the report template and the report type of the selected" (Chen Par. 0008-0009).
modifying, by the one or more processors, one or more configurations associated with the hierarchical structure based on one or more preferences of the type of audit procedure; and "In the embodiment of the invention, the web display interface is divided into three parts, which are respectively a hierarchy management area, the report preview area and report attribute editing area, wherein the hierarchy management area for managing report level, the report preview area for displaying the statement, a report attribute editing area for the selected meter. wherein the three regions can be orderly arranged and displayed in the order of from left to right, or further may be displayed within a web display interface according to the other mode, not as defined herein" (Chen Par. 0047).
generating, by the one or more processors, the data object comprising the data organized according to the modified hierarchical structure. "In the embodiment of the invention, the generating device selected by the use of the gauge head and the report type, the background data to generate report data, and filled in the report data to the report template, the report" (Chen Par. 0042).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to have combined the system of tracking carbon data of Gogerty and Menon with determining a type of the audit request of a plurality of types of audit requests, modifying one or more configurations associated with the hierarchical structure based on one or more preferences of the type of audit procedure, and generating the data object comprising the data organized according to the modified hierarchical structure of Chen so the header setting [data] can be realized simply and quickly, and the report generation is simple and convenient (Chen Par. 0018).
Claim(s) 8, 9, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gogerty (US 20230298042 A1), in view of Menon (US 20240403786 A1), and in further view of Glenn (US 20110099489 A1).
Regarding Claim 8, and Claim 17
The combination of Gogerty and Menon disclose the method of claim 1, as shown above. The combination of Gogerty and Menon fail to disclose the relational database comprising a history of the project, the history comprising a plurality of data records, wherein each of the plurality of data records is associated with an identifier of a user and a time of creation. Glenn, however, does disclose a method for computing emission values, and in particular to systems and methods for computing emission values for an activity that generates an emission. Glenn teaches, wherein the relational database comprises a history of the project, the history comprising a plurality of data records, wherein each of the plurality of data records is associated with an identifier of a user and a time of creation. "In at least some embodiments, the input module is further operable to receive a user identifier; and wherein the location module is further operable to customize a location hierarchy for a given user; and wherein the emission engine is further operable to receive the user identifier and to query the location module for the customized location hierarchy using the user identifier" (Glenn Par. 0012). "An emission equation may be associated with an emission type, a protocol, a creation date, a short reference name, a version, and attributes regarding its accuracy" (Glenn Par. 0181). "The factor data module 36 can store factor data locally in a database or access data stored remotely in third party databases. The factor data may be derived from protocols (e.g., GHG, IPCC, CDP), industry standards, emission databases, internal calculations, industry associations (e.g., EPA) and user specific databases, for example" (Glenn Par. 0072).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to have combined the system of tracking carbon data of Gogerty and Menon with a database comprising data records with an identifier of a user and a time of creation of Glenn to implement emission calculations specific to their own needs (Glenn Par. 0003).
Regarding Claim 9, and Claim 18,
The combination of Gogerty, Menon, and Glenn disclose the method of claim 8, as shown above. Glenn further discloses, The method of claim 8, wherein the data comprises the history of the project associated with an audit period of time. "The factor data module 36 manages factor data by associating each factor with at least one source, at least one location, a valid start date, and a valid end date. The factor data module 36 may also associate factors with a user, where only a specific user has permission to use the factor" (Glenn Par. 0069).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to have combined the system of tracking carbon data of Gogerty, Menon, and Glenn with the project being associated with an audit period of time of Glenn to implement emission calculations specific to their own needs (Glenn Par. 0003).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Xie (EP 4099257 A1) discloses determining the carbon emissions risk to an institution through its lending and investment activities to a plurality of counterparties by, for example, determining carbon emissions data for a number of counterparties and, for each counterparty, determining the carbon emissions risk to the institution. A system and method may determine the proportion of total capital of a counterparty that is being financed by a bank, and multiply this by a carbon emissions measure for the counterparty. Embodiments may be applied to determine optimal investment strategies for managing an institution's exposures to carbon risk over time. Such measures may be altered or projected using scenarios describing future emissions data.
/E.M.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3626
/JESSICA LEMIEUX/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3626