DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-5) in the reply filed on 6/26/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-3 are objected to because of the following informalities: In claim 2, line 5 it appears that “batter-fixing” should read –battery-fixing--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DuFaux (US2024/0245959A1) in view of Weder et al. (US 4,124,135) (hereafter Weder).
With respect to claim 1, DuFaux teaches a smart golf ball (title) comprising: a control unit (730) that is mounted on the mounts (ribs formed by 715) and creates movement information of the golf ball when the golf ball is hit (figures; and paragraphs 20, 46, 58, 79-84, 90, 92, and 98); wherein the control unit (400) includes: a battery (741) (paragraph 58); a charging coil (731) being charged in a wireless charging type (paragraphs 46 and 57-58); a connecting housing (figures 6-7) connecting the charging coil with the battery (paragraphs 46 and 57-58); a control board (750) including a first control board including a sensor unit (accelerometer/gyroscope/magnetometer sensor module) that collects movement information of the golf ball (paragraphs 20, 46, 58, 78-84, 90, 92, 98, and 106), and a second control board connected with the first control board and including a communication module (paragraphs 79 and 98) and a controller (microcontroller/microprocessor) that transmit movement information collected by the sensor unit (accelerometer/gyroscope/magnetometer sensor module) to the system for providing ball flight information (paragraphs 20, 31, 79-84, 90-92, and 98) (note that since DuFaux uses the same sensors as the instant application the apparatus of DuFaux is intrinsically capable of providing flight information); an antenna (718/732) connected with the control board and transmitting movement information of the golf ball transmitted from the control board to the system for providing ball flight information (paragraphs 20, 31, 79-84, 90-92, and 98); a protection cover (710) that includes a first protection cover (first hemisphere), a second protection cover (second hemisphere), and mounts (ribs formed by 715) configured at the first and second protection covers to correspond to each other (figures 3-5; and paragraphs 55-57); a shock-absorbing member (510/610) configured to cover an outer surface of the protection cover (figures 1-2; and paragraphs 44-54); and an outer shell (300) configured to cover the shock-absorbing member (520/530/540/620/630/640/650) (figures 1-2; and paragraphs 44-54).
With respect to claim 1, DuFaux teaches a mating arrangement for forming a hollow housing (figures 3-4), but does not teach that the first protection cover has a coupling flange and the second protection cover has a coupling frame inserted inside the coupling flange.
However, Weder teaches a mating arrangement for forming a hollow housing that has a coupling flange and a coupling frame inserted inside the coupling flange (figures 1-3; and column 2, lines 36-column 5, line 58).
At the time of filing the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the sealing configuration of Weder on the apparatus o DuFaux in order to effectively seal the electronic components in a simple and reliable manner.
With respect to claim 5, DuFaux teaches wherein the sensor unit is composed of a 3-axis gyro sensor, a 3-axis acceleration sensor, and a 3-axis magnetometer sensor (paragraph 20).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DuFaux and Weder as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fitchett et al. (US 2012/0046131A1) (hereafter Fitchett).
With respect to claim 4, DuFaux and Weder do not teach wherein the shock-absorbing member is composite rubber in which neodymium polybutadiene (NdBR), zinc oxide (ZnO), a rubber cross-linking agent, organic peroxide, and a compound are mixed at a predetermined weight ratio.
However, Fitchett teaches wherein the shock-absorbing member is composite rubber in which neodymium polybutadiene (NdBR), zinc oxide (ZnO), a rubber cross-linking agent, organic peroxide, and a compound are mixed at a predetermined weight ratio (paragraph 72).
At the time of filing the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the material of Fitchett in the collective apparatus of DuFaux and Weder in order to form a shock-absorbing layer with the desired properties.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/KILEY S STONER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735