DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on 11/05/2024 and 02/24/2025 has been entered and considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 08/19/2024, has been accepted for examination.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “an attitude determining device”, “an imaging device”, within the claim(s).
The examiner is interpreting " an attitude determining device" as "a processor" as stated in paragraph [0027] of the applicant's specification as published.
The examiner is interpreting "an imaging device" as "a camera" as stated in paragraph [0021] of applicant's specification as published.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al. (2018/0031200 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 6, Park discloses an attitude determining device/method (processor/controller [pars. 0020-22], configured to: implicitly output a notification signal (i.e. a signaling function to inform) [pars. 0003] if (optional limitation (i.e. update(s) [pars. 0013, 0037, 0048]), in an image that an imaging device (camera, [par. 0268]) has captured of a predetermined attitude determining pattern formed by a light distribution variable lamp (210, 220) (fig. 2C) that illuminates a region ahead of a vehicle with light see [pars. 0027, 0102-106], a position of the attitude determining pattern in a direction about an optical axis of the imaging device deviates from a normal position by no less than a predetermined amount [pars. 0147, 0163-164] [pars. 0180-185].
For the purpose of clarity, the method claim 6 is taught/suggested by the functions shown/stated/set forth with regards to the device/system claim 1 as rejected above as being anticipated by Park.
As to claims 2-4, Park also discloses a structure that is use in an attitude determining device (processor/controller [pars. 0020-22] device/system that is implementing limitations such as, wherein the attitude determining pattern includes at least two luminous points (i.e. 112 (figs. 1, 2B-3A) [pars. 0069-72] or at least one line included in captured pattern (claim 2); wherein the notification signal (i.e. update(s)) is a signal that causes the light distribution variable lamp (210, 220) (fig. 2C) corresponding to the imaging device (camera, [par. 0268]) for which the notification signal (i.e. update(s) is output to have a lighting state different (a lighting state changes) from a lighting state held before attitude determination [pars. 0011, 0016-23] (claim 3); and wherein the notification signal (i.e. update(s)) is a signal that causes the light distribution variable lamp corresponding to the imaging device (camera, [par. 0268]) for which the notification signal is output to have a lighting state different from a lighting state held before attitude determination [pars. 0011, 0016-23] (claim 4).
As to claim 5, Park also discloses a vehicle lamp system is a vehicle lamp (figs. 1-17), comprising:
a light distribution variable lamp (210, 220) (fig. 2C) that illuminates a region ahead of a vehicle with light;
an imaging device (camera, [par. 0268]) that captures an image of the region ahead of the vehicle; and the attitude determining device (processor/controller [pars. 0020-22] according to Claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (2018/0031200 A1) in view of Tessnow et al. (2019/0128497 A1)
As to claim 7, Park teaches of a light distribution variable lamp (210, 220) (fig. 2C) that illuminates a region ahead of a vehicle with light see [pars. 0027, 0102-106], a position of the attitude determining pattern in a direction about an optical axis of the imaging device deviates from a normal position by no less than a predetermined amount [pars. 0147, 0163-164] [pars. 0180-185], and an imaging device (camera, [par. 0268]) that captures an image of the region ahead of the vehicle; and the attitude determining device (processor/controller [pars. 0020-22] that executes process and control [pars. 0025-26, 0034], as applied to method claim 6
Park fail to explicitly specify a constructional change that calibration of calibrating between a light illumination range of a light distribution variable lamp that illuminates a region ahead of a vehicle with light and an imaging range of an imaging device that captures an image of the region ahead of the vehicle, the calibration method comprising: excluding from being calibrated a set of the light distribution variable lamp and the imaging device for which the notification signal is output in the attitude determining method according to Claim 6; and for a set of a light distribution variable lamp and an imaging device to be calibrated, executing calibration excluding calibrating an attitude in a direction about an optical axis of the imaging device.
Tessnow teach of the constructional changes of calibration of calibrating between a light illumination range of a light distribution variable lamp that illuminates a region ahead of a vehicle with light and an imaging range of an imaging device that captures an image of the region ahead of the vehicle is known in the art, as evidenced by Tessnow (Tessnow, [pars. 0001, 0008-9, 0030, 0059-61] in order to ensure accuracy of measuring instrument/system match a known standard.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Park as desired appropriate such as in the manner set forth in applicant's claim 7, in view of the teachings of Tessnow in order to ensure accuracy of measuring instrument/system match a known standard, since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art, In re Stevens, 101 USPQ 284 (CC1954).
Additional Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references listed in the attached form PTO-892 teach of other prior art attitude determining device/method.
Conclusion
/ISIAKA O AKANBI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877