DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-16, 21 are pending. claims 1, 3, 9-16 have prior art rejections. claims 4, 5, 7, 8, 18, and 19 are objected. Claim 21 is allowed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6, 9-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murayama (WO 2017126554A1).
With respect to claims 1, 3, 6 Murayama describes a composition comprising water, an organic solvent (page 4) and a pH of 7 or more, preferably 8 or more or claimed alkaline composition. Unlike claimed invention, Murayama doesn’t describe the composition contains a specific compound having two or more sulfur atoms and one or more heteroatoms other than a sulfur atom. However, he teaches the composition further includes a corrosion inhibitor, including cystine,
, which provides claimed specific compound having a disulfide group and a carbonyl group (page 8). It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use cystine or claimed specific compound as a corrosion inhibitor in the composition with expected results.
With respect to claims 9, 10, and 19, the composition further includes a quaternary ammonium hydroxide (page 6).
With respect to claims 11 and 12, the organic solvent includes alcohol solvent such as glycol, alkane diol (page 4), which contains hydroxy groups and a content of organic solvent is 40-98 % by mass (page 5).
With respect to claims 13, 15, 16, Murayama teaches the composition further is applied for etching silicon (page 29), wherein the substrate further includes SiGe (page 30).
With respect to claim 14, the pH is preferably 13.4 (page 13).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5, 7, 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With respect to claim 4, Murayama doesn’t teach that the specific compound such as cystine has 3 or more hydroxy groups.
With respect to claim 5, neither Murayama nor Kiyokata teaches the compound has an aromatic hydrocarbon group substituted with a polar group containing a heteroatom other than a sulfur atom in combination with other limitations of claim 1.
With respect to claim 7, neither Murayama nor Kiyokata teaches the compound has a disulfide group and three or more hydroxy groups in combination with other limitations of claim 1.
With respect to claim 8 neither Murayama nor Kiyokata teaches the compound has a disulfide group and an aromatic hydrocarbon group substituted with a polar group containing a heteroatom other than a sulfur atom in combination with other limitations of claim 1.
Claim 21 is allowed because Murayama doesn’t teach that the specific compound such as cystine has 3 or more hydroxy groups in combination with other limitations of claim 21.
Response to Arguments
The amendment has overcome the rejections under Kiyokata.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e.,the carbonyl group does not include -CO- contained in the carboxy group) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DUY VU N DEO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713
10/9/2026