CTNF 18/808,282 CTNF 86084 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Fiebig et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7,095,235 B2) . With respect to claim 1, Fiebig et al. discloses a method for monitoring a drive device of an electric motor (see electric motor 14 shown in Fig. 1; see absract) , comprising: providing a plurality of switching elements in the drive device (see switching element 12 shown in Fig. 1, used to control electrical consumer motor 14; having multiple switching operations) ; measuring a switching time for at least one of the switching elements (control of switching behavior inherently involves timing characteristics; detection of operating parameters (T motor, current etc; control the switching process as a function of the operating parameter; col. 4, lines 1-9) ; and evaluating a state of the drive device on the basis of the measured switching time (evaluation of system condition using sensor data (temperature sensors 16, comparator units 18 and 22 shown in Fig. 1) . With respect to claim 2, Fiebig et al. discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising detecting a fault in the drive device (col. 1, lines 52-56) . With respect to claim 3, Fiebig et al. discloses the method according to claim 2, further comprising warning a user in response to detecting a fault (see warning light shown in col. 1, lines 52-56) . With respect to claim 4, Fiebig et al. discloses the method according to claim 2, further comprising initiating an emergency mode in response to detecting a fault (col. 1, lines 56-59) . With respect to claim 5, Fiebig et al. discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising carrying out a comparison of the measured switching time with another time (control of switching behavior inherently involves timing characteristics; detection of operating parameters (T motor, current etc; control the switching process as a function of the operating parameter; col. 4, lines 1-9) . With respect to claim 6, Fiebig et al. discloses the method according to claim 5, wherein the other time is determined by a calculation (col. 1, lines 38-41) . With respect to claim 7, Fiebig et al. discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising determining the switching time via a measured call-off path signal (control of switching behavior inherently involves timing characteristics; detection of operating parameters (T motor, current etc; control the switching process as a function of the operating parameter; col. 4, lines 1-9) . With respect to claim 8, Fiebig et al. discloses the method according to claim 7, wherein the determined switching time is considered over a measured current and a measured voltage (col. 3, lines 58-63) . With respect to claim 9, Fiebig et al. discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein MOSFETs are used as the switching elements (see col. 5, lines 28-30; the switching element 12 is a power transistor) . With respect to claim 10, Fiebig et al. dfisclsoes an arrangement for monitoring a drive device of an electric motor, which is arranged to carry out a method according to claim 1 (control of switching behavior inherently involves timing characteristics; detection of operating parameters (T motor, current etc; control the switching process as a function of the operating parameter; col. 4, lines 1-9) . Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FARHANA AKHTER HOQUE whose telephone number is (571)270-7543. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday, 7:30am-4:00pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Eman A Alkafawi can be reached at 571-272-4448. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /FARHANA A HOQUE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/808,282 Page 2 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/808,282 Page 3 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/808,282 Page 4 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/808,282 Page 5 Art Unit: 2858