CTNF 18/808,358 CTNF 89034 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. DETAILED ACTION Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being Anticipated by Sakamoto et al. (JP 2017183704 A) . PNG media_image1.png 182 364 media_image1.png Greyscale Regarding Claim 1, Sakamoto discloses: A substrate transfer apparatus comprising: a transfer arm (3 & F); a driver configured to move the transfer arm [0019]; and a controller (5) configured to control the driver [0021], wherein the transfer arm includes: a base portion (1000), at least one arm portion (22) connected to the base portion to extend from the base portion and configured to surround an outer circumference of a substrate (Fig. 4 & Fig. 5), a plurality of adsorbers (29) provided in the at least one arm portion and each including a suction port (24) that adsorbs a peripheral edge of a back surface of the substrate (Fig. 5) [0020 & 0022], and a plurality of suction passages (25) provided in the at least one arm portion (Fig. 5) [0020], wherein the plurality of adsorbers include: a first adsorber group including a first adsorber and a second adsorber (Fig. 5); and a second adsorber group including a third adsorber and a fourth adsorber (Fig. 5), wherein the plurality of suction passages include: a first suction passage connected to the suction ports of the first adsorber and the second adsorber (Fig. 5) [0020], and a second suction passage connected to the suction ports of the third adsorber and the fourth adsorber (Fig. 5) [0020]. Regarding Claim 7, Sakamoto discloses: the at least one arm portion includes a pair of first and second arm portions extending in the same direction from the base portion (Fig. 5), the first adsorber is disposed at a front end of the first arm portion (Fig. 5), the second adsorber is disposed at a front end of the second arm portion (Fig. 5), the third adsorber is disposed in a side of the first arm portion adjacent to the base portion (Fig. 5), and the fourth adsorber is disposed in a side of the second arm portion adjacent to the base portion (Fig. 5). Regarding Claim 8, Sakamoto discloses: the at least one arm portion includes a pair of first and second arm portions extending in the same direction from the base portion (Fig. 5), the first adsorber is disposed at a front end of the first arm portion (Fig. 5), the second adsorber is disposed in a side of the second arm portion adjacent to the base portion (Fig. 5), the third adsorber is disposed at a front end of the second arm portion (Fig. 5), and the fourth adsorber is disposed in a side of the first arm portion adjacent to the base portion (Fig. 5). Regarding Claim 9, Sakamoto discloses: the first suction passage is provided in one main surface side of the transfer arm (Fig. 5), and the second suction passage includes: a first portion provided in the one main surface side of the transfer arm (Fig. 5), and a second portion in communication with the first portion through a through-hole in the transfer arm and provided in another main surface side of the transfer arm (Fig. 5). Regarding Claim 10, Sakamoto discloses: the first suction passage is provided in one main surface side of the transfer arm (Fig. 5), and the second suction passage includes: a first portion provided in the one main surface side of the transfer arm (Fig. 5), and a second portion in communication with the first portion through a through-hole in the transfer arm and provided in another main surface side of the transfer arm (Fig. 5). Regarding Claim 11, Sakamoto discloses: the at least one arm portion includes a pair of first and second arm portions extending in the same direction from the base portion (Fig. 5), the first adsorber is disposed at a front end of the first arm portion (Fig. 5), the second adsorber is disposed in a side of the first arm portion adjacent to the base portion (Fig. 5), the third adsorber is disposed at a front end of the second arm portion (Fig. 5), and the fourth adsorber is disposed in a side of the second arm portion adjacent to the base portion (Fig. 5). Regarding Claim 12, Sakamoto discloses: the driver is configured to move the transfer arm along at least one of an X-axis extending along a horizontal direction [0019 & 0026], a Y-axis extending along the horizontal direction and orthogonal to the X-axis [0019 & 0026], a Z-axis orthogonal to both the X-axis and the Y-axis and extending along a vertical direction [0019 & 0026], and a θ-direction around the Z-axis [0019 & 0026]. Regarding Claim 13, Sakamoto discloses: the controller is configured to perform: controlling the driver to move the transfer arm along the Z-axis at a first speed [0088 & 0089 & 0090 & 0092], and controlling the driver to move the transfer arm along one of the X-axis, the Y-axis, and the θ-direction at a second speed slower than the first speed [0088 & 0089 & 0090 & 0092]. Regarding Claim 14, Sakamoto discloses: A substrate transfer apparatus comprising: a transfer arm (3 & F); a driver configured to move the transfer arm [0019]; and a controller (5) configured to control the driver [0021], wherein the transfer arm includes: a base portion (1000), at least one arm portion (22) connected to the base portion to extend from the base portion and configured to surround an outer circumference of a substrate (Fig. 4 & Fig. 5), a plurality of adsorbers (29) provided in the at least one arm portion and each including a suction port (24) that adsorbs a peripheral edge of a back surface of the substrate (Fig. 5) [0020 & 0022], and a plurality of suction passages (25) provided in the at least one arm portion (Fig. 5) [0020], wherein the plurality of suction passages are connected to the suction ports of the plurality of different adsorbers (Fig. 5) [0020], respectively . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 15, 16, 17, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakamoto et al. (JP 2017183704 A) . Regarding Claim 2, Sakamoto teaches: a first sensor (28) configured to detect pressure in the first and second suction passage (Fig. 5) [0021], wherein the controller is configured to change a movement speed of the transfer arm by the driver, based on results detected by the first sensor [0008 & 0038 & 0073 & 0074 & 0084 & 0088 & 0089 & 0092]. Sakamoto does not teach: a second sensor configured to detect pressure in the second suction passage. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a provide a second sensor configured to detect pressure in the second suction passage in order to provide a system capable of independently monitoring engagement and condition of the wafer in separate areas to more accurately assess the condition and engagement of the wafer, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (referred to in MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B)) Regarding Claim 3, Sakamoto teaches: the controller is configured to change the movement speed of the transfer arm by the driver, based on the results detected by the first sensor, and a movement direction of the transfer arm sensor [0008 & 0038 & 0073 & 0074 & 0084 & 0088 & 0089 & 0092]. Sakamoto does not teach: a second sensor configured to detect pressure in the second suction passage. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a provide a second sensor configured to detect pressure in the second suction passage in order to provide a system capable of independently monitoring engagement and condition of the wafer in separate areas to more accurately assess the condition and engagement of the wafer, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (referred to in MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B)) Regarding Claim 4, Sakamoto teaches: when determined that the back surface of the substrate is adsorbed by the suction ports of the first to fourth adsorbers, from the results detected by the first sensor, the controller is configured to control the driver to move the transfer arm at a first speed [0046]. Sakamoto does not teach: a second sensor configured to detect pressure in the second suction passage. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a provide a second sensor configured to detect pressure in the second suction passage in order to provide a system capable of independently monitoring engagement and condition of the wafer in separate areas to more accurately assess the condition and engagement of the wafer, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (referred to in MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B)) Regarding Claim 5, Sakamoto teaches: when determined that the pressure of one of the first suction passage and the second suction passage is higher than a threshold value set in advance, and the pressure of a remaining one of the first suction passage and the second suction passage is less than or equal to the threshold value, from the results detected by the first sensor, the controller is configured to control the driver to move the transfer arm at a second speed slower than the first speed [0008 & 0038 & 0073 & 0074 & 0084 & 0088 & 0089 & 0092]. Sakamoto does not teach: a second sensor configured to detect pressure in the second suction passage. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a provide a second sensor configured to detect pressure in the second suction passage in order to provide a system capable of independently monitoring engagement and condition of the wafer in separate areas to more accurately assess the condition and engagement of the wafer, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (referred to in MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B)) Regarding Claim 6, Sakamoto teaches: the controller is configured to perform: in response to the results detected by the first sensor, controlling the driver to move the transfer arm at a first speed when determined that the back surface of the substrate is adsorbed by the suction ports of the first adsorber group and the suction ports of the second adsorber group [0008 & 0038 & 0042 & 0073 & 0074 & 0084 & 0088 & 0089 & 0092], controlling the driver to move the transfer arm at a second speed slower than the first speed when determined that the back surface of the substrate is adsorbed by the suction ports of the first adsorber group or the suction ports of the second adsorber group [0008 & 0038 & 0073 & 0074 & 0084 & 0088 & 0089 & 0092], and controlling the driver not to move the transfer arm when determined that the back surface of the substrate is adsorbed by one or less of the suction ports of the first adsorber group and the second adsorber group [0008 & 0038 & 0073 & 0074 & 0084 & 0088 & 0089 & 0092]. Sakamoto does not teach: a second sensor configured to detect pressure in the second suction passage. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a provide a second sensor configured to detect pressure in the second suction passage in order to provide a system capable of independently monitoring engagement and condition of the wafer in separate areas to more accurately assess the condition and engagement of the wafer, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (referred to in MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B)) Regarding Claim 15, Sakamoto teaches: a first sensor (28) configured to detect pressure in each of the plurality of suction passages (Fig. 5) [0021], wherein the controller is configured to change a movement speed of the transfer arm by the driver based on results detected by the plurality of sensors [0008 & 0038 & 0073 & 0074 & 0084 & 0088 & 0089 & 0092]. Sakamoto does not teach: a second sensor configured to detect pressure in the second suction passage. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a provide a second sensor configured to detect pressure in the second suction passage in order to provide a system capable of independently monitoring engagement and condition of the wafer in separate areas to more accurately assess the condition and engagement of the wafer, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (referred to in MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B)) Regarding Claim 16, Sakamoto teaches: the controller is configured to perform: in response to the results detected by the first sensor, controlling the driver to move the transfer arm at a first speed when determined that the back surface of the substrate is adsorbed by the suction ports of three or more of the plurality of adsorbers [0008 & 0038 & 0042 & 0073 & 0074 & 0084 & 0088 & 0089 & 0092], controlling the driver to move the transfer arm at a second speed slower than the first speed when determined that the back surface of the substrate is adsorbed by the suction ports of two of the plurality of adsorbers [0008 & 0038 & 0073 & 0074 & 0084 & 0088 & 0089 & 0092], and controlling the driver not to move the transfer arm when determined that the back surface of the substrate is adsorbed by the suction port of one or less of the plurality of adsorbers [0008 & 0038 & 0073 & 0074 & 0084 & 0088 & 0089 & 0092]. Sakamoto does not teach: a second sensor configured to detect pressure in the second suction passage. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a provide a second sensor configured to detect pressure in the second suction passage in order to provide a system capable of independently monitoring engagement and condition of the wafer in separate areas to more accurately assess the condition and engagement of the wafer, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (referred to in MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B)) Regarding Claim 17, Sakamoto teaches: A substrate transfer method comprising: providing a substrate transfer apparatus including, a transfer arm (3 & F) configured to transfer a substrate to each of a plurality of processing modules that processes the substrate [0014 & 0016 & 0023], wherein the transfer arm includes, a base portion (1000), at least one arm portion (22) connected to the base portion to extend from the base portion and configured to surround an outer circumference of a substrate (Fig. 4 & Fig. 5), a plurality of adsorbers (29) provided in the at least one arm portion and each including a suction port (24) that adsorbs a peripheral edge of a back surface of the substrate (Fig. 5) [0020 & 0022], and a plurality of suction passages provided in the at least one arm portion, a plurality of suction passages (25) provided in the at least one arm portion (Fig. 5) [0020] wherein the plurality of adsorbers include: a first adsorber group including a first adsorber and a second adsorber (Fig. 5); and a second adsorber group including a third adsorber and a fourth adsorber (Fig. 5), wherein the plurality of suction passages include, a first suction passage connected to the suction ports of the first adsorber and the second adsorber (Fig. 5) [0020], and a second suction passage connected to the suction ports of the third adsorber and the fourth adsorber (Fig. 5) [0020]. detecting pressure in the first suction passage by a first sensor (28) (Fig. 5) [0021]; and changing a movement speed of the transfer arm based on results detected by the first sensor [0008 & 0038 & 0073 & 0074 & 0084 & 0088 & 0089 & 0092]. Sakamoto does not teach: a second sensor configured to detect pressure in the second suction passage. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a provide a second sensor configured to detect pressure in the second suction passage in order to provide a system capable of independently monitoring engagement and condition of the wafer in separate areas to more accurately assess the condition and engagement of the wafer, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (referred to in MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B)) Regarding Claim 18, Sakamoto teaches: the changing includes, in response to the results detected by the first sensor [0021], moving the transfer arm at a first speed when determined that the back surface of the substrate is adsorbed by the suction ports of the first adsorber group and the suction ports of the second adsorber group [0008 & 0038 & 0042 & 0073 & 0074 & 0084 & 0088 & 0089 & 0092], moving the transfer arm at a second speed slower than the first speed when determined that the back surface of the substrate is adsorbed by the suction ports of the first adsorber group or the suction ports of the second adsorber group [0008 & 0038 & 0073 & 0074 & 0084 & 0088 & 0089 & 0092], and not moving the transfer arm when determined that the back surface of the substrate is adsorbed by one or less of the suction ports of the first adsorber group and the second adsorber group [0008 & 0038 & 0073 & 0074 & 0084 & 0086 & 0088 & 0089 & 0092]. Sakamoto does not teach: a second sensor configured to detect pressure in the second suction passage. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a provide a second sensor configured to detect pressure in the second suction passage in order to provide a system capable of independently monitoring engagement and condition of the wafer in separate areas to more accurately assess the condition and engagement of the wafer, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (referred to in MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B)) Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Patent publications US 20130202388 A1 and US 20130211571 A1 have been cited by the examiner as pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure because they teach: substrate transfer systems utilizing adsorbing grippers mounted to gripper arms surrounding the perimeter of the substrate . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to BRENDAN P TIGHE whose telephone number is 571-272-4872. The Examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Thursday, 7:00-5:30 EST If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, SAUL RODRIGUEZ can be reached on 571-272-7097. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /BRENDAN P TIGHE/Examiner, Art Unit 3652 /SAUL RODRIGUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3652 Application/Control Number: 18/808,358 Page 2 Art Unit: 3652 Application/Control Number: 18/808,358 Page 3 Art Unit: 3652 Application/Control Number: 18/808,358 Page 4 Art Unit: 3652 Application/Control Number: 18/808,358 Page 5 Art Unit: 3652 Application/Control Number: 18/808,358 Page 6 Art Unit: 3652 Application/Control Number: 18/808,358 Page 7 Art Unit: 3652 Application/Control Number: 18/808,358 Page 8 Art Unit: 3652 Application/Control Number: 18/808,358 Page 9 Art Unit: 3652 Application/Control Number: 18/808,358 Page 10 Art Unit: 3652 Application/Control Number: 18/808,358 Page 11 Art Unit: 3652 Application/Control Number: 18/808,358 Page 12 Art Unit: 3652 Application/Control Number: 18/808,358 Page 13 Art Unit: 3652 Application/Control Number: 18/808,358 Page 14 Art Unit: 3652 Application/Control Number: 18/808,358 Page 15 Art Unit: 3652 Application/Control Number: 18/808,358 Page 16 Art Unit: 3652 Application/Control Number: 18/808,358 Page 17 Art Unit: 3652 Application/Control Number: 18/808,358 Page 18 Art Unit: 3652