DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Application No. 18/808,377 filed on 08/19/2024.
Claims 1-20 have been examined and are pending in this application.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of Applicant’s claim for priority under 35 U.S.C. 120 to parent Application No. 16/268,288, filed on 02/05/2019, to parent Application No. 17/706,446, filed on 03/28/2022, and to parent Application No. 18/143,498, filed on 05/04/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS), submitted on 11/12/2024, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-23 of U.S. Patent No. 11,290,448, claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,669,611, and claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,067,106. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim(s) 1-20 are broader and similar in scope to claim(s) 1-23 of U.S. Patent No. 11,290,448, claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,669,611, and claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,067,106. If the claims in Application No. 18/808,377 are allowed, it could improperly extend the “right to exclude” for the same invention in two different Patents.
Claims 1-20 are directed to methods and a system, said methods and system are associated with the methods and system claimed in claim(s) 1-23 of U.S. Patent No. 11,290,448, the method and systems claimed in claim(s) 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,669,611, and the method and systems claimed in claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,067,106.
The subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in U.S. Patent No. 11,290,448, U.S. Patent No. 11,669,611, and U.S. Patent No. 12,143,498 and is covered by U.S. Patent No. 11,290,448, U.S. Patent No. 11,669,611, and U.S. Patent No. 12,143,498, since U.S. Patent No. 11,290,448, U.S. Patent No. 11,669,611, and U.S. Patent No. 12,143,498 and the instant application are claiming common subject matter.
Application No. 18/808,377 (Instant App.)
U.S. Patent No. 11,290,448
Claim 1: A method comprising: receiving a first transmission from a service provider device with which a first user device is transacting, the first transmission comprising (i) a request for user data of a user and (ii) biometric information detected via one or more user interfaces of the first user device; validating the request from the service provider device via a second transmission to at least one of the first user device or a second user device; comparing the biometric information to data corresponding to the user stored in an identity databank to verify the user, wherein the identity databank comprises identity elements that each have one or more payload values and one or more metadata values; retrieving, responsive to verifying the user, from the identity databank, the requested user data from one or more identity elements in the identity databank; and initiating a third transmission comprising the requested user data to the service provider device.
Claim 1: A method for multifactor authentication using a contextual identity profile library, the method comprising:
generating a profile library for a user comprising a plurality of profiles, each profile of the plurality of profiles identifying a respective set of user data and a respective entity that is authorized to access the user data; accepting a first transmission from a service provider device with which a first user device is transacting, the first transmission comprising a request for user data of the user and biometric information detected via one or more sensors of the first user device; confirming, via a second transmission to at least one of the first user device and a second user device, that the request from the service provider device is valid; comparing the biometric information to data corresponding to the user stored in an identity databank to verify the user, wherein the identity databank comprises identity elements that each have one or more payload values and one or more metadata values;
determining, responsive to verifying the user, that a first profile of the plurality of profiles in the profile library indicates the service provider device is authorized to access the requested user data; responsive to determining that the first profile indicates the service provider device is authorized to access the requested data, retrieving, from the identity databank, the requested user data from one or more identity elements in the identity databank; and initiating a third transmission with the requested user data to the service provider device.
Claim 14: A central identity system comprising one or more processors, the central identity system being configured to: receive a first transmission from a service provider device of a service provider, wherein the user is transacting with the service provider device using a first user device, the first transmission comprising: a request for user data; and biometric data corresponding to the user, the biometric data having been detected by one or more user interfaces of the first user device and transmitted to the service provider device; initiate a second transmission to the first user device or a second user device of the user to confirm that the user authorizes the central identity system to transmit the requested user data to the service provider device; validate the biometric data from the service provider device using an identity databank comprising identity elements corresponding to the user, each identity element comprising a set of one or more payload values and a set of one or more metadata values, wherein validating the biometric data comprises determining that the biometric data matches or is sufficiently similar to values in one or more corresponding identity elements in the identity databank; retrieve, from identity elements in the identity databank, payload values corresponding to the requested user data; and initiate a third transmission to the service provider device, the third transmission comprising the payload values retrieved from the identity databank.
Claim 11: A central identity system comprising: a network interface configured to communicate via a telecommunications network; and a processor and a memory having stored thereon instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to: generate a profile library for a user comprising a plurality of profiles, each profile of the plurality of profiles identifying a respective set of user data and a respective entity that is authorized to access the user data; accept a first transmission from a service provider device of a service provider, wherein the user is transacting with the service provider device using a first user device, the first transmission comprising:
a request for user data; and biometric data corresponding to the user, the biometric data having been detected by one or more sensors of the first user device and transmitted to the service provider device; initiate a second transmission to the first user device or a second user device of the user to confirm that the user authorizes the central identity system to transmit the requested user data to the service provider device; validate the biometric data from the service provider device using an identity databank that is maintained by the central identity system, the identity databank comprising identity elements corresponding to the user, each identity element comprising a set of one or more payload values and a set of one or more metadata values, wherein validating the biometric data comprises determining that the biometric data matches or is sufficiently similar to values in one or more corresponding identity elements in the identity databank; determine, responsive to validating the biometric data, that a first profile of the plurality of profiles in the profile library indicates the service provider device is authorized to access the requested user data; responsive to determining that the first profile indicates the service provider device is authorized to access the requested data, retrieve, from identity elements in the identity databank, payload values corresponding to the requested user data; and
initiate a third transmission to the service provider device, the third transmission comprising the payload values retrieved from the identity databank.
Claim 19: A method comprising: receiving, from a service provider device with which a first user device is communicating, an authentication request comprising a set of payload values and a set of metadata values, the set of payload values including biometric information acquired via a user interface of the first user device, and the set of metadata values including a date and a geolocation detected using a location sensor of the first user device; validating the request from the service provider device via at least one of the first user device or a second user device; verifying the biometric information using an identity databank of the user; determining, responsive to verifying the biometric information, that the service provider device is authorized to access a validated dataset; responsive to determining that the service provider device is authorized to access the validated dataset, generating an authentication response comprising the validated dataset and transmitting the authentication response to the service provider device; and recording the authentication request as part of an identity element in the identity databank.
Claim 17: A method for multifactor authentication, the method comprising:
generating a profile library for a user comprising a plurality of profiles, each profile of the plurality of profiles identifying a respective set of user data and a respective entity that is authorized to access the user data; accepting, from a service provider device with which a first user device is communicating, an authentication request comprising a set of payload values and a set of metadata values, the set of payload values including biometric information acquired via a sensor of the first user device, and the set of metadata values including a date and a geolocation detected using a location sensor of the first user device; confirming, via at least one of the first user device and a second user device, that the authentication request from the service provider device is valid;
verifying the biometric information using an identity databank of the user; determining, responsive to verifying the biometric information, that a first profile of the plurality of profiles in the profile library indicates the service provider device is authorized to access a validated dataset;
responsive to determining that the first profile indicates the service provider device is authorized to access the requested data, generating an authentication response with the validated dataset and transmitting the authentication response to the service provider device; and recording the authentication request as part of an identity element in the identity databank.
Claim 19: A method comprising: receiving, from a service provider device with which a first user device is communicating, an authentication request comprising a set of payload values and a set of metadata values, the set of payload values including biometric information acquired via a user interface of the first user device, and the set of metadata values including a date and a geolocation detected using a location sensor of the first user device; validating the request from the service provider device via at least one of the first user device or a second user device; verifying the biometric information using an identity databank of the user; determining, responsive to verifying the biometric information, that the service provider device is authorized to access a validated dataset; responsive to determining that the service provider device is authorized to access the validated dataset, generating an authentication response comprising the validated dataset and transmitting the authentication response to the service provider device; and recording the authentication request as part of an identity element in the identity databank.
Claim 19: A method of verifying user identity based on geolocation data, the method comprising: generating a profile library for a user comprising a plurality of profiles, each profile of the plurality of profiles identifying a respective set of user data and a respective entity that is authorized to access the user data; generating an identity databank having a set of location elements, each location element identifying a geolocation of the user and specifying a corresponding date on which the user was detected to be at the geolocation; receiving a first transmission from a service provider device requesting verification of the user's identity, the service provider device being in communication with a user device of the user, the first transmission identifying one or more geolocations; determining, responsive to verifying the biometric information, that a first profile of the plurality of profiles in the profile library indicates the service provider device is authorized to access verification of the user's identity; responsive to determining that the first profile indicates the service provider device is authorized to access verification of the user's identity, determining, based at least partly on comparisons with the set of location elements in the identity databank, that the one or more geolocations identified in the first transmission provide verification of the user's identity; and initiating a second transmission to the first device indicating that the identity of the second user is verified.
Application No. 18/808,377 (Instant App.)
U.S. Patent No. 11,669,611
Claim 1: A method comprising: receiving a first transmission from a service provider device with which a first user device is transacting, the first transmission comprising (i) a request for user data of a user and (ii) biometric information detected via one or more user interfaces of the first user device; validating the request from the service provider device via a second transmission to at least one of the first user device or a second user device; comparing the biometric information to data corresponding to the user stored in an identity databank to verify the user, wherein the identity databank comprises identity elements that each have one or more payload values and one or more metadata values; retrieving, responsive to verifying the user, from the identity databank, the requested user data from one or more identity elements in the identity databank; and initiating a third transmission comprising the requested user data to the service provider device.
Claim 1: A method for multifactor authentication, the method comprising:
accepting a first transmission from a service provider device with which a first user device is transacting, the first transmission comprising (i) a request for user data of a user and (ii) biometric information detected via one or more sensors of the first user device; confirming, via a second transmission to at least one of the first user device and a second user device, that the request from the service provider device is valid; comparing the biometric information to data corresponding to the user stored in an identity databank to verify the user, wherein the identity databank comprises identity elements that each have one or more payload values and one or more metadata values;
determining, responsive to verifying the user, that a first profile of a plurality of profiles indicates the service provider device is authorized to access the requested user data, wherein each profile of the plurality of profiles identifies a respective set of user data and a respective entity that is authorized to access the user data; responsive to determining that the first profile indicates the service provider device is authorized to access the requested data, retrieving, from the identity databank, the requested user data from one or more identity elements in the identity databank; and initiating a third transmission with the requested user data to the service provider device.
Claim 14: A central identity system comprising one or more processors, the central identity system being configured to: receive a first transmission from a service provider device of a service provider, wherein the user is transacting with the service provider device using a first user device, the first transmission comprising: a request for user data; and biometric data corresponding to the user, the biometric data having been detected by one or more user interfaces of the first user device and transmitted to the service provider device; initiate a second transmission to the first user device or a second user device of the user to confirm that the user authorizes the central identity system to transmit the requested user data to the service provider device; validate the biometric data from the service provider device using an identity databank comprising identity elements corresponding to the user, each identity element comprising a set of one or more payload values and a set of one or more metadata values, wherein validating the biometric data comprises determining that the biometric data matches or is sufficiently similar to values in one or more corresponding identity elements in the identity databank; retrieve, from identity elements in the identity databank, payload values corresponding to the requested user data; and initiate a third transmission to the service provider device, the third transmission comprising the payload values retrieved from the identity databank.
Claim 13: A central identity system comprising: a network interface configured to communicate via a telecommunications network; and a processor and a memory having stored thereon instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to: accept a first transmission from a service provider device of a service provider, wherein the user is transacting with the service provider device using a first user device, the first transmission comprising:
a request for user data; and biometric data corresponding to the user, the biometric data having been detected by one or more sensors of the first user device and transmitted to the service provider device;
initiate a second transmission to the first user device or a second user device of the user to confirm that the user authorizes the central identity system to transmit the requested user data to the service provider device;
validate the biometric data from the service provider device using an identity databank that is maintained by the central identity system, the identity databank comprising identity elements corresponding to the user, each identity element comprising a set of one or more payload values and a set of one or more metadata values, wherein validating the biometric data comprises determining that the biometric data matches or is sufficiently similar to values in one or more corresponding identity elements in the identity databank;
determine, responsive to validating the biometric data, that a first profile of a plurality of profiles in a profile library indicates the service provider device is authorized to access the requested user data, wherein each profile of the plurality of profiles identifies a respective set of user data and a respective entity that is authorized to access the user data;
responsive to determining that the first profile indicates the service provider device is authorized to access the requested data, retrieve, from identity elements in the identity databank, payload values corresponding to the requested user data; and
initiate a third transmission to the service provider device, the third transmission comprising the payload values retrieved from the identity databank.
Claim 19: A method comprising: receiving, from a service provider device with which a first user device is communicating, an authentication request comprising a set of payload values and a set of metadata values, the set of payload values including biometric information acquired via a user interface of the first user device, and the set of metadata values including a date and a geolocation detected using a location sensor of the first user device; validating the request from the service provider device via at least one of the first user device or a second user device; verifying the biometric information using an identity databank of the user; determining, responsive to verifying the biometric information, that the service provider device is authorized to access a validated dataset; responsive to determining that the service provider device is authorized to access the validated dataset, generating an authentication response comprising the validated dataset and transmitting the authentication response to the service provider device; and recording the authentication request as part of an identity element in the identity databank.
Claim 19: A method for multifactor authentication, the method comprising:
accepting, from a service provider device with which a first user device is communicating, an authentication request comprising a set of payload values and a set of metadata values, the set of payload values including biometric information acquired via a sensor of the first user device, and the set of metadata values including a date and a geolocation detected using a location sensor of the first user device; confirming, via at least one of the first user device and a second user device, that the authentication request from the service provider device is valid;
verifying the biometric information using an identity databank of the user; determining, responsive to verifying the biometric information, that a first profile of a plurality of profiles indicates the service provider device is authorized to access a validated dataset, each profile of the plurality of profiles identifying a respective set of user data and a respective entity that is authorized to access the user data; responsive to determining that the first profile indicates the service provider device is authorized to access the requested data, generating an authentication response with the validated dataset and transmitting the authentication response to the service provider device; and
recording the authentication request as part of an identity element in the identity databank.
Application No. 18/808,377 (Instant App.)
U.S. Patent No. 12,067,106
Claim 1: A method comprising: receiving a first transmission from a service provider device with which a first user device is transacting, the first transmission comprising (i) a request for user data of a user and (ii) biometric information detected via one or more user interfaces of the first user device; validating the request from the service provider device via a second transmission to at least one of the first user device or a second user device; comparing the biometric information to data corresponding to the user stored in an identity databank to verify the user, wherein the identity databank comprises identity elements that each have one or more payload values and one or more metadata values; retrieving, responsive to verifying the user, from the identity databank, the requested user data from one or more identity elements in the identity databank; and initiating a third transmission comprising the requested user data to the service provider device.
Claim 1: A method for multifactor authentication, the method comprising: accepting a first transmission from a service provider device with which a first user device is transacting, the first transmission comprising (i) a request for user data of a user and (ii) biometric information detected via one or more sensors of the first user device; confirming, via a second transmission to at least one of the first user device and a second user device, that the request from the service provider device is valid; comparing the biometric information to data corresponding to the user stored in an identity databank to verify the user, wherein the identity databank comprises identity elements that each have one or more payload values and one or more metadata values; retrieving, responsive to verifying the user, from the identity databank, the requested user data from one or more identity elements in the identity databank; and initiating a third transmission with the requested user data to the service provider device.
Claim 14: A central identity system comprising one or more processors, the central identity system being configured to: receive a first transmission from a service provider device of a service provider, wherein the user is transacting with the service provider device using a first user device, the first transmission comprising: a request for user data; and biometric data corresponding to the user, the biometric data having been detected by one or more user interfaces of the first user device and transmitted to the service provider device; initiate a second transmission to the first user device or a second user device of the user to confirm that the user authorizes the central identity system to transmit the requested user data to the service provider device; validate the biometric data from the service provider device using an identity databank comprising identity elements corresponding to the user, each identity element comprising a set of one or more payload values and a set of one or more metadata values, wherein validating the biometric data comprises determining that the biometric data matches or is sufficiently similar to values in one or more corresponding identity elements in the identity databank; retrieve, from identity elements in the identity databank, payload values corresponding to the requested user data; and initiate a third transmission to the service provider device, the third transmission comprising the payload values retrieved from the identity databank.
Claim 14: A central identity system comprising one or more processors and a network interface configured to communicate via a telecommunications network, wherein the central identity system is configured to: accept a first transmission from a service provider device of a service provider, wherein the user is transacting with the service provider device using a first user device, the first transmission comprising: a request for user data; and biometric data corresponding to the user, the biometric data having been detected by one or more sensors of the first user device and transmitted to the service provider device; initiate a second transmission to the first user device or a second user device of the user to confirm that the user authorizes the central identity system to transmit the requested user data to the service provider device; validate the biometric data from the service provider device using an identity databank that is maintained by the central identity system, the identity databank comprising identity elements corresponding to the user, each identity element comprising a set of one or more payload values and a set of one or more metadata values, wherein validating the biometric data comprises determining that the biometric data matches or is sufficiently similar to values in one or more corresponding identity elements in the identity databank; retrieve, from identity elements in the identity databank, payload values corresponding to the requested user data; and initiate a third transmission to the service provider device, the third transmission comprising the payload values retrieved from the identity databank.
Claim 19: A method comprising: receiving, from a service provider device with which a first user device is communicating, an authentication request comprising a set of payload values and a set of metadata values, the set of payload values including biometric information acquired via a user interface of the first user device, and the set of metadata values including a date and a geolocation detected using a location sensor of the first user device; validating the request from the service provider device via at least one of the first user device or a second user device; verifying the biometric information using an identity databank of the user; determining, responsive to verifying the biometric information, that the service provider device is authorized to access a validated dataset; responsive to determining that the service provider device is authorized to access the validated dataset, generating an authentication response comprising the validated dataset and transmitting the authentication response to the service provider device; and recording the authentication request as part of an identity element in the identity databank.
Claim 19: A method for multifactor authentication, the method comprising: receiving, from a service provider device with which a first user device is communicating, an authentication request comprising a set of payload values and a set of metadata values, the set of payload values including biometric information acquired via a sensor of the first user device, and the set of metadata values including a date and a geolocation detected using a location sensor of the first user device; confirming, via at least one of the first user device and a second user device, that the authentication request from the service provider device is valid; verifying the biometric information using an identity databank of the user; determining, responsive to verifying the biometric information, that the service provider device is authorized to access a validated dataset; responsive to determining that the service provider device is authorized to access the validated dataset, generating an authentication response with the validated dataset and transmitting the authentication response to the service provider device; and recording the authentication request as part of an identity element in the identity databank.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hyun et al. (US 2018/0294966; Hereinafter “Hyun”) in view of Khalil et al. (US 2020/0287887; Hereinafter “Khalil”).
Regarding claim 1, Hyun teaches a method comprising: receiving a first transmission from a service provider device with which a first user device is transacting, the first transmission comprising (i) a request for user data of a user and (ii) biometric information detected via one or more user interfaces of the first user device (Hyun: Para. [Hyun: Para. [0053], A digital identity management device receives a subscription request from a service request device (operation S100). In an exemplary embodiment, the subscription request may include identity identification information and data of authentication information. Para. [0065], First, referring to FIG. 8A, a user terminal transmits a digital identity subscription request to the first service server (operation S90), and the first service server requests the user terminal to provide customer information (operation S92). Then, the user terminal transmits customer information including input identity identification information and a predetermined type of authentication information for authenticating a user of the user terminal to the first service server (operation S94). The first service server transmits the digital identity subscription request to a digital identity management device (operation S100). Para. [0066], The user terminal receives authentication information of the requested type (operation S126) and transmits the received authentication information to the second service server (operation S128).);
validating the request from the service provider device via a second transmission to at least one of the first user device or a second user device (Hyun: Para. [0066], Next, referring to FIG. 8B, when the user terminal requests the second service server to authenticate the user of the user terminal using a digital identity (operation S122), the second service server requests the user terminal to provide authentication information of a predetermined type or authentication information of a type appropriate to the situation (operation S124). The user terminal receives authentication information of the requested type (operation S126) and transmits the received authentication information to the second service server (operation S128).);
comparing the biometric information to data corresponding to the user stored in an identity databank to verify the user, wherein the identity databank comprises identity elements that each have one or more payload values and one or more metadata values (Hyun: Para. [0072 In an exemplary embodiment, the transaction ID may be obtained from the digital identity data structure. As described above, the digital identity management device may match and store, in the digital identity data structure, the block hash value of the block storing the hash value of the authentication information, the first information functioning as a unique identifier of the user to be authenticated, and the transaction ID including the identity identification information in the block storing the digital identity identification information. Therefore, if the authentication request received by the digital identity management device includes the authentication information together with the unique identifier of the user, the transaction ID can be obtained from the digital identity data structure.).
retrieving, responsive to verifying the user, from the identity databank, the requested user data from one or more identity elements in the identity databank (Hyun: Para. [0070], If the authentication information included in the received authentication request is found in the blockchain, the digital identity management device reads the block hash value (Hash#X) of the block storing the hash value of the authentication information from the blockchain network (operation S140). Next, referring to FIG. 8C, the digital identity management device searches for a block hash value, which is stored together with the hash value of the authentication information, in the block indicated by Hash#X in the blockchain network (operation S142). Para. [0074], Through the above-described process, the digital identity management device receives the user's identity identification information, which is indicated by the authentication information received together with the authentication request, from the blockchain network (operation S150). The digital identity management device transmits at least part of the received identity identification information to the second service server.); and
initiating a third transmission comprising the requested user data to the service provider device (Hyun: Para. [0074], Through the above-described process, the digital identity management device receives the user's identity identification information, which is indicated by the authentication information received together with the authentication request, from the blockchain network (operation S150). The digital identity management device transmits at least part of the received identity identification information to the second service server. Para. [0075], The second service server identifies whether the user is a subscribed customer by using the identity identification information received from the digital identity management device (operation S154). If the user is a subscribed customer, the second service server immediately allows the user to log in (operation S155).).
Hyun does not explicitly teach does not explicitly teach (ii) biometric information detected via one or more user interfaces of the first user device.
In an analogous art, Khalil teaches (ii) biometric information detected via one or more user interfaces of the first user device (Khalil: Para. [0013], The user device can provide a set of credentials associated with the identity service provider (e.g., a username/password combination, a security token, biometric information, etc. for an account associated with the identity service provider and accessible by the identity provider server device). Para. [0018], the user device can provide an authentication request to service provider server device 1. For example, the user device can provide the authentication request in association with a user of the user device attempting to access a service provided by a first service provider via service provider server device 1. As shown by reference number 118, service provider server device 1 can provide an authentication challenge to the user device (e.g., based on receiving the authentication request from the user device). For example, service provider server device 1 can provide an authentication challenge to request, from the user device, information that can be used to authenticate an identity of the user of the user device.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Khalil with the system and method of Hyun to include (ii) biometric information detected via one or more user interfaces of the first user device because this functionality ensure authentication of the user based on possession of the device making it more difficult for fraudsters (Shastri: Para. [0010]).
Regarding claim 2, Hyun, in combination with Khalil, teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the identity elements in the identity databank correspond with immutable attributes of the user (Hyun: Para. [0037], In an exemplary embodiment, the digital identity management device 100 may operate as one of the blockchain nodes 200a, 200b, 200c, . . . , 200n included in the blockchain network 200. Para. [0040], In a first exemplary embodiment, the digital identity management device 100 stores only the identity identification information of the subscription request in the blockchain network 200 and stores the authentication information of the subscription request in itself.).
Regarding claim 3, Hyun, in combination with Khalil, teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the requested user data comprises a password (Khalil: Para. [0013], The user device can provide a set of credentials associated with the identity service provider (e.g., a username/password combination, a security token, biometric information, etc. for an account associated with the identity service provider and accessible by the identity provider server device).).
Regarding claim 4, Hyun, in combination with Khalil, teaches the method of claim 3, wherein the password is linked in the identity databank with a user account administered by the service provider device (Khalil: Para. [0093], In some implementations, service provider server device 220-1 can generate the request using a private identifier that identifies the user of user device 210 and/or an account associated with the user and a secret. Para. [0123]).
Regarding claim 5, Hyun, in combination with Khalil, teaches the method of claim 3, wherein the method further comprises generating the password (Khalil: Para. [0093], For example, service provider server device 220-1 can request that user device 210 provide a set of credentials related to authenticating the user of user device 210 (e.g., request that the user input a username/password combination, request that user device 210 provide a stored security token, etc.). [token generated and stored at client device]).
Regarding claim 6, Hyun, in combination with Khalil, teaches the method of claim 5, wherein the generated password includes values, or modified versions thereof, from one or more identity elements (Khalil: Para. [0093], For example, service provider server device 220-1 can request that user device 210 provide a set of credentials related to authenticating the user of user device 210 (e.g., request that the user input a username/password combination, request that user device 210 provide a stored security token, etc.). [token generated and stored at client device]).
Regarding claim 7, Hyun, in combination with Khalil, teaches the method of claim 6, wherein the values are tokenized (Khalil: Para. [0093], For example, service provider server device 220-1 can request that user device 210 provide a set of credentials related to authenticating the user of user device 210 (e.g., request that the user input a username/password combination, request that user device 210 provide a stored security token, etc.). [token generated and stored at client device]).
Regarding claim 13, Hyun, in combination with Khalil, teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more user interfaces comprises one or more sensors (Khalil: Para. [0013], The user device can provide a set of credentials associated with the identity service provider (e.g., a username/password combination, a security token, biometric information, etc. for an account associated with the identity service provider and accessible by the identity provider server device). [biometrics are input via camera or fingerprint sensor] Para. [0052], Additionally, or alternatively, and as another example, a set of credentials associated with a second LoA, higher than the first LoA, can include a username/password combination, email verification, biometric information (e.g., a finger print scan, a retina scan, a voice scan, etc.), and/or the like.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Regarding Claim 8, Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding Claims 9-11, Claims 9-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a claim that is dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding Claims 14-20, Claims 14-20 are allowed over the cited prior art.
The following is an Examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The closest prior art includes Hyun et al. (US 2018/0294966; Hereinafter “Hyun”) in view of Khalil et al. (US 2020/0287887; Hereinafter “Khalil”). However, none of Hyun and Khalil teaches or suggests, alone or in combination, the particular combination of steps or elements as recited in the independent claims 8, 14, and 19. For example, none of the cited prior art teaches or suggest the steps of “further comprising determining, prior to retrieving the requested user data, that a first profile of a plurality of profiles indicates the service provider device is authorized to access the requested user data, wherein each profile of the plurality of profiles identifies a respective set of user data and a respective entity that is authorized to access the user data” as recited in claim 8, the steps of “accept a first transmission from a service provider device of a service provider, wherein the user is transacting with the service provider device using a first user device, the first transmission comprising: a request for user data; and biometric data corresponding to the user, the biometric data having been detected by one or more sensors of the first user device and transmitted to the service provider device; initiate a second transmission to the first user device or a second user device of the user to confirm that the user authorizes the central identity system to transmit the requested user data to the service provider device; validate the biometric data from the service provider device using an identity databank that is maintained by the central identity system, the identity databank comprising identity elements corresponding to the user, each identity element comprising a set of one or more payload values and a set of one or more metadata values, wherein validating the biometric data comprises determining that the biometric data matches or is sufficiently similar to values in one or more corresponding identity elements in the identity databank; retrieve, from identity elements in the identity databank, payload values corresponding to the requested user data; and initiate a third transmission to the service provider device, the third transmission comprising the payload values retrieved from the identity databank” recited in claim 14, and the steps of “receiving, from a service provider device with which a first user device is communicating, an authentication request comprising a set of payload values and a set of metadata values, the set of payload values including biometric information acquired via a sensor of the first user device, and the set of metadata values including a date and a geolocation detected using a location sensor of the first user device; confirming, via at least one of the first user device and a second user device, that the authentication request from the service provider device is valid; verifying the biometric information using an identity databank of the user; determining, responsive to verifying the biometric information, that the service provider device is authorized to access a validated dataset; responsive to determining that the service provider device is authorized to access the validated dataset, generating an authentication response with the validated dataset and transmitting the authentication response to the service provider device; and recording the authentication request as part of an identity element in the identity databank” recited in claim 19. As a result, the claims are allowable over the cited prior art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2015/0221151 by Bacco et al.
/NELSON S. GIDDINS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2408