DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,068,050. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding claim 1, claim 10 of Pat. ‘050 discloses an apparatus, comprising: a plurality of processing units; a plurality of glitch detectors that are configured to detect an indication of a glitch attack on the apparatus; and a connection matrix configured to provide respective signals from the plurality of glitch detectors to at least two of the plurality of processing units.
Regarding claim 2, claim 11 of Pat. ‘050 discloses wherein the plurality of processing units each include at least one local glitch detector corresponding thereto.
Regarding claims 3 and 4, claim 12 of Pat. ‘050 discloses wherein the at least one local glitch detector comprises a voltage glitch detector, and wherein the at least one local glitch detector comprises an electromagnetic (EM) glitch detector.
Regarding claim 5, claim 13 of Pat. ‘050 discloses wherein the plurality of processing units each include at least two local glitch detectors corresponding thereto.
Regarding claim 6, claim 12 of Pat. ‘050 discloses wherein the at least two local glitch detectors include at least one voltage glitch detector configured to monitor voltage signal changes and at least one electromagnetic glitch detector configured to monitor clock signal changes.
Regarding claim 7, claim 10 of Pat. ‘050 discloses wherein the connection matrix is configured to provide respective signals from the plurality of glitch detectors to all of the plurality of processing units.
Regarding claim 8, claim 16 of Pat. 050 discloses wherein the connection matrix is configured to provide respective signals from the plurality of glitch detectors to all of the plurality of processing units.
Regarding claim 9, claim 1 of Pat. ‘050 discloses a method, comprising: detecting, by one of a plurality of glitch detectors within a memory system, an indication of a glitch attack on the memory system, wherein the memory system comprises a plurality of processing units each having at least one of the plurality of glitch detectors corresponding thereto; transmitting, via a connection matrix, the indication of the glitch attack to at least one of the plurality of processing units in addition to the processing unit to which the one of the plurality of glitch detectors corresponds; and subsequent to transmitting the indication of the glitch attack to the at least one of the plurality of processing units in addition to the processing unit to which the one of the plurality of glitch detectors corresponds, transmitting, via the at least one processing unit in addition to the processing unit to which the one of the plurality of glitch detectors corresponds, a glitch attack confirmation signal.
Regarding claim 10, claim 2 of Pat. ‘050 discloses wherein detecting the indication of the glitch attack further comprises detecting a deviation in a clock signal, a deviation in a supply voltage signal, or both.
Regarding claim 11, claim 3 of Pat. ‘050 discloses wherein the indication of the glitch attack is an interrupt signal.
Regarding claim 12, claim 4 of Pat. ‘050 discloses wherein the method includes, responsive to detecting the indication of the glitch attack, updating a status register, wherein the status register comprises a plurality of bits corresponding to respective statuses of the plurality of glitch detectors.
Regarding claim 13, claim 5 of Pat. ‘050 discloses wherein the method includes transmitting, via the connection matrix, the indication of the glitch attack to all of the plurality of processing units.
Regarding claim 14, claim 6 of Pat. 050 discloses wherein transmitting, via the connection matrix, the indication of the glitch attack comprises transmitting an interrupt signal.
Regarding claim 15, claim 6 of Pat. ‘050 discloses wherein the method includes transmitting, via the connection matrix, respective interrupt signals substantially contemporaneously to: the at least one of the plurality of processing units in addition to the processing unit to which the one of the plurality of glitch detectors corresponds; and to the processing unit to which the glitch detector corresponds.
Regarding claim 16, claim 18 of Pat. ‘050 discloses an apparatus, comprising: a plurality of processing units; a plurality of glitch detectors; and a connection matrix coupled to the plurality of glitch detectors and to at least two of the plurality of processing units, wherein the connection matrix is configured to: receive, from a particular one of the plurality of glitch detectors, an indication of a detected glitch attack; and responsive to receiving the indication of the detected glitch attack, transmit signaling indicative of the detected glitch attack to the at least two of the plurality of processing units.
Regarding claim 17, claim 13 of Pat. ‘050 discloses wherein the particular one of the glitch detectors is local to one of the at least two of the plurality of processing units.
Regarding claim 18, claim 2 of Pat. ‘050 discloses wherein the particular one of the glitch detectors is local to one of the at least two of the plurality of processing units.
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 of Pat. ‘050 discloses comprising alarm circuitry coupled to the at least two of the plurality of processing units.
Regarding claim 20, claim 10 of Pat. ‘050 discloses comprising alarm circuitry coupled to the at least two of the plurality of processing units.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 9, 11, 13, 14, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lyon et al. (US Pat. 4,545,013).
Regarding claim 1, Fig. 1 and Fig. 2 of Lyon discloses an apparatus, comprising:
a plurality of processing units [12, 22a to 22n, Fig. 1];
a plurality of glitch detectors [within 138, Fig. 2] that are configured to detect an indication of a glitch attack on the apparatus [col. 11, lines 28 to 37]; and
a connection matrix configured to provide respective signals from the plurality of glitch detectors to at least two of the plurality of processing units [as discloses in col. 11, lines 28 to 37, signals from glitch detectors are sent to the processing units. Therefore, a connection matrix is inherent].
Regarding claim 3, Fig. 2 of Lyon discloses wherein the at least one local glitch detector comprises a voltage glitch detector [col. 11, lines 28 to 37].
Regarding claims 9 and 16, Fig. 1 and Fig. 2 of Lyon discloses a comprising:
detecting, by one of a plurality of glitch detectors [138, Fig. 2] within a memory system, an indication of a glitch attack on the memory system [col. 11, lines 28 to 37], wherein the memory system comprises a plurality of processing units [100, Fig. 2 and 12, 22a, and 22n in Fig. 1] each having at least one of the plurality of glitch detectors corresponding thereto;
transmitting, via a connection matrix, the indication of the glitch attack to at least one of the plurality of processing units in addition to the processing unit to which the one of the plurality of glitch detectors corresponds [as discloses in col. 11, lines 28 to 37, signals from glitch detectors are sent to the processing units. Therefore, a connection matrix is inherent]; and
subsequent to transmitting the indication of the glitch attack to the at least one of the plurality of processing units in addition to the processing unit to which the one of the plurality of glitch detectors corresponds, transmitting, via the at least one processing unit in addition to the processing unit to which the one of the plurality of glitch detectors corresponds, a glitch attack confirmation signal [as discloses in col. 11, lines 28 to 37, the glitch signals are sent into two processors [100 and 104]. Therefore, glitch signal is sent to additional processor].
Regarding claim 11, Fig. 2 of Lyon discloses wherein the indication of the glitch attack is an interrupt signal [152].
Regarding claim 13, Fig. 2 of Lyon discloses wherein the method includes transmitting, via the connection matrix, the indication of the glitch attack to all of the plurality of processing units [100 and 104A].
Regarding claim 14, Fig. 2 of Lyon discloses wherein transmitting, via the connection matrix, the indication of the glitch attack comprises transmitting an interrupt signal [col. 11, lines 27 to 38].
Regarding claim 17, Fig. 2 of Lyon discloses wherein the particular one of the glitch detectors [138] is local to one of the at least two of the plurality of processing units [100 and 104A, col. 11, lines 28 to 37].
Conclusion
/ANTHAN TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2825