DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/19/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In paragraph 0044 line 9, “pad 10” should read “pad 110”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the plurality of phosphors are included in the solder paste" in line 16. It is not clear from the specification how the phosphors could be included in the solder paste. As claimed, the phosphors would appear to be placed vertically in a region that overlaps with the solder paste such that in a plan view it would appear as though the phosphors are within a region of the solder paste.
Similarly, dependent claims 13-18 are rejected based on their dependency to rejected independent claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0367121A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0367121A1) teaches An electronic package device (light source module 800, Figure 11) comprising: a package substrate (printed circuit board (PCB) 190 + second adhesive layer 186 + support structure 160, Figure 1C + 11) comprising a flat plate (printed circuit board (PCB) 190, Figure 11) and a pad (support structure 160 + second adhesive layer 186, Figure 1C + 11) on the flat plate, wherein a width of the flat plate in a first horizontal direction (Figure 11) is greater than a width of the pad in the first horizontal direction; and a light-emitting device (buried insulating film 154 + inter-wiring insulating film 152 + insulating liner 132 + wiring structure 140 + light emitting stack structure 120 + protective film 172 + fluorescent layer 174 + partition wall structure PW, Figure 1C + 11) on the package substrate, wherein the pad comprises: a first portion (lower insulating film 166, Figure 1C +11); and a second portion (support substrate 162 + upper insulating film 164, Figure 1C + 11) positioned on a top surface of the first portion and positioned at an edge of the top surface of the first portion, and a width of the light-emitting device in the first horizontal direction (Figure 11) is substantially equal to a width of the pad in the first horizontal direction, as claimed.
Regarding claim 5, Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0367121A1) teaches the electronic package device of claim 1, as claimed. Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0367121A1) further teaches wherein a top surface of the second portion is in direct contact with a bottom surface of the light-emitting device (Figure 11).
Regarding claim 7, Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0367121A1) teaches the electronic package device of claim 1, as claimed. Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0367121A1) further teaches wherein the light-emitting device comprises: a base (buried insulating film 154 + inter-wiring insulating film 152 + insulating liner 132 + wiring structure 140, Figure 1C); a plurality of phosphors (fluorescent layer 174, Figure 1C) disposed on the base and spaced apart from each other in the first horizontal direction; and a grid (partition wall structure PW, Figure 1C) surrounding sidewalls of the plurality of phosphors, as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0367121A1).
Regarding claim 6, Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0367121A1) teaches the electronic package device of claim 1, as claimed. Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0367121A1) further teaches wherein a width of the light-emitting device in the first horizontal direction is greater than a width of the light-emitting device in a second horizontal direction intersecting the first horizontal direction (Figure 1A, paragraph 0033).
Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0367121A1) is silent to the width of the light-emitting device in the second horizontal direction having a range from 2 mm to 6 mm; however, Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0367121A1) teaches the relative dimensions of the various components of the light source module (Figure 1A, paragraph 0033-0034) such that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. MPEP 2144.05
Therefore, it would have been obvious for some one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the width of the light-emitting device of Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0367121A1) in a range of 2 mm to 6 mm, thereby having package dimensions optimized to reduce change from physical stress thus minimizing warpage of the device.
Regarding claim 8, Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0367121A1) teaches the electronic package device of claim 1, as claimed.
Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0367121A1) is silent to a vertical height of the second portion having a range from 10 μm to 500 μm; however Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0367121A1) teaches the thickness of the second portion can be tuned to minimize stress-induced deformation (paragraphs 0072 + 0074), such that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. MPEP 2144.05
Therefore, it would have been obvious for some one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vertical height of the second portion of Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0367121A1) in a range of 10 μm to 500 μm, thereby having package dimensions optimized to minimize deformation from physical stress.
Claim(s) 2-4, 9, and 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0367121A1) in view of Han (US Patent No 8,735,931).
Regarding claim 2, Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0367121A1) teaches the electronic package device of claim 1, as claimed.
Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0367121A1) is silent to teach further comprising solder paste filling a space surrounded by the top surface of the first portion and inner walls of the second portion.
In an analogous art, Han (US Patent No 8,735,931) teaches further comprising solder paste filling a space surrounded by the top surface of the first portion and inner walls of the second portion (heat slug 3, Figure 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0367121A1) by substituting the pad with the heat slug of Han (US Patent No 8,735,931) thereby having a pad structure with an exposed first portion top surface and inner sidewalls of a second portion filled with solder paste.
Regarding claim 3, Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0367121A1) and Han (US Patent No 8,735,931) teach the electronic package device of claim 2, as claimed.
Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0367121A1) and Han (US Patent No 8,735,931) are silent to teach wherein a vertical level of a top surface of the solder paste is substantially equal to a vertical level of a top surface of the second portion. However, Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0367121A1) teaches that the light-emitting device has a width that is similar to the width of the second portion (Figure 11), the bottom surface of the light-emitting device must therefore, be in contact with the top surface of the second portion and Han (US Patent No 8,735,931) teaches the pad structure (heat slug 3, Figure 2) having an annular shape with an exposed top surface of a first portion and sidewalls of a second portion surrounding the exposed top surface of the first portion.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0367121A1) and Han (US Patent No 8,735,931) by filling the space defined by the bottom surface of the light-emitting device, the top surface of the first portion, and the sidewalls of the second portion with solder paste thereby having a vertical level of the top surface of the solder paste being substantially equal to a vertical level of the top surface of the second portion further reducing physical stress on package components.
Regarding claim 4, Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0367121A1) teaches the electronic package device of claim 1, as claimed.
Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0367121A1) is silent to teach wherein the second portion has a ring shape or an annular shape from a plan view.
In an analogous art, Han (US Patent No 8,735,931) teaches wherein the second portion has a ring shape or an annular shape from a plan view (heat slug 3, Figure 1 or Figure 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective fining date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0367121A1) by substituting the pad structure with the heat slug of Han (US Patent No 8,735,931) thereby having a pad structure with a second portion having an annular or ring shape.
Regarding claim 9, Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0367121A1) teaches the electronic package device of claim 1, as claimed. Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0367121A1) further teaches wherein the width of the pad in the first horizontal direction is a first width, the width of the pad in a second horizontal direction intersecting the first horizontal direction is a second width, the second width is less than the first width (Figure 1A).
Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0367121A1) is silent to teach a minimum distance from an outer wall to an inner wall of the second portion is a third width, the third width is less than half of the second width, and the third width is greater than to or equal to 50 μm.
In an analogous art, Han (US Patent No 8,735,931) teaches teach a minimum distance from an outer wall to an inner wall of the second portion is a third width (width W, Figure 2).
Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0367121A1) and Han (US Patent No 8,735,931) are silent to the third width is less than half of the second width, and the third width is greater than to or equal to 50 μm. However, Han (US Patent No 8,735,931) teaches that the third width can be tuned to control the reservoir geometry for controlling the amount of solder and encapsulant underneath the LED chip (Figure 2 + 12, col 5, lines 47-53), such that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. MPEP 2144.05
Therefore, it would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0367121A1) with the teachings of Han (US Patent No 8,735,931) by having a pad structure with a third with defined by a distance between the outer and inner walls of the second portion with a range of 50 μm or greater and is also less than half the second width, thereby having a reservoir area defining the amount of solder disposed.
Regarding claim 12, Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0367121A1) teaches An electronic package device (light source module 800, Figure 11) comprising: a package substrate (printed circuit board (PCB) 190 + second adhesive layer 186 + support structure 160, Figure 1C + 11) comprising a flat plate (printed circuit board (PCB) 190, Figure 11) and a pad (support structure 160 + second adhesive layer 186, Figure 1C + 11) on the flat plate, wherein a width of the flat plate in a first horizontal direction is greater than a width of the pad in the first horizontal direction (Figure 11); a light-emitting device (buried insulating film 154 + inter-wiring insulating film 152 + insulating liner 132 + wiring structure 140 + light emitting stack structure 120 + protective film 172 + fluorescent layer 174 + partition wall structure PW, Figure 1C + 11) on the package substrate, wherein the light-emitting device comprises a base (buried insulating film 154 + inter-wiring insulating film 152 + insulating liner 132 + wiring structure 140, Figure 1C), a plurality of phosphors (fluorescent layer 174, Figure 1C) disposed on the base and spaced apart from each other in the first horizontal direction, and a grid (partition wall structure PW, Figure 1C) surrounding sidewalls of the plurality of phosphors; and solder paste (first adhesive layer 156, Figure 1C + 11, paragraph 0067 + 0076) positioned between the light-emitting device and the pad, wherein the pad comprises: a first portion (lower insulating film 166, Figure 1C +11) , and the plurality of phosphors are included in the solder paste from a plan view, as claimed.
Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0367121A1) is silent to teach a second portion disposed on a top surface of the first portion and arranged in a ring shape or an annular shape along an edge of the top surface of the first portion, the solder paste fills a space defined by the top surface of the first portion and inner walls of the second portion, and the plurality of phosphors are included in the solder paste from a plan view.
In an analogous art, Han (US Patent No 8,735,931) teaches a second portion disposed on a top surface of the first portion and arranged in a ring shape or an annular shape along an edge of the top surface of the first portion (Figure 2), the solder paste fills a space defined by the top surface of the first portion and inner walls of the second portion (Figure 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0367121A1) with the teachings of Han (US Patent No 8,735,931) thereby having a second portion of the package substrate pad with an annular shape and solder paste filling a space defined by the sidewalls of the second portion and the top surface of the first portion.
Regarding claim 13, Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0367121A1) and Han (US Patent No 8,735,931) teach the electronic package device of claim 12, as claimed. Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0367121A1) further teaches further comprising a plurality of light-emitting diodes (light-emitting stack structures 120, Figure 1C) positioned between each of the plurality of phosphors and the base.
Regarding claim 14, Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0367121A1) and Han (US Patent No 8,735,931) teach the electronic package device of claim 12, as claimed.
Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0367121A1) and Han (US Patent No 8,735,931) are silent to teach wherein a vertical level of a top surface of the solder paste is substantially equal to a vertical level of a top surface of the second portion. However, Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0367121A1) teaches that the light-emitting device has a width that is similar to the width of the second portion (Figure 11), the bottom surface of the light-emitting device must therefore, be in contact with the top surface of the second portion. Han (US Patent No 8,735,931) teaches the pad structure (heat slug 3, Figure 2) having an annular shape with an exposed top surface of a first portion and sidewalls of a second portion surrounding the exposed top surface of the first portion.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0367121A1) and Han (US Patent No 8,735,931) by filling the space defined by the bottom surface of the light-emitting device, the top surface of the first portion, and the sidewalls of the second portion with solder paste thereby having a vertical level of the top surface of the solder paste being substantially equal to a vertical level of the top surface of the second portion further reducing physical stress on package components.
Regarding claim 15, Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0367121A1) and Han (US Patent No 8,735,931) teach the electronic package device of claim 12, as claimed.
Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0367121A1) and Han (US Patent No 8,735,931) are silent to a vertical height of the second portion having a range from 10 μm to 500 μm; however Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0367121A1) teaches the thickness of the second portion can be tuned to minimize stress-induced deformation (paragraphs 0072 + 0074), such that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. MPEP 2144.05
Therefore, it would have been obvious for some one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the teachings of Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0367121A1) and Han (US Patent No 8,735,931) by modifying the vertical height of the second portion of Han (US Patent No 8,735,931) with the teachings of Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0367121A1) for a range from 10 μm to 500 μm, thereby having package dimensions optimized to minimize deformation from physical stress.
Regarding claim 16, Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0367121A1) and Han (US Patent No 8,735,931) teach the electronic package device of claim 12, as claimed. Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0367121A1) further teaches wherein the width of the pad in the first horizontal direction is a first width, the width of the pad in a second horizontal direction intersecting the first horizontal direction is a second width, the second width is less than the first width (Figure 1A).
Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0367121A1) is silent to teach a minimum distance from an outer wall to an inner wall of the second portion is a third width, the third width is less than half of the second width, and the third width is greater than to or equal to 50 μm.
Han (US Patent No 8,735,931) further teaches teach a minimum distance from an outer wall to an inner wall of the second portion is a third width (width W, Figure 2).
Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0367121A1) and Han (US Patent No 8,735,931) are silent to the third width is less than half of the second width, and the third width is greater than to or equal to 50 μm. However, Han (US Patent No 8,735,931) teaches that the third width can be tuned to control the reservoir geometry for controlling the amount of solder and encapsulant underneath the LED chip (Figure 2 + 12, col 5, lines 47-53), such that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. MPEP 2144.05
Therefore, it would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0367121A1) with the teachings of Han (US Patent No 8,735,931) by having a pad structure with a third with defined by a distance between the outer and inner walls of the second portion with a range of 50 μm or greater and is also less than half the second width, thereby having a reservoir area defining the amount of solder disposed.
Claim(s) 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0367121A1) in view of Han (US Patent No 8,735,931) and RushPCB (All About Sinkpad MCPCBs).
Regarding claim 19, Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0367121A1) teaches An electronic package device (light source module 800, Figure 11) comprising: a package substrate (printed circuit board (PCB) 190 + second adhesive layer 186 + support structure 160, Figure 1C + 11) comprising a flat plate (printed circuit board (PCB) 190, Figure 11) and a pad (support structure 160 + second adhesive layer 186, Figure 1C + 11) on the flat plate, wherein a width of the flat plate in a first horizontal direction is greater than a width of the pad in the first horizontal direction (Figure 11); a light-emitting device (buried insulating film 154 + inter-wiring insulating film 152 + insulating liner 132 + wiring structure 140 + light emitting stack structure 120 + protective film 172 + fluorescent layer 174 + partition wall structure PW, Figure 1C + 11) on the package substrate, wherein the light-emitting device comprises a base (buried insulating film 154 + inter-wiring insulating film 152 + insulating liner 132 + wiring structure 140, Figure 1C), a plurality of phosphors (fluorescent layer 174, Figure 1C + 11) disposed on the base and spaced apart from each other in the first horizontal direction, a grid (partition wall structure PW, Figure 1C + 11) surrounding sidewalls of the plurality of phosphors, and an input/output pad (conductive pads 148, Figure 1C + 11) disposed on an upper part of the base; solder paste positioned between the light-emitting device and the pad (first adhesive layer 156, Figure 1C + 11, paragraph 0067 + 0076); a connecting member (bonding wire 830, Figure 11) that directly connects the connection wire to the input/output pad; and a molding member (molding resin 840, Figure 11) covering the connecting member, wherein the pad comprise: a first portion (support substrate 162, Figure 1C +11); and a second portion (Figure 11) positioned on a top surface of the first portion and positioned at an edge of the top surface of the first portion, and a top surface of the second portion is in direct contact with a bottom surface of the light-emitting device (Figure 11), as claimed.
Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0367121A1) is silent to teach prepreg on a top surface of the flat plate, a connection wire disposed within the prepreg; wherein the prepreg surrounds sides of the pad, the solder paste fills a space defined by the top surface of the first portion and inner walls of the second portion.
In an analogous art, Han (US Patent No 8,735,931) teaches a pad (heat slug 3, Figure 2) having a structure with a space defined by an exposed top surface of a first portion and sidewalls of a second portion filled with solder paste.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0367121A1) by substituting the pad with the heat slug of Han (US Patent No 8,735,931) thereby having a pad structure with a space defined by an exposed first portion top surface and inner sidewalls of a second portion filled with solder paste.
In another analogous art, RushPCB (All About Sinkpad MCPCBs) teaches prepreg on a top surface of the flat plate, a connection wire disposed within the prepreg; wherein the prepreg surrounds sides of the pad.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the teachings of Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0367121A1) and Han (US Patent No 8,735,931) by substituting the housing of Han (US Patent No 8,735,931) with the prepreg of RushPCB (All About Sinkpad MCPCBs) thereby surrounding the second portion of the pad with prepreg.
Regarding claim 20, Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0367121A1), Han (US Patent No 8,735,931), and RushPCB (All About Sinkpad MCPCBs) teach the electronic package device of claim 19, as claimed.
Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0367121A1), Han (US Patent No 8,735,931), and RushPCB (All About Sinkpad MCPCBs) are silent to teach wherein a vertical level of a top surface of the solder paste is substantially equal to a vertical level of a top surface of the second portion. However, Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0367121A1) teaches that the light-emitting device has a width that is similar to the width of the second portion (Figure 11), the bottom surface of the light-emitting device must therefore, be in contact with the top surface of the second portion and Han (US Patent No 8,735,931) teaches the pad structure (heat slug 3, Figure 2) having an annular shape with an exposed top surface of a first portion and sidewalls of a second portion surrounding the exposed top surface of the first portion.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0367121A1), Han (US Patent No 8,735,931), and RushPCB (All About Sinkpad MCPCBs) by filling the space defined by the bottom surface of the light-emitting device, the top surface of the first portion, and the sidewalls of the second portion with solder paste thereby having a vertical level of the top surface of the solder paste being substantially equal to a vertical level of the top surface of the second portion further reducing physical stress on package components.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-11 and 17-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the prior art of record does
not teach or suggest the combination of a vertical level of a top surface of the solder paste being higher than a vertical level of a top surface of the second portion, the top surface of the solder paste being inclined in the first horizontal direction, a minimum distance from the top surface of the second portion to the top surface of the solder paste being a first height, a maximum distance from the top surface of the second portion to the top surface of the solder paste being a second height, and a difference between the first height and the second height being less than or equal to 30 μm, as claimed in claim 10.
The vertical distance from a top surface of the base to the top of the first connecting member being a third height, a vertical distance from the top surface of the base to the top of the second connecting member being a fourth height, and a difference between the third height and the fourth height being less than or equal to 30 μm, as claimed in claim 11.
The minimum distance from the top surface of the second portion to the top surface of the solder paste being a first height, a maximum distance from the top surface of the second portion to the top surface of the solder paste being a second height, and a difference between the first height and the second height being less than or equal to 30 μm, as claimed in claim 17.
The vertical distance from the top surface of the base to the top of the first connecting member being a third height, a vertical distance from the top surface of the base to the top of the second connecting member being a fourth height, and a difference between the third height and the fourth height being less than or equal to 30 μm, as claimed in claim 18.
Conclusion
/KAREEM M MOHAMED-ALY/Examiner, Art Unit 2898
/Leonard Chang/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2898