DETAILED ACTION
Claims 4-28 are pending. Claims 1-3 are canceled.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 2 and 4 (claims 5, 9 and 14) in the reply filed on 07/07/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 8, 10, 16 and 24 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 06/17/2025 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(3)(i) because it does not include a concise explanation of the relevance, as it is presently understood by the individual designated in 37 CFR 1.56(c) most knowledgeable about the content of the information, of each reference listed that is not in the English language. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
The information disclosure statement filed 05/06/2026 appears to be identical to the information disclosure statement filed 06/17/2025.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following:
On page 1 of the specification, in paragraph [0001], the phrase “, n issued as U.S. Patent No. 12,065,939”, or the like, should be added immediately after “2022” in line 2.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 23 objected to because of the following:
Regarding claim 23, the word “method” in line 1 should apparently be replaced with “apparatus”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Such claim limitations are “means for mixing”, “means for growing” and “meaning for reducing” in claim 1.
Based on a review of the specification, “means for mixing” is interpreted to include a plenum with impeller, or equivalents thereof; “means for growing” is interpreted to include a mesh, or equivalents thereof; and “meaning for reducing” is interpreted to include a smaller mesh than the means for growing, or equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-7, 11, 17-23 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2013/0087175 to Petter et al. (“Petter”) in view of US 8,322,633 to Hubert et al. (“Hubert”).
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Petter teaches an apparatus useful for foaming a water soluble liquid cleaning agent (abstract, para [0043], [0046], [0047]), comprising: means for mixing a pressurized gas with a pressurized water soluble liquid cleaning agent to create a foam (Fig. 16, ref. 202, para [0040] – [0043], [0067], [0074]).
Petter does not explicitly teach means for growing the size of the cells of the foam; and means for reducing the size of the grown cells. Hubert teaches an apparatus for generating foam (abstract) and discloses that a mesh (Fig. 6, ref. 118, incl. ref. 140, col. 4, lines 43-67) can be sized to produce a desired expansion or reduction of foam and that larger bubbles have a high expansion ratio and require less solution to produce (col. 4, lines 43-67). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the Petter apparatus in view of Hubert wherein it includes a growing mesh, or means for growing the size of the cells of the foam, with a reasonable expectation of success, in view of the disclosure of that a mesh can be sized to produce a desired expansion of foam and that larger bubbles have a high expansion ratio and require less solution to produce, and in view of the disclosure of flowing the first foam over member and increasing the size of the cells of the first foam (Petter, para [0043], [0078] – [0081], note flow path between ref. 202 and ref. 40).
Hubert discloses that discloses that larger cells have a high expansion ratio, but lower thermal stability than smaller cells. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the Petter apparatus in view of Hubert wherein it includes a smaller mesh, or reducing mesh, or means for reducing the size of the grown cells, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to enhance process control and thermal stability.
It is noted that duplication of parts is prima facie obvious, as is changes in size. MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A) and (VI)(V).
Regarding claim 6, since the growing means of the Petter/Hubert teaching has surface area and appears to be substantially identical to that of the presently claimed apparatus, it appears to be fully capable of being used to provide surface area for attachment and merging of cells of the foam from said mixing means.
Regarding claim 7, Petter/Hubert disclose an apparatus wherein said growing means includes a mesh, or plurality of first passageways, and said reducing means is adapted and configured to reduce the size of at least some of the grown cells by passing the grown cells through a plurality of a reducing mesh, or second passageways, smaller than the first passageways (Hubert, col. 4, lines 43-58, note Fig. 6, ref. 118, incl. ref. 140).
Regarding claim 11, since the Petter/Hubert apparatus includes the claimed structural features, it appears to be fully capable of being operated in the manner recited, i.e. wherein said mixing means imparts swirl into the flowing liquid by injection of the gas.
Regarding claim 17, since Petter/Huber disclose the claimed structural features, the Petter/Hubert apparatus appears to be fully capable of being operated in the manner recited, i.e. wherein said mixing means, said growing means, and said reducing means have substantially the same flow area.
Regarding claim 18, Petter discloses a housing defining an internal flowpath and having an internal wall and an internal axis, and the direction of the internal flowpath is radially from the axis toward the internal wall (Figs. 9A and 9B, ref. 122, para [0050] and [0053]).
Regarding claim 19, Petter/Hubert does not explicitly teach the apparatus wherein at least two of the said mixing means, said growing means, and said reducing means are concentric. However, the skilled artisan would have found it obvious to modify the Petter/Hubert apparatus wherein at least two of the said mixing means, said growing means, and said reducing means are concentric, with a reasonable expectation of success, since they are part of a single flowpath. It is noted that rearrangement of parts is prima facie obvious. MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C).
Regarding claim 20, Petter/Hubert does not explicitly teach the apparatus wherein the reducing means is outermost from said mixing means or said growing means. However, the skilled artisan would have found it obvious to modify the Petter/Hubert apparatus wherein the reducing means is outermost from said mixing means or said growing means, with a reasonable expectation of success, since it is downstream from them. It is noted that rearrangement of parts is prima facie obvious. MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C).
Regarding claim 21, Petter/Hubert does not explicitly teach the apparatus wherein said mixing means is innermost of the said growing means or said reducing means. However, the skilled artisan would have found it obvious to modify the Petter/Hubert apparatus wherein said mixing means is innermost of the said growing means or said reducing means, with a reasonable expectation of success, since it is upstream from them. It is noted that rearrangement of parts is prima facie obvious. MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C).
Regarding claim 22, Petter/Hubert does not explicitly teach the apparatus wherein said mixing means, said growing means, and said reducing means are concentric, and said growing means is between said mixing means and said reducing means. However, the skilled artisan would have found it obvious to modify the Petter/Hubert apparatus wherein said mixing means, said growing means, and said reducing means are concentric, and said growing means is between said mixing means and said reducing means, with a reasonable expectation of success, since they are part of a single flowpath, with the growing means downstream from the mixing means, and the reducing means downstream from the growing means. It is noted that rearrangement of parts is prima facie obvious. MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C).
Regarding claim 23, Petter/Hubert does not explicitly teach wherein said mixing means includes flowing the liquid in a first direction and injecting the gas in a second direction that has a velocity component at least partly opposite to the first direction. However, since the Petter/Hubert apparatus includes the claimed structural features, it appears to be fully capable of being operated in the manner recited, i.e. flowing the liquid in a first direction and injecting the gas in a second direction that has a velocity component at least partly opposite to the first direction.
Regarding claim 28, since the Petter/Hubert apparatus includes the claimed structural features, it appears to be fully capable of being operated in the manner recited, i.e. wherein the pressurized liquid cleaning agent is provided at a first pressure, the pressurized gas is provided at a second pressure higher than ambient pressure, and the second pressure is higher than the first pressure
Claims 9 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2013/0087175 to Petter et al. (“Petter”) in view of US 8,322,633 to Hubert et al. (“Hubert”) and in further view of US 2,765,048 to Hersey (“Hersey”).
Regarding claim 9, Petter/Hubert does not explicitly teach the apparatus wherein said mixing means includes providing the pressurized gas into flowing liquid through a porous metal filter. Porous metal filters were known in the art as effective for cleaning gases (see, e.g., Hersey at, inter alia, col. 1, lines 47-61). The skilled artisan would have found it obvious to modify the Petter/Hubert apparatus as was known wherein the mixing means includes a porous metal filter, with a reasonable expectation of success, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to clean the pressurized gas. Since the Petter/Hubert/Hersey apparatus includes the claimed structural features, it appears to be fully capable of being operated the manner as recited, i.e. the pressurized gas is provided into flowing liquid through the porous metal filter.
Regarding claim 25, Petter/Hubert/Hersey disclose an apparatus wherein the porous metal filter is cylindrical (Hubert, Fig. 3). It is noted that changes in shape are prima facie obvious. MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B).
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2013/0087175 to Petter et al. (“Petter”) in view of US 8,322,633 to Hubert et al. (“Hubert”) and in further view of US 2,715,045 to Thompson (“Thompson”).
Regarding claim 14, Petter/Hubert disclose an apparatus wherein said reducing means includes a mesh, as discussed for claim 4, but do not explicitly teach that the mesh is a wire mesh. However, wire meshes were known in the art as effective for foam production (see, e.g., Thompson at, inter alia, col. 2, lines 60-65), and the skilled artisan would have found it obvious to modify the Petter/Hubert apparatus wherein the mesh is a mesh, with a reasonable expectation of success, since they were known as effective for producing foam.
Regarding claim 15, Petter/Hubert disclose an apparatus wherein said growing means includes a mesh, as discussed for claim 4, but do not explicitly teach that the mesh is a wire mesh. However, wire meshes were known in the art as effective for foam production (see, e.g., Thompson at, inter alia, col. 2, lines 60-65), and the skilled artisan would have found it obvious to modify the Petter/Hubert apparatus wherein the mesh is a mesh, with a reasonable expectation of success, since they were known as effective for producing foam.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12, 13, 26 and 27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The closest prior art references are: US 2013/0087175 to Petter et al. and US 8,322,633 to Hubert et al. The prior art references of record, taken alone or in combination, do not anticipate or suggest fairly the limitations of: wherein said growing means is a vibrating rod (as in claim 12), wherein the porous metal filter has an upstream end and a downstream end and a porosity that is directionally oriented, with the upstream end being non-porous and the downstream end being porous (as in claim 26), and wherein the porous metal filter includes a porous metal member attached to a threaded member, and a plurality of holes each having a diameter of between 10 and 100 microns (as in claim 27), in combination with the other structural elements as instantly recited. Upon further search no other prior art has been located at the date of this Office action.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 12,434,275 to Mohamed et al. teaches a device for cleaning.
/ERIC W GOLIGHTLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714