DETAILED ACTION
In response to the Communications dated August 19, 2024, claims 1-20 are active in
this application.
Specification
If there are cross-reference to related applications, please include the
respective patent numbers, if known.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed August 27, 2024 and October 9, 2024 have been
considered.
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 17-19 of prior U.S. Patent No. 12073899 [‘899]. This is a statutory double patenting rejection. See table below.
Present Application
Patent ‘899
18. An apparatus, comprising: a processing device; and a memory device enclosed within an integrated circuit package and connected to the processing device, the memory device having: memory cells; a first circuit operable to apply voltages to the memory cells to determine states of the memory cells subjected to the voltages; a second circuit configured to: generate, using the first circuit, data representative of signal and noise characteristics of the memory cells; determine, based on the signal and noise characteristics, a read voltage of the memory cells; and generate, using the first circuit, first data representative states of the memory cells subject to voltages including the read voltage; wherein the apparatus is further configured to: determine second data stored in the memory cells based on the first data; and calculate, based at least in part on the signal and noise characteristics, an amount of charge loss in the memory cells.
17. An apparatus, comprising: a processing device; and a memory device enclosed within an integrated circuit package and connected to the processing device, the memory device having: memory cells; a first circuit operable to apply voltages to the memory cells to determine states of the memory cells subjected to the voltages; a second circuit configured to: generate, using the first circuit, data representative of signal and noise characteristics of the memory cells; determine, based on the signal and noise characteristics, a read voltage of the memory cells; and generate, using the first circuit, first data representative states of the memory cells subject to voltages including the read voltage wherein the apparatus is further configured to: determine second data stored in the memory cells based on the first data; and calculate, based at least in part on the signal and noise characteristics, an amount of charge loss in the memory cells.
19. The apparatus of claim 18, wherein the first circuit is further configured to: apply a plurality of test voltages to the memory cells to determine states of the memory cells subjected to the test voltages respectively; determine a plurality of counts for the plurality of test voltages respectively, wherein each count in the plurality of counts for a respective test voltage is a number of a subset of the memory cells having a predetermined state when the memory cells are subjected to the respective test voltage; and compute count differences between the counts for adjacent ones of the plurality of test voltages; wherein the signal and noise characteristics are configured to identify the count differences; and wherein the memory device is configured to determine the read voltage based on an estimate of local minimum of the count differences over the plurality of test voltages.
18. The apparatus of claim 17, wherein the first circuit is further configured to: apply a plurality of test voltages to the memory cells to determine states of the memory cells subjected to the test voltages respectively; determine a plurality of counts for the plurality of test voltages respectively, wherein each count in the plurality of counts for a respective test voltage is a number of a subset of the memory cells having a predetermined state when the memory cells are subjected to the respective test voltage; and compute count differences between the counts for adjacent ones of the plurality of test voltages; wherein the signal and noise characteristics are configured to identify the count differences; and wherein the memory device is configured to determine the read voltage based on an estimate of local minimum of the count differences over the plurality of test voltages.
20. The apparatus of claim 19, further configured to track, based at least in part on the read voltage and the amount of charge loss, changes in read voltages of the memory cells.
19. The apparatus of claim 18, is further configured to track, based at least in part on the read voltage and the amount of charge loss, changes in read voltages of the memory cells.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 12073899 [‘899]. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following reason.
The subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the patent and is covered by the patent since the patent and the application are claiming common subject matter, as follows.
Present Application
Patent ‘899
1. A device, comprising: memory cells; and a logic circuit configured to: receive data representative of signal and noise characteristics of the memory cells; determine, based on the signal and noise characteristics, a read voltage to read the memory cells; and calculate, based at least in part on the signal and noise characteristics, an amount of charge loss in the memory cells.
1. A device, comprising: memory cells; and a logic circuit configured to: receive data representative of signal and noise characteristics of the memory cells; determine, based on the signal and noise characteristics, a read voltage to read the memory cells; and calculate, based at least in part on the signal and noise characteristics, an amount of charge loss in the memory cells; and a read circuit configured to apply voltages to the memory cells to determine states of the memory cells under the voltages applied to the memory cells; and an integrated circuit package configured to enclose the memory cells, the logic circuit, and the read circuit.
2. The device of claim 1, further comprising: a read circuit configured to apply voltages to the memory cells to determine states of the memory cells under the voltages applied to the memory cells; and an integrated circuit package configured to enclose the memory cells, the logic circuit, and the read circuit.
See claim 1. “…a read circuit configured to apply voltages to the memory cells to determine states of the memory cells under the voltages applied to the memory cells; and an integrated circuit package configured to enclose the memory cells, the logic circuit, and the read circuit.”
3. The device of claim 2, wherein the logic circuit is further configured to: measure, using the read circuit, the signal and noise characteristics of the memory cells; and determine, based on the signal and noise characteristics, a bit error rate in data retrievable from the memory cells using the read voltage, wherein the amount of charge loss is determined based at least in part on the bit error rate.
2. The device of claim 1, wherein the logic circuit is further configured to: measure, using the read circuit, the signal and noise characteristics of the memory cells; and determine, based on the signal and noise characteristics, a bit error rate in data retrievable from the memory cells using the read voltage, wherein the amount of charge loss is determined based at least in part on the bit error rate.
4. The device of claim 3, wherein the logic circuit is further configured to track the read voltage in relation with the amount of charge loss.
3. The device of claim 2, wherein the logic circuit is further configured to track the read voltage in relation with the amount of charge loss.
5. The device of claim 3, wherein the logic circuit is further configured to track, based at least in part on the read voltage and the amount of charge loss, changes in read voltage in relation with charge loss.
4. The device of claim 2, wherein the logic circuit is further configured to track, based at least in part on the read voltage and the amount of charge loss, changes in read voltage in relation with charge loss.
6. The device of claim 3, wherein the signal and noise characteristics are configured to count differences over a plurality of test voltages, each count difference over two adjacent test voltages being a difference between: a first count of a subset of the memory cells having a predetermined state when a first one of the adjacent test voltages is applied on the memory cells, and a second count of a subset of the memory cells having the predetermined state when a second one of the adjacent test voltages is applied on the memory cells.
5. The device of claim 2, wherein the signal and noise characteristics are configured to count differences over a plurality of test voltages, each count difference over two adjacent test voltages being a difference between: a first count of a subset of the memory cells having a predetermined state when a first one of the adjacent test voltages is applied on the memory cells, and a second count of a subset of the memory cells having the predetermined state when a second one of the adjacent test voltages is applied on the memory cells.
7. The device of claim 6, wherein the logic circuit is configured to determine the read voltage based on a local minimum of a distribution of count difference over the plurality of test voltages.
6. The device of claim 5, wherein the logic circuit is configured to determine the read voltage based on a local minimum of a distribution of count difference over the plurality of test voltages.
8. The device of claim 7, wherein the logic circuit is configured to calculate the amount of charge loss based on the read voltage.
7. The device of claim 6, wherein the logic circuit is configured to calculate the amount of charge loss based on the read voltage.
9. The device of claim 8, wherein the logic circuit is further configured to: generate, using the read circuit, first data retrieved from the memory cells using the read voltage; decode, using an error detection and recovery technique, the first data, to identify second data stored in the memory cells; and count bit errors in the first data identified using the error detection and recovery technique.
8. The device of claim 7, wherein the logic circuit is further configured to: generate, using the read circuit, first data retrieved from the memory cells using the read voltage; decode, using an error detection and recovery technique, the first data, to identify second data stored in the memory cells; and count bit errors in the first data identified using the error detection and recovery technique.
10. The device of claim 8, wherein the memory cells are configured to store multiple bits per memory cell and have a plurality of voltage levels for reading; and the read voltage is at a highest level among the plurality of voltage levels.
9. The device of claim 7, wherein the memory cells are configured to store multiple bits per memory cell and have a plurality of voltage levels for reading; and the read voltage is at a highest level among the plurality of voltage levels.
As can be seen from the above table, similar to claim 1 of the present application, claim 1 of patent ‘899 recites “A device, comprising: memory cells; and a logic circuit configured to: receive data representative of signal and noise characteristics of the memory cells; determine, based on the signal and noise characteristics, a read voltage to read the memory cells; and calculate, based at least in part on the signal and noise characteristics, an amount of charge loss in the memory cells…” Unlike claim 1 of the application, claim 1 of the patent further recites additional limitations. Although the claim languages are not identical, claim 1 of the patent is more limited and thus would encompass all limitations of claim 1 of the application. Thus, the patent protections have been granted to the earlier filed patent application.
For similar reasons, claims 2-10 are rejected over claims 1-9 of patent ‘899.
Claims 11-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 10-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12073899 [‘899]. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following reason.
The subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the patent and is covered by the patent since the patent and the application are claiming common subject matter, as follows.
Present Application
Patent ‘899
11. A method, comprising: receiving, in a memory device, data representative of signal and noise characteristics of memory cells in the memory device; determining, by the memory device based on the signal and noise characteristics, a read voltage; determining data stored in the memory device from states of the memory cells subjected to the read voltage; and calculating, based at least in part on the signal and noise characteristics, an amount of charge loss in the memory cells.
10. A method, comprising: receiving, in a memory device, data representative of signal and noise characteristics of memory cells in the memory device; determining, by the memory device based on the signal and noise characteristics, a read voltage; determining data stored in the memory device from states of the memory cells subjected to the read voltage; calculating, based at least in part on the characteristics, an amount of charge loss in the memory cells; and applying a plurality of test voltages to the memory cells to determine states of the memory cells subjected to the test voltages respectively.
12. The method of claim 11, further comprising: applying a plurality of test voltages to the memory cells to determine states of the memory cells subjected to the test voltages respectively; determining a plurality of counts for the plurality of test voltages respectively, wherein each count in the plurality of counts for a respective test voltage is a number of a subset of the memory cells having a predetermined state when the memory cells are subjected to the respective test voltage; and computing count differences between the counts for adjacent ones of the plurality of test voltages, wherein the signal and noise characteristics are configured to identify the count differences.
See claim 10 and claim 11. In claim 10, “… applying a plurality of test voltages to the memory cells to determine states of the memory cells subjected to the test voltages respectively.”
11. The method of claim 10, further comprising: determining a plurality of counts for the plurality of test voltages respectively, wherein each count in the plurality of counts for a respective test voltage is a number of a subset of the memory cells having a predetermined state when the memory cells are subjected to the respective test voltage; and computing count differences between the counts for adjacent ones of the plurality of test voltages, wherein the signal and noise characteristics are configured to identify the count differences.
13. The method of claim 12, further comprising: generating first data represented by states of the memory cells when subjected to at least the read voltage; decoding, using an error detection and recovery technique, the first data, to identify second data stored in the memory cells; and determine, based on the decoding, a bit error rate in the first data to calculate the amount of charge loss.
12. The method of claim 11, further comprising: generating first data represented by states of the memory cells when subjected to at least the read voltage; decoding, using an error detection and recovery technique, the first data, to identify second data stored in the memory cells; and determine, based on the decoding, a bit error rate in the first data to calculate the amount of charge loss.
14. The method of claim 13, further comprising: tracking the read voltage in relation with the amount of charge loss.
13. The method of claim 12, further comprising: tracking the read voltage in relation with the amount of charge loss.
15. The method of claim 13, further comprising: tracking, based at least in part on the read voltage and the amount of charge loss, changes in read voltages of the memory cells.
14. The method of claim 12, further comprising: tracking, based at least in part on the read voltage and the amount of charge loss, changes in read voltages of the memory cells.
16. The method of claim 13, wherein the read voltage is determines based on an estimate of local minimum of the count differences over the plurality of test voltages.
15. The method of claim 12, wherein the read voltage is determines based on an estimate of local minimum of the count differences over the plurality of test voltages.
17. The method of claim 16, wherein the memory cells are configured to store multiple bits per memory cell and have a plurality of voltage levels for reading; and the read voltage is at a highest level among the plurality of voltage levels.
16. The method of claim 15, wherein the memory cells are configured to store multiple bits per memory cell and have a plurality of voltage levels for reading; and the read voltage is at a highest level among the plurality of voltage levels.
As can be seen from the above table, similar to claim 11 of the present application, claim 10 of patent ‘899 recites “A method, comprising: receiving, in a memory device, data representative of signal and noise characteristics of memory cells in the memory device; determining, by the memory device based on the signal and noise characteristics, a read voltage; determining data stored in the memory device from states of the memory cells subjected to the read voltage; and calculating, based at least in part on the signal and noise characteristics, an amount of charge loss in the memory cells.…” Unlike claim 11 of the application, claim 10 of the patent further recites additional limitations. Although the claim languages are not identical, claim 10 of the patent is more limited and thus would encompass all limitations of claim 11 of the application. Thus, the patent protections have been granted to the earlier filed patent application.
For similar reasons, claims 12-17 are rejected over claims 10-16 of patent ‘899.
Claim Rejections- 35 U.S.C. § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KAVALIPURAPU et al [US Patent # 11081189].
With respect to claim 1, KAVALIPURAPU et al. disclose a device [fig. 4], comprising: memory cells [404’s]; and a logic circuit configured to: receive data representative of signal and noise characteristics of the memory cells [“…determining a number of bits read in the first page as a result of the application of the first read voltage…” – claim 1. It is noted that the “number of bits read” (bit errors or error count) represents the noise characteristic (level of degradation) of the memory cells, while the “first read voltage” defines the signal threshold applied to read them. The data is then used to infer the condition of the memory cells]; determine, based on the signal and noise characteristics, a read voltage to read the memory cells ["...setting a read parameter based upon the estimated charge loss of the second page; and reading the second page using the read parameter and a second read voltage, the second read voltage different than a reference read level voltage." – claim 1. The “read parameter” and “second read voltage” (different from a reference level) are adjusted specifically to compensate fro estimated charge loss, which represents the degradation of the signal due to noise/charge loss]; and calculate, based at least in part on the signal and noise characteristics, an amount of charge loss in the memory cells ["...determining a number of bits read in the first page as a result of the application of the first read voltage; estimating a charge loss of a second page based upon the number of bits and a proximity between the first and second pages;" – claim 1. The number of bits (bit error rate) acts as an indicator of signal/noise characteristics (specifically, the amount of charge loss). “Estimating a charge loss” calculates the impact of this noise based on proximity to a previously read page].
With respect to claim 2, KAVALIPURAPU et al. disclose a read circuit configured to apply voltages to the memory cells to determine states of the memory cells under the voltages applied to the memory cells [circuit coupled to implement steps indicated in claim 1. Additionally, control unit 430 may be considered the claimed read circuit since it serves to control memory operations of the memory device 400 of fig. 4]; and an integrated circuit package configured to enclose the memory cells, the logic circuit, and the read circuit [“The memory control unit 430 can control memory operations of the memory device 400 according to one or more signals and/or instructions/commands received on control lines 432 at a memory interface with a memory controller (as described relative to controller 105 and host interface 123 of memory device 100 of FIG. 1. Such signals and/or instructions may include, for example, one or more clock signals and/or control signals that indicate a desired operation (e.g., write, read, erase, etc.), or address signals (A0-AX) received on one or more address lines 416. One or more devices external to the memory device 400 can control the values of the control signals on the control lines 432, or the address signals on the address line 416. Examples of devices external to the memory device 400 can include, but are not limited to, a host, a memory controller, a processor, or one or more circuits or components not illustrated in FIG. 4.” – col. 11, lines 5-25. The device, in the cited section, described as having a control unit, address lines (416), and control lines (432) on a single device is almost universally fabricated as a “memory integrated circuit” or “memory chip”. Additionally, the components – memory cells, logic circuits (control unit 430), and read circuits (implied part of the read operation) – are typically formed together on the same substrate. Therefore, describing the memory device 400 with integrated, functional components inherently implies that these components are contained within a single IC package to protect them and connect them to external systems. Further, KAVALIPURAPU et al. indicates, in col. 20, lines 20-25, the application of packages].
With respect to claim 3, KAVALIPURAPU et al. disclose the logic circuit is further configured to: measure, using the read circuit, the signal and noise characteristics of the memory cells [“…"determining a number of bits read in the first page as a result of the application of the first read voltage"… - claim 1. It is noted that “Applying a first read voltage to a first page” constitutes the act of reading the memory cells. “Determining a number of bits read…as a result of the application to the first read voltage” is a measurement of the signal integrity (how many bits were correctly or incorrectly read) and the noise/error characteristics of those cells. This information is used to “estimate a charge loss”, which is specific type of signal degradation (noise/characteristic) in memory]; and determine, based on the signal and noise characteristics, a bit error rate in data retrievable from the memory cells using the read voltage, wherein the amount of charge loss is determined based at least in part on the bit error rate ["...estimating a charge loss of a second page based upon the number of bits and a proximity between the first and second pages..." - claim 1. This citation indicates that the number of bits (representative of bit error rate/data corruption) is used as the basis to calculate the charge loss].
With respect to claim 4, KAVALIPURAPU et al. disclose the logic circuit is further configured to track the read voltage in relation with the amount of charge loss [“…a charge loss estimation read voltage may be specified that allows the system to track charge loss over time….” – col. 16, lines 4-10].
With respect to claim 5, KAVALIPURAPU et al. disclose the logic circuit is further configured to track, based at least in part on the read voltage and the amount of charge loss, changes in read voltage in relation with charge loss [“…a charge loss estimation read voltage may be specified that allows the system to track charge loss over time. For example, reading all cells of a given page, block, or die with the reference read voltage 515 of FIG. 5 would return a number of stored bits that have voltage levels above the charge loss estimation read voltage level for the time right after programming, a smaller number of bits at time programming+t1, and an even smaller number of bits at time programming+t2. In some examples, the charge loss estimation read voltage may be a prespecified value that may be an approximation of a read voltage between the two highest expected voltage distributions in the memory cells.” – col. 16, lines 1-35].
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KAVALIPURAPU et al [US Patent # 11081189].
With respect to claim 11, KAVALIPURAPU et al. disclose a method, comprising: receiving, in a memory device, data representative of signal and noise characteristics of memory cells in the memory device [“…determining a number of bits read in the first page as a result of the application of the first read voltage…” – claim 1. It is noted that the “number of bits read” (bit errors or error count) represents the noise characteristic (level of degradation) of the memory cells, while the “first read voltage” defines the signal threshold applied to read them. The data is then used to infer the condition of the memory cells]; determining, by the memory device based on the signal and noise characteristics, a read voltage ["...setting a read parameter based upon the estimated charge loss of the second page; and reading the second page using the read parameter and a second read voltage, the second read voltage different than a reference read level voltage." – claim 1. The “read parameter” and “second read voltage” (different from a reference level) are adjusted specifically to compensate for estimated charge loss, which represents the degradation of the signal due to noise/charge loss]; determining data stored in the memory device from states of the memory cells subjected to the read voltage [see above as well as “"reading the second page using the read parameter and a second read voltage,” – this showing that data (reading the page) is determined by applying a specific voltage level]; and calculating, based at least in part on the signal and noise characteristics, an amount of charge loss in the memory cells ["...determining a number of bits read in the first page as a result of the application of the first read voltage; estimating a charge loss of a second page based upon the number of bits and a proximity between the first and second pages;" – claim 1. The number of bits (bit error rate) acts as an indicator of signal/noise characteristics (specifically, the amount of charge loss). “Estimating a charge loss” calculates the impact of this noise based on proximity to a previously read page].
Conclusion
For applicant’s benefit portions of the cited reference(s) have been cited to aid in
the review of the rejection(s). While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection it is noted that the PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
When responding to the Office action, Applicants are advised to provide
the Examiner with line and page numbers of the application and/or references cited to assist the Examiner in the prosecution of this case.
from the Examiner should be directed to Michael T. Tran whose telephone number is (571) 272-1795. Interview agendas may be emailed to Michael.tran@uspto.gov. The Examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Thursday from 6:00AM-4:30 P.M.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application.
should be directed to the Group receptionist whose telephone number is (571) 272-1650.
/MICHAEL T TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2827 February 6, 2026