DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/19/2024 was filed before the first office action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejection Notes
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-8, 10-13,15, 16, and 18-20, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Chan et al. (US 20200117352 A1, published: 4/16/2020).
Claim 1: Chan teaches a system for providing data for presentation of an interactive user interface element, the system comprising: one or more memories (Storage Devices 210 [Chan, FIG. 2]); and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories (Processors 202 [Chan, FIG. 2]; Examiner's Note: shown to be coupled to storage via 220), configured to: transmit, to a user device associated with a user account (servers 106 may be configured to perform one or more types of allocations (a type of transaction) as instructed by computing device 102. The allocations may relate to an account of a user of computing device 102 held with a financial service provider for example [Chan, 0024]. One or more communication units 206 may communicate with external devices such as servers 108 and 110, etc. via one or more networks (e.g. 104) by transmitting and/or receiving network signals on the one or more networks [Chan, 0027]), a first set of user interface data associated with the user account, the first set of user interface data indicating an interactive element positioned on a representation of a transaction element (FIG. 3 shows GUI 300A comprising a selectable linear slider control 302 displayed in an amount region of the screen of gesture-based I/O device 104 and a plurality of allocation regions 304-308 having associated accounts (e.g. a checking account, savings account and investment account) displayed in respective regions of gesture-based I/O device 104 [Chan, 0036, FIG. 3]); receive, from the user device, interaction data indicating an interaction with the interactive element (moving the slider device 310 in a first direction (e.g. to the right) increases an allocation amount associated with the slider control 302 and moving the slider device 310 in a second direction (e.g. to the left) decreases the amount [Chan, 0036, FIG. 3]; Examiner's Note: moving by a user); and transmit, to the user device, based on the interaction, a second set of user interface data associated with the interactive user interface element, the second set of user interface data indicating the representation of the transaction element, and an identifier corresponding to the user account (FIG. 3 shows GUI 300A comprising a selectable linear slider control 302 displayed in an amount region of the screen of gesture-based I/O device 104 and a plurality of allocation regions 304-308 having associated accounts (e.g. a checking account, savings account and investment account) displayed in respective regions of gesture-based I/O device 104 [Chan, 0036, FIG. 3]).
Claims 10 and 15, having similar elements to claim 1, are likewise rejected.
Claim 2: Chan teaches the system of claim 1. Chan further teaches wherein a position of the identifier on the representation of the transaction element in the second set of user interface data is in a same position as the identifier in the first set of user interface data ([Chan, FIGS. 3-6]; Examiner's Note: as illustrated, alphanumeric characters representing values along the track).
Claim 16, having similar elements to claim 2, is likewise rejected.
Claim 3: Chan teaches the system of claim 1. Chan further teaches wherein the second set of user interface data further indicates a second interactive element, and wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive, from the user device, second interaction data indicating an interaction with the second interaction element; and transmit, to the user device and based on receiving the second interaction data, abstraction data indicating one or more abstraction elements to replace the identifier indicated by the second set of user interface data (In the present example, a representation of the slider device 310 (e.g. a further instance thereof 502) displaying the selected allocation amount is displayed in response to the second movement component of the swipe, moving away from the line 312. The location of the second slider device 502 is updated as the movement progresses (e.g. responsive to the touch events) [Chan, 0038, FIGs. 5 and 6]; Examiner's Note: as illustrated in the figures 5 and 6).
Claim 4: Chan teaches the system of claim 1. Chan further teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive, from the user device, selection data indicating a selection of a third party, wherein the user has an account with the third party; and transmit, to a third party system of the third party, account data indicating the identifier (in accordance with the present example, and with respect to GUIs 300C and 300D of FIGS. 5 and 6, to instruct the allocation source for the allocation, the swipe gesture is continued in a second direction, away from the line 312 to one of the plurality of allocation regions associated with respective sources. GUI 300C shows the swipe passing over some of the plurality of allocation regions to the region 304 associated with the desired source (checking account) [Chan, 0038, FIGS. 5-6]).
Claim 7: Chan teaches the system of claim 1. Chan further teaches wherein the identifier includes a plurality of alphanumeric characters, and the first set of user interface data indicates a plurality of symbols corresponding to all of the alphanumeric characters or a subset of the alphanumeric characters, wherein the plurality of symbols are positioned along the representation of the transaction element, and wherein the plurality of alphanumeric characters of the identifier, indicated in the second set of user interface data, are in a same position along the representation of the transaction element as a position of the plurality of symbols indicated in the first set of user interface data ([Chan, FIGS. 3-6]; Examiner's Note: as illustrated, alphanumeric characters representing values along the track).
Claim 8: Chan teaches the system of claim 1. Chan further teaches wherein the identifier is associated with one or more of: a use threshold defining a number of interactions with which the identifier is usable; one or more third parties with whom the identifier is usable; or one or more interaction types or categories of interactions for which the identifier is usable ([Chan, FIGS. 3-6]; Examiner's Note: Checking, Savings, and Investment accounts).
Claim 11: Chan teaches the method of claim 10. Chan further teaches wherein the first set of user interface data further indicates a track having a plurality of portions, wherein the interactive element is located at a first portion of the track, and wherein the interaction data indicates the interaction with the interactive element from the first portion of the track to a second portion of the track (moving the slider device 310 in a first direction (e.g. to the right) increases an allocation amount associated with the slider control 302 and moving the slider device 310 in a second direction (e.g. to the left) decreases the amount. Slider control 302 comprises a slider device 310 configured for movement along a line 312 [Chan, 0036, FIG. 3]; Matters relating to ornamentation only which have no mechanical function cannot be relied upon to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art [MPEP 2144.04 I. Aesthetic Design Changes]; Examiner's Note: as illustrated 310 is rectangular shaped).
Claim 12: Chan teaches the method of claim 10. Chan further teaches wherein the user identifier includes a set of characters, and wherein the first set of user interface data indicates a plurality of abstraction elements corresponding to the set of characters ([Chan, FIGs. 5-6]; Examiner's Note: as illustrated).
Claim 13: Chan teaches the method of claim 10. Chan further teaches wherein the interactive element is a button (Input and output devices may include any of one or more buttons, switches, pointing devices [Chan, 0028]).
Claim 18: Chan teaches the user device of claim 15. Chan further teaches wherein the identifier includes a plurality of characters, and the first user interface element includes a plurality of abstraction elements on the representation of the transaction element and corresponding to the plurality of characters, and wherein, in the second user interface element, the plurality of characters replaces the plurality of abstraction elements on the representation of the transaction element ((A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results; (B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results; (E) “Obvious to try” – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success [MPEP 2143]; Examiner's Note: This is just replacing different elements on the already described user interface).
Claim 19: Chan teaches the user device of claim 18. Chan further teaches wherein the second user interface element indicates an interaction element, and wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: detect a second user interaction, with the user device, that indicates the interaction element; and replace, based on the second user interaction, the plurality of characters on the representation of the transaction element with the plurality of abstraction elements ((A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results; (B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results; (E) “Obvious to try” – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success [MPEP 2143]; Examiner's Note: This is just replacing different elements on the already described user interface).
Claim 20: Chan teaches the user device of claim 15. Chan further teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to detect the user interaction while the interactive element is in progress between the first portion of the track and a different portion of the track (moving the slider device 310 in a first direction (e.g. to the right) increases an allocation amount associated with the slider control 302 and moving the slider device 310 in a second direction (e.g. to the left) decreases the amount [Chan, 0036, FIG. 3]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 6, 9, and 14, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chan et al. (US 20200117352 A1, published: 4/16/2020), in view of Fakhraie et al. (US 11386223 B1, filed: 11/29/2018).
Claim 5: Chan teaches the system of claim 1. Chan does not teach wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: initiate, based on receiving the interaction data, an authentication process to authenticate a user identity, wherein the second set of user interface data is transmitted to the user device after the authentication process is completed.
However, Fakhraie teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: initiate, based on receiving the interaction data, an authentication process to authenticate a user identity, wherein the second set of user interface data is transmitted to the user device after the authentication process is completed (the authentication request includes customer authentication information (e.g., customer name, password, biometric, debit card dip in an ATM, PIN, etc.). Based on the customer authentication information, the request is either granted or denied [Fakhraie, 12:49-54, FIG. 3]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the invention was filed, to modify the user selectable slider interface invention of Chan to include the account user interface feature of Fakhraie.
One would have been motivated to make this modification to condense the amount of information displayed to the user in an intuitive manner whereby the user can easily make changes to account information using the ancient computer scrollbar interface. Since this type of interface has been around for over 30 years, modern programmers, being aware of the same, would continue to find this same type of input as relevant.
Claim 6: The combination of Chan and Fakhraie, teaches the system of claim 5. Fakhraie further teaches wherein the identifier includes a plurality of characters, and the first set of user interface data indicates a plurality of abstraction elements corresponding to the plurality of characters, and wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: bypass the authentication process if the user identity has been authenticated within a threshold amount of time prior to receiving the interaction data; and reveal a particular character, of the plurality of characters, of the identifier in the second set of user interface data, when the interaction data indicates that the interactive element, via the interaction, has passed a particular abstraction element, of the plurality of abstraction elements, corresponding to the particular character (the authentication request includes customer authentication information (e.g., customer name, password, biometric, debit card dip in an ATM, PIN, etc.). Based on the customer authentication information, the request is either granted or denied [Fakhraie, 12:49-54, FIG. 3]).
Claim 9: Chan teaches the system of claim 1. Chan does not teach wherein the representation of the transaction element comprises a virtual account card.
However, Fakhraie teaches wherein the representation of the transaction element comprises a virtual account card (the authentication request includes customer authentication information (e.g., customer name, password, biometric, debit card dip in an ATM, PIN, etc.). Based on the customer authentication information, the request is either granted or denied [Fakhraie, 12:49-54, FIG. 3]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the invention was filed, to modify the user selectable slider interface invention of Chan to include the account user interface feature of Fakhraie.
One would have been motivated to make this modification to condense the amount of information displayed to the user in an intuitive manner whereby the user can easily make changes to account information using the ancient computer scrollbar interface. Since this type of interface has been around for over 30 years, modern programmers, being aware of the same, would continue to find this same type of input as relevant.
Claim 14, having similar elements to claim 9, is likewise rejected.
Claim(s) 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chan et al. (US 20200117352 A1, published: 4/16/2020), in view of Dahm et al. (US 11328359 B1, filed: 7/30/2015).
Claim 17: Chan teaches the user device of claim 15. Chan does not teach wherein the user interaction indicates a copy element, and wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: create a copy of data indicating the identifier based on detecting the user interaction.
However, Dahm teaches wherein the user interaction indicates a copy element, and wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: create a copy of data indicating the identifier based on detecting the user interaction (upon initiation of the uploading of files, the user's computer device can communicate data for providing copies of the report files to be uploaded to the host system 2. In response to that data, the host system 2 may receive the data for the copied files so that memory of the host system retains a copy of those one or more uploaded files [Dahm, 69:48-54]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the invention was filed, to modify the user selectable slider interface invention of Chan, to include the account copying feature of Dahm.
One would have been motivated to make this modification so that users are able to copy, save, and share their account information.
Conclusion
/Seth A Silverman/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2172