CTNF 18/808,717 CTNF 74016 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement As required by M.P.E.P. 609(c), the Applicant's submissions of the Information Disclosure Statement is acknowledged by the examiner and the cited references have been considered in the examination of the claims now pending. As required by M.P.E.P. 609 C(2), a copy of the PTOL-1449 initialed and dated by the examiner is attached to the instant office action. Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement has been received, entered into the record, and considered. See attached form PTO-1449. Claims 1-14 are presented for examination. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim recites the word, “if”. Examiner asserts that the claimed, “if”, is uncertain or recites a possibility . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Examiner is unclear as to what the Applicant means by the claimed, “if” in Claim 11, line 5. Further explanation, clarification and correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim s 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hietalahti et al., (US Publication No. 2022/0360939 A1 and Hietalahti hereinafter . 07-15-02-aia The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. Regarding Claims 1, 10 and 13, Hietalahti teaches a user equipment comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the user equipment at least to perform: generating one or more permissions for reporting (i.e., one or more authentication server functions (AUSF) 116, one or more unified data management (UDM) functions 118, one or more user plane functions (UPF) 120, one or more unified data repository (UDR) functions 122, one or more network repository functions (NRF) 128, and/or one or more network exposure functions (NEF) 124. Although NRF 128 is not depicted with its interfaces, it is understood that this is for clarity reasons and that NRF 128 may have a plurality of interfaces with other network function) Para [0109] of user equipment related events to one or more monitoring entities (i.e., configured to receive and store network information from one or more network functions or apparatus within the network. The data collection by the NWDAF 126 may be performed based on at least one subscription to the events provided by the at least one network function. ) Para [0110]; and sending a message comprising the one or more permissions for reporting user equipment related events to one or more controlling network entities (i.e., provide, for example, communication of data for carrying communications such as voice, electronic mail (email), text message, multimedia and so on. Users may thus be offered and provided numerous services via their communication devices) Para [0198]. Regarding Claims 2 and 14, Hietalahti teaches wherein the one or more permissions included one shared permission for reporting two or more different types of user equipment related event (i.e., receive and store network information from one or more network functions or apparatus within the network. The data collection by the NWDAF 126 may be performed based on at least one subscription to the events provided by the at least one network function) Para [0110]. Regarding Claim 3, Hietalahti teaches wherein said user equipment related events comprise two or more different types of user equipment related events which are associated with a respective permission (i.e., one or more authentication server functions (AUSF) 116, one or more unified data management (UDM) functions 118, one or more user plane functions (UPF) 120, one or more unified data repository (UDR) functions 122, one or more network repository functions (NRF) 128, and/or one or more network exposure functions (NEF) 124. Although NRF 128 is not depicted with its interfaces, it is understood that this is for clarity reasons and that NRF 128 may have a plurality of interfaces with other network functions) Para [0109] . Regarding Claim 4, Hietalahti teaches wherein the one or more permissions comprise at least two different permissions, and wherein sending comprises sending for the at least two permissions to different ones of the one or more monitoring entities \ (i.e., one or more authentication server functions (AUSF) 116, one or more unified data management (UDM) functions 118, one or more user plane functions (UPF) 120, one or more unified data repository (UDR) functions 122, one or more network repository functions (NRF) 128, and/or one or more network exposure functions (NEF) 124. Although NRF 128 is not depicted with its interfaces, it is understood that this is for clarity reasons and that NRF 128 may have a plurality of interfaces with other network functions) Para [0109]). Regarding Claim 5, Hietalahti teaches wherein the one or more permissions is used by one or more of the one or more controlling network entities to control whether to allow the one or more of the one or more controlling network entities to provide the user equipment related events to the one or more controlling network entities (i.e., n entity communicating with the UE 701 for assisting the LMF in determining a current location of the UE 701. For example, the request may comprise an LCS Correlation identifier, the serving cell identity of the Primary Cell in the Master RAN node and the Primary Cell in the Secondary RAN node when available based on Dual Connectivity scenarios, and an indication of a location request from a regulatory services client (e.g., emergency services). The LCS correlation identifier is used for matching up location service requests and responses. This request may additionally comprise an indication of whether (or not) the UE supports an LTE Positioning Protocol (LPP), a required QoS, and Supported Geographical Area Description shapes. When the serving cell of the UE overlaps with the restricted geodetic area, the AMF may include the restricted area (described as a GAD shape) in the request to the LMF) Para [0141]. Regarding Claim 6, Hietalahti teaches wherein the message further comprises a time period associated with one or more of the one or more permissions that the one or more of the one or more permissions is valid (i.e., n entity communicating with the UE 701 for assisting the LMF in determining a current location of the UE 701. For example, the request may comprise an LCS Correlation identifier, the serving cell identity of the Primary Cell in the Master RAN node and the Primary Cell in the Secondary RAN node when available based on Dual Connectivity scenarios, and an indication of a location request from a regulatory services client (e.g., emergency services). The LCS correlation identifier is used for matching up location service requests and responses. This request may additionally comprise an indication of whether (or not) the UE supports an LTE Positioning Protocol (LPP), a required QoS, and Supported Geographical Area Description shapes. When the serving cell of the UE overlaps with the restricted geodetic area, the AMF may include the restricted area (described as a GAD shape) in the request to the LMF) Para [0130]. Regarding Claim 7, Hietalahti teaches wherein the message comprises a registration request (i.e., AMF 702 makes a decision regarding whether to accept or reject the UE's request of 7001. This decision may use at least the indication of whether the UE is inside or outside the area) Para [0144]. Regarding Claim 8, Hietalahti teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the user equipment to perform: determining that one or permissions for reporting of user equipment related events has changed; and sending a further message to be generated with information about the one or more changed permissions for reporting of user equipment related events to the one or more controlling network entities (i.e., one or more authentication server functions (AUSF) 116, one or more unified data management (UDM) functions 118, one or more user plane functions (UPF) 120, one or more unified data repository (UDR) functions 122, one or more network repository functions (NRF) 128, and/or one or more network exposure functions (NEF) 124. Although NRF 128 is not depicted with its interfaces, it is understood that this is for clarity reasons and that NRF 128 may have a plurality of interfaces with other network functions ) Para [0109]. Regarding Claim 9, Hietalahti teaches wherein the one or more user equipment related events comprise one or more of: one or more loss of connectivity events; one or more reachability of the user equipment events; one or more location of the user equipment events; one or more change of subscription permanent identifier - permanent equipment identifier association events; one or more roaming status events; one or more communication failure events; one or more availability after downlink data notification failure events; one or more protocol data unit session status monitoring permissions events; one or more number of user equipment present in geographical area related; one or more core network type change events; one or more downlink data delivery status events; one or more user equipment reachability for short message service delivery events; one or more memory of the user equipment available for short message service events; one or more number of registered user equipment events; one or more established protocol data unit sessions events; one or more area of interest events; one or more group member list change events; or one or more group-maximum bit rate events (i.e., the AMF 702 makes a decision regarding whether to accept or reject the UE's request of 7001. This decision may use at least the indication of whether the UE is inside or outside the area) Para [0144]. Regarding Claim 11, Hietalahti teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus to perform: receiving a request, said request being a request sent by one of said one or more monitoring entities for notification of one or more user equipment related events of the first user equipment (i.e. reads on notification, message and so on) Para [0003], and to determine based on the one or more permissions if the request for notification of one or more user equipment related events of the first user equipment is authorized (i.e., store network information from one or more network functions or apparatus within the network. The data collection by the NWDAF 126 may be performed based on at least one subscription to the events provided by the at least one network function ) Para [0110]. Regarding Claim 12, Hietalahti teaches wherein the request is received from the one monitoring entity via an apparatus providing a network exposure function (i.e., store network information from one or more network functions or apparatus within the network. The data collection by the NWDAF 126 may be performed based on at least one subscription to the events provided by the at least one network function) Para [0110]. Pertinent Prior Art 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hietalahti et al., (US Patent Publication No. 202203602939 A1), “Apparatus, method, and computer programs” (November 10, 2022) discloses an apparatus for a a network function, a location request to determine a location of a terminal, the location request with a first indication of a first area, determining whether the terminal is inside or outside of the first area, and sending, to the network function, a second indication of whether the terminal is inside or outside of the first area. Communication Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DIANE D MIZRAHI whose telephone number is 571- 272-4079 . The examiner can normally be reached on 7:30-3:30 PM (7:30 - 4:30 p.m.). If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Alison T. Slater can be reached on (571) 270-0375. The fax phone numbers for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned are (703) 872-9306 for regular communications and for After Final communication. Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.qov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll free). /DIANE D MIZRAHI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647 Diane.Mizrahi@USPTO.gov Application/Control Number: 18/808,717 Page 2 Art Unit: 2647 Application/Control Number: 18/808,717 Page 3 Art Unit: 2647 Application/Control Number: 18/808,717 Page 4 Art Unit: 2647 Application/Control Number: 18/808,717 Page 5 Art Unit: 2647 Application/Control Number: 18/808,717 Page 6 Art Unit: 2647 Application/Control Number: 18/808,717 Page 7 Art Unit: 2647 Application/Control Number: 18/808,717 Page 8 Art Unit: 2647 Application/Control Number: 18/808,717 Page 9 Art Unit: 2647 Application/Control Number: 18/808,717 Page 10 Art Unit: 2647 Application/Control Number: 18/808,717 Page 11 Art Unit: 2647