DETAILED ACTION
Note by the Examiner
2. For clarity, the reference to specific claim numbers are presented in bold. Cited claim limitations are presented in bold the first time they are associated with a particular prior art disclosing the cited limitations, and subsequent reference to the already disclosed claim limitations are presented un-bolded. Certain elements from prior art which are not required by the claims are also presented un-bolded if they are particularly pertinent to understanding how the references are being combined. Item-to-item matching and Examiner explanations for 102 &/or 103 rejections have been provided in parenthesis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1-2, 7-13, 15-16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Kim et al. (US 2022/0181583 A1), hereinafter as K1, In view of Park (KR 102326795 B1, see attached translation document), hereinafter as P1
4. Regarding Claim 1, K1 discloses a method of manufacturing a display device (see Figs. 1-5G and [0046] “display device”), the method comprising:
applying an organic encapsulation layer (element 420, see [0062] “organic encapsulation layer 420”) to a substrate (element 100, see [0062] “substrate 100”) of the display device, the substrate having a display area (element DA, see [0060] “display area DA”) and a peripheral area (element NDA, see [0059] “non-display area NDA”) extending at least partially around the display area (see Fig. 1); and
capturing an image of the peripheral area to which the organic encapsulation layer is applied (see [0151] “the organic encapsulation layer 420 may be inspected based on an image photographed of the non-display area NDA in which the first groove G1 is formed”).
K1 does not explicitly disclose irradiating light to the organic encapsulation layer.
P1 discloses irradiating light to the organic encapsulation layer (see pg. 3 “Here, the light emitting module 12 may be composed of various light sources, and in particular, may be composed of a laser light source. In order to increase the effectiveness of inspecting the polyimide-coated substrate to be inspected for defects, visible laser light (eg, green laser light), invisible laser light (eg, UV laser light), or white light with a narrow pass filter (narrow band) pass filter) to further narrow the bandwidth of the light source.” And see pg. 5 “the illumination device for inspecting the polyimide substrate described above is operated to irradiate the short-wavelength linear light source or the short-wavelength surface light source onto the substrate (S3). An inspection image of the polyimide-coated substrate is acquired during the step of irradiating the linear light source or the surface light source (S5). In this case, the inspection image may be acquired while the inspection light is transferred on the substrate while the transfer unit 200 is operated”)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to incorporate the teachings of P1 with K1 because the combination allows for inspection of the organic encapsulation layer on the substrate in a larger area with maximized inspection efficiency and can also identify defects (see P1 pg. 3 “the light emitting module 12 may be composed of various light sources, and in particular, may be composed of a laser light source. In order to increase the effectiveness of inspecting the polyimide-coated substrate to be inspected for defects, visible laser light (eg, green laser light), invisible laser light (eg, UV laser light), or white light with a narrow pass filter (narrow band) pass filter) to further narrow the bandwidth of the light source … it becomes possible to inspect a larger area of the polyimide-coated substrate to be inspected, thereby maximizing inspection efficiency”); and
the combination is simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results – simple substitution of one known image capturing of an organic encapsulation material on a substrate for another to obtain predictable results (see P1 in particular pg. 3).
5. Regarding Claim 2, K1, P1 disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising, after the capturing of the image of the peripheral area, estimating an application amount of the organic encapsulation layer applied to the peripheral area (see K1 Fig. 2 and [0104-0105] The amount of the element 420 applied is estimated but the sharpness from the image “a position of the edge of the organic encapsulation layer 420 may be determined based on a sharpness (or visibility) of an edge of the first groove G1. In an embodiment, for example, when the outer edge 421d of the organic encapsulation layer 420 is positioned in the first-first area 1-1A, the edge of the first groove G1 may have relatively high sharpness. When the outer edge 421b of the organic encapsulation layer 420 is positioned in the first-second area 1-2A, the edge of the first groove G1 may have relatively low sharpness. When the outer edge 421c of the organic encapsulation layer 420 is positioned in the groove area GA, a portion of the edge of the first groove G1 which is closer to the display area DA may have relatively low sharpness, and another portion of the edge of the first groove G1 which is further from the display area DA may have relatively high sharpness”).
6. Regarding Claim 7, K1, P1 disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the light has a wavelength range in an ultraviolet region (see P1 pg. 3 “invisible laser light (eg, UV laser light)”).
7. Regarding Claim 9, K1, P1 disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the display device comprises a first dam in the peripheral area (see K1 element 510, see [0088] “first dam 510”).
8. Regarding Claim 10, K1, P1 disclose the method of claim 9, wherein the display device has a recess in the peripheral area between the first dam and the display area (see K1 Fig. 2 element G1, OP1, see [0067] “groove G1”, [0092] “opening OP1”).
9. Regarding Claim 11, K1, P1 disclose the method of claim 10, wherein the display device further comprises a second dam in the peripheral area and further away from the display area than the first dam is (see K1 Fig. 2 element 520, see [0088]).
10. Regarding Claim 12, K1, P1 disclose the method of claim 10, wherein, in the applying of the organic encapsulation layer to the substrate, the organic encapsulation layer is filled in the recess (see K1 Fig. 2, 5G).
11. Regarding Claim 13, K1, P1 disclose the method of claim 10, wherein an area of a cross-section of the recess parallel to the substrate decreases in a direction toward the substrate (see K1 Fig. 2 area of element G1,OP1 decreases from top to bottom).
12. Regarding Claim 15, K1, P1 disclose the method of claim 13, wherein the recess has an island shape (see K1 Fig. 5F at least element G1 has an island shape).
13. Regarding Claim 16, K1, P1 disclose the method of claim 13, wherein the recess has a linear shape and extends parallel to an edge of the display area (see K1 Fig. 5F at least element OP1 has a linear shape).
14. Regarding Claim 19, K1, P1 disclose the method of claim 17, wherein the recess has an island shape (see K1 Fig. 5F element G1 has an island shape).
15. Claims 10, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Kim et al. (US 2022/0181583 A1), hereinafter as K1, In view of Park (KR 102326795 B1, see attached translation document), hereinafter as P1
16. Regarding Claim 10, K1, P1 disclose the method of claim 9, wherein the display device has a recess in the peripheral area between the first dam and the display area (see K1 Fig. 2 element OP1, see [0092] “opening OP1”).
17. Regarding Claim 14, K1, P1 disclose the method of claim 10, wherein a cross-sectional length of the recess in a first direction uniformly decreases in a direction toward the substrate (see K1 Fig. 2 element OP1 uniformly decreases in a direction toward the substrate).
18. Claims 10, 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Kim et al. (US 2022/0181583 A1), hereinafter as K1, In view of Park (KR 102326795 B1, see attached translation document), hereinafter as P1
19. Regarding Claim 10, K1, P1 disclose the method of claim 9, wherein the display device has a recess in the peripheral area between the first dam and the display area (see K1 Fig. 2 element G1, see [0067] “groove G1”).
20. Regarding Claim 17, K1, P1 disclose the method of claim 10, wherein a cross-sectional area of the recess parallel to the substrate is constant in a direction perpendicular to the substrate (see K2 Fig. 5G).
21. Regarding Claim 18, K1, P1 disclose the method of claim 10, wherein a cross-sectional length of the recess in a first direction is constant (see K2 Fig. 5G).
22. Claims 3 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Kim et al. (US 2022/0181583 A1), hereinafter as K1, In view of Park (KR 102326795 B1, see attached translation document), hereinafter as P1, in view of Seo et al. (US 2022/0006041 A1), hereinafter as S1
23. Regarding Claim 3, K1, P1 disclose the method of claim 1.
K1, P1 do not disclose wherein, in the irradiating of the light to the organic encapsulation layer, the organic encapsulation layer to which the light is irradiated becomes opaque.
S1 discloses the organic encapsulation layer is a polymer-based material such as acrylic resin, an epoxy resin, polyimide, and/or polyethylene (see Figs. 6A-B and [0132] “The organic encapsulation layer 320 may include a polymer-based material. Examples of the polymer-based material may include an acrylic resin, an epoxy resin, polyimide, and/or polyethylene. Examples of the acrylic resin may include polymethyl methacrylate and polyacrylic acid. The organic encapsulation layer 320 may be transparent.”).
The material of the organic encapsulation layer as taught by S1 is incorporated as the organic encapsulation layer of K1, P1, the combination further discloses wherein, in the irradiating of the light to the organic encapsulation layer, the organic encapsulation layer to which the light is irradiated becomes opaque (the material of the organic encapsulation layer and the type of light which is irradiated is the same as that of the Applicant’s invention such that the inherent material properties produces the same opaque change).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to incorporate the teachings of S1 with K1, P1 because the combination provides protection which may prevent or reduce damage due to external moisture, oxygen, or other contaminants (see S1 [0131]); and
the combination is simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results – simple substitution of one known organic encapsulation material in a similar device for another to obtain predictable results (see S1 Figs. 6A-B and [0132]).
24. Regarding Claims 5, K1, P1 disclose the method of claim 3.
K1, P1 do not disclose wherein a degree of opacity of the organic encapsulation layer varies according to a thickness of the organic encapsulation layer that is applied.
S1 discloses the organic encapsulation layer is a polymer-based material such as acrylic resin, an epoxy resin, polyimide, and/or polyethylene (see Figs. 6A-B and [0132] “The organic encapsulation layer 320 may include a polymer-based material. Examples of the polymer-based material may include an acrylic resin, an epoxy resin, polyimide, and/or polyethylene. Examples of the acrylic resin may include polymethyl methacrylate and polyacrylic acid. The organic encapsulation layer 320 may be transparent.”).
The material of the organic encapsulation layer as taught by S1 is incorporated as the organic encapsulation layer of K1, P1, the combination further discloses wherein a degree of opacity of the organic encapsulation layer varies according to a thickness of the organic encapsulation layer that is applied (the material of the organic encapsulation layer and the type of light which is irradiated is the same as that of the Applicant’s invention such that the inherent material properties produces the same opaque change based on thickness).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to incorporate the teachings of S1 with K1, P1 because the combination provides protection which may prevent or reduce damage due to external moisture, oxygen, or other contaminants (see S1 [0131]); and
the combination is simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results – simple substitution of one known organic encapsulation material in a similar device for another to obtain predictable results (see S1 Figs. 6A-B and [0132]).
25. Regarding Claim 6, K1, P1, S1 disclose the method of claim 5, wherein, as a thickness of the organic encapsulation layer that is applied increases, the degree of opacity of the organic encapsulation layer increases (the material of the organic encapsulation layer and the type of light which is irradiated is the same as that of the Applicant’s invention such that the inherent material properties produces the same opaque change based on thickness).
26. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Kim et al. (US 2022/0181583 A1), hereinafter as K1, In view of Park (KR 102326795 B1, see attached translation document), hereinafter as P1, in view of Urano et al. (CN 1675588 A, see attached translation document), hereinafter as U1
27. Regarding Claim 8, K1, P1 disclose the method of claim 7.
K1, P1 do not explicitly disclose wherein the wavelength range of the light is from 365 nm to 395 nm.
U1 discloses wherein the wavelength range of the light is from 365 nm to 395 nm (see pg. 27 “imaging method is preferably ultraviolet laser with wavelength of 320 nm ~ 450 nm the photosensitive resist material layer of imaging material to scanning exposure”).
The specific wavelength of the UV light as taught by U1 is incorporated as the specific wavelength of the UV light of K1, P1.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to incorporate the teachings of U1 with K1, P1 because the combination is simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results – simple substitution of one known UV light wavelength range for imaging for another to obtain predictable results (see U1 pg. 27).
28. Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Kim et al. (US 2022/0181583 A1), hereinafter as K1, In view of Park (KR 102326795 B1, see attached translation document), hereinafter as P1, in view of Lee et al. (US 2020/0006701 A1), hereinafter as L1
29. Regarding Claim 20, K1, P1 disclose the method of claim 17.
K1, P1 do not disclose wherein the recess has a linear shape and extends parallel to an edge of the display area.
L1 discloses wherein the recess has a linear shape and extends parallel to an edge of the display area (see Figs. 10, 12 element G4 which is connected to element G2 extends linearly along an edge of the display area element D1, see [0104] “The third and fourth grooves G3 and G4 may extend along a boundary of the substrate 100”).
The recess extension as taught by L1 is incorporated as a recess extension of K1, P1.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to incorporate the teachings of L1 with K1, P1 because the combination provides moisture transmission in a lateral direction towards display elements in an opening area to be blocked and prevented through a groove that is formed in a multilayer film surrounding the opening area and has an undercut structure, and the prevention of moisture transmission may be achieved regardless of substrate types (see L1 [0110]); and
the combination is simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results – simple substitution of one known groove top view shape for another in a similar device for another to obtain predictable results (see L1 Fig. 6-7 versus 10, 12 alternatively provides selectable groove shapes).
Conclusion
/SAMUEL PARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818