DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
Claims 21-40 are pending and have been examined in this application.
This communication is the first action on merits.
Information disclosure statement was filed and reviewed by examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
Claim limitations in this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) are: “correction device for forcing an occupant to a proper seating pressure…” in claims 23 and 33. corresponding structure for the compute platform is found on pages 15-16 of the specification.
Double Patenting
The non-statutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper time-wise extension of the "right to exclude" granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A non-statutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the claims at issue are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); and In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-l.jsp
Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 and 21-22 of application No.15935416 (filed on 03/26/2018, now U.S. patent No. 10940772). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other The limitations of the claims of the instant application is seemingly the simple mapping to claim limitations of the claim limitations of the related application in view of the secondary reference(s). The breadth of the instant application claims (e.g. claims 21-40) would read on the narrow claims of the related application. These changes, in view of the related application, would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art over the related application and/or the secondary reference(s) and the corresponding claims they are contained within.
Furthermore, the same analysis applies to the dependent claims of the instant application which are seemingly the simple mapping to claim limitations of claims in the related application and are obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art over the related application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21-30, 33, and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 21 lines 5-6, the recited limitation “the kinds of an electronic component” is indefinite. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. Further, it is unclear to the examiner what does having the kinds of an electric component mean?
In claim 23 line 2, the recited limitation “the group consisting of” is indefinite. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. Further, the claim recites a pressure. It is unclear to the examiner if this is a pressure sensor/device or what electric component can be a pressure?
In claim 29 line 2, the recited limitation “the two parts” is indefinite. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
In claim 33 lines 2-4, the recited limitation “the kinds of an electronic component” is indefinite. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. Further, it is unclear to the examiner what does having the kinds of an electric component mean? Further, the recited limitation “the group consisting of” is indefinite. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. Further, the claim recites a pressure. It is unclear to the examiner if this is a pressure sensor/device or what electric component can be a pressure?
In claim 36 line 2, the recited limitation “the two parts” is indefinite. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claims 22, 24-28, and 30 are rejected for being dependent upon a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-27, 29-34, and 35-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McDermott (US 20090267376 A1) in view of Russel (US 20130332104 A1).
With respect to claim 21, a vehicle seat (see at least [abstract]), comprising: a frame member provided on a floor of a vehicle (see at least [0016-0017], [0019], [0022-0023] and [Fig. 1]); a seat part detachably attached to the frame member (see at least [0022-0023], [0025-0027], and [Figs. 2-5]); and a connector unit electrically or optically connecting the seat part to the frame member (see at least [0022-0023], [0025-0027], and [Figs. 2-5]), wherein the seat part is interchangeably selected from a number of selections having the kinds of an electric component (see at least [0022-0023], [0025-0027], and [Figs. 2-5]).
However, McDermot do not specifically disclose the seat part has a plurality of seat part segments, and the plurality of seat part segments has a central part and a pair of side parts.
Russel teaches the seat part has a plurality of seat part segments (see at least [0022], [0051-0053], [0058-0059], [0069-0077], and [Figs. 7-11]), and the plurality of seat part segments has a central part and a pair of side parts (see at least [0022], [0051-0053], [0058-0059], [0069-0077], and [Figs. 7-11]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified McDermot, with a reasonable expectation of success to incorporate the teachings of Russel wherein the seat part has a plurality of seat part segments, and the plurality of seat part segments has a central part and a pair of side parts. This would be done to improve performance of seats and increase user’s convenience (see Russel para 0003-0007).
With respect to claim 22, McDermot do not specifically disclose wherein the number of selections having different properties of a pad and a skin member of the seat part.
Russel teaches wherein the number of selections having different properties of a pad and a skin member of the seat part (see at least [0025] and [0052]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified McDermot, with a reasonable expectation of success to incorporate the teachings of Russel wherein the number of selections having different properties of a pad and a skin member of the seat part. This would be done to improve performance of seats and increase user’s convenience (see Russel para 0003-0007).
With respect to claim 23, McDermot discloses wherein the electric component is selected from the group consisting of a heater, a cooling fan, a temperature sensor, a humidity sensor, a pressure, an air bag, a switch, an actuator, and a correction device for forcing an occupant to a proper seating posture at a time of a vehicle crash (see at least [0022]).
With respect to claim 24, McDermot do not specifically disclose wherein each seat part segments is provided with a pad and a skin member, at least one of the seat part segments is detachably connected to the frame member.
Russel teaches wherein each seat part segments is provided with a pad and a skin member (see at least [0022], [0051-0053], [0058-0059], [0069-0077], and [Figs. 7-11]), at least one of the seat part segments is detachably connected to the frame member (see at least [0022], [0051-0053], [0058-0059], [0069-0077], and [Figs. 7-11]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified McDermot, with a reasonable expectation of success to incorporate the teachings of Russel wherein each seat part segments is provided with a pad and a skin member, at least one of the seat part segments is detachably connected to the frame member. This would be done to improve performance of seats and increase user’s convenience (see Russel para 0003-0007).
With respect to claim 25, McDermot do not specifically disclose wherein each seat part segments is provided with a sub frame, each sub frame is made of a plate member.
Russel teaches wherein each seat part segments is provided with a sub frame, each sub frame is made of a plate member (see at least [0022], [0051-0053], [0058-0059], [0069-0077], and [Figs. 7-11]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified McDermot, with a reasonable expectation of success to incorporate the teachings of Russel wherein each seat part segments is provided with a sub frame, each sub frame is made of a plate member. This would be done to improve performance of seats and increase user’s convenience (see Russel para 0003-0007).
With respect to claim 26, McDermot do not specifically disclose wherein the electric component is provided between the sub frame and the pad or between the pad and the skin member.
Russel teaches wherein the electric component is provided between the sub frame and the pad or between the pad and the skin member (see at least [0025-0032], [0061-0065] and [Fig. 11]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified McDermot, with a reasonable expectation of success to incorporate the teachings of Russel wherein the electric component is provided between the sub frame and the pad or between the pad and the skin member. This would be done to improve performance of seats and increase user’s convenience (see Russel para 0003-0007).
With respect to claim 27, McDermot do not specifically disclose wherein the number of selections having different sizes and configurations of the seat part.
Russel teaches wherein the number of selections having different sizes and configurations of the seat par (see at least [0025-0032], [0061-0065] and [Fig. 11]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified McDermot, with a reasonable expectation of success to incorporate the teachings of Russel wherein the number of selections having different sizes and configurations of the seat part. This would be done to improve performance of seats and increase user’s convenience (see Russel para 0003-0007).
With respect to claim 29, McDermot do not specifically disclose wherein each side part is detachably connected to the central part via a second connector unit which connects the two parts both mechanically and electrically.
Russel teaches wherein each side part is detachably connected to the central part via a second connector unit which connects the two parts both mechanically and electrically (see at least [0022], [0051-0053], [0058-0059], [0069-0077], and [Figs. 7-11]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified McDermot, with a reasonable expectation of success to incorporate the teachings of Russel wherein each side part is detachably connected to the central part via a second connector unit which connects the two parts both mechanically and electrically. This would be done to improve performance of seats and increase user’s convenience (see Russel para 0003-0007).
With respect to claim 30, McDermot discloses wherein the connector unit is connected to at least one of the sub frames (see at least [0022-0023], [0025-0027], and [Figs. 2-5]).
With respect to claim 31, McDermot discloses a vehicle seat (see at least [abstract]), comprising: a frame member provided on a floor of a vehicle; a plurality of seat parts detachably attached to the frame member (see at least [0016-0017], [0019], [0022-0023] and [Fig. 1]); and a connector unit electrically or optically connecting the plurality of seat parts to the frame member (see at least [0022-0023], [0025-0027], and [Figs. 2-5]), wherein the plurality of seat parts includes a seat cushion and a seat back (see at least [0016] and [Fig. 1]), one of the plurality of seat cushion part segments is connected to the frame member, and one of the plurality of seat back part segments is connected to the frame member (see at least [0022-0023], [0025-0027], and [Figs. 2-5]).
McDermot do not specifically disclose the seat cushion has a plurality of seat cushion part segments with different functions from each other, the seat back has a plurality of seat back part segments with different functions from each other.
Russel teaches the seat cushion has a plurality of seat cushion part segments with different functions from each other (see at least [0022], [0051-0053], [0058-0059], [0069-0077], and [Figs. 7-11]), the seat back has a plurality of seat back part segments with different functions from each other (see at least [0022], [0051-0053], [0058-0059], [0069-0077], and [Figs. 7-11]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified McDermot, with a reasonable expectation of success to incorporate the teachings of Russel wherein the seat cushion has a plurality of seat cushion part segments with different functions from each other, the seat back has a plurality of seat back part segments with different functions from each other. This would be done to improve performance of seats and increase user’s convenience (see Russel para 0003-0007).
With respect to claim 32, McDermot do not specifically disclose wherein the plurality of seat cushion part segments has a central cushion part and a pair of side cushion parts.
Russel teaches wherein the plurality of seat cushion part segments has a central cushion part and a pair of side cushion parts (see at least [0022], [0051-0053], [0058-0059], [0069-0077], and [Figs. 7-11]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified McDermot, with a reasonable expectation of success to incorporate the teachings of Russel wherein the plurality of seat cushion part segments has a central cushion part and a pair of side cushion parts. This would be done to improve performance of seats and increase user’s convenience (see Russel para 0003-0007).
With respect to claim 33, McDermot discloses wherein the seat cushion part is interchangeably selected from a number of selections having the kinds of electric component, and the electric component is selected from the group consisting of a heater, a cooling fan, a temperature sensor, a humidity sensor, a pressure, an air bag, a switch, an actuator, and a correction device for forcing an occupant to a proper seating posture at a time of a vehicle crash .
With respect to claim 34, McDermot do not specifically disclose wherein each seat cushion part segments is provided with a sub frame, each sub frame is made of a plate member.
Russel teaches wherein each seat cushion part segments is provided with a sub frame, each sub frame is made of a plate member (see at least [0022], [0051-0053], [0058-0059], [0069-0077], and [Figs. 7-11]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified McDermot, with a reasonable expectation of success to incorporate the teachings of Russel wherein each seat cushion part segments is provided with a sub frame, each sub frame is made of a plate member. This would be done to improve performance of seats and incr ease user’s convenience (see Russel para 0003-0007).
With respect to claim 36, McDermot do not specifically disclose wherein the frame member is provided with an air bag device, the air bag device includes a folded air bag and an inflator for inflating the air bag at a time of a crash.
Russel teaches wherein the frame member is provided with an air bag device, the air bag device includes a folded air bag and an inflator for inflating the air bag at a time of a crash (see at least [0022], [0051-0053], [0058-0059], [0069-0077], and [Figs. 7-11]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified McDermot, with a reasonable expectation of success to incorporate the teachings of Russel wherein the frame member is provided with an air bag device, the air bag device includes a folded air bag and an inflator for inflating the air bag at a time of a crash. This would be done to improve performance of seats and increase user’s convenience (see Russel para 0003-0007).
With respect to claim 37, McDermot discloses wherein the connector unit is connected to at least one of the sub frames (see at least [0022-0023], [0025-0027], and [Figs. 2-5]).
With respect to claim 38, McDermot discloses wherein the correction device includes an air cylinder for moving a corresponding part of the seat part (see at least [0022]).
With respect to claim 39, McDermot discloses wherein the connector unit mechanically connects the seat part to the frame member (see at least [0022-0023], [0025-0027], and [Figs. 2-5]).
With respect to claim 40, McDermot discloses wherein the frame member includes a lower frame part extending in a fore and aft direction, and an upper frame part extending upward from a rear end of the lower frame part (see at least [0016] and [Fig. 1]).
Claims 28 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McDermott (US 20090 267376 A1) in view of Russel (US 20130332104 A1) Hadi et al (US 20050168046 A1).
With respect to claim 28, McDermot as modified by Russel do not specifically teach wherein the frame member is provided with an air bag device, the air bag device includes a folded air bag and an inflator for inflating the air bag at a time of a crash.
Hadi teaches wherein the frame member is provided with an air bag device, the air bag device includes a folded air bag and an inflator for inflating the air bag at a time of a crash (see at least [0030-0033]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified McDermot as modified by Russel, with a reasonable expectation of success to incorporate the teachings of Hadi wherein the frame member is provided with an air bag device, the air bag device includes a folded air bag and an inflator for inflating the air bag at a time of a crash. This would be done to improve cushioning or dampening fore and aft movement of the seat system (see Hadi para 0005)
With respect to claim 35, McDermot as modified by Russel wherein the frame member is provided with an air bag device, the air bag device includes a folded air bag and an inflator for inflating the air bag at a time of a crash.
Hadi teaches wherein the frame member is provided with an air bag device, the air bag device includes a folded air bag and an inflator for inflating the air bag at a time of a crash (see at least [0030-0033]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified McDermot as modified by Russel, with a reasonable expectation of success to incorporate the teachings of Hadi wherein the frame member is provided with an air bag device, the air bag device includes a folded air bag and an inflator for inflating the air bag at a time of a crash. This would be done to improve cushioning or dampening fore and aft movement of the seat system (see Hadi para 0005).
Inquiry
/ABDALLA A KHALED/Examiner, Art Unit 3667