DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
This Final action is in response to applicant’s amendment of 30 April 2026. Claims 21-40 are examined and pending. Claims 21-25, 27-29, 31-34, and 36 are currently amended and claims 1-20 are cancelled.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ filling of terminal disclaimer, with respect to the claim rejection under double patenting as set forth in the Office Action have been fully considered and are persuasive. As such, the claim rejection under double patenting has been withdrawn.
Applicants’ amendments and/or arguments, with respect to the claim interpretation under 35 USC 112(f) as set forth in the Office Action have been fully considered and are persuasive. As such, the claim interpretation under 35 USC 112(f) has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendments/arguments with respect to the rejection under 35 USC 112(b) as set forth in the Office Action have been fully considered and are persuasive. As such, the rejection as previously presented has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference(s) applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-25, 27, 29-34, and 35-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McDermott (US 20090267376 A1) in view of Vento (US 5441331 A1).
With respect to claim 21, a vehicle seat (see at least [abstract]), comprising: a frame member provided on a floor of a vehicle (see at least [0016-0017], [0019], [0022-0023] and [Fig. 1]); a seat part detachably attached to the frame member (see at least [0022-0023], [0025-0027], and [Figs. 2-5]); and a connector unit electrically or optically connecting the seat part to the frame member (see at least [0022-0023], [0025-0027], and [Figs. 2-5]).
However, McDermot do not specifically disclose wherein the seat part has a plurality of seat part segments, wherein the seat part is selectable from a plurality of selections that differ in types of electric components includes therein and the plurality of seat part segments has a central part and a pair of side parts detachably connected to respective sides of the central part.
Vento teaches the seat part has a plurality of seat part segments (see at least [Col. 4 line 42- Col. 5 line68], [Col. 6 line 49 – Col. Col. 7 line 57], and [Figs. 1 and 4]), wherein the seat part is selectable from a plurality of selections that differ in types of electric components includes therein (see at least [Col. 4 line 42- Col. 5 line68], [Col. 6 line 49 – Col. Col. 7 line 57], and [Figs. 1 and 4]) and the plurality of seat part segments has a central part and a pair of side parts detachably connected to respective sides of the central part (see at least [Col. 4 line 42- Col. 5 line68], [Col. 6 line 49 – Col. Col. 7 line 57], and [Figs. 1 and 4]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified McDermot, with a reasonable expectation of success to incorporate the teachings of Vento wherein the seat part has a plurality of seat part segments, wherein the seat part is selectable from a plurality of selections that differ in types of electric components includes therein and the plurality of seat part segments has a central part and a pair of side parts detachably connected to respective sides of the central part. This would be done to provide more convenient and durable seating for vehicles and passengers (see Vento Col. 1 lines 18-64).
With respect to claim 22, McDermot do not specifically discloses wherein the central part and the pair of side parts are selectable from a plurality of combinations of a pad and a skin member having different properties.
Vento teaches wherein the central part and the pair of side parts are selectable from a plurality of combinations of a pad and a skin member having different properties (see at least [Col. 4 line 42- Col. 5 line68], [Col. 6 line 49 – Col. Col. 7 line 57], and [Figs. 1 and 4]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified McDermot, with a reasonable expectation of success to incorporate the teachings of Vento wherein the central part and the pair of side parts are selectable from a plurality of combinations of a pad and a skin member having different properties. This would be done to provide more convenient and durable seating for vehicles and passengers (see Vento Col. 1 lines 18-64).
With respect to claim 23, McDermot discloses wherein the seat part includes at least one electric component, the electric component being a heater, a cooling fan, a temperature sensor, a humidity sensor, a pressure sensor, an air bag device, a switch, an actuator, or a correction device for forcing an occupant to a proper seating posture at a time of a vehicle crash (see at least [0022]).
With respect to claim 24, McDermot do not specifically disclose wherein each of the central part and the pair of side parts is provided with a pad and a skin member, and the central part is detachably connected to the frame member.
Vento teaches wherein each of the central part and the pair of side parts is provided with a pad and a skin member (see at least [Col. 4 line 42- Col. 5 line68], [Col. 6 line 49 – Col. Col. 7 line 57], and [Figs. 1 and 4]), and the central part is detachably connected to the frame member (see at least [Col. 4 line 42- Col. 5 line68], [Col. 6 line 49 – Col. Col. 7 line 57], and [Figs. 1 and 4]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified McDermot, with a reasonable expectation of success to incorporate the teachings of Vento wherein the seat part has a plurality of seat part segments, wherein the seat part is selectable from a plurality of selections that differ in types of electric components includes therein and the plurality of seat part segments has a central part and a pair of side parts detachably connected to respective sides of the central part. This would be done to provide more convenient and durable seating for vehicles and passengers (see Vento Col. 1 lines 18-64).
With respect to claim 25, McDermot do not specifically disclose wherein each of the central part and the pair of side parts is provided with a sub frame, each sub frame is made of a plate member.
Vento teaches wherein each of the central part and the pair of side parts is provided with a sub frame, each sub frame is made of a plate member (see at least [Col. 4 line 42- Col. 5 line68], [Col. 6 line 49 – Col. Col. 7 line 57], and [Figs. 1 and 4]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified McDermot, with a reasonable expectation of success to incorporate the teachings of Vento wherein each of the central part and the pair of side parts is provided with a sub frame, each sub frame is made of a plate member. This would be done to provide more convenient and durable seating for vehicles and passengers (see Vento Col. 1 lines 18-64).
With respect to claim 27, McDermot do not specifically disclose wherein the seat part is selectable from a plurality of selections that differ in sizes and configurations.
Vento teaches wherein the seat part is selectable from a plurality of selections that differ in sizes and configurations (see at least [Col. 4 line 42- Col. 5 line68], [Col. 6 line 49 – Col. Col. 7 line 57], and [Figs. 1 and 4]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified McDermot, with a reasonable expectation of success to incorporate the teachings of Vento wherein the seat part is selectable from a plurality of selections that differ in sizes and configurations. This would be done to provide more convenient and durable seating for vehicles and passengers (see Vento Col. 1 lines 18-64).
With respect to claim 29, McDermot do not specifically disclose wherein each side part is detachably connected to the central part via a second connector unit which connects each side part and the central part both mechanically and electrically.
Vento teaches wherein each side part is detachably connected to the central part via a second connector unit which connects each side part and the central part both mechanically and electrically (see at least [Col. 4 line 42- Col. 5 line68], [Col. 6 line 49 – Col. Col. 7 line 57], and [Figs. 1 and 4]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified McDermot, with a reasonable expectation of success to incorporate the teachings of Vento wherein each side part is detachably connected to the central part via a second connector unit which connects each side part and the central part both mechanically and electrically. This would be done to provide more convenient and durable seating for vehicles and passengers (see Vento Col. 1 lines 18-64).
With respect to claim 30, McDermot discloses wherein the connector unit is connected to at least one of the sub frames (see at least [0022-0023], [0025-0027], and [Figs. 2-5]).
With respect to claim 31, McDermot discloses a vehicle seat (see at least [abstract]), comprising: a frame member provided on a floor of a vehicle; a plurality of seat parts detachably attached to the frame member (see at least [0016-0017], [0019], [0022-0023] and [Fig. 1]); and a connector unit electrically or optically connecting the plurality of seat parts to the frame member (see at least [0022-0023], [0025-0027], and [Figs. 2-5]), wherein the plurality of seat parts includes a seat cushion and a seat back (see at least [0016] and [Fig. 1]), one of the plurality of seat cushion part segments is connected to the frame member, and one of the plurality of seat back part segments is connected to the frame member (see at least [0022-0023], [0025-0027], and [Figs. 2-5]).
McDermot do not specifically disclose wherein the seat cushion has a plurality of seat cushion part segments with different functions from each other, the plurality of seat cushion part segments has a central part and a pair of side parts detachably connected to respective sides of the central part; the seat back has a plurality of seat back part segments with different functions from each other.
Vento teaches wherein the seat cushion has a plurality of seat cushion part segments with different functions from each other (see at least [Col. 4 line 42- Col. 5 line68], [Col. 6 line 49 – Col. Col. 7 line 57], and [Figs. 1 and 4]), the plurality of seat cushion part segments has a central part and a pair of side parts detachably connected to respective sides of the central part (see at least [Col. 4 line 42- Col. 5 line68], [Col. 6 line 49 – Col. Col. 7 line 57], and [Figs. 1 and 4]); the seat back has a plurality of seat back part segments with different functions from each other (see at least [Col. 4 line 42- Col. 5 line68], [Col. 6 line 49 – Col. Col. 7 line 57], and [Figs. 1 and 4]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified McDermot, with a reasonable expectation of success to incorporate the teachings of Vento wherein the seat cushion has a plurality of seat cushion part segments with different functions from each other, the plurality of seat cushion part segments has a central part and a pair of side parts detachably connected to respective sides of the central part; the seat back has a plurality of seat back part segments with different functions from each other. This would be done to provide more convenient and durable seating for vehicles and passengers (see Vento Col. 1 lines 18-64).
With respect to claim 32, McDermot do not specifically disclose wherein each of the central part and the pair of side parts is provided with a pad and a skin member.
Vento teaches wherein each of the central part and the pair of side parts is provided with a pad and a skin member (see at least [Col. 4 line 42- Col. 5 line68], [Col. 6 line 49 – Col. Col. 7 line 57], and [Figs. 1 and 4]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified McDermot, with a reasonable expectation of success to incorporate the teachings of Vento wherein each of the central part and the pair of side parts is provided with a pad and a skin member. This would be done to provide more convenient and durable seating for vehicles and passengers (see Vento Col. 1 lines 18-64).
With respect to claim 33, McDermot discloses wherein the seat cushion includes at least one electric component, the electric component being a heater, a cooling fan, a temperature sensor, a humidity sensor, a pressure sensor, an air bag device, a switch, an actuator, or a correction device for forcing an occupant to a proper seating posture at a time of a vehicle crash (see at least [0022]).
With respect to claim 34, McDermot do not specifically disclose wherein each of the central part and the pair side parts is provided with a sub frame, each sub frame is made of a plate member.
Vento teaches wherein each of the central part and the pair side parts is provided with a sub frame, each sub frame is made of a plate member (see at least [Col. 4 line 42- Col. 5 line68], [Col. 6 line 49 – Col. Col. 7 line 57], and [Figs. 1 and 4]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified McDermot, with a reasonable expectation of success to incorporate the teachings of Vento wherein each of the central part and the pair side parts is provided with a sub frame, each sub frame is made of a plate member. This would be done to provide more convenient and durable seating for vehicles and passengers (see Vento Col. 1 lines 18-64).
With respect to claim 36, McDermot do not specifically disclose wherein each side part is detachably connected to the central part via a second connector unit which connects each side part and the central part both mechanically and electrically.
Vento teaches wherein each side part is detachably connected to the central part via a second connector unit which connects each side part and the central part both mechanically and electrically (see at least [Col. 4 line 42- Col. 5 line68], [Col. 6 line 49 – Col. Col. 7 line 57], and [Figs. 1 and 4]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified McDermot, with a reasonable expectation of success to incorporate the teachings of Vento wherein each side part is detachably connected to the central part via a second connector unit which connects each side part and the central part both mechanically and electrically. This would be done to provide more convenient and durable seating for vehicles and passengers (see Vento Col. 1 lines 18-64).
With respect to claim 37, McDermot discloses wherein the connector unit is connected to at least one of the sub frames (see at least [0022-0023], [0025-0027], and [Figs. 2-5]).
With respect to claim 38, McDermot discloses wherein the correction device includes an air cylinder for moving a corresponding part of the seat part (see at least [0022]).
With respect to claim 39, McDermot discloses wherein the connector unit mechanically connects the seat part to the frame member (see at least [0022-0023], [0025-0027], and [Figs. 2-5]).
With respect to claim 40, McDermot discloses wherein the frame member includes a lower frame part extending in a fore and aft direction, and an upper frame part extending upward from a rear end of the lower frame part (see at least [0016] and [Fig. 1]).
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McDermott (US 20090267376 A1) in view of Vento (US 5441331 A1) in view of Russel (US 20130332104 A1).
With respect to claim 26, McDermot as modified by Vento do not specifically disclose wherein the electric component is provided between the sub frame and the pad or between the pad and the skin member.
Russel teaches wherein the electric component is provided between the sub frame and the pad or between the pad and the skin member (see at least [0025-0032], [0061-0065] and [Fig. 11]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified McDermot as modified by Vento, with a reasonable expectation of success to incorporate the teachings of Russel wherein the electric component is provided between the sub frame and the pad or between the pad and the skin member. This would be done to improve performance of seats and increase user’s convenience (see Russel para 0003-0007).
Claims 28 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McDermott (US 20090 267376 A1) in view of Vento (US 5441331 A1) in view of Hadi et al (US 20050168046 A1).
With respect to claim 28, McDermot as modified by Vento do not specifically teach wherein the frame member is provided with an air bag device, the air bag device includes a folded air bag and an inflator for inflating the air bag at a time of a crash.
Hadi teaches wherein the frame member is provided with an air bag device, the air bag device includes a folded air bag and an inflator for inflating the air bag at a time of a crash (see at least [0030-0033]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified McDermot as modified by Vento, with a reasonable expectation of success to incorporate the teachings of Hadi wherein the frame member is provided with an air bag device, the air bag device includes a folded air bag and an inflator for inflating the air bag at a time of a crash. This would be done to improve cushioning or dampening fore and aft movement of the seat system (see Hadi para 0005)
With respect to claim 35, McDermot as modified by Vento wherein the frame member is provided with an air bag device, the air bag device includes a folded air bag and an inflator for inflating the air bag at a time of a crash.
Hadi teaches wherein the frame member is provided with an air bag device, the air bag device includes a folded air bag and an inflator for inflating the air bag at a time of a crash (see at least [0030-0033]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified McDermot as modified by Vento, with a reasonable expectation of success to incorporate the teachings of Hadi wherein the frame member is provided with an air bag device, the air bag device includes a folded air bag and an inflator for inflating the air bag at a time of a crash. This would be done to improve cushioning or dampening fore and aft movement of the seat system (see Hadi para 0005).
Conclusion
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground of rejection presented in the office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiry
/ABDALLA A KHALED/Examiner, Art Unit 3667