DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Drawings
The drawings are not of sufficient quality to permit examination. Drawings must include illustrations which facilitate an understanding of the invention. The submitted drawings lack the corresponding reference characters required to facilitate understanding of the invention. Accordingly, replacement drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to this Office action. No new matter may be introduced in the required drawing. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action.
Applicant is given a shortened statutory period of TWO (2) MONTHS to submit new drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.81. Extensions of time may be obtained under the provisions of 37 CFR 1.136(a) but in no case can any extension carry the date for reply to this letter beyond the maximum period of SIX MONTHS set by statute (35 U.S.C. 133). Failure to timely submit replacement drawing sheets will result in ABANDONMENT of the application.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 “the same computer system,” in line 11, should read --a computer system-- as this appears to be a typographical error.
Claim 1 “serviceable based a database,” in line 13, should read --serviceable based on a database-- as this appears to be a typographical error.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “span tens of thousands of “tenants” or customers” in claim 1 is considered indefinite, since the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. It is unclear as to whether the Applicant is claiming a data storage that can store an unlimited amount of data or just a certain amount in the ten thousands. As such, the claim is indefinite for failing to distinctly claim the invention. For purposes of examination, the term “tens of thousands of “tenants” or customers” is being interpreted as any number less than one hundred thousand.
Claim 2 is rejected by virtue of its dependence on independent claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Step 1: Claims 1-3 are drawn to processes and claims 4-8 are drawn to a device, each of which is within the four statutory categories (e.g., a process, a machine). (Step 1: YES).
Step 2A – Prong One: In prong one of step 2A, the claims are analyzed to evaluate whether they recite a judicial exception.
Claim 1 recites/describes the following steps:
“(a) providing a timeslot rules table, the timeslot rules table being an immutable table of a first plurality of timeslots, the timeslot rules table defining a plurality of scheduling rules;”
“(b) providing a timeslot additions table, the timeslot additions table including a second plurality of timeslots being different from the first plurality of timeslots;”
“(c) providing a calendar recurring rule table, the calendar recurring rule table including recurring pattern rules for one or more of the timeslot rules table and the timeslot additions table;”
“(d) providing an exceptions table, the exceptions table including one or more exceptions to the scheduling rules;”
“(e) receiving a ticketing request from a user for one or more recurring events;”
“(f) determining whether the ticketing request is serviceable based a database including the timeslot rules table, the timeslot additions table, the calendar recurring rule table, and the exceptions table;” and
“(g) displaying serviceable ticketing options to the user.”
These steps, under broadest reasonable interpretation, describe or set-forth providing options for tickets requested by a user, which amounts to managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions). These limitations therefore fall within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” subject matter grouping of abstract ideas.
Claim 3 recites/describes the following steps:
“(a) presenting a visual calendar based view that displays time slot data with controls to view and edit details; and (b) presenting alternate visual views such as day tiles or text and timeslot mixed panels, whereby multiple timeslots are easily and simply configurable by presenting them as a group and allowing for the configuration of all timeslots in a given group.”
These steps, under broadest reasonable interpretation, describe or set-forth presenting a calendar with alternate views and configurations for timeslots, which amounts to managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions). These limitations therefore fall within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” subject matter grouping of abstract ideas.
Claim 4 recites/describes the following steps:
“receive an event request including event data for one or more recurring events from an event planner…”
“generate, based on the event request: a timeslot rules table, the timeslot rules table being an immutable table of a first plurality of timeslots, the timeslot rules table defining a plurality of scheduling rules;”
“a timeslot additions table, the timeslot additions table including a second plurality of timeslots being different from the first plurality of timeslots;”
“a calendar recurring rule table, the calendar recurring rule table including recurring pattern rules for one or more of the timeslot rules table and the timeslot additions table;” and
“an exceptions table, the exceptions table including one or more exceptions to the scheduling rules;”
“store the timeslot rules table, the timeslots additions table, the calendar recurring rule table, and the exceptions table…”
“receive a ticketing request from a user operating a compute device for one or more recurring events associated with the event request from the event planner;”
“determine whether the ticketing request is serviceable based on … the timeslot rules table, the timeslot additions table, the calendar recurring rule table, and the exceptions table;”
“generate a visual calendar based view to the compute device operated by the planner to enable the planner to modify details of the one or more recurring events;” and
“generate a visual calendar based interface to the compute device operated by user planner to enable the user to purchase a ticket for the one or more recurring events.”
These steps, under broadest reasonable interpretation, describe or set-forth providing options for tickets requested by a user and presenting a calendar with alternate views and configurations for timeslots, which amounts to managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions). These limitations therefore fall within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” subject matter grouping of abstract ideas.
As such, the Examiner concludes that claim 1 recites an abstract idea (Step 2A – Prong One: YES).
Each of the depending claims 2 and 5-8 likewise recite/describe these steps (by incorporation - and therefore also recite limitations that fall within this subject matter grouping of abstract ideas), and these claims are therefore determined to recite an abstract idea under the same analysis. Any elements recited in a dependent claim that are not specifically identified/addressed by the Examiner under step 2A (prong two) or step 2B of this analysis shall be understood to be an additional part of the abstract idea recited by that particular claim.
Step 2A – Prong Two:
The claims recite the additional elements/limitations of: “(e) providing efficient data storage that can span tens of thousands of “tenants” or customers all having complex multi-day timeslot data in the same computer system;” (claim 1); “an apparatus comprising: a processor; a database; and a memory operatively coupled to the processor,” and “a compute device;” (claim 4). Examine notes independent claim 3 does not recite any additional elements/limitations other than the recited abstract idea.
The requirement to execute the claimed steps/functions using “(e) providing efficient data storage that can span tens of thousands of “tenants” or customers all having complex multi-day timeslot data in the same computer system;” (claim 1); “an apparatus comprising: a processor; a database; and a memory operatively coupled to the processor,” and “a compute device;” (claim 4), is equivalent to adding the words “apply it” on a generic computer and/or mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a generic computer. These limitations do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and therefore do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. See § MPEP 2106.05(f).
Remaining dependent claims 2 and 5-8 either recite the same additional elements as noted above or fail to recite any additional elements (in which case, note prong one analysis as set forth above – those claims are further part of the abstract idea as identified by the Examiner for each respective dependent claim).
The Examiner has therefore determined that the additional elements, or combination of additional elements, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Accordingly, the claims are directed to an abstract idea (Step 2A – Prong two: NO).
Step 2B:
As discussed above in “Step 2A – Prong 2,” the requirement to execute the claimed steps/functions using “(e) providing efficient data storage that can span tens of thousands of “tenants” or customers all having complex multi-day timeslot data in the same computer system;” (claim 1); “an apparatus comprising: a processor; a database; and a memory operatively coupled to the processor,” and “a compute device;” (claim 4), is equivalent to adding the words “apply it” on a generic computer and/or mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a generic computer. These limitations therefore do not qualify as “significantly more.” See MPEP § 2106.05(f).
Viewing the additional limitations in combination also shows that they fail to ensure the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. When considered as an ordered combination, the additional components of the claims add nothing that is not already present when considered separately, and thus simply append the abstract idea with words equivalent to “apply it” on a generic computer and/or mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a generic computer.
Remaining dependent claims 2 and 5-8 either recite the same additional elements as noted above or fail to recite any additional elements (in which case, note prong one analysis as set forth above – those claims are further part of the abstract idea as identified by the Examiner for each respective dependent claim).
The Examiner has therefore determined that no additional element, or combination of additional claims elements is/are sufficient to ensure the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea identified above (Step 2B: NO).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Glocker (US 2022/0270021 A1) in view of Bebout et al. (US 2019/0213538 A1), hereinafter Bebout.
Regarding claim 1, Glocker discloses a computer implemented method for event management and participation, comprising: (a) providing a timeslot rules table (Par. [0036], The resource database may be a standalone database, a table or collection of tables within a database, or integrated within a database used for other purposes), the timeslot rules table being an immutable table of a first plurality of timeslots, the timeslot rules table defining a plurality of scheduling rules (Par. [0348], the Task Scheduling Module 135 may be responsible for re - routing tasks to team members who are available to complete tasks in a specific time slot in the event an assigned task needs to be reassigned . It may perform these functions in conjunction with the Skills - Based Task Routing Module);
(b) providing a timeslot additions table (Par. [0036], The resource database may be a standalone database, a table or collection of tables within a database, or integrated within a database used for other purposes), the timeslot additions table including a second plurality of timeslots being different from the first plurality of timeslots (Par. [0056], In preferred embodiments the schedule allocation interface will be accessed for the display and control of a worker's schedule availability in a day , week , or month layout);
(c) providing a calendar recurring rule table (Par. [0036], The resource database may be a standalone database, a table or collection of tables within a database, or integrated within a database used for other purposes), the calendar recurring rule table including recurring pattern rules for one or more of the timeslot rules table and the timeslot additions table (Par. [0073], " calendar ” and any pluralization and derivatives thereof are to be understood to include within their meaning but not be limited to a chart, table, or other representation of a schedule in a visual format , covering a period of time);
(e) providing efficient data storage that can span tens of thousands of “tenants” or customers all having complex multi-day timeslot data in the same computer system (Par. [0035], database repository may comprise a custom database , specifically created for the purpose of developing and deploying embodiments of the invention , or it may be a third - party repository . Third party database repositories may hold data bases comprising data created by users of the present embodiments or by systems or software applications according to embodiments);
(e) receiving a ticketing request from a user for one or more recurring events (Par. [0099], receive a task request from the schedule avail ability interface);
(f) determining whether the ticketing request is serviceable based a database including the timeslot rules table, the timeslot additions table, the calendar recurring rule table, and the exceptions table (Par. [0041]-[0054], The system may require many disparate items of information to make accurate and informed estimates on work time and complexity . In many cases , at the start of a task this reference information may either be incorrect or not knowable before the task commences); and
(g) displaying serviceable ticketing options to the user (Par. [0322], The Skills - Based Task Routing Module 133 finds suitable workers in a process further illustrated in FIG . 3 and allows the client to select an available time which is suitable for both the client and a worker).
Glocker does not explicitly disclose (d) providing an exceptions table, the exceptions table including one or more exceptions to the scheduling rules. Bebout teaches providing an exceptions table, the exceptions table including one or more exceptions to the scheduling rules (Par. [0046]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the ticketing system of Glocker to include the exceptions abilities of Bebout since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 2, Glocker discloses further comprising: (h) receiving a ticketing request confirmation from the user (Par. [0099], receive a task request from the schedule avail ability interface); and (i) updating the database based on the ticketing request confirmation (Par. [0232], Data is communicated and updated to each com ponent in real time as the end user makes changes to information within the System).
Regarding claim 3, Glocker discloses a computer implemented method for presenting complex multi-day recurring timeslot data to event directors in a way that makes it easy to configure events, comprising: (a) presenting a visual calendar based view that displays time slot data with controls to view and edit details (Par. [0073], " calendar ” and any pluralization and derivatives thereof are to be understood to include within their meaning but not be limited to a chart, table, or other representation of a schedule in a visual format , covering a period of time); and (b) presenting alternate visual views such as day tiles or text and timeslot mixed panels, whereby multiple timeslots are easily and simply configurable by presenting them as a group and allowing for the configuration of all timeslots in a given group (Par. [0356], Fig. 6, g a Schedule Availability Interface 310 according to embodiments of the invention , which allows clients to select an Available Time 311 for a given worker or selection of workers to complete work).
Regarding claim 4, Glocker discloses an apparatus comprising: a processor; a database; and a memory operatively coupled to the processor (Par. [0235]), the memory storing instructions to cause the processor to:
receive an event request including event data for one or more recurring events from an event planner operating a compute device (Par. [0099], receive a task request from the schedule avail ability interface);
generate, based on the event request: a timeslot rules table (Par. [0036], The resource database may be a standalone database, a table or collection of tables within a database, or integrated within a database used for other purposes), the timeslot rules table being an immutable table of a first plurality of timeslots, the timeslot rules table defining a plurality of scheduling rules (Par. [0348], the Task Scheduling Module 135 may be responsible for re - routing tasks to team members who are available to complete tasks in a specific time slot in the event an assigned task needs to be reassigned . It may perform these functions in conjunction with the Skills - Based Task Routing Module);
a timeslot additions table (Par. [0036], The resource database may be a standalone database, a table or collection of tables within a database, or integrated within a database used for other purposes), the timeslot additions table including a second plurality of timeslots being different from the first plurality of timeslots (Par. [0056], In preferred embodiments the schedule allocation interface will be accessed for the display and control of a worker's schedule availability in a day , week , or month layout);
a calendar recurring rule table (Par. [0036], The resource database may be a standalone database, a table or collection of tables within a database, or integrated within a database used for other purposes), the calendar recurring rule table including recurring pattern rules for one or more of the timeslot rules table and the timeslot additions table (Par. [0073], " calendar ” and any pluralization and derivatives thereof are to be understood to include within their meaning but not be limited to a chart, table, or other representation of a schedule in a visual format , covering a period of time); and
store the timeslot rules table, the timeslots additions table, the calendar recurring rule table, and the exceptions table in the database (Par. [0035], database repository may comprise a custom database , specifically created for the purpose of developing and deploying embodiments of the invention , or it may be a third - party repository . Third party database repositories may hold data bases comprising data created by users of the present embodiments or by systems or software applications according to embodiments);
receive a ticketing request from a user operating a compute device for one or more recurring events associated with the event request from the event planner(Par. [0099], receive a task request from the schedule avail ability interface);
determine whether the ticketing request is serviceable based on a database including the timeslot rules table, the timeslot additions table, the calendar recurring rule table, and the exceptions table (Par. [0041]-[0054], The system may require many disparate items of information to make accurate and informed estimates on work time and complexity . In many cases , at the start of a task this reference information may either be incorrect or not knowable before the task commences);
generate a visual calendar based view to the compute device operated by the planner to enable the planner to modify details of the one or more recurring events; and generate a visual calendar based interface to the compute device operated by user planner to enable the user to purchase a ticket for the one or more recurring events (Par. [0322], The Skills - Based Task Routing Module 133 finds suitable workers in a process further illustrated in FIG . 3 and allows the client to select an available time which is suitable for both the client and a worker).
Glocker does not explicitly disclose (d) providing an exceptions table, the exceptions table including one or more exceptions to the scheduling rules. Bebout teaches providing an exceptions table, the exceptions table including one or more exceptions to the scheduling rules (Par. [0046]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the ticketing system of Glocker to include the exceptions abilities of Bebout since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 5, Glocker discloses wherein the buyer is further enabled, via the visual calendar based interface, to: consider options for purchase and view additional displayed information in each day that assists with making a purchase decision; be presented with alternate visual views such as day tiles or text and timeslot mixed panels; and reduce the number of clicks needed to complete the purchase of one or more tickets out of a plurality of possible ticket options (Par. [0356], Fig. 6, g a Schedule Availability Interface 310 according to embodiments of the invention , which allows clients to select an Available Time 311 for a given worker or selection of workers to complete work).
Regarding claim 6, Glocker discloses wherein the memory stores instructions to further cause the processor to: present a visual calendar based view that displays time slot data with controls to view and edit details; and present alternate visual views such as day tiles or text and timeslot mixed panels, whereby multiple timeslots are easily and simply configurable by presenting them as a group and allowing for the configuration of all timeslots in a given group (Par. [0356], Fig. 6, g a Schedule Availability Interface 310 according to embodiments of the invention , which allows clients to select an Available Time 311 for a given worker or selection of workers to complete work).
Regarding claim 7, Glocker discloses wherein the event data includes parameters for the one or more recurring events, the parameters including an identification number, name (Par. [0239]-[0247]), start time, duration, number of recurring events, offsets for the recurring events (Par. [0273]-[0286]), and pricing (Par. [0273], [0372]).
Regarding claim 8, Glocker discloses wherein the memory stores instructions that further cause the processor to generate tables for pricing, capacity for events, and discounts (Par. [0036], The resource database may be a standalone database, a table or collection of tables within a database, or integrated within a database used for other purposes).
Prior Art of Record
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure.
Whitehead (US 2002/0199182 A1) discloses a system that provides content and services to customers over an infrastructure. The system includes a plurality of business application modules and associated databases, and further includes a bus, such as an enterprise application integration (EAI) bus, for interconnecting the plurality of business application modules, the associated databases and customer equipment. The EAI provides an inter-application module and customer equipment messaging function and message/data translation capability. In the preferred embodiment at least one of the plurality of business application modules is a customer billing application module that cooperates with others of the plurality of business application modules and the customer equipment through the EAI for generating, for individual ones of the customers, a bill that contains a unified accounting of all of the content and services received by the customer through the infrastructure.
Conclusion
/Patrick Kim/Examiner, Art Unit 3628