DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following subject matter must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim 6, which depends from claim 5, recites “wherein one of the two recessed portions facing each other is disposed in an upper portion of one of the active regions adjacent to each other, and the other of the two recesses facing each other is disposed in a lower portion of the other of the active regions adjacent to each other, and wherein the recessed portion disposed in the upper portion and the recessed portion disposed in the lower portion of the same one of the active regions are opposite to each other in the first horizontal direction,” which is not illustrated by the drawings. Specifically, the drawings do not illustrate: (1) the “two recessed portions” of the same active region (as recited in claim 5) face each other (as recited in claim 6) and (2) the recessed portion disposed in the upper portion and the recessed portion disposed in the lower portion of the same active region are opposite to each other in the first horizontal direction (D1) {they are more closely opposite to one another in the third direction (D3)}.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6, 7, and 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6, lines 2-11, recites “wherein one of the two recessed portions facing each other is disposed in an upper portion of one of the active regions adjacent to each other, and the other of the two recesses facing each other is disposed in a lower portion of the other of the active regions adjacent to each other, and wherein the recessed portion disposed in the upper portion and the recessed portion disposed in the lower portion of the same one of the active regions are opposite to each other in the first horizontal direction,” which both: (1) lacks a proper antecedent basis for each of: (a) “the two recessed portions facing each other” and (b) “the other of the two recessed portions facing each other” and (2) is contradictory because: (c) claim 5, from which claim 6 depends, recites the “two recessed portions” belong to the same active region and (d) claim 6 recites each one these “two recessed portions” exists in a separate one of two adjacent active regions. Additionally, the recitation whereby “the recessed portion disposed in the upper portion and the recessed portion disposed in the lower portion of the same one of the active regions are opposite to each other in the first horizontal direction” is indefinite because it lacks support in the original application {see the explanation provided above with respect to the drawing objection}. For the purpose of compact prosecution and to better comport with the application, claim 6 will be interpreted as reciting “wherein for each of the active regions, one of the two recessed portions is disposed in an upper portion of the active region and the other of the two recessed portions is disposed in a lower portion of the active region, and wherein one of two opposed recessed portions facing each other is disposed in an upper portion of one of two adjacent active regions, and the other of the two opposed recessed portions facing each other is disposed in a lower portion of the other of the two adjacent active regions.”
Claim 7, which depends from claim 5, recites “the recessed portion in the upper portion and the recessed portion in the lower portion of the same active region overlap two gate lines adjacent to each other in the second horizontal direction, respectively,” which is indefinite because it lacks a proper antecedent basis for each of: (1) “the recessed portion in the upper portion” and (2) “the recessed portion in the lower portion.” For the purpose of compact prosecution and to better comport with the application and the claims from which it depends, this will be interpreted as “a recessed portion in an upper portion and a recessed portion in a lower portion of the same active region overlap two gate lines adjacent to each other in the second horizontal direction, respectively.”
Claim 9, line 18, recites “the first horizontal direction,” which lacks a proper antecedent basis. For the purpose of compact prosecution and to better comport with the remainder of the claim, this will be interpreted as “the first direction.” Claims 10-20 are rejected due to their dependence from claim 9.
Claim 10, recites “wherein each of the lower portion of the second active region and the upper portion of the third active region includes a recessed portion, and wherein the recessed portions are arranged to be opposite to each other,” which is indefinite because: (1) it is unclear whether the recitation whereby “the lower portion of the second active region … includes a recessed portion” is intended (or not) as a repetition of the similar recitation in base claim 9 and (2) it is unclear whether “the recessed portions” refers to those in base claim 9 or to different recessed portions recited in claim 10. For the purpose of compact prosecution and to better comport with the remainder of the claim, this will be interpreted as “wherein the upper portion of the third active region includes a recessed portion facing in an opposite direction as the recessed portion of the lower portion of the second active region.”
Claim 11 recites “the recessed portions overlap with a same one of the gate lines,” which is indefinite because it is unclear whether this refers to the “recessed portions” recited in intermediate claim 10 or the different “recessed portions” recited in base claim 9. For the purpose of compact prosecution and to better comport with the remainder of the claim, this will be interpreted as “the recessed portions arranged to face each other overlap with a same one of the gate lines.”
Claim 13 recites “the recessed portions in the upper portions of the active regions and the recessed portions in the lower portions of the active regions are opposite to each other,” which is indefinite because each instance of “the active regions” lacks a proper antecedent basis. For the purpose of compact prosecution and to better comport with the remainder of the claim, this will be interpreted as “the recessed portions in the upper portions of the first and second active regions are opposite to the recessed portions in the lower portions of the first to third active regions.”
Claim 14 recites “the recessed portions in the upper portions of the active regions and the recessed portions in the lower portions of the active regions overlap with the different gate lines,” which is indefinite because each instance of “the active regions” lacks a proper antecedent basis. For the purpose of compact prosecution and to better comport with the remainder of the claim, this will be interpreted as “the recessed portions in the upper portions of the first and second active regions and the recessed portions in the lower portions of the first to third active regions overlap with the different gate lines.”
Claim 15 recites “The semiconductor device according to claim 14, further comprising: active areas arranged in two dimensions each having a bar shape elongated in a diagonal direction, wherein the active regions include a first active region, a second active region, and a third active region sequentially arranged in a row direction, an upper portion of the first active region, a lower portion of the second active region, and an upper portion of the third active region each include a recessed portion recessed in the row direction, wherein the recessed portion of the upper portion of the first active region and the recessed portion of the lower portion of the second active region face each other in the row direction,” which is indefinite because it is unclear whether: (1) the recited “a first active region,” (2) “a second active region,” (3) “a third active region,” (4) “an upper portion,” and (5) “a lower portion” refer to those recited in base claim 9. For the purpose of compact prosecution, to better comport with the remainder of the claims and its dependent claims, and to better comport with the Korean parent application which includes this claim in independent form, this claim will be interpreted as being written in independent form. Claims 16-20 are rejected due to their dependence from claim 15.
Claim 15, line 5, recites “the active regions,” which lacks a proper antecedent basis. For the purpose of compact prosecution and to better comport with the remainder of the claim, this will be interpreted as “the active areas.” Claims 16-20 are rejected due to their dependence from claim 9.
Claim 18 recites “the gate line overlaps with the recessed portions,” which is indefinite because “the recessed portions” lacks a proper antecedent basis. For the purpose of compact prosecution and to better comport with the remainder of the claim, this will be interpreted as “the gate line overlaps with the recessed portion of the upper portion of the first active region.”
Claim 19 recites “each of the active areas has two recessed portions, wherein one of the recessed portions of each of the active areas is disposed in the upper portion of each of the active regions, and wherein another one of the recessed portions of each of the active areas is disposed in the lower portion of each of the active regions,” which is indefinite because the recitation of each of: (1) “the recessed portions of each of the active areas,” (2) “the upper portion of each of the active regions,” and (3) “the lower portion of each of the active regions” lacks a proper antecedent basis. For the purpose of compact prosecution and to better comport with the remainder of the claim and its dependent claim, this will be interpreted as “a lower portion of the first active region includes a recessed portion.” Claim 20 is rejected due to its dependence from claim 19.
Claim 20 recites “the recessed portion disposed in the upper portion and the recessed portion disposed in the lower portion of one of the active regions are arranged to be opposite to each other,” which is indefinite because “the active regions” lacks a proper antecedent basis. For the purpose of compact prosecution and to better comport with the remainder of the claim, this will be interpreted as “the recessed portions disposed in the upper and lower portions of the first active region are arranged to be opposite to each other.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US20230389299A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches in Figs. 2-4B a semiconductor device comprising:
a plurality of gate lines (WL) extending in parallel with each other in a first horizontal direction (D2) {[0026]};
a plurality of bit lines (BL) extending in parallel with each other in a second horizontal direction (D1) {[0046]}; and
a plurality of active regions (AP) having a bar shape elongated in a third horizontal direction (D3) and two dimensionally arranged {[0025]},
wherein the first horizontal direction (D2) and the second horizontal direction (D1) are perpendicular to each other {Fig. 2},
wherein the third horizontal direction (D3) diagonally intersects the first horizontal direction (D2) and the second horizontal direction (D1) {Fig. 3}, and
wherein the active regions (AP) have recessed portions (RE1), respectively {[0036]}.
Regarding claim 2, Kim teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 1, and Kim further teaches wherein the recessed portions (RE1) overlap with the gate lines (WL) {Fig. 2, overlap when viewed along a line diagonal to D2 and/or D4}.
Regarding claim 3, Kim teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 1, and Kim further teaches wherein the recessed portions (RE1) of two active regions (AP) adjacent to each other in the first horizontal direction (D2) face each other {Figs. 2, 3}.
Regarding claim 4, Kim teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 3, and Kim further teaches wherein the recessed portions (RE1) facing each other commonly overlap with a same one of the gate lines (WL) {Figs. 2, 3; overlap when viewed along a line diagonal to D2 and/or D4}.
Regarding claim 5, Kim teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 1, and Kim further teaches wherein each of the active regions (AP) has two recessed portions (RE1).
Regarding claim 6, as interpreted in view of the indefiniteness rejections, Kim teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 5, and Kim further wherein for each of the active regions (AP), one of the two recessed portions (RE1) is disposed in an upper portion of the active region (AP) and the other of the two recessed portions (RE1) is disposed in a lower portion of the active region (AP), and wherein one of two opposed recessed portions (RE1) facing each other is disposed in an upper portion of one of two adjacent active regions (AP), and the other of the two opposed recessed portions (RE1) facing each other is disposed in a lower portion of the other of the two adjacent active regions (AP) {Figs. 2, 3}.
Regarding claim 7, as interpreted in view of the indefiniteness rejections, Kim teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 5, and Kim further teaches wherein a recessed portion (RE1) in an upper portion and a recessed portion (RE1) in a lower portion of the same active region (AP) overlap two gate lines (WL) adjacent to each other in the second horizontal direction (D1), respectively {Figs. 2, 3; overlap when viewed along a line diagonal to D2 and/or D4}.
Regarding claim 8, Kim teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 1, and Kim further teaches wherein the recessed portions are semicircular or semi-elliptical (Figs. 2, 3; [0038]}.
Regarding claim 9, as interpreted in view of the indefiniteness rejection, Kim teaches in Figs. 2-4B a semiconductor device comprising:
a plurality of gate lines (WL) extending in parallel with each other in a first direction (-D2) {[0026]};
a plurality of bit lines (BL) extending in parallel with each other in a second direction (D1) {[0046]}; and
first to third active regions (AP) sequentially arranged in the first direction (-D2), wherein each of the first to third active regions (AP) has a bar shape that is elongated in a third direction (D3) {[0025]},
wherein the first direction (-D2) and the second direction (D1) are perpendicular to each other {Fig. 2},
wherein the third direction (D3) diagonally intersects the first direction (-D2) and the second direction (D1) {Fig. 2},
wherein an upper portion of the first active region (AP) and a lower portion of the second active region (AP) are disposed to have a first interval in the first direction (-D2) {Fig. 2},
wherein the lower portion of the second active region (AP) and an upper portion of the third active region (AP) are disposed to have a second interval in the first direction (D2) {Fig. 2},
wherein the first interval is smaller than the second interval {Fig. 2}, and
wherein the upper portion of the first active region (AP) and the lower portion of the second active region (AP) include recessed portions (RE1) arranged to face each other in the first direction (-D2), respectively {Fig. 2}.
Regarding claim 10, as interpreted in view of the indefiniteness rejection, Kim teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 9, and Kim further teaches wherein the upper portion of the third active region (AP) includes a recessed portion (RE1) facing in an opposite direction as the recessed portion (RE1) of the lower portion of the second active region (AP) {Fig. 2}.
Regarding claim 11, as interpreted in view of the indefiniteness rejection, Kim teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 10, and Kim further teaches wherein the recessed portions (RE1) arranged to face each other overlap with a same one of the gate lines (WL) {Figs. 2, 3; overlap when viewed along a line diagonal to D2 and/or D4}.
Regarding claim 12, Kim teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 9, and Kim further teaches wherein:
the first active region (AP) further includes a recessed portion (RE1) disposed in a lower portion thereof {Fig. 2},
the second active region (AP) further includes a recessed portion (RE1) disposed in an upper portion thereof {Fig. 2}, and
the third active region (AP) further includes a recessed portion (RE1) disposed in a lower portion thereof {Fig. 2}.
Regarding claim 13, as interpreted in view of the indefiniteness rejection, Kim teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 12, and Kim further teaches wherein the recessed portions (RE1) in the upper portions of the first and second active regions (AP) are opposite to the recessed portions (RE1) in the lower portions of the first to third active regions (AP) {Fig. 2}.
Regarding claim 14, as interpreted in view of the indefiniteness rejection, Kim teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 12, and Kim further teaches wherein the recessed portions (RE1) in the upper portions of the first and second active regions (AP1) and the recessed portions (RE1) in the lower portions of the first to third active regions (AP) overlap with the different gate lines (WL) {Figs. 2, 3; each upper/lower RE1 overlaps with a different WL when viewed along a line-segment drawn diagonal to D2 and/or D4}.
Regarding claim 15, as interpreted in view of the indefiniteness rejection, Kim teaches in Figs. 1-4B a semiconductor device, comprising:
active areas (areas of AP) arranged in two dimensions each having a bar shape elongated in a diagonal direction (D3) {[0025]},
wherein the active areas (areas of AP) include a first active region (AP), a second active region (AP), and a third active region (AP) sequentially arranged in a row direction (D2) {[0025]},
an upper portion of the first active region (AP), a lower portion of the second active region (AP), and an upper portion of the third active region (AP) each include a recessed portion (RE1) recessed in the row direction (D2) {Fig. 2},
wherein the recessed portion (RE1) of the upper portion of the first active region (AP) and the recessed portion (RE1) of the lower portion of the second active region (AP) face each other in the row direction (D2) {Fig. 2}.
Regarding claim 16, Kim teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 15, and Kim further teaches wherein the recessed portion (RE1) of the lower portion of the second active region (AP) and the recessed portion (RE1) of the upper portion of the third active region (AP) are arranged to be opposite to each other {Fig. 2}.
Regarding claim 17, Kim teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 15, and Kim further teaches wherein the recessed portion (RE1) of the upper portion of the first active region (AP) and the recessed portion (RE1) of the upper portion of the third active region (AP) are arranged in a same direction (D2).
Regarding claim 18, as interpreted in view of the indefiniteness rejection, Kim teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 15, and Kim further teaches further comprising:
a gate line (WL) extending in the row direction (D2) {[0026]},
wherein the gate line (WL) overlaps with the recessed portion (RE1) of the upper portion of the first active region (AP) in a top view {Fig. 2; they overlap when viewed along a line diagonal to D2 and/or D4, which view may be a top view when the orientation of Kim’s device is rotated appropriately}.
Regarding claim 19, as interpreted in view of the indefiniteness rejection, Kim teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 15, and Kim further teaches wherein: a lower portion of the first active region (AP) includes a recessed portion (RE1) {Fig.2}.
Regarding claim 20, as interpreted in view of the indefiniteness rejection, Kim teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 19, and Kim further teaches wherein the recessed portions (RE1) disposed in the upper and lower portions of the first active region (AP) are arranged to be opposite to each other {Fig. 2}.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim (US20210225849A1) teaches a semiconductor device comprises: a first active region over a substrate; and a first bit line structure intercepting the first active region at a level that is lower than a top-most surface thereof, the first bit line structure including a barrier liner having a U-profile in a width direction thereof in electrical contact with the first active region.
Conclusion
/D.W.W./Examiner, Art Unit 2891
/MATTHEW C LANDAU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2891