DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2, the recitation “the function component is electrically connected to the movable component” is indefinite because it contradicts the present disclosure. In Fig. 5 of the present invention, function component 24 is connected to magnetic component 22 to receive power, it is not connected to movable component 23 which is a rotor that is non-electric.
Regarding claim 16, the recitation “the cover is fixed on the cover” is indefinite because it recites the cover is fixed on itself.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 15-16, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20220265107 A1 to Knight.
Regarding claim 1, Knight discloses a tool comprising:
a housing (Fig. 3: 104) provided with a fluid port (100a); and
an auxiliary assembly (112 and 116) installed on the housing,
wherein the auxiliary assembly comprises a power generation unit (112) and a function component (116), the function component is electrically connected to the power generation unit, the power generation unit is capable of converting kinetic energy into electrical energy under flowing of a fluid and supplying power to the function component [0011].
Regarding claim 2, Knight discloses the power generation unit comprises a magnetic component (stator of generator) and a movable component (108 and rotor of generator), the function component (116) is electrically connected to the movable component (112), and the movable component (rotor) is capable of moving and cutting magnetic induction lines generated by the magnetic component (stator) under flowing of the fluid.
Regarding claim 3, Knight discloses the movable component comprises a rotor (Fig. 3: 108 and rotor of generator) and the rotor is capable of rotating and cutting the magnetic induction lines generated by the magnetic component under flowing of the fluid.
Regarding claim 4, Knight discloses the auxiliary assembly is movably installed on the housing to enable the auxiliary assembly to have a working state or a non-working state; when the auxiliary assembly is in the working state, the movable component is capable of being driven to move and cutting the magnetic induction lines generated by the magnetic component under flowing of the fluid, the power generation unit is capable of supplying an sufficient electricity to the function component to enable the function component to be in operation; and when the auxiliary assembly is in the non-working state, the movable component is not capable of being driven to move by flowing of the fluid or the movable component is capable of being driven to move slowly by flowing of the fluid, the power generation unit is not capable of supplying sufficient electricity to the function component, and the function component is out of operation [0026].
Regarding claim 15, Knight discloses the auxiliary assembly is a lighting assembly, the function component is a lighting member (Fig. 3: 116); the lighting assembly is movably installed on the housing, such that the lighting assembly has the working state and the non-working state; when the lighting assembly is in the working state, the movable component is capable of being driven to move and cutting the magnetic lines generated by the magnetic component under flowing of the fluid, the power generation unit is capable of supplying the sufficient electricity to the lighting member to enable the lighting member to light; and when the lighting assembly is in the non-working state, the movable component is not capable of being driven to move by flowing of the fluid, or the movable component is capable of being driven to move slowly under flowing of the fluid, the power generation unit is not capable of supplying sufficient electricity to the lighting member, such that the lighting member is not able to light; and/or the auxiliary assembly is detachably connected to the housing [0026].
Regarding claim 16, Knight discloses the auxiliary assembly further comprises a cover (Fig. 3: 128), the cover is fixed on the cover, the cover is provided with an air inlet (110a) and an air outlet (100b), the magnetic component and the movable component (112) are both disposed in the cover (128), and the function component (116) is installed in the housing (104).
Regarding claim 18, Knight discloses a ventilation portion and a sealing portion are provided on a side of the cover towards the fluid port, the sealing portion is disposed in the fluid port, the ventilation portion is located outside the housing; the air outlet is located on a side of the fluid port and/or a side surface of the cover; or the cover comprises a convex portion and a main portion fitting with each other, the convex portion is disposed outside the housing, the main portion is disposed in the housing, the air inlet is located on the convex portion, the air outlet is located on a side of the main portion away from the fluid port or a side surface of the main portion; and/or the rotor (Fig. 2: 108) is disposed on a side of the magnetic component towards the fluid port (104a); or the rotor is disposed on a side of the magnetic component away from the fluid port.
Regarding claim 20, Knight discloses an electric tool (Fig. 1: 10), comprising the tool fitting of claim 1 (see claim 1 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20220265107 A1 to Knight in view of US 20120047679 A1 to Peng et al.
Regarding claim 17, Knight discloses a tool as described above.
However, it fails to disclose the limitations from claim 17.
Peng et al. teaches the auxiliary assembly further comprises a dust cover (Fig. 2: 14a), the dust cover is disposed on a side of the cover towards the fluid port (F2); and the air inlet (21) is located on a side of the cover towards the fluid port, and the air outlet (22) is located on a side surface of the cover.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of the dust cover as disclosed by Peng et al. to the tool disclosed by Knight.
One would have been motivated to do so to prevent dust from going in the tool.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20220265107 A1 to Knight in view of US 20130320858 A1 to Deery et al.
Regarding claim 19, Knight discloses a tool as described above.
However, it fails to disclose the limitations from claim 19.
Deery et al. teaches the tool fitting further comprises an energy storage component (Fig. 7: 72) and the energy storage component is electrically connected to the function component (38) to supply power to the function component; the energy storage component is further electrically connected to the power generation unit and capable of storing electrical energy converted by the power generation unit to supply the power to the function component; and/or the energy storage component is detachably connected to the housing; and/or the energy storage component is a disposable battery or a rechargeable battery (72).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of the energy storage component as disclosed by Deery et al. to the tool disclosed by Knight.
One would have been motivated to do so to further power the function component.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-14 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claims 5-14 depend on claim 2 which has the 35 USC 112 rejection.
Conclusion
/VIET P NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834