DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 20 August 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 21-23, 25-26, 29, and 35-40 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 21: “a first, a second, and a tolerance region” in lines 8-9 should be “a first region, a second region, and a tolerance region” for further clarity in the claim language. Additionally, “the number” in line 19 should be “a number for further clarity.
Claim 22: “the first, the second, and the tolerance region” in line 3 should be “the first region, the second region, and the tolerance region” for further clarity in the claim language.
Claim 23: “the minimum size” in line 1 should be “a minimum size” for further clarity and continuity in the claim language.
Claim 25: “the first time duration” in line 1 should be “the predefined first period of time” for further clarity and continuity in the claim language.
Claim 26: “the first time duration” in line 1 should be “the predefined first period of time” for further clarity and continuity in the claim language.
Claim 29: “the time interval” in line 3 should be “the regular time interval” for further clarity and continuity in the claim language.
Claim 35: “the running direction” in line 2 should be “a running direction” and “the plane” in line 3 should be “the one plane” for further clarity and continuity in the claim language.
Claim 36: “the two strips” in line 5 should be “the two first and second strips”, “the first and second strips” in line 6 should be “the two first and second strips”, “a first, a second, and a tolerance region” in lines 12-13 should be “a first region, a second region, and a tolerance region”, “the first range” in lines 18 and 19 respectively should be “the first region”, “the light grid” in lines 19 and 22 respectively should be “the at least one light grid”, “the tolerance range” in line 20 should be “the tolerance region”, “the number” in line 22 should be “a number”, and “the second range” in lines 22 and 24-25 respectively should be “the second region” for further clarity and continuity in the claim language.
Claim 37: “the first, the second, and the tolerance region” in line 3 should be “the first region, the second region, and the tolerance region” for further clarity in the claim language.
Claim 38: “the first time duration” in line 1 should be “the first predefined period of time” for further clarity and continuity in the claim language.
Claim 39: “the second time duration” in line 1 should be “the predefined second time period” for further clarity and continuity in the claim language.
Claim 40: “the minimum size” in line 1 should be “a minimum size” for further clarity and continuity in the claim language.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation is:
“a control unit” in claim 21: “A control and monitoring unit, which is preferably arranged in the strips of the light grid and is connected to the first and second strips, has a memory in which a program is stored which ensures that a switching signal is generated when an object enters the protective field” (page 9, lines 20-23).
Because this claim limitation is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it is being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 21, “the receiving device” in lines 3-4, “the second range” in line 10, “the outermost light beams” in line 10, “the neighboring free light beams” in lines 12-13, “the remaining free light beams” in line 14, and “the first range” in line 14 are all unclear as these limitations all lack proper antecedent basis. Additionally, “the tolerance range” in lines 13 and 17 respectively are unclear as a tolerance region has been mentioned previously. Are these limitations referring to the tolerance region mentioned previously, or a new and different tolerance range? In light of the specification, the Examiner is interpreting these limitations to be referring to the same tolerance region mentioned previously. “free neighboring light beams” in line 13 is unclear as neighboring free light beams have been mentioned previously in the same claim. Is this limitation referring to different free light beams or the same free light beams mentioned previously? In light of the specification, the Examiner is interpreting this limitation to be referring to the same free neighboring light beams mentioned previously. “a shutdown signal” in line 21 is unclear as this limitation has been mentioned previously in the same claim. Is this limitation referring to the same shutdown signal mentioned previously or a different shutdown signal? In light of the specification, the Examiner is interpreting this limitation to be referring to the same shutdown signal mentioned previously.
Claims 22-35 are rejected for their dependency on claim 21.
Regarding claim 22, “an object” in line 1 is unclear as this limitation has been mentioned previously in the claim 21, from which claim 22 depends. Is this limitation referring to the same object mentioned previously or a different object? In light of the specification, the Examiner is interpreting this limitation to be referring to the same object mentioned previously. “a light beam” in line 2 is unclear as this limitation has been mentioned previously in claim 21, on which claim 22 is dependent. Is this limitation referring to the same light beam mentioned previously or a different light beam? In light of the specification, the Examiner is interpreting this limitation to be referring to the same light beam mentioned previously.
Regarding claim 27, “the second time period” in line 1 is unclear as this limitation lacks proper antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 28, “the second time duration” in line 1 is unclear as this limitation lacks proper antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 29, “an object” in line 1 is unclear as this limitation has been mentioned previously in the claim 21, from which claim 29 depends. Is this limitation referring to the same object mentioned previously or a different object? In light of the specification, the Examiner is interpreting this limitation to be referring to the same object mentioned previously.
Regarding claim 32, “one plane” in line 2 is unclear as this limitation has been mentioned previously in claim 21, from which claim 32 depends. Is this limitation referring to the same plane mentioned previously or a different plane? In light of the specification, the Examiner is interpreting this limitation to be referring to the same plane mentioned previously.
Claim 33 is rejected for its dependency on claim 32.
Regarding claim 36, “the monitoring function” in line 9, “the outermost light beams” in line 14, “the neighboring free light beams” in lines 16-17, and “the remaining free light beams” in line 18 are all unclear as these limitations all lack proper antecedent basis. Additionally, “an object” in line 12 is unclear as this limitation has been mentioned previously in the same claim. Is this limitation referring to the same object mentioned previously or a different object? In light of the specification, the Examiner is interpreting this limitation to be referring to the same object mentioned previously. “free neighboring light beams” in line 17 is unclear as neighboring free light beams have been mentioned previously in the same claim. Is this limitation referring to different free light beams or the same free light beams mentioned previously? In light of the specification, the Examiner is interpreting this limitation to be referring to the same free neighboring light beams mentioned previously. “interrupted and free light beams in the tolerance range” in line 20 is unclear as this limitation has been mentioned previously in the same claim. Is this limitation referring to the same interrupted and free light beams mentioned previously or different interrupted and free light beams? In light of the specification, the Examiner is interpreting this limitation to be referring to the same interrupted and free light beams mentioned previously. “a shutdown signal” in line 24 is unclear as this limitation has been mentioned previously in the same claim. Is this limitation referring to the same shutdown signal mentioned previously or a different shutdown signal? In light of the specification, the Examiner is interpreting this limitation to be referring to the same shutdown signal mentioned previously.
Claims 37-40 are rejected for their dependency on claim 36.
Regarding claim 37, “an object” in line 1 is unclear as this limitation has been mentioned previously in claim 36, on which claim 37 is dependent. Is this limitation referring to the same object mentioned previously or a different object? In light of the specification, the Examiner is interpreting this limitation to be referring to the same object mentioned previously.
Claims 39-40 are rejected for their dependency on claim 37.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-23, 31, and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Stein et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9910186 B2).
Regarding claim 21, Stein teaches a method for monitoring a protective field on an installation, wherein the protective field is formed by a light grid (108), and the light grid (108) is produced by a plurality of light beams (106) which lie in one plane and are transmitted from a transmitting device (110) to the receiving device (112) arranged opposite (see figure 1, light grid made of light beams 106 produced by emitter elements 110 and received by receiver elements 112), light grid (108) has a control unit (502) for receiving and processing signals from the transmitting and/or receiving device (110/112) (see figure 5, light curtain controller 502; and see col. 8 for details), wherein when an object (1002) enters the protective field (108), the protective field (108) is divided into a first, a second and a tolerance region (see figure 10, the light grid divided into three regions), wherein the second range is defined by all but the outermost light beams interrupted by the object (1002) (see figure 10, the region labeled as “monitored muted beams” being the second region), the outermost light beams interrupted by the object (1002) together with the neighboring free light beams form the tolerance range if free neighboring light beams are present (see figure 10, beams labeled as Nth, (N-X)th, and (N+X)th being the tolerance region), and the remaining free light beams form the first range (see figure 10, the beams labeled as “non-muted beams” form the first region), wherein if a light beam (106) is interrupted in the first range, a shutdown signal is generated by the light grid (108) (col. 14, lines 35-50, The muting control component 506 continues to monitor the beams in order to determine if one or both of the two unsafe conditions has occurred. The first unsafe condition—interruption of a non-muted beam above the set muting height—suggests that a second object (e.g., a human operator) is riding on top of the product, or walking along side of the product, as the product traverses through the protective field. The second unsafe condition—non-interruption of a monitored muted beam below the set muting height—suggests that the object passing through the light curtain is not the expected box shape, and therefore is not a valid product. At time T7, the muting control component 506 determines that one or both of these two unsafe conditions have occurred. In response to detecting this condition, muting control component 506 instructs output component 510 to initiate safety mode), interrupted and free light beams in the tolerance range are ignored and no shutdown signal is generated (col. 14, lines 26-34, The band of unmonitored muted beams, corresponding to the tolerance range above and below the muting height, are allowed to fluctuate between interrupted and uninterrupted during the current partial muting cycle without causing the light curtain controller to report an unsafe state. As such, the unmonitored muted beams comprise a “don't care” range, whereby the light curtain controller disregards the states of the unmonitored muted beams when determining whether to initiate safe mode), the light grid (108) checks the number of interrupted light beams in the second range as long as the object (1002) is located in the protective field (108) and a shutdown signal is generated after release of an interrupted light beam in the second range if not all light beams (106) in the protective field (108) are free after a predefined first period of time (col. 14, lines 42-50, The second unsafe condition—non-interruption of a monitored muted beam below the set muting height—suggests that the object passing through the light curtain is not the expected box shape, and therefore is not a valid product. At time T7, the muting control component 506 determines that one or both of these two unsafe conditions have occurred. In response to detecting this condition, muting control component 506 instructs output component 510 to initiate safety mode; and see figure 8, time periods T1-T5).
Regarding claim 22, Stein teaches the method according to claim 21, wherein when an object (1002) enters the protective field (108) after interruption of a light beam and expiry of a predefined second time period, the protective field (108) is divided into the first, the second, and the tolerance region (see figure 8, light curtain interrupted at time T2 and the muting height (i.e. regions) are set just after time T3; and col. 13, lines 48-51, when the front edge of product 1002 first enters the protective field, the Nth beam from the lower most beam is detected as the highest interrupted beam. The tolerance value is configured to be ±X beams, where X is an integer).
Regarding claim 23, Stein teaches the method according to claim 21, wherein the minimum size of the second region is defined by at least three interrupted light beams (see figure 10, at least 4 beams interrupted by object 1002).
Regarding claim 31, Stein teaches the method according to claim 21, wherein the tolerance range is formed from a total of up to twelve light beams (see figure 10, at least 3 beams are part of the tolerance region; and col. 13, lines 49-53, the Nth beam from the lower most beam is detected as the highest interrupted beam. The tolerance value is configured to be ±X beams, where X is an integer. In some embodiments, the light curtain controller allows the user to set the tolerance value X as desired).
Regarding claim 35, Stein teaches the method according to claim 21, wherein the installation has a conveyor belt (114) and this is arranged relative to the light grid (108) in such a way that the running direction of the conveyor belt (114) is directed essentially perpendicular to the plane spanned by the light grid (108) (see figure 1, conveyor 114 arranged perpendicularly to the plane of light curtain 108).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 30, 32-34, 36-37, and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stein et al. (U,S, Patent No. 9910186 B2) in view of Rohbeck et al. (EP 3875993 A1).
Regarding claim 30, Stein teaches wherein the tolerance region is arranged on the edge of the second region (see figure 10, tolerance region set at the edge of object 1002; and col. 13, lines 40-45, In order to allow for such small height variations, some embodiments of the muting height configuration component 508 can set the muting height to include a small tolerance. This can ensure that these small height variations do not cause an improper transition to safety mode). However, Stein fails to explicitly teach two partial region arranged on opposite sides of the second region.
However, Rohbeck teaches two partial region arranged on opposite sides of the second region (see figure 2, unblocked beams existing on both sides of object 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Stein to incorporate the teachings of Rohbeck to include tolerance regions on either side of the second region (i.e. interrupted light beams) in order to allow for small length variations in the object.
Regarding claim 32, Stein teaches a light grid (108) lying on a plane (see figure 10). However, Stein fails to explicitly teach wherein two light grids are used and their protective fields lie on one plane.
However, Rohbeck teaches wherein two light grids are used and their protective fields lie on one plane (see figure 4, two light grids arranged on a plane).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Stein to incorporate the teachings of Rohbeck to provide two light grids in order to monitor the objects passing along both the horizontal direction and vertical direction, allowing the controller to better evaluate the objects.
Regarding claim 33, Stein as modified by Rohbeck teaches the method according to claim 32, wherein the light beams (Stein 106 | Rohbeck 10) of the two light grids are perpendicular to one another (Rohbeck, see figure 4, two light grids arranged on a plane and perpendicular to one another).
Regarding claim 34, Stein teaches a light grid (108) lying on a plane (see figure 10). However, Stein fails to explicitly teach wherein two or more light grids are provided which are arranged parallel to one another.
However, Rohbeck teaches wherein two or more light grids are provided which are arranged parallel to one another (see figure 3, two light grids arranged parallel to one another).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Stein to incorporate the teachings of Rohbeck to provide two light grids parallel to one another in order to provide an additional measurement with which to evaluate the object being conveyed.
Regarding claim 36, Stein teaches a sensor arrangement with at least one light grid (108) for monitoring a protective field (see figure 1, light grid made of light beams 106 produced by emitter elements 110 and received by receiver elements 112) comprising: first and second strips (102/104) which can be arranged opposite one another and are equipped with transmitters (110) and receivers (112), so that in operation a monitoring field is defined between the transmitters (110) and receivers (112) of the strips (102/104) (see figure 1, first strip 102 having emitters 110 arranged opposite the second strip 104 having receivers 112, the monitored region being between both strips), and a control and monitoring unit (502) which is connected to the first and second strips (102/104) and has stored in a memory a program which ensures that a switching signal is generated when an object (1002) enters the protective field (108), by means of which a safety function can be triggered (see figures 4-5, light curtain controller 502 connected to the first and second strips; and see col. 8-col. 9 for details), wherein the program - when an object (1002) enters the protective field (108), divides the protective field (108) into a first, a second, and a tolerance region (see figure 10, the light grid divided into three regions), wherein the second region is defined by all but the outermost light beams interrupted by the object (1002) (see figure 10, the region labeled as “monitored muted beams” being the second region), the outermost light beams interrupted by the object (1002) together with the neighboring free light beams form the tolerance range if free neighboring light beams are present (see figure 10, beams labeled as Nth, (N-X)th, and (N+X)th being the tolerance region), and the remaining free light beams form the first range (see figure 10, the beams labeled as “non-muted beams” form the first region), wherein a shutdown signal is generated by the light grid (108) if a light beam (106) in the first range is interrupted (col. 14, lines 35-50, The muting control component 506 continues to monitor the beams in order to determine if one or both of the two unsafe conditions has occurred. The first unsafe condition—interruption of a non-muted beam above the set muting height—suggests that a second object (e.g., a human operator) is riding on top of the product, or walking along side of the product, as the product traverses through the protective field. The second unsafe condition—non-interruption of a monitored muted beam below the set muting height—suggests that the object passing through the light curtain is not the expected box shape, and therefore is not a valid product. At time T7, the muting control component 506 determines that one or both of these two unsafe conditions have occurred. In response to detecting this condition, muting control component 506 instructs output component 510 to initiate safety mode), interrupted and free light beams in the tolerance range are ignored and no shutdown signal is generated (col. 14, lines 26-34, The band of unmonitored muted beams, corresponding to the tolerance range above and below the muting height, are allowed to fluctuate between interrupted and uninterrupted during the current partial muting cycle without causing the light curtain controller to report an unsafe state. As such, the unmonitored muted beams comprise a “don't care” range, whereby the light curtain controller disregards the states of the unmonitored muted beams when determining whether to initiate safe mode), the light grid (108) checks the number of interrupted light beams in the second range as long as the object (1002) is located in the protective field (108) and a shutdown signal is generated after release of an interrupted light beam in the second range if not all light beams in the protective field (108) are free after a first predefined period of time (col. 14, lines 42-50, The second unsafe condition—non-interruption of a monitored muted beam below the set muting height—suggests that the object passing through the light curtain is not the expected box shape, and therefore is not a valid product. At time T7, the muting control component 506 determines that one or both of these two unsafe conditions have occurred. In response to detecting this condition, muting control component 506 instructs output component 510 to initiate safety mode; and see figure 8, time periods T1-T5). However, Stein fails to explicitly teach two first and second strips, and wherein a muting function is provided by means of which the monitoring function can be at least partially bridged.
However, Rohbeck teaches two first and second strips (9/12) (see figure 4, two first strips 9 having emitters 11 and two second strips 12 having receivers 13), and wherein a muting function is provided by means of which the monitoring function can be at least partially bridged (¶8, the light curtain in the conveying direction of the conveying unit may be preceded by muting sensors with which permitted objects are detected. If this is the case, the monitoring function of the light curtain is mutated, i.e. bridged, for a predefined time, so that the admissible objects can pass through the light curtain without the latter generating a switching signal which initiates the safety function).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Stein to incorporate the teachings of Rohbeck to provide two light grids in order to monitor the objects passing along both the horizontal direction and vertical direction, allowing the controller to better evaluate the objects. Additionally, it would have been obvious to provide a bridging of the monitoring function so that the admissible objects can pass through the light curtain without the latter generating a switching signal which initiates the safety function (Rohbeck, ¶8).
Regarding claim 37, Stein as modified by Rohbeck teaches the sensor arrangement according to claim 36, wherein when an object (Stein 1002 | Rohbeck 5) enters the protective field (Stein 108) after interruption of a light beam (Stein 106 | Rohbeck 10) and expiry of a predefined second time period, the protective field (Stein 108) is divided into the first, the second, and the tolerance region (Stein, see figure 8, light curtain interrupted at time T2 and the muting height (i.e. regions) are set just after time T3; and col. 13, lines 48-51, when the front edge of product 1002 first enters the protective field, the Nth beam from the lower most beam is detected as the highest interrupted beam. The tolerance value is configured to be ±X beams, where X is an integer).
Regarding claim 40, Stein as modified by Rohbeck teaches the sensor arrangement according to claim 37, wherein the minimum size of the second region is defined by at least three interrupted light beams (Stein 106 | Rohbeck 10) (Stein, see figure 10, at least 4 beams interrupted by object 1002).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 24-29 and 38-39 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 24, the prior art of record individually or combined fails to teach the method according to claim 21 as claimed, more specifically wherein the tolerance range is formed by an equal number of free and interrupted light beams.
Regarding claim 25, the prior art of record individually or combined fails to teach the method according to claim 21 as claimed, more specifically in combination wherein the first time duration has a maximum length of 4 seconds.
Regarding claim 26, the prior art of record individually or combined fails to teach the method according to claim 21 as claimed, more specifically in combination with wherein the first time duration has a length of at least 5 ms.
Regarding claim 27, the prior art of record individually or combined fails to teach the method according to claim 21 as claimed, more specifically in combination with wherein the second time period has a maximum length of 4 seconds.
Regarding claim 28, the prior art of record individually or combined fails to teach the method according to claim 21 as claimed, more specifically in combination with wherein the second time duration has a length of at least 5 ms.
Regarding claim 29, the prior art of record individually or combined fails to teach the method according to claim 21 as claimed, more specifically in combination with wherein as long as an object is located in the protective field, the light grid checks the number of interrupted light beams at a regular time interval, wherein the time interval is 0.5 to 30 ms.
Regarding claim 38, the prior art of record individually or combined fails to teach the sensor arrangement according to claim 36 as claimed, more specifically in combination with wherein the first time duration has a length of at least 5 ms, and a maximum of 4 seconds.
Regarding claim 39, the prior art of record individually or combined fails to teach the sensor arrangement according to claims 37 and 36 as claimed, more specifically in combination with wherein the second time duration has a length of at least 5 ms, and of at most 4 seconds.
Conclusion
/ERIN R GARBER/Examiner, Art Unit 2878