DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The Examiner notes that the Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) submissions (see attachments) are extremely long, citing over at least 500 references for consideration. Applicant is reminded of MPEP § 2004, paragraph 13:
It is desirable to avoid the submission of long lists of documents if it can be avoided. Eliminate clearly irrelevant and marginally pertinent cumulative information. If a long list is submitted, highlight those documents which have been specifically brought to applicant’s attention and/or are known to be of most significance. See Penn Yan Boats, Inc. v. Sea Lark Boats, Inc., 359 F. Supp. 948, 175 USPQ 260 (S.D. Fla. 1972), aff ’d, 479 F.2d 1338, 178 USPQ 577 (5th Cir. 1973), cert. denied, 414 U.S. 874 (1974). But cf. Molins PLC v. Textron Inc., 48 F.3d 1172, 33 USPQ2d 1823 (Fed. Cir. 1995).
Moreover, an IDS should comply with 37 CFR 1.56 (b) which states that "information is material to patentability which is not cumulative to information already of record or being made of record in the application …" [emphasis added]. The cited references, in addition to being extensive in volume, also appear to be largely cumulative, therefore, based upon the large number of references cited, the initialed references have been considered in a cumulative manner. Examination of over at least 200-references in the IDS(s) is considered burdensome without further information from Applicant. For example, if only 3 minutes are spent per reference in order to ascertain the pertinence of the reference as determined by Applicant for inclusion in the IDS, then the examination of these over 200-references would take at least one work day. If Applicant is aware of pertinent material in the references, it should be stated in a response to this Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee, Hsun-Ching (US 2021/0332745 – herein after Lee) in view of Dallai, Mauro (US 2013/0230415 – herein after Dallai).
In reference to claim 1, Lee teaches a compressor (see title: “air compressor”) comprising (see fig. 2):
a housing (casing 10);
a first compression mechanism [labeled “1st” in fig. A below: corresponds to first set of cylinders (e.g. the first two cylinders from the left in Lee’s fig. 2)] disposed in the housing and configured to compress a working fluid (air) from a suction pressure (inlet pressure) to a discharge pressure (outlet pressure), the first compression mechanism including a first cylinder housing (casing portion corresponding to asserted first compression mechanism) having a first cylinder (labeled “c1” in fig. A below), a second cylinder (labeled “c2” in fig. A below);
a second compression mechanism [labeled “2nd” in fig. A below: corresponds to second set of cylinders (e.g. the remaining two cylinders in Lee’s fig. 2)] disposed in the housing and configured to compress the working fluid (air) from the suction pressure to the discharge pressure, the second compression mechanism including a second cylinder housing (casing portion corresponding to asserted second compression mechanism) having a third cylinder (labeled “c3” in fig. A below), a fourth cylinder (labeled “c4” in fig. A below).
Fig. A: Edited fig. 2 of Lee to show claim interpretation.
Lee remains silent on the compressor, comprising: “a first fluid storage plenum; a second fluid storage plenum; a valve; and an intermediate-fluid port in selective fluid communication with the valve, the intermediate-fluid port being in fluid communication with the first fluid storage plenum via a first intermediate-fluid passage and the second fluid storage plenum via a second intermediate-fluid passage, wherein: working fluid at an intermediate pressure enters the intermediate-fluid port from the valve, the intermediate pressure is greater than the suction pressure and less than the discharge pressure, and the first fluid storage plenum and the second fluid storage plenum are configured to store the fluid at the intermediate pressure therein”.
However, Dallai teaches a compressor (see figs. 3, 6-7), comprising: a fluid storage plenum (21); a valve (19); and an intermediate-fluid port (25, 27) in selective fluid communication with the valve (19), the intermediate-fluid port (25, 27) being in fluid communication with the fluid storage plenum (21) via an intermediate-fluid passage (25A/27A+29A+23B/23C), wherein: working fluid at an intermediate pressure enters the intermediate-fluid port (25, 27) from the valve (19), the intermediate pressure is greater than the suction pressure and less than the discharge pressure (see abstract), and the fluid storage plenum (21) is configured to store the fluid at the intermediate pressure therein (the asserted storage plenum is capable of storing the fluid at the intermediate pressure therein).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the compressor of Lee by incorporating the intermediate-pressure injection system of Dallai for the purpose of increasing the compression capacity and energy efficiency of the compressor, as recognized by Dallai (see ¶90). The proposed modification would involve organizing Lee’s four-cylinder compressor into pairs and providing each with the distribution plenums and valve taught by Dallai to ensure uniform efficiency gains throughout the device [see Dallai’s ¶30: “Clearly, a different number of pistons and/or distributors can be provided, arranged in various manner (in-line, V-shaped, or other else) in a compressor according to the requirements of the plant to be supplied”]. It has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts (providing two mechanisms where the prior art shows one or the teaching for one) of a device involves only routine skill in the art. Alternatively, the proposed modification would involve a single centralized valve branching to all plenums or cylinders in Lee’s compressor. It is a common engineering practice to utilize a single, elongated distributor or a centralized valve system to serve multiple compression mechanisms.
Thus, Lee, as modified, teaches the compressor, comprising: a first fluid storage plenum (Dallai’s 21 for Lee’s first compression mechanism); a second fluid storage plenum (Dallai’s 21 for Lee’s second compression mechanism); a valve (Dallai’s 19); and an intermediate-fluid port (Dallai’s 25, 27) in selective fluid communication with the valve, the intermediate-fluid port being in fluid communication with the first fluid storage plenum via a first intermediate-fluid passage (Dallai’s 25A/27A+29A+23B/23C for Lee’s first compression mechanism) and the second fluid storage plenum via a second intermediate-fluid passage (Dallai’s 25A/27A+29A+23B/23C for Lee’s second compression mechanism), wherein: working fluid at an intermediate pressure enters the intermediate-fluid port from the valve, the intermediate pressure is greater than the suction pressure and less than the discharge pressure, and the first fluid storage plenum and the second fluid storage plenum are configured to store the fluid at the intermediate pressure therein. Regarding the limitations “a valve” and “an intermediate-fluid port”, whether implemented as a single centralized valve branching to all plenums or as a set of duplicated valves serving each compression mechanism, the modified device inherently includes ‘a valve’ and ‘an intermediate-fluid port’ as required by the claim, as the ‘comprising’ transition allows for the presence of additional valves and ports.
In reference to claim 2, Lee, as modified above in claim 1, teaches the compressor, wherein the first fluid storage plenum (Dallai’s 21 for Lee’s first compression mechanism) is in selective fluid communication with the first cylinder and the second cylinder (in view of position of the corresponding piston in the first and second cylinders) and the second fluid storage plenum (Dallai’s 21 for Lee’s second compression mechanism) is in selective fluid communication with the third cylinder and the fourth cylinder (in view of position of the corresponding piston in the third and fourth cylinders).
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Dallai and Grant et al. (US 3,915,597 – herein after Grant).
Regarding claim 3,
Lee, as modified above in claim 1, remains silent on the compressor, wherein each of the first cylinder, second cylinder, third cylinder, and fourth cylinder include a sleeve assembly disposed therein, the sleeve assembly including a sleeve and a collar.
However, Grant teaches a compressor a compressor (see abstract) comprising (see figs. 1-4): a cylinder (10), wherein the cylinder includes a sleeve assembly (20+40) disposed therein, the sleeve assembly including a sleeve (20) and a collar (40).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide each of the cylinders in the modified compressor of Lee with a sleeve assembly as taught by Grant in order to “simultaneously utilize an unloader sleeve for unloading the compressor and an auxiliary port for increased volumetric efficiency”, as evidenced by Grant (see Grant’s claim 1, last four lines).
Regarding claim 4,
Lee, as modified above in claim 3, teaches the compressor, wherein the sleeve (20; of Grant) includes (see figs. 1-2):
a hollow body including an annular wall (as evident from the figures) extending between a first end (top end) and a second end (bottom end), the hollow body including an inner surface (inner peripheral surface) and an outer surface (outer peripheral surface) opposite the inner surface,
a flange (see fig. B below: shown as shaded region) extending radially outward from the first end (top end) of the annular wall,
a step (see fig. B below) positioned between a first portion (see fig. B below: labeled “1st”) of the hollow body and a second portion (see fig. B below: labeled “2nd”) of the hollow body, wherein a diameter of the outer surface of the first portion is greater than a diameter of the outer surface of the second portion (as evident from fig. B below),
a plurality of recesses (for instance, recess for component 46, component 45) defined in the first portion, and
a plurality of apertures (43, see fig. col. 3, line 40) defined in the second portion.
Fig. B: Edited fig. 1 of Grant to show claim interpretation.
Claims 5 – 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Dallai, Grant and further in view of Buytaert et al. (US 8,763,690 – herein after Buytaert) and Collett et al. (US 3,652,138 – herein after Collett).
Regarding claim 5,
Lee, as modified above in claim 4, teaches the compressor (see Grant), wherein the collar (40) includes: an annular member (as evident from fig. 1) extending between a first end (top end) and a second end (bottom) and including an outer surface (outer circumferential surface) and an inner surface (inner circumferential surface) opposite the outer surface.
Lee, as modified above in claim 4, remains silent on the compressor, wherein the collar includes: a first plurality of protrusions extending axially from the second end, a second plurality of protrusions extending axially from the first end, and a plurality of depressions defined in the inner surface, each of the plurality of depressions defined in the inner surface, each of the plurality of depressions positioned between each of the first plurality of protrusions.
However, Buytaert teaches the collar (8, see fig. 1) including a first plurality of protrusions (11) extending axially from the second end and a second plurality of protrusions (16) extending axially from the first end. Collett teaches the collar including a plurality of depressions (11) defined in the inner surface.
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Grant’s collar in the modified compressor of Lee for providing a first plurality of protrusions extending axially from the second end and a second plurality of protrusions extending axially from the first end as taught by Buytaert for the purpose of providing an interference fit connection between the collar and the sleeve where protrusions help the collar to be retained on the sleeve, thus improving mechanical engagement between the collar and the sleeve and to provide a plurality of depressions defined in the inner surface as taught by Collett for the purpose of facilitating fluid flow.
Regarding claim 6,
Lee, as modified above in claim 5, teaches the compressor (see Grant), wherein:
the first end of the collar (top end of collar 40) is in contact (either in direct or indirect contact in view of presence of the first protrusions on top end of collar) with the step (labeled in fig. B above) of the sleeve (20),
the second plurality of protrusions (utilizing the teaching of Buytaert) of the collar (40) are received in the plurality of recesses (recesses corresponding to the second plurality of protrusions on the sleeve) of the sleeve (20), and
the plurality of depressions (utilizing the teaching of Collett) of the collar (40) are aligned with and spaced apart from the plurality of apertures (43) of the sleeve (20).
Regarding claim 7,
Lee, as modified above in claim 6, teaches the compressor (see Grant), wherein the plurality of depressions (utilizing the teaching of Collett) of the collar (40) and the plurality of apertures (43) of the sleeve (20) cooperate to define the plurality of ports (41-42-43).
Regarding claim 8,
Lee, as modified above in claim 7, teaches the compressor, wherein (see fig. A above) each of the first cylinder (c1), the second cylinder (c2), the third cylinder (c3), and the fourth cylinder (c4) receive a piston (15) therein, the piston being movable between a first position (bottom position) and a second position (top position), wherein the piston and the sleeve assembly cooperate to selectively permit the fluid at the intermediate pressure to enter the respective first, second, third, or fourth cylinder (inherent feature in the modified compressor of Lee).
Regarding claim 9,
Lee, as modified above in claim 8, teaches the compressor, wherein when the piston is in the first position (bottom position), the fluid at the intermediate pressure enters the respective cylinder through the plurality of ports [for instance, see piston 30 position in Grant’s fig. 2: in the bottom position of the piston, fluid flows through ports 41-42-43; wherein this fluid is at the intermediate pressure (as taught by Dallai) in the modified compressor of Lee].
Regarding claim 10,
Lee, as modified above in claim 8, teaches the compressor (see Grant), wherein when the piston is in the second position (top position), the fluid at the intermediate pressure is restricted from entering the respective cylinder [for instance, see piston 30 position in Grant’s fig. 4: in the top position of the piston, fluid is restricted from entering the cylinder].
Conclusion
/CHIRAG JARIWALA/Examiner, Art Unit 3746
/ESSAMA OMGBA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3746