DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
As concerns claim 6, it is unclear whether the inner protrusion or outer protrusion is the intended element that is to be formed of fiber-reinforced resin or fiber-free resin.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Hirose (JP 2018/149912).
As concerns the following, Prior Art Reference Hirose - (JP 2018/149912) discloses:
1. A side sill structure (Hirose - Figures 12, 14 and 14) comprising:
a side sill (Hirose - 100) extending in a front-rear direction of a vehicle on an outer side in a vehicle width direction of the vehicle;
a plate member (Hirose - 4) configured to divide at least a part of a cross-section of the side sill (Hirose - 100) in the vehicle width direction; and
a reinforcement (Hirose - 5A, 5B) made of plastic resin, the reinforcement being disposed outside the plate member in the vehicle width direction and bonded (Hirose – Figures13 and 14 illustrate bonding between elements 5A / 5B and 100) to the side sill (Hirose - 100), wherein at least one of the reinforcement (Hirose – 5A, 5B) and the plate member (Hirose - 4) has a plurality of projecting portions (Hirose – at least 52A, 54A), and the other one of the reinforcement (Hirose - 5A, 5B) and the plate member (Hirose - 4) has a plurality of receiving portions (Hirose – whereby filling portion 55A and 53A pass through) into which the projecting portions are inserted.
2. The side sill structure according to claim 1, wherein the reinforcement (Hirose - 5A, 5B) has outer protrusions joined to an outer wall, an upper wall, and a lower wall of the side sill (Hirose - 100) with adhesive (Hirose - Element 50 which makes up the reinforcement 5A and B is said to “adhere” to both surfaces of 100 and 4), and an inner protrusion protruding toward the plate member (Hirose - 4), and the projecting portions or the receiving portions are formed at an inner end portion of the inner protrusion. (Figures 13 and 14 illustrate such inner and outer protrusions)
3. The side sill structure according to claim 2, wherein the receiving portions are formed in the plate member (Hirose - 4) to face the inner protrusion, and the plate member (Hirose - 4) has tubular portions extending in the vehicle width direction from edges of the receiving portions. (Hirose – Figures 13 and 14 illustrate wherein cross sectionally, the protrusions are tubular portions, in so far as they extend along the thickness direction in the x plane.)
4. The side sill structure according to claim 3, wherein the projecting portions are formed of solid members to be fitted into the tubular portions. (Hirose – Figures 13 and 14 illustrate this configuration)
5. The side sill structure according to claim 3, wherein the projecting portions are formed of tubular members to be fitted into the tubular portions. (Hirose – Figures 13 and 14 illustrate this configuration)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirose in view of Lee et al (US 10,780,926).
As concerns claim 6, Hirose discloses the side sill structure according to claim 2, disclosing the use of resin for forming materials.
Hirose fails to specify wherein the outer protrusions and the inner protrusion of the reinforcement (Hirose - 5A, 5B) are formed of fiber-reinforced resin, and the projecting portions are formed of fiber-free resin.
Lee et al (US 10,780,926) teaches the use of fiber-reinforced resin within vehicles for the purpose of realizing a reduction in weight while maintaining rigidity.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Hirose as taught by Lee to include fiber-reinforced resin for the expected benefit of providing substantially rigid and light-weight material, to obtain the invention as specified in the claim.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirose in view of Imamura et al (JP 2011/073522).
As concerns claim 7, Hirose discloses the side sill structure according to claim 1.
Hirose however fails to specify wherein each of the receiving portions is formed as a long hole whose length in a longitudinal direction of the side sill (Hirose - 100) is longer than that in a direction orthogonal to the longitudinal direction, an external shape of each of the projecting portions is formed such that a length thereof in the longitudinal direction of the side sill (Hirose - 100) is longer than that in the direction orthogonal to the longitudinal direction, and the projecting portions and the receiving portions are at least partly spaced apart from each other.
Imamura et al (JP 2011/073522) teaches, however, wherein a hole may be elongated for the purpose of managing dimensional errors during manufacturing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Hirose as taught by Imamura to include elongated holes as claimed, for the expected benefit of managing dimensional errors, in order to obtain the invention as specified in the claim.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirose in view of Kuwabara et al JP 2019/166850).
As concerns claim 8, Hirose discloses the side sill structure according to claim 1.
Hirose fails to specify wherein the plate member (Hirose - 4) is disposed directly below a pillar extending upward from the side sill (Hirose - 100).
Kuwabara et al (JP 2019/166850) teaches wherein a reinforced sill has a pillar disposed directly upward therefrom (Figure 4), for the purpose of strengthening the automobile during a side collision.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Hirose as taught by Kuwabara to include a pillar extending upward from the sill, for the expected benefit of further increasing the strength of the vehicle against side collisions, to obtain the invention as specified in the claim.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirose in view of Cardimen et al (US 6,834,912).
As concerns claim 9, Hirose discloses the side sill structure according to claim 1.
Hirose fails to specify wherein the side sill (Hirose - 100) includes a plurality of bulkheads spaced apart from each other in a longitudinal direction of the side sill, the bulkheads being arranged within the cross-section of the side sill at positions inward of the plate member (Hirose - 4) in the vehicle width direction.
Cardimen et al (US 6,834,912) however teaches the use of bulkheads (46) along a side sill for the purpose of adding strength to the sill.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Hirose as taught by Cardimen to include the use of bulkheads within the sill for the expected benefit of strengthening the side sill in the event of a side collision, to obtain the invention as specified in the claim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/AARON L LEMBO/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3679