DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-4, 10-12 in the reply filed on 11/10/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 5-9, 13-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/10/2025.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities: a proper Markush format is “selected from the group consisting of”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by De et al (US 2022/0127459).
De teaches a dielectric film forming composition comprising at least one of polybenzoxazole precursor, a polyimide precursor polymer or a fully imidized polyimide polymer (abstract, claim, 0024). The composition further comprises one solvent or catalyst (claims 9, 13).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over De et al (US 2022/0127459).
De teaches a dielectric film forming composition comprising at least one of polybenzoxazole precursor, a polyimide precursor polymer or a fully imidized polyimide polymer (abstract, claim, 0024).
De does not teach the content of each component.
However, it is prima facie obvious to mix the ingredients in any ratio because
each of them is targeted by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose. In re Lindner 457 F,2d 506,509, 173 USPQ 356, 359 (CCPA 1972). In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980).
Claims 2-3, 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over De et al (US 2022/0127459) in view of Resham Thapa (Polyimides (PI) & Polybenzoxazoles (PBO): Advanced Dielectric Polymers for Wafer Bumping & Wafer Level Packaging, https://waferdies.com/polyimides-pi-and-polybenzoxazoles-pbo-advanced-dielectric-polymers-for-wafer-bumping-wafer-level-packaging/)
De teaches a dielectric film forming composition comprising at least one of polybenzoxazole precursor, a polyimide precursor polymer or a fully imidized polyimide polymer (abstract, claim, 0024).
De does not teach the content of each component.
However, Resham Thapa teaches PI polymers are negative acting and PBO are positive acting, and their choice depends on the specific need of the end product requirements such as via diameter, Cu trace thickness etc. (page 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to adjust the contents of these two polymers through routine experimentation to balance between resolution of via and film thickness because the contents are result effective variables where the more PBO provides the better resolution of via or line/space, whereas the more PI provides a thicker film. Case law holds that "discovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art." In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claim 1, 4 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 of U.S. Patent No.11,634,529. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because 529 claims a composition comprising at least one of polybenzoxazole precursor, a polyimide precursor polymer or a fully imidized polyimide polymer.
Claims 1, 4 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 40 of copending Application No.18/782,630. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘630 claims a composition comprising at least one of polybenzoxazole precursor, a polyimide precursor polymer or a fully imidized polyimide polymer.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 4 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 17 of copending Application No.18/734,029. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘029 claims a composition comprising at least one of polybenzoxazole precursor, a polyimide precursor polymer or a fully imidized polyimide polymer.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 9 of copending Application No.18/542,862. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘862 claims a composition comprising at least one of polybenzoxazole precursor, a polyimide precursor polymer or a fully imidized polyimide polymer.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 4 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 9 of copending Application No.17/498,813. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘813 claims a composition comprising at least one of polybenzoxazole precursor, a polyimide precursor polymer or a fully imidized polyimide polymer.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
/WENWEN CAI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763